Foreign Priority
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Limitation “(CW) transmission of a signal to the wireless tag and/or a radio resource used for the BS reception. ” in claim 3 and “Continuous Wave (CW) transmission of a signal to the wireless tag and/or a radio resource used for the BS reception of a signal reflected from the wireless tag.” in claim 6. Claims 3 and 6 use the term "and/or". It is believed applicant intended to claim "at least one of". appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 5 uses the acronym "IAB" without first introducing the element. appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katan Baf Nezhad et, al. (US 20210377859 A1, Referred to as Katan Baf Nezhad hereinafter.)
Regarding Claim 1, Katan Baf Nezhad teaches A communication control method in a wireless communication system, the communication control method comprising: requesting, by a communication node, a network node to perform backscattering (BS) reception of a signal reflected from a wireless tag, (Katan Baf Nezhad: paragraph 0002, a backscattering RFID device that reflects a RF signal.)
wherein the request includes information indicating at least one selected from the group consisting of a radio resource used for the BS reception, a cell ID indicating a cell operated by the network node that performs the BS reception, and identifier information indicating an identifier identifying the wireless tag. (Katan Baf Nezhad: paragraph 0050, receives a unique identifier of the backscattering RF transmission.)
Regarding claim 2, Katan Baf Nezhad teaches The communication control method according to claim 1 further comprising: transmitting, by the network node to the communication node, the identifier information identifying the wireless tag when the BS reception succeeds; (Katan Baf Nezhad: paragraph 0058, indicates that the reception of a backscatter communication was successful.)
transmitting, by the network node to the communication node, information indicating failure when the BS reception fails. (Katan Baf Nezhad: paragraph 0060, indicates that the reception of a backscatter communication was not successful.)
Regarding claim 3, Katan Baf Nezhad teaches The communication control method according to claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, by the network node to the communication node, a radio resource used for Carrier Wave or Continuous Wave (CW) transmission of a signal to the wireless tag and/or a radio resource used for the BS reception. (Katan Baf Nezhad: paragraph 0026, transmits a carrier wave.)
Regarding claim 4, Katan Baf Nezhad teaches The communication control method according to claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, by the network node to the communication node, a transmission prohibited resource in which Carrier Wave or Continuous Wave (CW) transmission of a signal to the wireless tag is prohibited. (Katan Baf Nezhad: paragraph 0022, teaches maintaining compliance, inherently includes resources that are prohibited from transmission.)
Regarding claim 5, Katan Baf Nezhad teaches The communication control method according to claim 1, wherein the communication node is any of a user equipment, an IAB-Mobile Terminal (MT) of an IAB node, a Relay-node, or a Network-controlled Repeater (NCR)-MT included in an NCR apparatus. (Katan Baf Nezhad: figures 10-12 pictures user devices).
Regarding claim 6, Katan Baf Nezhad teaches The communication control method according to claim 1, wherein the communication node is a distributed unit in the network node, and the communication control method further includes transmitting, by a central unit (CU) of the network node to a distributed unit (DU) of the network node, a radio resource used for Carrier Wave or Continuous Wave (CW) transmission of a signal to the wireless tag and/or a radio resource used for the BS reception of a signal reflected from the wireless tag. (Katan Baf Nezhad: paragraph 0020 teaches appliances all linked and communicating through a central unit and paragraph 0047 teaches backscatter communication, inherently wirelessly, from a central unit.)
Regarding Claim 7, Katan Baf Nezhad teaches A communication node used in a wireless communication system, the communication node comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit to a network node, a message requesting to perform backscattering (BS) reception of a signal reflected from a wireless tag, (Katan Baf Nezhad: paragraph 0002, a backscattering RFID device that reflects a RF signal.) wherein the request includes information indicating at least one selected from the group consisting of a radio resource used for the BS reception, a cell ID indicating a cell operated by the network node that performs the BS reception, and identifier information indicating an identifier identifying the wireless tag. (Katan Baf Nezhad: paragraph 0050, receives a unique identifier of the backscattering RF transmission.)
Conclusion
/AYAAN AYAZ SHEIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 2128
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463