Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over patented claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,445,591. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, because they are obvious variations of each other. It is noted; claims of the instant application are broader than the corresponding patented claims.
19/323677
US 12445591
1. Eyewear, comprising: a frame having a first side and a second side; a plurality of electronic components; a first system on a chip (SoC) adjacent the first side of the frame, the first SoC coupled to a first set of the plurality of electronic components; and a second SoC adjacent the second side, the second SoC coupled to the first SoC and to a second set of the plurality of electronic components, wherein the second set of the plurality of electronic components comprises a first computer vision (CV) camera and a second CV camera each configured to generate images, wherein the second SoC is configured as a sensor hub configured to perform all CV processing for the first and the second CV cameras.
1. Eyewear, comprising: a frame having a first side and a second side; a plurality of electronic components; a first system on a chip (SoC) adjacent the first side of the frame, the first SoC coupled to a first set of the plurality of electronic components; and a second SoC adjacent the second side, the second SoC coupled to the first SoC and to a second set of the plurality of electronic components, wherein the second set of the plurality of electronic components comprises a first computer vision (CV) camera and a second CV camera each configured to generate images; wherein the second SoC is configured as a sensor hub configured to perform all CV processing for the first and the second CV cameras …
2. The eyewear of claim 1, wherein none of the electronic components in the first set of the plurality of electronic components are in the second set of the plurality of electronic components.
2. The eyewear of claim 1, wherein none of the electronic components in the first set of the plurality of electronic components are in the second set of the plurality of electronic components.
3. The eyewear of claim 1, wherein second SoC is configured to perform machine learning (ML), and processing video encoding.
1. … wherein the second SoC is configured as a sensor hub configured to perform all CV processing for the first and the second CV cameras, machine learning (ML), and processing video encoding;
4. The eyewear of claim 1, wherein the first SoC is configured to run application logic, audio and video rendering functions.
1. … and wherein the first SoC is configured to run application logic, audio and video rendering functions,
5. The eyewear of claim 1, wherein the images generated by the CV cameras are prevented from being sent by the first SoC via wireless communication.
1. … where the images genera ted by the CV cameras of the second SoC are prevented from being sent by the wireless communications.
6. The eyewear of claim 1, wherein: the second set of the plurality of electronic components further comprises a first display and a second display.
3. The eyewear of claim 1, wherein: the second set of the plurality of electronic components further comprises a first display and a second display.
7. The eyewear of claim 1, wherein only the first SoC comprises an operating system (OS).
4. The eyewear of claim 1, wherein only the first SoC comprises an operating system (OS).
8. A method for use of eyewear including a frame having a first side and a second side and a plurality of electronic components, the method comprising: performing a first set of operations with a first system on a chip (SoC) positioned adjacent the first side of the frame, the first SoC coupled to and operating a first set of the plurality of electronic components; and performing a second set of operations with a second SoC positioned adjacent the second side of the frame, the second SoC coupled to and operating a second set of the plurality of electronic components, wherein the second set of the plurality of electronic components : comprises a first computer vision (CV) camera and a second CV camera each configured to generate images; the second SoC operating as a sensor hub performing all CV processing for the first and the second CV cameras.
5. A method for use of eyewear including a frame having a first side and a second side and a plurality of electronic components, the method comprising: performing a first set of operations with a first system on a chip (SoC) positioned adjacent the first side of the frame, the first SoC coupled to and operating a first set of the plurality of electronic components; and performing a second set of operations with a second SoC positioned adjacent the second side of the frame, the second SoC coupled to and operating a second set of the plurality of electronic components, wherein the second set of the plurality of electronic components comprises a first computer vision (CV) camera and a second CV camera each configured to generate images; the second SoC operating as a sensor hub performing all CV processing for the first and the second CV cameras, …
9. The method of claim 8, wherein none of the electronic components in the first set of the plurality of electronic components are in the second set of the plurality of electronic components.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein none of the electronic components in the first set of the plurality of electronic components are in the second set of the plurality of electronic components.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein second SoC performs machine learning (ML), and processing video encoding.
5. … the second SoC operating as a sensor hub performing all CV processing for the first and the second CV cameras, machine learning (ML), and processing video encoding;
11. The method of claim 8, wherein the first SoC runs application logic, audio and video rendering functions.
5. … and the first SoC running application logic, audio and all video rendering functions,
12. The method of claim 8, wherein the images generated by the CV cameras are prevented from being sent by the first SoC via wireless communication.
5. … where the images generated by the CV cameras of the second SoC are prevented from being sent by the wireless communications.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein: the second set of the plurality of electronic components further comprises a first display and a second display.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein: the second set of the plurality of electronic components further comprises a first display and a second display.
14. The method of claim 8, wherein only the first SoC comprises an operating system (OS).
8. The method of claim 5, wherein only the first SoC comprises an operating system (OS).
15. The method of claim 8, wherein: the second set of the plurality of electronic components further comprises a first display and a second display.
3. The eyewear of claim 1, wherein: the second set of the plurality of electronic components further comprises a first display and a second display.
16. The method of claim 8, wherein only the first SoC comprises an operating system (OS).
14. The method of claim 8, wherein only the first SoC comprises an operating system (OS).
17. A non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions for operating an eyewear device including a frame having a first side and a second side and a plurality of electronic components, the instructions when executed by the eyewear device configures the eyewear device to: perform a first set of operations with a first system on a chip (SoC) positioned adjacent the first side of the frame, the first SoC coupled to and operating a first set of the plurality of electronic components; and perform a second set of operations with a second SoC positioned adjacent the second side of the frame, the second SoC coupled to and operating a second set of the plurality of electronic components comprising a first computer vision (CV) camera and a second CV camera each configured to generate images; operate the second SoC as a sensor hub by performing all CV processing for the first and the second CV cameras.
9. A non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions for operating an eyewear device including a frame having a first side and a second side and a plurality of electronic components, the instructions when executed by the eyewear device configures the eyewear device to: perform a first set of operations with a first system on a chip (SoC) positioned adjacent the first side of the frame, the first SoC coupled to and operating a first set of the plurality of electronic components; and perform a second set of operations with a second SoC positioned adjacent the second side of the frame, the second SoC coupled to and operating a second set of the plurality of electronic components comprising a first computer vision (CV) camera and a second CV camera each configured to generate images; operate the second SoC as a sensor hub by performing all CV processing for the first and the second CV cameras, …
18. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions when executed by the eyewear device further configures the eyewear device to: operate the second set of the plurality of electronic components further comprising a first display and a second display.
10. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the instructions when executed by the eyewear device further configures the eyewear device to: operate the second set of the plurality of electronic components further comprising a first display and a second display.
19. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein none of the electronic components in the first set of the plurality of electronic components are in the second set of the plurality of electronic components.
2. …., wherein none of the electronic components in the first set of the plurality of electronic components are in the second set of the plurality of electronic components.
20. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein second SoC performs machine learning (ML), and processing video encoding.
9. … operate the second SoC as a sensor hub by performing all CV processing for the first and the second CV cameras, machine learning (ML), and processing video encoding;
In view of the above, allowing claims 1-20 of the instant application would result in an
unjustified or improper time-wise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent. See In re
Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Feb. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1,8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. (US 2023/0109476).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses eyewear (e.g., figs. 1a-2b), comprising: a frame having a first side and a second side (e.g., fig. 2), a plurality of electronic components (e.g., figs. 2a-2b), a first system on a chip (SoC) adjacent the first side of the frame, the first SoC coupled to a first set of the plurality of electronic components (e.g., fig. 6, Soc. 602a), and a second SoC adjacent the second side, the second SoC coupled to the first SoC and to a second set of the plurality of electronic components (e.g., fig. 6, Soc. 602b), wherein the second set of the plurality of electronic components comprises a first computer vision (CV) camera and a second CV camera each configured to generate images (e.g., figs. 4 and 6, paragraphs 0076,0095,0107,0111), wherein the second SoC is configured as a sensor hub configured to perform all CV processing for the first and the second CV cameras (e.g., fig. 6, paragraph 0111).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the limitations recited in the claims are substantially similar to those of claim 1 above; and have been addressed in the above claim 1.
10. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feinman (US 2023/0108121).
Regarding claim 1, Feinman discloses eyewear (e.g., figs. 1a-2b and 6), comprising: a frame having a first side and a second side (e.g., fig. 6), a plurality of electronic components (e.g., figs. 2a-2b and 6), a first system on a chip (SoC) adjacent the first side of the frame, the first SoC coupled to a first set of the plurality of electronic components (e.g., fig. 6, Soc. 602a), and a second SoC adjacent the second side, the second SoC coupled to the first SoC and to a second set of the plurality of electronic components (e.g., fig. 6, Soc. 602b), wherein the second set of the plurality of electronic components comprises a first computer vision (CV) camera and a second CV camera each configured to generate images (e.g., figs. 4 and 6, cameras 114a and 114b), wherein the second SoC is configured as a sensor hub configured to perform all CV processing for the first and the second CV cameras (e.g., fig. 6, paragraph 0111).
Regarding claim 2, Feinman discloses the eyewear of claim 1, wherein none of the electronic components in the first set of the plurality of electronic components are in the second set of the plurality of electronic components (e.g., paragraph 0111, fig. 8, one SoC may act as a sensor hub "e.g., do all computer vision, CV, and machine learning, ML, processing plus video encoding" and the other SoC may run application logic, audio and video rendering functions, and communications).
Regarding claim 3, Feinman discloses the eyewear of claim 1, wherein second SoC is configured to perform machine learning (ML), and processing video encoding (e.g., paragraph 0111).
Regarding claim 4, Feinman discloses the eyewear of claim 1, wherein the first SoC is configured to run application logic, audio and video rendering functions (e.g., paragraph 0111).
Regarding claim 5, Feinman discloses the eyewear of claim 1, wherein the images generated by the CV cameras are prevented from being sent by the first SoC via wireless communication (e.g., paragraph 0111).
Regarding claim 6, Feinman discloses the eyewear of claim 1, wherein: the second set of the plurality of electronic components further comprises a first display and a second display (e.g., figs. 2a-2b, paragraphs 0059-0060).
Regarding claim 7, Feinman discloses the eyewear of claim 1, wherein only the first SoC
comprises an operating system (OS) (e.g., high-speed circuitry 430 executes an OS operating, as shown in fig. 4, paragraphs 0080-0081).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the limitations recited in the claims are substantially similar to those of claim 1 above; and have been addressed in the above claim 1.
Regarding claims 9-20, the limitations recited in the claims are substantially similar to those of claims 2-7 above; and have been addressed in the above claims.
Contact Information
should be directed to Behrooz Senfi, whose telephone number is (571)272-7339. The examiner can
normally be reached on Monday-Friday 10:00-6:00.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher Kelley can be reached on 571 272 7331. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see
http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact
the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-
9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571 -272-1000.
/BEHROOZ M SENFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482