Detailed office Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 – 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tech et al. (US Patent Number 12,719,503).
Regarding claim 21, Tech et al. disclose an apparatus (figs. 9 – 13) for decoding neural network, NN, parameters, which define a neural network, from a data stream, configured for obtaining, from the data stream, a mapping scheme for mapping quantization indices onto reconstruction levels, checking whether the mapping scheme fulfills a predetermined criterion, and reconstructing one of the NN parameters by if the mapping scheme fulfills the predetermined criterion, inferring a state of a predetermined syntax element from the mapping scheme, and if the mapping scheme does not fulfill the predetermined criterion, deriving the predetermined syntax element from the data stream, and subjecting a quantization index derived using the predetermined syntax element to the mapping scheme so as to obtain a reconstruction level of the NN parameter (Col. 3, lines 19 - 64; col. 36, line 48).
Regarding claim 22, Tech et al. disclose an apparatus (figs. 9 – 13), wherein the mapping scheme associates each of a finite set of quantization indices with one of a set of reconstruction levels (Col. 3, lines 19 - 64; col. 36, line 48).
Regarding claim 23, Tech et al. disclose an apparatus (figs. 9 – 13), wherein the quantization indices are integer numbers (Col. 3, lines 19 - 64; col. 36, line 48).
Regarding claim 24, Tech et al. disclose an apparatus (figs. 9 – 13) wherein the quantization indices included in the mapping scheme form a monotonic sequence of integer numbers, and wherein the apparatus is configured for obtaining, from the data stream, information about one or more of - a size of the sequence of quantization indices,- a position within the sequence of integer numbers, at which position a quantization index having a predetermined value is located (Col. 3, lines 19 - 64; col. 36, line 48).
Regarding claim 25, Tech et al. disclose an apparatus (figs. 9 – 13), wherein the apparatus is further configured for obtaining, from the data stream, information about one or more of - a predetermined reconstruction level which is associated with the quantization index having the predetermined value, and- a distance between two levels, which are associated with neighboring quantization indices of the sequence (Col. 3, lines 19 - 64; col. 36, line 48).
Regarding claim 26, Tech et al. disclose an apparatus (figs. 9 – 13), wherein the apparatus is configured for inferring that the quantization index is zero, if the mapping scheme comprises exactly one quantization index, which has the value zero (Col. 3, lines 19 - 64; col. 36, line 48).
Regarding claim 26, Tech et al. disclose an apparatus (figs. 9 – 13), wherein the predetermined criterion is fulfilled, if the mapping scheme comprises exactly one quantization index, which has the value zero, wherein the predetermined syntax element is a significance flag, which indicates, whether or not the quantization index has the value zero, and wherein the apparatus is configured for inferring that the quantization index is zero, if the mapping scheme fulfills the predetermined criterion (Col. 3, lines 19 - 64; col. 36, line 48).
Regarding claim 28, Tech et al. disclose an apparatus (figs. 9 – 13),, configured for deriving the quantization index independent of a syntax element of the data stream, which syntax element is dedicated for signaling the quantization index, if the mapping scheme comprises exactly one quantization index, which has the value zero (Col. 3, lines 19 - 64; col. 36, line 48).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 10, 18, 20 are allowable.
Conclusion
/JEAN B JEANGLAUDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845