DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “54” has been used to designate both “slot termination” and “distal section”; and reference character “238” has been used to designate both “slot” and “rear”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “32”, “34”, “36”, “60”, and “62”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “64”.
The drawings are objected to because:
In each of Figs. 1 - 4, 6, 8 - 10, 11 - 22, 24, 26 - 30, 32, 33, 35, and 41 – 44 multiple reference characters have been used to designate the same structural element (for example, in Fig. 1, see reference characters “12” and “20”; “42” and “46”; and “48” and “50”). Only one reference character and its associated lead line should be used to designate a specific structural element in any given figure.
In Figs. 11, 17, and 38, the text matter should be removed because text matter should only be included in figures when absolutely necessary. Reference characters and associated lead lines should be used whenever possible. Additionally, the text matter in Fig. 11 is illegible.
Regarding Figs. 29 and 30, it is unclear how the various structural elements shown in each of the aforementioned figures are connected to each other.
Figs. 1 - 10 should be labeled “Prior Art” because they are described as such in the specification.
Cross-sectional views need appropriate cross-hatching to illustrate the material(s) of which the various structural elements are composed. Figs. 3, 21, 32, 33, and 35.
Sectional views. The plane upon which a sectional view is taken should be indicated on the view from which the section is cut by a broken line. The ends of the broken line should be designated by Arabic or Roman numerals corresponding to the view number of the sectional view, and should have arrows to indicate the direction of sight. Hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object, and must be made by regularly spaced oblique parallel lines spaced sufficiently apart to enable the lines to be distinguished without difficulty. Hatching should not impede the clear reading of the reference characters and lead lines. If it is not possible to place reference characters outside the hatched area, the hatching may be broken off wherever reference characters are inserted. Hatching must be at a substantial angle to the surrounding axes or principal lines, preferably 45°. A cross section must be set out and drawn to show all of the materials as they are shown in the view from which the cross section was taken. The parts in cross section must show proper material(s) by hatching with regularly spaced parallel oblique strokes, the space between strokes being chosen on the basis of the total area to be hatched. The various parts of a cross section of the same item should be hatched in the same manner and should accurately and graphically indicate the nature of the material(s) that is illustrated in cross section. The hatching of juxtaposed different elements must be angled in a different way. In the case of large areas, hatching may be confined to an edging drawn around the entire inside of the outline of the area to be hatched. Different types of hatching should have different conventional meanings as regards the nature of a material seen in cross section. 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “better retention” as recited in lines 4 - 5 is confusing because “better” can be interpreted differently. For example, “better” can be interpreted as indicating a more secure connection between a bit and a bit holder or as indicating a more durable connection between a bit and a bit holder. Claim 10 contains a similar error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 - 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Monyak et al. (WO 2010/021582).
Regarding claim 1, Monyak discloses a retainer (sleeve 104) comprising: a tapered body portion (stepped portion 132 having an axially varying diameter) comprising an axial forward end (first end 122) and an axial distal end (bottom edge of second end 124); a first slot (slit 134) extending through a sidewall of the tapered body portion from the axial forward end to adjacent the axial distal end; and a reduced diameter distal section (second end 124) adjacent the axial distal end of the retainer, the reduced diameter distal section comprising a forward portion and a distal portion each comprising an outer diameter that is less than an outer diameter of the tapered body portion of the retainer forward of the reduced diameter distal section (Figs. 4 and 5; paragraphs 0019 - 0022).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Monyak further discloses the tapered body portion (132) comprising a taper greater than zero (Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Monyak further discloses the outer diameter of the tapered body portion at the axial forward end (122) of the retainer (104) being greater than the outer diameter of the tapered body portion at the axial adjacent the axial distal end (bottom edge of second end 124) of the retainer (104), the outer diameter of the tapered body portion at the axial forward end of the retainer (Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 6, Monyak discloses a bit (tool pick 102) comprising: a unitary body portion (head portion 106) comprising a washer portion (shoulder region 114) adjacent a distal end of the unitary body portion, the washer portion integrally formed as part of the unitary body portion; and a generally cylindrical shank (108) depending from a bottom of the body portion; and a retainer (104) disposed circumferentially about the shank, the retainer comprising: a tapered body portion (132) comprising an axial forward end (122) and an axial distal end (bottom edge of second end 124); a first slot (134) extending through a sidewall of the tapered body portion from the axial forward end to adjacent the axial distal end; and a reduced diameter distal section (124) adjacent the axial distal end of the retainer, the reduced diameter distal section comprising a forward portion and a distal portion each comprising an outer diameter that is less than an outer diameter of the tapered body portion (132) of the retainer forward of the reduced diameter distal section (Figs. 4 - 6; paragraphs 0019 - 0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monyak et al. in view of Levankovskij (RU 2198292).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Monyak fails to disclose a forward outer surface of the forward portion tapered axially inwardly towards the axial distal end of the retainer. Levankovskij teaches a forward outer surface of the forward portion tapered axially inwardly towards the axial distal end of the retainer (clamping sleeve 5) (Fig. 6; paragraphs 0021 and 20041). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the forward portion tapered axially inwardly towards the axial distal end of the retainer as taught by Levankovskij to facilitate insertion of the bit/retainer into the holder/block.
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Monyak further discloses a distal cylindrical outer surface of the distal portion (see distal portion of distal section 124) (Figs. 4 and 5). Monyak fails to disclose a forward tapered outer surface of the distal portion tapered axially inwardly towards the axially distal end of the retainer. Levankovskij teaches a forward tapered outer surface of the distal portion tapered axially inwardly towards the axial distal end of the retainer (5) (Fig. 6; paragraphs 0021 and 20041). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the forward portion tapered axially inwardly towards the axial distal end of the retainer as taught by Levankovskij to facilitate insertion of the bit/retainer into the holder/block.
Conclusion
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
9/11/2026