DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11463721. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: The patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11812050 in view of Chujoh et al (US 20210067798).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of this application are rendered obvious by the claims of the patent. Patent claims recite all limitations found in instant claims except for “generating predicted sample values of the block, wherein the predicted sample values of the block include predicted sample values of the plurality of sub-blocks, and wherein predicted sample values of the current subblock is generated based on the motion vector of the current sub-block.”
However, Chujoh teaches generating predicted sample values of the block, wherein the predicted sample values of the block include predicted sample values of the plurality of sub-blocks, and wherein predicted sample values of the current subblock is generated based on the motion vector of the current sub-block (see [0172]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to use Chujoh’s teachings to include generating predicted sample values of the block, wherein the predicted sample values of the block include predicted sample values of the plurality of sub-blocks, and wherein predicted sample values of the current subblock is generated based on the motion vector of the current sub-block in order to improve coding efficiency (Chujoh; [0011]).
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12425633 in view of Chujoh et al (US 20210067798).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of this application are rendered obvious by the claims of the patent. Patent claims recite all limitations found in instant claims except for “generating predicted sample values of the block, wherein the predicted sample values of the block include predicted sample values of the plurality of sub-blocks, and wherein predicted sample values of the current subblock is generated based on the motion vector of the current sub-block; wherein the obtaining the motion vector of the current sub-block based on the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value comprises: scaling the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value based on a picture order count (POC) of a current picture comprising the current sub-block, a POC of a target reference picture of the current picture comprising the current sub-block, a POC of the target picture, and a POC of a target reference picture of the target picture, to obtain the motion vector of the current sub-block; and wherein the motion vector of the current sub-block is obtained according to the following formula:
P1 represents the POC of the current picture comprising the current sub-block, P2 represents the POC of the target reference picture of the current picture comprising the current sub-block, P3 represents the POC of the target picture, P4 represents the POC of the target reference picture of the target picture, MV represents the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value, and MV.sub.s represents the motion vector of the current sub-block”.
However, Chujoh teaches generating predicted sample values of the block, wherein the predicted sample values of the block include predicted sample values of the plurality of sub-blocks, and wherein predicted sample values of the current subblock is generated based on the motion vector of the current sub-block (see [0172]);
wherein the obtaining the motion vector of the current sub-block based on the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value comprises: scaling the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value based on a picture order count (POC) of a current picture comprising the current sub-block, a POC of a target reference picture of the current picture comprising the current sub-block, a POC of the target picture, and a POC of a target reference picture of the target picture, to obtain the motion vector of the current sub-block (see [0160]); and
wherein the motion vector of the current sub-block is obtained according to the following formula:
P1 represents the POC of the current picture comprising the current sub-block, P2 represents the POC of the target reference picture of the current picture comprising the current sub-block, P3 represents the POC of the target picture, P4 represents the POC of the target reference picture of the target picture, MV represents the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value, and MV.sub.s represents the motion vector of the current sub-block (see [0151]-[0153]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to use Chujoh’s teachings to include generating predicted sample values of the block, wherein the predicted sample values of the block include predicted sample values of the plurality of sub-blocks, and wherein predicted sample values of the current subblock is generated based on the motion vector of the current sub-block; wherein the obtaining the motion vector of the current sub-block based on the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value comprises: scaling the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value based on a picture order count (POC) of a current picture comprising the current sub-block, a POC of a target reference picture of the current picture comprising the current sub-block, a POC of the target picture, and a POC of a target reference picture of the target picture, to obtain the motion vector of the current sub-block; and wherein the motion vector of the current sub-block is obtained according to the following formula:
P1 represents the POC of the current picture comprising the current sub-block, P2 represents the POC of the target reference picture of the current picture comprising the current sub-block, P3 represents the POC of the target picture, P4 represents the POC of the target reference picture of the target picture, MV represents the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value, and MV.sub.s represents the motion vector of the current sub-block in order to improve coding efficiency (Chujoh; [0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-14, 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chujoh et al (US 20210067798).
As to claim 1, Chujoh discloses a method for inter prediction of video data (FIG. 9, Adaptive Temporal Motion Vector Prediction (ATMVP)), comprising:
determining a target offset vector of a block and identifier information of a target picture (FIG. 9; motion vector BMV of target block of current picture PCur; see [0158], information of a reference picture SpRef[k][l] of each subblock is acquired; see FIG. 9, [0139] and [0162], reference picture index refIdxLX and reference picture BRef [i.e. target picture] of the target block; see also [0152] and [0354], POC), wherein the block comprises a plurality of sub-blocks (FIG. 9 and [0159], target block split into subblocks);
determining a location of a current sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks (FIG. 9 and [0159], location of target block split into subblocks in the current picture PCur; see [0147]-[0148] and [0232], coordinates of blocks);
determining a target location coordinate value of a collocated sub-block by performing a clipping operation on an initial location coordinate value of the collocated sub-block to be within a range (see FIG. 9 and [0158]-[0169], a block (collocated block) located at a position shifted by the motion vector BMV in the reference picture BRef is split into subblocks, and information of a motion vector SpRefMvLX[k][l] (k=0 . . . NBW-1, l=0 . . . NBH-1) and a reference picture SpRef[k][l] of each subblock is acquired … the spatial-temporal subblock predictor 30371 limits ( clips) motion vectors exceeding a range of the block level motion vector BMV (bmv[0], bmv[1]).+-.THCLIP so that the motion vectors fall within the range [note that the initial location coordinate value is determined with BMV (bmv[0], bmv[1]) while the target location coordinate value is determined with BMV (bmv[0], bmv[1]).+-.THCLIP]; see [0147]-[0148] and [0232], coordinates of blocks), wherein the initial location coordinate value is determined based on the location of the current sub-block and the target offset vector (FIG. 9 and [0158]-[0160], the motion vector SpRefMvLX[k][l] (k=0 . . . NBW-1, l=0 . . . NBH-1) at a position shifted from each subblock by the motion vector BMV may be derived), and the collocated sub-block is in the target picture and corresponds to the current sub-block (FIG. 9 and [0158]-[0160], a block (collocated block) located at a position shifted by the motion vector BMV in the reference picture BRef is split into subblocks each of which corresponds to a sub-block of the target block), wherein the target picture is indicated by the identifier information ([0139] and [0162], reference picture index refIdxLX), and wherein the range is determined based on a location and a size of a coding tree unit (CTU) in which the block is included (FIG. 9 and [0166]-[0168], location and size of TARGET BLOCK, rangeX and rangeY; see [0108], the CTU may be interpreted as a block), a size of the target picture (FIG. 9 and [0163], reference image RefPicListX[refIdxATMVP], as in FIG. 9(b) … as in FIG. 9(c)), and an extension range of a temporal motion vector field of the CTU (FIG. 9(b)-(c), 2*THCLIP);
obtaining a motion vector of the current sub-block based on a motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value (FIG. 9 and [0160]-[0169], motion vector SpMvLX[k][l] of each subblock of the target block is derived by using the scaling function MvScale( ), based on the motion vector SpRefMvLX[k][l] and the reference picture SpRef[k][l] of each subblock of the reference picture); and
generating predicted sample values of the block, wherein the predicted sample values of the block include predicted sample values of the plurality of sub-blocks, and wherein predicted sample values of the current subblock is generated based on the motion vector of the current sub-block ([0172], [0176]).
As to claim 2, Chujoh further discloses wherein the range is represented by a horizontal coordinate value range and a vertical coordinate value range (see [0166], rangeX and rangeY), the horizontal coordinate value range comprises a minimum horizontal coordinate value and a maximum horizontal coordinate value (see [0166], rangeX = max SpMvLxx - min spMvLXx), and the vertical coordinate value range comprises a minimum vertical coordinate value and a maximum vertical coordinate value (see [0166], rangeY = max SpMvLxy - min spMvLXy);
wherein the determining the target location coordinate value of the collocated sub-block by performing the clipping operation on the initial location coordinate value of the collocated sub-block to be within the range, comprises:
determining the target location coordinate value according to the following formulas ([0168]; see also [0169]):
HorMin is the minimum horizontal coordinate value (FIG. 9 and [0168]-[0170], bmv[0]-THCLIP), HorMax is the maximum horizontal coordinate value (FIG. 9 and [0168]-[0170], bmv[0]+THCLIP-1), VerMin is the minimum vertical coordinate value (FIG. 9 and [0168]-[0170], bmv[1]-THCLIP), VerMax is the maximum vertical coordinate value (FIG. 9 and [0168]-[0170], bmv[1]+THCLIP-1), a Clip3 function is a clipping function (see [0052] and [0164]), and the Clip3 function is defined as follows (see [0052]):
As to claim 3, Chujoh further discloses wherein the initial location coordinate value comprises at least one of a horizontal coordinate or a vertical coordinate of the collocated sub-block (see [0168], block level motion vector BMV (bmv[0], bmv[1]), bmv[0] indicates a horizontal coordinate and bmv[1] indicates a vertical coordinate; see [0147]-[0149]);
the horizontal coordinate of the collocated sub-block is a sum of a horizontal coordinate of the location of the current sub-block and a horizontal component (xoff) of the target offset vector (see [0168], BMV (bmv[0], bmv[1]).+-.THCLIP, bmv[0] is a horizontal component of the target offset vector BMV; see THCLIP in FIG. 9); and
the vertical coordinate of the collocated sub-block is a sum of a vertical coordinate of the location of the current sub-block and a vertical component (yoff) of the target offset vector (see [0168], BMV (bmv[0], bmv[1]).+-.THCLIP, bmv[1] is a vertical component of the target offset vector BMV; see THCLIP in FIG. 9).
As to claim 9, Chujoh further discloses wherein the obtaining the motion vector of the current sub-block based on the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value comprises:
scaling the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value based on a picture order count (POC) of a picture comprising the current sub-block, a POC of a target reference picture of the picture comprising the current sub-block, a POC of the target picture, and a POC of a target reference picture of the target picture, to obtain the motion vector of the current sub-block (see [0160], A motion vector SpMvLX[k][l] of each subblock of the target block is derived by using the scaling function MvScale( ); see the scaling function in [0151]-[0153]).
As to claim 10, Chujoh further discloses wherein the motion vector of the current sub-block is obtained according to the following formula (see [0153]):
P1 represents the POC of the picture comprising the current sub-block, P2 represents the POC of the target reference picture of the picture comprising the current sub-block, P3 represents the POC of the target picture, P4 represents the POC of the target reference picture of the target picture, MV represents the motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value, and MVs represents the motion vector of the current sub-block (see [0151]-[0153]).
As to claim 11, Chujoh further discloses wherein the determining the target offset vector of the block comprises: determining a motion vector of a spatially neighboring block of the block as the target offset vector (FIG. 9, motion vector BMV; see [0157], The spatially adjacent blocks L, A, AR, BL, and AL around the target block are scanned in the mentioned order so as to search for the first adjacent block having an available motion vector. In a case that an adjacent block having an available motion vector is successfully detected, a motion vector and a reference picture of the block are configured in a block level motion vector BMV (bmv[0], bmv[1]) and a block level reference picture BRef of the target block).
As to claim 12, Chujoh discloses an apparatus (FIG. 1), comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store computer-readable instructions ([0436]); and
a processor in communication with the non-transitory computer-readable medium and configured to execute the computer-readable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium thereby performing operations comprising ([0436]):
determining a target offset vector of a block and identifier information of a target picture (FIG. 9; motion vector BMV of target block of current picture PCur; see [0158], information of a reference picture SpRef[k][l] of each subblock is acquired; see FIG. 9, [0139] and [0162], reference picture index refIdxLX and reference picture BRef [i.e. target picture] of the target block; see also [0152] and [0354], POC), wherein the block comprises a plurality of sub-blocks (FIG. 9 and [0159], target block split into subblocks);
determining a location of a current sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks (FIG. 9 and [0159], location of target block split into subblocks in the current picture PCur; see [0147]-[0148] and [0232], coordinates of blocks);
determining a target location coordinate value of a collocated sub-block by performing a clipping operation on an initial location coordinate value of the collocated sub-block to be within a range (see FIG. 9 and [0158]-[0169], a block (collocated block) located at a position shifted by the motion vector BMV in the reference picture BRef is split into subblocks, and information of a motion vector SpRefMvLX[k][l] (k=0 . . . NBW-1, l=0 . . . NBH-1) and a reference picture SpRef[k][l] of each subblock is acquired … the spatial-temporal subblock predictor 30371 limits ( clips) motion vectors exceeding a range of the block level motion vector BMV (bmv[0], bmv[1]).+-.THCLIP so that the motion vectors fall within the range; see [0147]-[0148] and [0232], coordinates of blocks), wherein the initial location coordinate value is determined based on the location of the current sub-block and the target offset vector (FIG. 9 and [0158]-[0160], the motion vector SpRefMvLX[k][l] (k=0 . . . NBW-1, l=0 . . . NBH-1) at a position shifted from each subblock by the motion vector BMV may be derived), and the collocated sub-block is in the target picture and corresponds to the current sub-block (FIG. 9 and [0158]-[0160], a block (collocated block) located at a position shifted by the motion vector BMV in the reference picture BRef is split into subblocks each of which corresponds to a sub-block of the target block), wherein the target picture is indicated by the identifier information ([0139] and [0162], reference picture index refIdxLX);
wherein the range is determined based on a location and a size of a coding tree unit (CTU) in which the block is included (FIG. 9 and [0166]-[0168], location and size of TARGET BLOCK, rangeX and rangeY; see [0108], the CTU may be interpreted as a block), a size of the target picture (FIG. 9 and [0163], reference image RefPicListX[refIdxATMVP], as in FIG. 9(b) … as in FIG. 9(c)), and an extension range of a temporal motion vector field of the CTU (FIG. 9(b)-(c), 2*THCLIP);
obtaining a motion vector of the current sub-block based on a motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value (FIG. 9 and [0160]-[0169], motion vector SpMvLX[k][l] of each subblock of the target block is derived based on the motion vector SpRefMvLX[k][l] and the reference picture SpRef[k][l] of each subblock of the reference picture); and
generating predicted sample values of the block, wherein the predicted sample values of the block include predicted sample values of the plurality of sub-blocks, and wherein predicted sample values of the current subblock is generated based on the motion vector of the current sub-block ([0172], [0176]).
As to claims 13-14 and 20-22, apparatus claims 13-14 and 20-22 correspond to method claims 2-3 and 9-11, respectively, recite the same features as those recited in claims 2-3 and 9-11, respectively, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as used above in rejecting claims 2-3 and 9-11.
As to claim 23, Chujoh further discloses wherein the apparatus is a decoding apparatus or an encoding apparatus (FIG. 1).
As to claim 24, Chujoh discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising program code which, when executed by a processor ([0436]), causes the processor to perform the operations comprising:
determining a target offset vector of a block and identifier information of a target picture (FIG. 9; motion vector BMV of target block of current picture PCur; see [0158], information of a reference picture SpRef[k][l] of each subblock is acquired; see FIG. 9, [0139] and [0162], reference picture index refIdxLX and reference picture BRef [i.e. target picture] of the target block; see also [0152] and [0354], POC), wherein the block comprises a plurality of sub-blocks (FIG. 9 and [0159], target block split into subblocks);
determining a location of a current sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks (FIG. 9 and [0159], location of target block split into subblocks in the current picture PCur; see [0147]-[0148] and [0232], coordinates of blocks);
determining a target location coordinate value of a collocated sub-block by performing a clipping operation on an initial location coordinate value of the collocated sub-block to be within a range (see FIG. 9 and [0158]-[0169], a block (collocated block) located at a position shifted by the motion vector BMV in the reference picture BRef is split into subblocks, and information of a motion vector SpRefMvLX[k][l] (k=0 . . . NBW-1, l=0 . . . NBH-1) and a reference picture SpRef[k][l] of each subblock is acquired … the spatial-temporal subblock predictor 30371 limits ( clips) motion vectors exceeding a range of the block level motion vector BMV (bmv[0], bmv[1]).+-.THCLIP so that the motion vectors fall within the range; see [0147]-[0148] and [0232], coordinates of blocks), wherein the initial location coordinate value is determined based on the location of the current sub-block and the target offset vector (FIG. 9 and [0158]-[0160], the motion vector SpRefMvLX[k][l] (k=0 . . . NBW-1, l=0 . . . NBH-1) at a position shifted from each subblock by the motion vector BMV may be derived), and the collocated sub-block is in the target picture and corresponds to the current sub-block (FIG. 9 and [0158]-[0160], a block (collocated block) located at a position shifted by the motion vector BMV in the reference picture BRef is split into subblocks each of which corresponds to a sub-block of the target block), wherein the target picture is indicated by the identifier information ([0139] and [0162], reference picture index refIdxLX);
wherein the range is determined based on a location and a size of a coding tree unit (CTU) in which the block is included (FIG. 9 and [0166]-[0168], location and size of TARGET BLOCK, rangeX and rangeY; see [0108], the CTU may be interpreted as a block), a size of the target picture (FIG. 9 and [0163], reference image RefPicListX[refIdxATMVP], as in FIG. 9(b) … as in FIG. 9(c)), and an extension range of a temporal motion vector field of the CTU (FIG. 9(b)-(c), 2*THCLIP);
obtaining a motion vector of the current sub-block based on a motion vector corresponding to the target location coordinate value (FIG. 9 and [0160]-[0169], motion vector SpMvLX[k][l] of each subblock of the target block is derived based on the motion vector SpRefMvLX[k][l] and the reference picture SpRef[k][l] of each subblock of the reference picture); and
generating predicted sample values of the block, wherein the predicted sample values of the block include predicted sample values of the plurality of sub-blocks, and wherein predicted sample values of the current subblock is generated based on the motion vector of the current sub-block ([0172], [0176]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chujoh et al (US 20210067798).
As to claim 4, Chujoh further discloses wherein the initial location coordinate value of the collocated sub-block is derived as x(i,j) = x + M*i + xoff and y(i,j) = y + N*j + yoff (FIG. 9 and [0158], a block (collocated block) located at a position shifted by the motion vector BMV(bmv[0], bmv[1]) in the reference picture BRef; see [0147], a motion vector spMvLX[xi][yi] (xi=xPb+BW*i, yj=yPb+BH*j, i=0, 1, 2, . . . , W/BW-1, j=0, 1, 2, . . . , H/BH-1) of each subblock of the target block),
wherein (x, y) represents location coordinates of the block, i represents the current sub-block is an ith sub-block in the block in a horizontal direction, j represents the current sub-block is an jth sub-block in the block in a vertical direction, (xoff, yoff) represents values of components of the target offset vector in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction, respectively, M and N are respectively a width and a height of the current sub-block, and (x(i,j), y(i,j)) represents the initial location coordinate value of the collocated sub-block that corresponds to the (i, j)th sub-block (see [0147], (xPb, yPb) represents upper left coordinates of a target block, W, H represents the size of a target block, and BW, BH represents the size of a subblock; see [0157], block level motion vector BMV (bmv[0], bmv[1])).
Chujoh fails to explicitly disclose the following formulas:
.
However, this is merely selecting the center point of a sub-block in the block as the position of the location coordinates, and it is noted that in [0223] Chujoh mentions that “the motion vector spMvLX of each subblock is derived as a motion vector of each point located at the center of each subblock”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to use the above formulas by selecting the center point of a sub-block in the block as the position of the location coordinates since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (in this case location coordinates of the (i, j)th sub-block), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, and using the above formulas involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05.II. A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation.
As to claim 5, Chujoh further discloses wherein (x, y) represents location coordinates of a top-left vertex of the block, and (x(i,j), y(i,j)) represents location coordinates of a center point or a top-left vertex of the collocated sub-block that corresponds to the (i, j)th sub-block (see [0147], a motion vector spMvLX[xi][yi] (xi=xPb+BW*i, yj=yPb+BH*j, i=0, 1, 2, . . . , W/BW-1, j=0, 1, 2, . . . , H/BH-1) of each subblock of the target block … (xPb, yPb) represents upper left coordinates of a target block; see [0158], a block (collocated block) located at a position shifted by the motion vector BMV(bmv[0], bmv[1]) in the reference picture BRef).
As to claim 6, Chujoh further discloses wherein the current sub-block is an (i, j)th sub-block in the block, location coordinates of the (i, j)th sub-block are represented by (x + M*i, y + N*j), (x, y) represents location coordinates of the block, i represents the current sub-block is the ith sub-block in the block in a horizontal direction, j represents the current sub-block is the jth sub-block in the block in a vertical direction, and M and N are respectively a width and a height of the current sub-block (FIG. 9, [0147] and [0159]; see [0159], the target block may be split into subblocks, and the motion vector SpRefMvLX[k][l] (k=0 . . . NBW-1, l=0 . . . NBH-1) at a position shifted from each subblock by the motion vector BMV may be derived. Here, NBW and NBH represent the number of subblocks in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction, respectively; see [0147], a motion vector spMvLX[xi][yi] (xi=xPb+BW*i, yj=yPb+BH*j, i=0, 1, 2, . . . , W/BW-1, j=0, 1, 2, . . . , H/BH-1) of each subblock of the target block … (xPb, yPb) represents upper left coordinates of a target block, W, H represents the size of a target block, and BW, BH represents the size of a subblock).
Chujoh fails to explicitly disclose that location coordinates of the (i, j)th sub-block are represented by (x + M .times. i + M/2, y + N .times. j + N/2).
However, this is merely selecting the center point of a sub-block in the block as the position of the location coordinates, and it is noted that in [0223] Chujoh mentions that “the motion vector spMvLX of each subblock is derived as a motion vector of each point located at the center of each subblock”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to represent the location coordinates of the (i, j)th sub-block by (x + M .times. i + M/2, y + N .times. j + N/2) by selecting the center point of a sub-block in the block as the position of the location coordinates since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (in this case location coordinates of the (i, j)th sub-block), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, and representing the location coordinates of the (i, j)th sub-block by (x + M .times. i + M/2, y + N .times. j + N/2) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05.II. A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation.
As to claim 7, Chujoh further discloses wherein the range is determined according to HorMin, HorMax, VerMin, and VerMax, which are based on CTUX, CTUY, CTUW, CTUH, PicW-1, PicH-1, RangeU, RangeB, RangeL RangeR (see [0166]), wherein
HorMin and HorMax are respectively a minimum value and a maximum value of the range in a horizontal direction (see [0166], min spMvLXx and max SpMvLxx), VerMin and VerMax are respectively a minimum value and a maximum value of the range in a vertical direction (see [0166], min spMvLXy and max SpMvLxy), CTUX and CTUY represent location coordinates of the CTU in which the block is included (FIG. 9, TARGET BLOCK; see [0147]; see [0108], the CTU may be interpreted as a block), CTUW and CTUH respectively represent a width and a height of the CTU in which the block is included (FIG. 9, TARGET BLOCK; see [0141] and [0147], (W, H) represents the width and the height of a target block; see [0108], the CTU may be interpreted as a block), RangeU, RangeB, RangeL, and RangeR respectively represent extension range values that are in an upward direction, a downward direction, a left direction, and a right direction and that are of the temporal motion vector field of the CTU in which the block is included (FIG. 9(b)-(c), 2*THCLIP2*THCLIP which includes upper, bottom, left and right range the extension range of the temporal motion vector field of the CTU), and PicW and PicH are respectively a width and a height of the target picture (FIG. 9, TARGET BLOCK; see [0141] and [0147], (W, H) represents the width and the height of a target block).
Chujoh fails to explicitly disclose wherein the range is determined according to the following formulas:
HorMin = Max(CTUX-RangeL,0);
HorMax = Min(CTUX+CTUW+RangeR-1,PicW-1);
VerMin = Max(CTUY-RangeU,0); and
VerMax = Min(CTUY+CTUH+RangeB-1, PicH-1).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to determine the range according the above formulas, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (in this case determining the range), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, and determine the range according the above formulas involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05.II. A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation.
As to claim 8, Chujoh further discloses wherein a value of the extension range of the temporal motion vector field of the CTU (RangeU, RangeB, RangeL, RangeR) is a predetermined value (FIG. 9(b)-(c), 2*THCLIP which includes upper, bottom, left and right range the extension range of the temporal motion vector field of the CTU; see [0164] and [0168], a prescribed range).
As to claims 15-19, apparatus claims 15-19 correspond to method claims 4-8, respectively, recite the same features as those recited in claims 4-8, respectively, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above in rejecting claims 4-8.
Conclusion
/BOUBACAR ABDOU TCHOUSSOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482