DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okunaga (US PGPub 20190296715).
As per claims 1 & 11:
Okunaga discloses in Figs. 6 & 13:
A surface acoustic wave resonator (piston mode acoustic waves with IDTs are surface acoustic wave resonators) comprising:
a multilayer piezoelectric substrate (piezoelectric thin film 22 and layers 23 & 24); and
interdigital transducer (IDT) electrodes (3) disposed on an upper surface of the multilayer piezoelectric substrate, the IDT electrodes having at least partially rounded upper sides (as seen in Fig. 13, wherein electrode finger 3b2 has rounded upper edges).
As per claims 2 & 12:
Okunaga discloses in Figs. 6 & 13:
the IDT electrodes each includes a lower layer formed of a first metal and an upper layer formed of a second metal having a density less than that of the first metal (Pt lower layer, Aluminum and or Ti upper layer, [0044]).
As per claims 3 & 13:
Okunaga discloses in Figs. 6 & 13:
the upper side of the upper layer of each of the IDT electrodes includes rounded corners and a flat central region (as seen in Fig. 13).
As per claim 18:
Okunaga discloses in Figs. 6 & 13-14:
forming a radio frequency filter including the surface acoustic wave resonator of claim 11 (duplexer 201A/B include filters 211/221 and 212/222 [0100, 0103]).
As per claim 19:
Okunaga discloses in Figs. 6 & 13-14:
forming a radio frequency device module (RF-front end circuit 230) including the radio frequency filter of claim 18 (duplexer 201A/B include filters 211/221 and 212/222 [0100, 0103]).
As per claim 20:
Okunaga discloses in Figs. 6 & 13-14:
forming a radio frequency electronic device (communication apparatus 240) including the radio frequency device module of claim 19 (duplexer 201A/B include filters 211/221 and 212/222 [0100, 0103]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 11-12, 14, & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US PGPub 20240333252) in view of Fujimoto et al. (US PGPub 20060076851)
As per claims 1 & 11:
Lee et al. discloses in Fig. 2A:
A surface acoustic wave resonator (title) comprising:
a multilayer piezoelectric substrate (piezoelectric substrate 110); and
interdigital transducer (IDT) electrodes (150) disposed on an upper surface of the multilayer piezoelectric substrate, (Figs. 10 & 13 is rounded by dispersion preventing layers 8, [0007], protective film 9 in Fig. 11).
Lee et al. does not disclose:
the IDT electrodes having at least partially rounded upper sides Fujimoto et al. discloses in Figs. 10, 11, & 13:
the use of rounded dispersion layers (8) or rounded protective films (9) on IDT electrodes ([0007]) to prevent dispersion ([0007]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the rounded dispersion layers or rounded protective films of Fukimoto et al. on the IDT electrodes of Lee et al. to provide the benefit of preventing dispersion, as is well understood in the art.
As per claim 2 & 12:
Lee et al. discloses in Fig. 2A:
the IDT electrodes each includes a lower layer formed of a first metal and an upper layer formed of a second metal having a density less than that of the first metal ([0014]).
As per claims 4 & 14:
Lee et al. does not disclose:
an entirety of the upper side of the upper layer of each of the IDT electrodes is rounded.
Fujimoto et al. discloses in Figs. 11:
the use of rounded protective films (9) on IDT electrodes ([0007]) to prevent dispersion ([0007]), wherein an entirety of the upper side of the upper layer of each of the IDT electrodes is rounded.
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, an entirety of the upper side of the upper layer of each of the IDT electrodes is rounded.
As per claims 6 & 16:
Lee et al. does not disclose:
the entireties of sidewalls of the lower layer of each of the IDT electrodes are curved.
Fujimoto et al. discloses in Figs. 11:
the use of rounded protective films (9) on IDT electrodes ([0007]) to prevent dispersion ([0007]), wherein the entireties of sidewalls of the lower layer of each of the IDT electrodes are curved.
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the entireties of sidewalls of the lower layer of each of the IDT electrodes are curved.
Claim(s) 1-3 & 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki et al. (US PGPub 20140232239) in view of Iwamoto et al. (US PGPub 20210226603)
As per claims 1 & 11:
Iwasaki et al. discloses in Figs. 16:
A surface acoustic wave resonator ([0038], wherein a Rayleigh wave is a surface acoustic wave) comprising:
a piezoelectric substrate (303); and
interdigital transducer (IDT) electrodes (302) disposed on an upper surface of the multilayer piezoelectric substrate, the IDT electrodes having at least partially rounded upper sides (joint section 302 is smoothly joined to side surface 307C, [0108]).
Iwasaki et al. does not disclose:
a multilayer piezoelectric substrate
Iwamoto et al. discloses in Fig. 1A:
a multilayer piezoelectric substrate (piezoelectric body 5 and layers 3 & 4) for a surface acoustic wave resonator ([0107]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the piezoelectric substrate of Iwasaki et al. with the multilayer piezoelectric substrate of Iwamoto et al. as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent piezoelectric substrate able to provide the same function.
As per claims 2 & 12:
Iwasaki et al. discloses in Figs. 16:
the IDT electrodes each includes a lower layer (308) formed of a first metal (Mo, [0096]) and an upper layer (307) formed of a second metal (Al [0096]) having a density less than that of the first metal ([0096]).
As per claims 3 & 13:
Okunaga discloses in Figs. 6 & 13:
the upper side of the upper layer of each of the IDT electrodes includes rounded corners (transition between 307C and 320, [0108]) and a flat central region (as seen in Fig. 16).
Claim(s) 7-10 & 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The resultant combination of Iwasaki et al. (US PGPub 20140232239) in view of Iwamoto et al. (US PGPub 20210226603) as applied to claims 3 & 13 above, and further in view of Kamijo et al. (US PGPub 20210321512)
The resultant combination discloses the surface acoustic wave resonator of claims 3 & 13, as rejected above.
As per claims 7 & 17:
The resultant combination discloses in Fig. 16 of Iwasaki et al.:
the lower layer of each of the IDT electrodes includes sidewalls having a lower straight vertical portion (as seen in Fig. 16).
The resultant combination does not disclose:
the lower layer of each of the IDT electrodes includes sidewalls having a lower straight vertical portion and an upper curved portion.
Kamijo discloses in Figs. 8-9:
A conductive film wherein upper corners are rounded suppresses reduction in conductivity more than upper corners that are not rounded ([0199]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the upper corners of the lower layer of each of the IDT electrodes of The resultant combination to be rounded to provide the benefit of suppressing reduction in conductivity, as taught by Kamijo ([0199]).
As a consequence of the combination, the lower layer of each of the IDT electrodes includes sidewalls having a lower straight vertical portion and an upper curved portion.
As per claim 8:
The resultant combination discloses in Figs. 16 & 17 of Iwasaki et al.:
A filter including the surface acoustic wave resonator ([0114]).
The resultant combination does not disclose a filter including the surface acoustic wave resonator of claim 7.
Kamijo discloses in Figs. 8-9:
A conductive film wherein upper corners are rounded suppresses reduction in conductivity more than upper corners that are not rounded ([0199]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 7, the resultant combination discloses a filter including the surface acoustic wave resonator of claim 7.
As per claim 9:
The resultant combination discloses in Figs. 16 & 17 of Iwasaki et al.:
A radio frequency device module (antenna duplexer 323) including the surface acoustic wave resonator in a filter ([0114]).
The resultant combination does not disclose A radio frequency device module including the filter of claim 8.
Kamijo discloses in Figs. 8-9:
A conductive film wherein upper corners are rounded suppresses reduction in conductivity more than upper corners that are not rounded ([0199]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 8, the resultant combination discloses A radio frequency device module including the filter of claim 8.
As per claim 10:
The resultant combination discloses in Figs. 16 & 17 of Iwasaki et al.:
A radio frequency device (portable phone, [0057]) including the surface acoustic wave resonator in a filter in a module ([0114]).
The resultant combination does not disclose a radio frequency device including the radio frequency device module of claim 9
Kamijo discloses in Figs. 8-9:
A conductive film wherein upper corners are rounded suppresses reduction in conductivity more than upper corners that are not rounded ([0199]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 8, the resultant combination discloses A radio frequency device including the radio frequency device module of claim 9.
As per claim 18:
The resultant combination discloses in Figs. 16 & 17 of Iwasaki et al.:
Forming a filter including the surface acoustic wave resonator ([0114]).
The resultant combination does not disclose a filter including the surface acoustic wave resonator of claim 17.
Kamijo discloses in Figs. 8-9:
Forming a conductive film wherein upper corners are rounded suppresses reduction in conductivity more than upper corners that are not rounded ([0199]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 17, the resultant combination discloses forming a filter including the surface acoustic wave resonator of claim 17.
As per claim 19:
The resultant combination discloses in Figs. 16 & 17 of Iwasaki et al.:
forming a radio frequency device module (antenna duplexer 323) including the surface acoustic wave resonator in a filter ([0114]).
The resultant combination does not disclose forming a radio frequency device module including the filter of claim 18.
Kamijo discloses in Figs. 8-9:
forming a conductive film wherein upper corners are rounded suppresses reduction in conductivity more than upper corners that are not rounded ([0199]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 18, the resultant combination discloses A radio frequency device module including the filter of claim 18.
As per claim 20:
The resultant combination discloses in Figs. 16 & 17 of Iwasaki et al.:
forming a radio frequency device (portable phone, [0057]) including the surface acoustic wave resonator in a filter in a module ([0114]).
The resultant combination does not disclose a radio frequency device including the radio frequency device module of claim 19
Kamijo discloses in Figs. 8-9:
forming a conductive film wherein upper corners are rounded suppresses reduction in conductivity more than upper corners that are not rounded ([0199]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 18, the resultant combination discloses forming a radio frequency device including the radio frequency device module of claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 & 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the limitations of claims 5 & 15, combined with the limitations of the claims upon which they depend were not disclosed by the closest relevant prior art as provided in the rejections above.
Conclusion
/Samuel S Outten/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843