DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220411224 (herein Asaba).
Regarding claim 1, Asaba teaches A conveying device (image forming apparatus 100, [0032]), comprising:
a receptacle to receive a medium (sheet tray 15, [0058]);
an imager to capture an image of the medium (image capturing device 110, [0063]); and
circuitry configured to: initiate conveyance of the medium from the receptacle after the imager captures the image of the medium (image capturing device 110 starts capturing the image of the sheet tray 15 in step S3, [0085]; sheet feeding is ready or is started (step S7-2), [0089]; Fig. 7 shows corresponding flowchart);
acquire image information of the medium captured by the imager (image data of the image captured by the image capturing device 110 is acquired in step S4, [0085]); and
perform control based on at least one of a condition or a type of the medium, the at least one of the condition or the type being recognized based on the acquired image information ([0089] teaches control panel and subsequent control based on image inside tray 15).
Regarding claim 3, Asaba teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to display, on the display, a portion represented in the image information and determined to be anomalous, based on a determination that the at least one of the condition or the type of the medium is anomalous (when the processing device 80 detects waving, curling, or folding in the sheet, it is preferable that the condition of the sheet set in the sheet tray, i.e., waving, curling, or folding, is displayed on the control panel 70 to prompt the user to replace the sheet, [0128])
Regarding claim 4, Asaba teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to stop initiation of conveyance of the medium from the receptacle based on a determination that the at least one of the condition or the type of the medium is anomalous ([0128] teaches processing device 80 and control panel 70 use to detect and prevent occurrence of waving, curling, folding before sheet feeding; see Figs. 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Asaba teaches wherein the imager is integrated with the conveying device and is positioned to capture information represented on the medium (Fig. 4 teaches image forming apparatus 100 in which capturing device 110 is integrated).
Regarding claim 6, Asaba teaches wherein the imager is positioned external to the conveying device (Fig. 1 teaches duplex device 60 which may correspond to conveying device of the present invention, which capturing device 110 is separated from).
Regarding claim 8, Asaba teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: receive a selection of whether to start conveying the medium based on a determination that the at least one of the condition or the type of the medium is anomalous (Fig. 7 teaches steps S7-1 and S7-2 that either displays warning for user intervention or starts sheet feeding; see also [0127]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 11, Asaba teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: acquire the image information of the medium captured by the imager each time the medium is conveyed from the receptacle; and perform the control based on the at least one of the condition or the type of the medium recognized based on the image information, each time the circuitry acquires the image information ([0128] teaches processing device 80 detects waving, folding, or curling in a sheet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asaba as applied to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 9, Asaba does not explicitly teach “wherein the circuitry is configured to perform control to display the image of the medium based on the image information of the medium captured by the imager based on a determination that the at least one of the condition or the type of the medium is anomalous.” However, since Asaba teaches a display on control panel 70 that displays anomalous conditions such as waving, curling, or folding, ([0128]) it would have been obvious to display the equivalent corresponding image on the display for at least the purpose of improving human interpretation of data.
Regarding claim 10, Asaba teaches “wherein the circuitry is configured to display information indicating an area determined to be anomalous, obvious to also display the captured image on the display along with the associated condition for at least the purpose of improving human interpretation of data.
Regarding the above claims 9-10, a limitation involving displaying data on a graphical user interface was found to be an obvious functional relationship and not new as discussed in MPEP §2111.05. Specifically, MPEP 2111.05 (B)(III) states that these claims are directed toward conveying meaning to the human reader rather than towards establishing a functional relationship between recorded data and the computer.
Claim(s) 7, 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asaba as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of US 20220116509 (herein Sakai).
Regarding claim 7, Asaba does not teach, “a communication device to transmit the acquired image information to an external device and receive, from the external device, information for a determination of control to be performed based on the at least one of the condition or the type of the medium recognized based on the image information, wherein the circuitry is configured to perform control based on the information received by the communication device.” However, Sakai teaches it is known in the art to incorporate a user interface 132 within a conveying device 100 to connect to a PC or mobile terminal via a wireless network ([0046]). Since Asaba teaches conditional control based on media, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to use the network communication taught by Sakai with the image forming apparatus of Asaba to control conveyance based on media (shown in Fig. 7 of Asaba).
Regarding claim 14, Asaba teaches a communication device to communicate with a communication terminal of a user using the conveying device (controller 500 may include an external interface (external I/F) that can transmit and receive, for example, data to and from a host serving as an external device. The host includes an information processing device such as a personal computer, ([0088]), and skew determination (S15, Fig. 15). Asaba does not teach, “a communication device to communicate with a communication terminal of a user using the conveying device via a communication network, wherein the circuitry is configured to transmit information indicating an anomaly in the at least one of the condition or the type of the medium to the communication terminal through the communication device based on a determination that the at least one of the condition or the type of the medium is anomalous..” However, Sakai teaches it is known in the art to incorporate a user interface 132 within a conveying device 100 to connect to a PC or mobile terminal via a wireless network ([0046]) to notify a user of anomalies such as medium skew ([0112]).
Regarding claim 15, Asaba does not explicitly teach “wherein the circuitry is configured to transmit the image information representing a portion determined to be anomalous to the communication terminal as information indicating the anomaly in the at least one of the condition or the type of the medium.” However, Asaba teaches detecting medium anomalies using image capture 110 ([0126]-[0128]). It would have been obvious to communicate and display the equivalent information and transmit via a network of Sakai for at least the purpose of improving human interpretation of data, since a limitation involving displaying data on a graphical user interface was found to be an obvious functional relationship and not new as discussed in MPEP §2111.05. Specifically, MPEP 2111.05 (B)(III) states that these claims are directed toward conveying meaning to the human reader rather than towards establishing a functional relationship between recorded data and the computer.
Regarding claim 16, Asaba teaches an image reading device comprising the conveying device according to claim 1 (see image forming apparatus 100 used in rejection of claim 1 above). Asaba does not teach a reader to read information represented on the medium conveyed by the conveying device. However, Sakai teaches an imaging device 117 that operates as an image scanner ([0037]) that corresponds to image reader of the present invention.
Regarding claim 18, Asaba in view of Sakai teaches an image forming apparatus, comprising the image reading device according to claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16 above). Asaba does not teach, “an image forming device to form an image on another medium based on the information read by the image reading device.” However, Sakai teaches it is known in the art to provide a printer multifunction machine ([0026]) that may print from information captured by imaging device 117 ([0037]).
For the above claims 7, 14-16 and 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to incorporate the communication and notification of Sakai into the image forming apparatus of Asaba. One would be motivated to do so for at least the purpose of updating a user of the status of the apparatus. It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to incorporate the reader and scanner of Sakai into the image forming apparatus of Asaba because the combination is known in the art as a multifunction printer/MFP ([0026]) to provide an all-in-one document servicing solution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13, 17, and 19-22 are allowed.
Regarding claim 12 and dependents thereof, the prior art does not teach, “a memory that stores a trained model to output information indicating whether to read the medium based on the condition or the type of the medium in response to an input of the image information representing a surface of the medium, wherein the circuitry is configured to input the image information into the trained model and perform control based on a result received from the trained model.” Asaba and Sakai teach detecting a surface of medium for skew and curling, folds present, but does not store or use a trained model. US 20250256937 (herein Morinaga) is relevant because it teaches skew corrected but with predicted values using a trained model 500 through machine learning using sheet information. However, even if Asaba would be combined with Morinaga, the combination does not determine whether to read the medium based on a condition/type of medium in response to the image information.
Regarding claim 17, US 20240042775 (herein Takahashi) teaches “another reader to read the information represented on the medium placed in a readable area at a position different from the receptacle while moving” (host includes an image scanner, [0088]); and a display (operation panel includes a display, [0089]). However, Takahashi does not teach, “wherein the circuitry is configured to display, on the display, information prompting placement of the medium in the readable area for reading, based on a determination that the at least one of the condition or the type of the medium is anomalous.”
Regarding claim 19, the prior art does not teach, “circuitry configured to generate, in response to the information received by the communication device, information indicating whether to read the medium based on at least one of a condition or a type of the medium.” Claim 20 recites a similar allowable limitation: “the acquired image information to the information processing apparatus and receive information indicating whether to read the medium based on the image information from the information processing apparatus.”
Regarding the above limitations featuring a determination whether to read the medium, US6233425 (herein Ohkubo) is cited as relevant prior art. Ohkubo teaches preventing copies that are prohibited originals based on a sensing device 50 and image reading device 48 (Col. 4, Lines 42-45). But Ohkubo differs because it still reads the image using device 48, but stops copy processing and conveying.
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not teach, “wherein the acquired image information is image information of the medium captured by the imager before the medium is placed on the receptacle.” Asaba teaches acquiring image using camera 110 but this occurs when the media is already in tray 101.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and dependents thereof have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/PHILIP T FADUL/Examiner, Art Unit 2852