DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-34 are pending and they are examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Anticipated by Chen et al.
Claims 1-7, 10-18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (Published: 2015, Journal: Theoretical and Applied Genetics, Vol. 128, pages: 733-743), and further evidenced by Hao et al. (Published Year: 2024, Journal: Nature Communications, Vol.:15(1), 3310, pages 1-11).
Claims are drawn to a soybean plant having Asian soybean rust resistance comprising nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2 that encodes the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 with its endogenous promoter SEQ ID NO:7, and method making the plant.
Following analysis based on the In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) which teaches “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” Hence a product-by-process claim may be properly rejectable over prior art teaching the same product produced by a different process, if the process of making the product fails to distinguish the two products.
Applicant defines “The expression cassette refers to DNA capable of expressing the protein in a host cell, and the DNA not only includes a promoter that initiates transcription of the gene encoding the protein, but also includes a terminator that terminates the transcription.” (page 81, paragraph 0236). Therefore genomic structure of any DNA that express to a host cell with its natural promoter and terminator that terminates the transcription would have been the expression cassette.
Regarding claims 1-6, 11, Chen et al. discloses F2 populations were obtained from crosses between Zhongdou 40 x SX6907, Tianlong 1 x SX6907, and Pudou11 x SX6907. SX6907 is a landrace obtained from Hubei Province. Chen discloses SX6907 had been identified an immune response to SS4, a P. pachyrhizi isolate from Fujian. Chen et al. discloses Zhongdou40, Tianlong 1 [high-yield varieties developed by Oil Crops Research Institute of the Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, (OCRI)], and Pudou11 (a high-yield variety developed by Guangxi Agriculture Academy) were the susceptible parents (page 734, right paragraph 3). Chen et al. discloses F1 hybrid seeds were confirmed using molecular markers and resistance evaluation. Wherein the F2 population of Tianlong 1 x SX6907 was used for fine mapping (page 734, right paragraph 4). Resistance assay in F2:3 was carried out only for the recombinants (page 735, left paragraph 2). Where in the some of the recombinant such as 116, 119 and 82 are homozygous as resistance parent SX6907 for the markers analyzed encompassing the resistance region Rpp6907 (page 739, Table 4, see table below).
For this reason, the F2:3 soybean plants comprise a expression cassette or a heterologous nucleic acid molecule (i.e. found in non-native location since Tianlong 1 DNA naturally does not comprise the gene) that encodes protein as SEQ ID NO:1 and has provided increased resistance to ASR in the recombinant F2:3 soybean plants. Furthermore, the Applicant’s nucleotide sequence encoding SEQ ID NO: 2 is found in the genome of SX6907 (see alignment of SEQ ID NO: 2 to the NCBI protein database and description of locus PP508376 found in SX6907 that comprises SEQ ID NO:2). It was further evidenced by Hao et al. which showed their resistant locus is located within the Rpp6907 flanked by markers SSR24 and SSR40 in chromosome 18 (see figure 1 a below from Hao et al.)
Chen et al. also discloses the resistance gene from SX6907 was mapped on chromosome 18 flanked by SSR24 and SSR40 wherein the physical distance between SSR24 and SSR40 based on the G. max genome (assembly version 1.01) is 111.9 kb (http://www.soybase.org) (page 740, left paragraph1). Chen et al. discloses SX6907 hosted a novel Rpp gene (page 740, left paragraph2). Chen et al. discloses they have finely mapped the Rpp6907 locus in SX6907 that confers resistance to P. pachyrhizi isolate SS4 (page 741, right paragraph 1). Chen et al. discloses Rpp6907 was mapped to the R gene-rich regions at the end of chromosome 18 (page 742, left paragraph 2).
Regarding claims 10 and 23, Hao et al. showed the evidence that the SEQ ID NO: 7 is endogenous to the SX6907 in the PP508376.1, hence it is native promoter operatively linked to the SEQ ID NO:1 (see enclosed alignment of SEQ ID NO:7 to NCBI nucleotide database). Applicant also states SEQ ID NO:7 is original endogenous promoter of the RppRC1 (i.e. SEQ ID NO:2) (Spec, page 83, paragraph 0242).
Regarding claims 12-17, the crossing of Tianlong 1 x SX6907 would have introduced the expression cassette into a non-native locus since Tianlong 1 lacks the resistance gene of SEQ ID NO: 2 encoding SEQ ID NO:1.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Chen et al. teaches Tianlong 1 is high yielding soybean variety in China (i.e. elite soybean plant) (page 734, right paragraph 3).
Hence Chen et al.’s the F2:3 plant comprising the genomic region the Rpp6907 anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Obvious over Chen et al. and further in view of Bagemann et al. and Yoshimi et al.
Claims 1, 8-9, 12 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., and further in view of Bagemann et al. (Published: 2017, Journal: Scientific Reports 7: 11606 | DOI:10.1038/s41598-017-11760-6, pages 1-6), and further in view of Yoshimi et al. (Published:2016, Journal: Nature. Com. 7:10431 | DOI: 10.1038, pages 1-10).
Claims are drawn to a soybean plant having Asian soybean rust resistance comprising nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2 that encodes the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 with its endogenous promoter SEQ ID NO:7, and method making the plant. The claims are further drawn to wherein the expression cassette comprising the gene and promoter is not located in chromosome 18 and it is inserted by gene editing system.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Chen et al. teaches SX6907 is a highly ASR resistant germplasm and has an immune response against P. pachyrhizi isolate SS4 (Chen et al., page 734, right paragraph 2). Chen et al.’s the F2:3 soybean plants comprise a expression cassette or a heterologous nucleic acid molecule (i.e. found in non-native location since Tianlong 1 does not comprise the gene) that encodes protein as SEQ ID NO:1 and has provided increased resistance to ASR in the recombinant F2:3 soybean plants. Chen et al. teaches resistance to soybean rust caused by Phakopsora pachyrhizi in SX6907 is controlled by a single incomplete dominant gene (designated as Rpp6907) wherein Rpp6907 was mapped on soybean chromosome 18 (molecular linkage group G, MLG G) flanked by simple sequence repeat (SSR) markers SSR24 and SSR40 at a distance of 111.9 kb (Chen et al., page 733, Abstract) between 60,620,161–60,732,116 bp positions (Chen et al., page 740, right last paragraph). Chen teaches flanking markers. SSR22 and SSR40, co-segregated with Rpp6907, can be used as convenient tools for the MAS of Rpp6907 in breeding programs (Chen et al., page742, left paragraph 3).
Furthermore, the Applicant’s nucleotide sequence encoding SEQ ID NO: 2 is found in the genome of SX6907 (see alignment of SEQ ID NO: 2 to the NCBI protein database and description of locus PP508376 found in SX6907 that comprises SEQ ID NO:2). It was further shown by evidence by Hao et al. which showed their resistant locus is located within the Rpp6907 flanked by markers SSR24 and SSR40 in chromosome 18 (see figure 1a above from Hao et al.).
The method of crossing of Tianlong 1 x SX6907 would have introduced the expression cassette into a non-native locus since Tianlong 1 lacks the resistance gene of SEQ ID NO: 2 encoding SEQ ID NO:1.
Therefore method of improving soybean ASR resistance by introducing SEQ ID NO: 2 encoding SEQ ID NO: 1 and its promoter (i.e. expression cassette) was taught by Chen et al.
Regarding claims 19-20, Bagemann et al. teaches Cpf1 (i.e. Cas12a) mediated targeted integration of complete hygromycin phosphotransferase gene (hpt) along with the ZmUbi1 promoter and a CaMV 35S terminator in Chlorophyllide-a oxygenase gene of rice (CAO1) gene (Figure 1, Figure S3). The hpt cassette driven by maize ubiquitin promoter and terminated by the 35S terminator in a pUC19 backbone.
Chen et al. teaches their fine mapping showed Rpp6907 (flanked by markers SSR24 and SSR40 on Gm18: 60,620,161–60,732,116) which comprise 95,659 kb fragment (i.e. 96 kb fragment).
Yoshimi et al. teaches CRSPR-Cas mediated insertion of 200 kb DNA (i.e. a larger fragment than the Chen et al.’s Rpp6907 region) fragment in human (paoge1, Abstract, Table 1). Yoshimi et al. teaches their method is applicable to any target site, any species and with any donor vector without the need of attaching homology arms (page8, right paragraph 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skill in the art to knock in the 96kb fragment taught by Chen et al. to a soybean plant that would cause resistance to ASR.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skilled in the art before effective date of filling of the invention to include gene editing using CRIPR Cas12a (i.e. Cpf1) in the method for introducing selection gene as hpt and/or insert or replace the fragment taught by the Chen et al. form the method taught by Yoshimi et al. that would cause increased ASR resistance.
Regarding claims 8 and 21, the CRISPR-Cas method are target-specific insertion and the method can be used to insert gene into any desired location comprising not including the chromosome 18. The method would produce the plant of claim 8.
Regarding claims 9 and 22, the location would have been “equivalent” (i.e. with similar function) to a region of Glycine max or should not be in location “about” base pair 56,680,416 and ending at “about” base pair 56,677,361 of chromosome 18.
Thus, Someone skilled in the art would insert the fragment other than the recited 56Mb region since for example Chen et al. teaches there is Rpp1 and other genes located on the region so that the multiple stacked genes would have added more resistance to ASR (page 740, left last paragraph, Table 6). Furthermore, Bagemann et al. teaches the use of their disclosed insertion method using Cpf1 (i.e. Cas12a) can be useful for trait stacking (page 5, paragraph 2). The method would produce the plant of claim 9.
Regarding claim 24, Chen et al. teaches the resistance gene from F2:3 lines fitted well with the Mendelian 1(IM):2(RB):1(TAN) and 1R (resistance homozygous):2H
(heterozygous):1S (susceptible homozygous) ratio, respectively (Table 1). Chen et al. teaches SX6907 is useful source of ASR resistance for breeding ant their disclosed locus Rpp6907 can be used for breeding programs along with the segregating markers SSR22 and SSR40.
Therefore someone skilled in the art would cross the Chen et al.’s F2:3 lines with a second soybean plant and select for the resistance region comprising applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 2 and the endogenous promoter (i.e. expression cassette) with the co-segregating markers leading to the method of improving soybean ASR resistance.
Obvious over Chen et al. and further in view of Bagemann et al., Yoshimi et al. and Boerma et al.
Claims 25-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., and further in view of Bagemann et al. (Published: 2017, Journal: Scientific Reports 7: 11606 | DOI:10.1038/s41598-017-11760-6, pages 1-6), and further in view of Yoshimi et al. (Published:2016, Journal: Nature. Com. 7:10431 | DOI: 10.1038, pages 1-10), and further in view of Boerma et al.(Published: 2011, Journal: Journal of Plant Registrations 5 (1): 118-122).
Claims are drawn to a method of controlling ASR in field. The soybean plant having Asian soybean rust resistance comprising nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2 that encodes the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 with its endogenous promoter SEQ ID NO:7. The claims are further drawn to wherein the expression cassette comprising the gene and promoter is not located in chromosome 18.
Regarding claims 25-30, Chen et al.’s the F2:3 soybean plants comprise a expression cassette or a heterologous nucleic acid molecule (i.e. found in non-native location since Tianlong 1 does not comprise the gene) that encodes protein as SEQ ID NO:1 and has provided increased resistance to ASR in the recombinant F2:3 soybean plants. Furthermore, the Applicant’s nucleotide sequence encoding SEQ ID NO: 2 is found in the genome of SX6907 (see alignment of SEQ ID NO: 2 to the NCBI protein database and description of locus PP508376 found in SX6907 that comprises SEQ ID NO:2). It was further shown by evidence by Hao et al. which showed their resistant locus is located within the Rpp6907 flanked by markers SSR24 and SSR40 in chromosome 18 (see figure 1 a above from Hao et al.)
Chen et al. teaches planting F2:3 lines in greenhouse for progeny test (page734, right paragraph 4) which were inoculated with the ASR pathogen (page 735, left paragraph 1).
Therefore, method of improving soybean ASR resistance by introducing SEQ ID NO: 2 encoding SEQ ID NO: 1 and its promoter (i.e. expression cassette) was taught by Chen et al.
Chen et al. does not teach planting their resistant plant in a field.
Planting and screening soybean rust resistant soybean is known in the art. Boerma et al. teaches field screening of ASR resistant soybean germplasm (page 120, left paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to plant the Chen et al.’s F2:3 lines comprising the gene and its promoter (i.e. expression cassette) in field that would have controlled the ASR resistance as taught by Boerma et al.
Regarding claim 31, Chen et al. teaches Tianlong 1 is high yielding soybean variety in China (i.e. elite soybean plant) (page 734, right paragraph 3).
Regarding claims 32, Bagemann et al. teaches Cpf1 (i.e. Cas12a) mediated targeted integration of complete hygromycin phosphotransferase gene (hpt) along with the ZmUbi1 promoter and a CaMV 35S terminator in Chlorophyllide-a oxygenase gene of rice (CAO1) gene (Figure 1, Figure S3). The hpt cassette were driven by hpt cassette driven by maize ubiquitin promoter and terminated by the 35S terminator in a pUC19 backbone.
Chen et al. teaches their fine mapping showed Rpp6907 (flanked by markers SSR24 and SSR40 on Gm18: 60,620,161–60,732,116) which comprise 95,659 kb fragment (i.e. 96 kb fragment).
Yoshimi et al. teaches CRSPR-Cas mediated insertion of 200kb DNA fragment in human (paoge1, Abstract, Table 1). Yoshimi et al. teaches their method is applicable to any target site, any species and with any donor vector without the need of attaching homology arms (page8, right paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skill in the art before effective date of filling of the invention from teaching, suggestions and motivation form Chen et al., Bagemann et al. and Yoshimi et al. to knock in the 96kb fragment taught by Chen et al. to a soybean plant that would cause resistance to ASR would comprise the SEQ ID NO: 2 and its natural promoter and terminator (i.e. expression cassette). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to plant and screen the soybean plant in field to develop the method for controlling ASR in field. Furthermore, the CRISPR-Cas method are target-specific insertion and the method can be used to integrate in gene into any desired location comprising not including the chromosome 18.
Regarding claim 33, the location would have been “equivalent” (i.e. with similar function) to a region of Glycine max or should not be in location “about” base pair 56,680,416 and ending at “about” base pair 56,677,361 of chromosome 18.
Thus, Someone skilled in the art would insert the fragment other than the recited 56Mb region taught by Chen et al. since for example Chen et al. teaches there is Rpp1 and other genes located on the region so that the multiple stacked genes would have added more resistance to ASR (page 740, left last paragraph, Table 6). Furthermore, Bagemann et al. teaches the use of their disclosed insertion method using Cpf1 (i.e. Cas12a) can be useful for trait stacking (page 5, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 34, Applicant states SEQ ID NO:7 is original endogenous promoter of the RppRC1 (i.e. SEQ ID NO:2) (Spec, page 83, paragraph 0242), therefore the promoter would have been comprised in the fragment of DNA taught by Chen et al.
Summary
No claim is allowed.
Examiner’s Contact Information
/SANTOSH SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/DAVID H KRUSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663