Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Hwa translation (Foreign Patent No. KR 20070069494 A hereinafter the “Hwa translation”) in view of Volfovski et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2006/0130751 A1 hereinafter “Volfovski”).
Regarding claim 1 the Hwa translation discloses:
A method of transferring a substrate during a semiconductor device fabrication process, the method including: (Hwa translation page 4 2nd full paragraph wherein the robot cassette transfer car moves with an arm to load and unload the semiconductors) receiving the substrate at a mobile robot; (Hwa translation page 5 3rd-5th paragraph wherein the robot includes an arm to load and unload substrates) moving the mobile robot with the substrate, (Hwa translation page 5 2nd- 5th full paragraph wherein the robot moves the substrate) … and while transferring the substrate from the mobile robot to the mobile robot interface device, charging a battery of the mobile robot. (Hwa translation page 4 1st full paragraph wherein the transfer robot is charged while moving the semiconductors).
The Hwa translation does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… and aligning the mobile robot with a mobile robot interface device; transferring the substrate from the mobile robot to the mobile robot interface device;
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Volfovski discloses:
“and aligning the mobile robot with a mobile robot interface device; (Volfovski [0056-0063] [0127] wherein the robot aligns with various stations or interfaces during a substrate processing operation) transferring the substrate from the mobile robot to the mobile robot interface device;” (Volfovski [0056-0063] [0078] [0124] wherein the robot moves the substrate back to a cassette after finishing)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the alignment and transfer process of Volfovski with the system of the Hwa translation with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide an improved wafer processing system that allows for mobile robots to move wafers to various stations, while avoiding collisions with the robot and other objects when transferring wafers to cassettes (Volfovski [0055] [0078]).
Regarding claim 2 the Hwa translation in view of Volfovski discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and the Hwa translation further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein charging the battery of the mobile robot is caused by a power feeder of the mobile robot interface device. (Hwa translation page 3 2nd-4th full paragraph wherein the robot cart can be charged with a physical contact connector).
Regarding claim 3 the Hwa translation in view of Volfovski discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 and the Hwa translation further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein the power feeder wirelessly charges the battery of the mobile robot using electromotive force. (Hwa translation page 4 6th full paragraph wherein the robot is charged wirelessly).
Regarding claim 8 the Hwa translation discloses:
A method of charging a mobile robot used during a semiconductor device fabrication process, the method including: (Hwa translation page 4 2nd full paragraph wherein the robot cassette transfer car moves with an arm to load and unload the semiconductors) moving the mobile robot (Hwa translation page 5 2nd- 5th full paragraph wherein the robot moves the substrate) and while transferring the substrate from the mobile robot to the mobile robot interface device, wirelessly charging the mobile robot. (Hwa translation page 4 1st full paragraph wherein the transfer robot is charged while moving the semiconductors).
The Hwa translation does not appear to explicitly disclose:
and aligning the mobile robot with a mobile robot interface device; transferring a substrate between the mobile robot and the mobile robot interface device;
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Volfovski discloses:
“and aligning the mobile robot with a mobile robot interface device; (Volfovski [0056-0063] [0127] wherein the robot aligns with various stations or interfaces during a substrate processing operation) transferring a substrate between the mobile robot and the mobile robot interface device;” (Volfovski [0056-0063] [0078] [0124] wherein the robot moves the substrate back to a cassette after finishing)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the alignment and transfer process of Volfovski with the system of the Hwa translation with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide an improved wafer processing system that allows for mobile robots to move wafers to various stations, while avoiding collisions with the robot and other objects when transferring wafers to cassettes (Volfovski [0055] [0078]).
Regarding claim 9 the Hwa translation in view of Volfovski discloses all of the limitations of claim 8 and the Hwa translation further discloses:
The method of claim 8, wherein wirelessly charging the mobile robot is implemented using a power feeder at the mobile robot interface device. (Hwa translation page 3 2nd-4th full paragraph wherein the robot cart can be charged with a physical contact connector).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Hwa translation further in view of Burke et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2010/0047053 A1 hereinafter “Burke”).
Regarding claim 16 the Hwa translation discloses:
A method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising: (Hwa translation page 4 2nd full paragraph wherein the robot cassette transfer car moves with an arm to load and unload the semiconductors) receiving a substrate by a mobile robot interface device; (Hwa translation page 5 3rd-5th paragraph wherein the robot includes an arm to load and unload substrates) transferring the substrate from the mobile robot interface device to a mobile robot; (Hwa translation page 5 1st-5th full paragraph wherein the transfer robot picks up and moves cassettes with semiconductors) while transferring the substrate from the mobile robot interface device to the mobile robot, wirelessly charging the mobile robot; (Hwa translation page 4 1st full paragraph wherein the transfer robot is charged while moving the semiconductors) after transferring the substrate from the mobile robot interface device to the mobile robot, (Hwa translation page 5 1st-5th full paragraph wherein the transfer robot picks up and moves cassettes with semiconductors) …
The Hwa translation does not appear to disclose:
performing a series of processes on the substrate, including at least one process in a chamber; and dicing the substrate after performing the series of processes, to form singulated semiconductor chips.
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Burke discloses:
“performing a series of processes on the substrate, including at least one process in a chamber; (Burke [0163] wherein the wafer is processed within a pneumatic enclosure i.e. chamber) (You [0044-0049] wherein the robot moves wafers between stations for processing, including different chambers to align and etch the wafer) and dicing the substrate after performing the series of processes, to form singulated semiconductor chips.” (Burke [0149] [0244-0247] wherein the processed wafer is diced and finished, with the finished wafer removed for inspection).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the processing space and finishing system of Burke with the system of the Hwa translation with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for a mobile robot system to process wafers completely to a finished result with a high degree of accuracy (Burke [0149] [0031]).
Regarding claim 17 the Hwa translation in view of Burke discloses all of the limitations of claim 16 and the Hwa translation further discloses:
The method of claim 16, wherein wirelessly charging the mobile robot is implemented using a power feeder at the mobile robot interface device. (Hwa translation page 6 1st-3rd full paragraph, page 4 6th- 9th full paragraph wherein the robot includes a wireless charging system to allow the vehicle to charge while transporting the substrates).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 10-15, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior art fails to disclose or render obvious claim 4-7, 10-15, and 18-20 disclosing a system for controlling an industrial robot using a specific claimed controller.
Regarding claims 4-7, 10-15, and 18-20 the relevant art the Hwa translation in view of Volfovski further in view of Burke discloses a wafer transfer robot with charging for the system (Hwa translation page 4 1st full paragraph) but fails to disclose moving a feeder for the charger, or finding the optimal charging distance between 30-50mm. Specifically, the relevant art fails to disclose “a substrate carrier mover arm configured to transfer the substrate while the battery of the mobile robot is charging” or “performing the transferring of the substrate from the mobile robot to the mobile robot interface device and charging of the battery of the mobile robot while the mobile robot is stationary; and prior to charging the battery of the mobile robot and while the mobile robot is stationary, moving at least one of a power feeder of the mobile robot interface device and a power receiver of the mobile robot in a horizontal direction to change a distance between the power feeder of the mobile robot interface device and the power receiver of the mobile robot” or “wherein after the change of distance, the distance between the power feeder of the mobile robot interface device and the power receiver of the mobile robot is a distance between 30 mm and 50 mm” or “wherein after the change of distance, the distance between the power feeder of the mobile robot interface device and the power receiver of the mobile robot is a distance within an optimal range of charging distances”.
Claims 10-15, and 18-20 are objected to for being allowable for similar reasons as those found above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9,908,425 B2 discloses a wireless charging system for mobile vehicles through moving a robot
US 9,658,316 B2 discloses a robot wafer transportation system with wireless communication and various wafer positioning targets
US 9,582,950 B2 discloses a wireless charger for a mobile vehicle
US 9,385,559 B2 discloses a wireless charger for a small devices
US 2026/0189070 A1 discloses a substrate processing system with a transmitter to determine when the robot is aligned, and charging the robot when aligned
US 2018/0115196 A1 discloses a vehicle wireless charger with a mobile platform
US 2017/0173796 A1 discloses a transfer robot using a scanned code to determine when the robot is aligned with the desired object to finish the transfer process
US 2015/0262854 A1 discloses a wafer etching system to finish and dice wafers
KR 20140014424 A discloses a substrate transfer system with wireless charging in a vacuum chamber
/KYLE T JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3656