DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are present for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al (US 2017/0162103), hereinafter as An, in view of Lee et al (US 2017/0032743), hereinafter as Lee.
RE claims 1 and 13, An discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
An discloses that an image compensation apparatus and its usage method (see figure 1 and sections [0027], [0028], [0029]; i.e., the display controller 120 is the image compensation apparatus), comprising: an obtaining module, configured to obtain a to-be-processed image, wherein the to-be-processed image carries accumulated stress values of each pixel (see figure 1 and sections [0027], [0028], [0029]; i.e., the display controller 120 to obtain a to-be-processed image, the accumulation block 130 included in the display controller 120 to calculate and accumulate stress values of each pixel of the to-be-processed image, the calculated and accumulated stress data of each pixel being stored in the nonvolatile memory 140); a decay determination module, configured to obtain luminance decay degree values of each pixel based on the accumulated stress values (see figure 3 and sections [0028], [0029]; i.e., the accumulation block 130 to calculate the stress data of each pixel, not only based on the image data RGB, but also based on a luminance of the pixel may be decreased); and a compensation module, configured to calculate a compensation factor for each pixel based on the luminance decay degree values of each pixel, and compensates each pixel according to the compensation factor (see figure 1 and sections [0028], [0029]; i.e., the display controller 120 to determine a compensation factor COMPF for the degradation compensation of the OLED display device 150, based on the calculated/accumulated stress data for each pixel degraded, and a luminance of the pixel may be decreased).
However, An does not specifically disclose that each pixel in different channels.
Lee teaches that an organic light emitting display device including pixels with driving transistors, and a storage unit storing a compensation value corresponding at least partially to a channel length modulation of the driving transistors, and accumulation stress information stored in the data accumulating unit corresponding to a pixel (see sections [0010], [0020]). The motivation of Lee is for compensating for degradation of OLED may take into account channel length modulation of driving transistor (see section [0009]).
An and Lee are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify An by including the teaching from Lee in order for compensating for degradation of OLED may take into account channel length modulation of driving transistor.
RE claim 14, An in view of Lee disclose that wherein memory stores a computer program therein, and the processor, when executing the computer program, performs steps of the image compensation method according to claim 1 (see An, figure 1 and sections [0028], [0029]; i.e., nonvolatile memory 140 and processor 110).
RE claim 15, An in view of Lee disclose that wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform steps of the image compensation method according to claim 1 (see An, figure 1 and sections [0028], [0029]; i.e., processor 110).
RE claim 16, An in view of Lee disclose that wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform steps of the image compensation method according to claim 1 (see An, figure 1 and sections [0028], [0029]; i.e., processor 110).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al (USPN 10,163,388)
Nathan et al (US 2014/0111,567)
Xu et al (USPN 10,497,300)
Han et al (USPN 11,587,503)
Any inquiry concerning this communication from the examiner should be directed to whose telephone number is 571-272-7565. The examiner can normally be reached on weekdays from 2:0 pm to 10:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Boddie can be reached on 571-272-0666. The fax phone numbers for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned are 571-273-8300 for regular communications and 571-273-7565 for After Final communications.
Informal regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docs for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000 (IN USA).
/FRED TZENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
FFT
July 22, 2026