Detailed Action
This is a Non-final Office action in response to communications received on 9/10/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined.
Drawings
The drawings, filed 9/10/2025, are acknowledged.
Foreign Priority
The foreign priority date of 9/12/2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fassino (US 20190163465 A1), in view of Choi (US 20150261521 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fassino teaches the limitations of claim 1 substantially as follows:
A device comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to:
receive, from a host, a first signature that is based on a first cryptographic algorithm, a second signature that is based on a second cryptographic algorithm, and firmware; (Fassino; [0014]; Fig. 3: The created firmware package (i.e., firmware) is then sent to the electronic device, and when received the device checks the validity of the signing certificate by verifying the master key signature with the public part of the master key (i.e. first signature). The device further checks the validity of the CRL with the public part of the master key, and checks whether the signing key has not been revoked with CRL. In addition, the device checks the certificate revision number against a roll back counter and checks the signature on the firmware package with the public part of the signing key (i.e., second signature))
verify the first signature based on a first public key for decrypting the first signature and (Fassino; [0014]; Fig. 3: The created firmware package (i.e., firmware) is then sent to the electronic device, and when received the device checks the validity of the signing certificate by verifying the master key signature with the public part of the master key (i.e. verify the first signature). The device further checks the validity of the CRL with the public part of the master key, and checks whether the signing key has not been revoked with CRL. In addition, the device checks the certificate revision number against a roll back counter and checks the signature on the firmware package with the public part of the signing key)
write, in response to successful verification of the first signature, a second public key that is included in the firmware into the memory. (Fassino; [0012]: In general, a public key infrastructure employs a set of private and public keys for signing and certificates for the purpose of verifying authenticity of the signature. Hence, in order to verify if firmware comes from an authorized provider, an electronic device checks the signature of the firmware; by verifying the signature placed by the private part of the singing key with the public part of the signing key. The public part of the signing key is usually provided through a certificate (i.e., second public key included in the firmware). The outcome of verifying the signing key is that if the firmware is indeed signed by the private part of the signing key this indicates that the origin of provider of the firmware is authenticated)
Fassino does not teach the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
a hash value associated with the firmware; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
a hash value associated with the firmware; and (Choi; [0008]: receiving, from a host, a first hash value and a signature, the first hash value corresponding to a firmware image at the host; performing a pre-verify operation for at least one of integrity verification and signature certification on the firmware image using the received first hash value and the received signature (i.e., verify based on hash value))
Choi is combinable with Fassino because all are from the same field of endeavor of firmware verification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Fassino to incorporate verification based on a hash as in Choi in order to improve the security of the system by relying on the uniqueness of a hash for verification.
Regarding claim 2, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 2 as follows:
The device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to verify the first signature based on the first cryptographic algorithm for the first public key and the hash value. (Choi; [0008]: receiving, from a host, a first hash value and a signature, the first hash value corresponding to a firmware image at the host; performing a pre-verify operation for at least one of integrity verification and signature certification on the firmware image using the received first hash value and the received signature (i.e., verify based on hash value))
The same motivation to combine as in claim 1 is applicable to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 3 as follows:
The device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: verify the second signature based on the second public key that is written in the memory and the hash value; and update previously installed firmware to the received firmware in response to successful verification of the second signature. (Fassino; [0012]: In general, a public key infrastructure employs a set of private and public keys for signing and certificates for the purpose of verifying authenticity of the signature. Hence, in order to verify if firmware comes from an authorized provider, an electronic device checks the signature of the firmware; by verifying the signature placed by the private part of the singing key with the public part of the signing key. The public part of the signing key is usually provided through a certificate. The outcome of verifying the signing key is that if the firmware is indeed signed by the private part of the signing key this indicates that the origin of provider of the firmware is authenticated (i.e., firmware accepted))
Regarding claim 4, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 3.
Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 4 as follows:
The device of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to verify the second signature based on the second cryptographic algorithm for the second public key and (Fassino; [0014]; Fig. 3: The created firmware package is then sent to the electronic device, and when received the device checks the validity of the signing certificate by verifying the master key signature with the public part of the master key. The device further checks the validity of the CRL with the public part of the master key, and checks whether the signing key has not been revoked with CRL. In addition, the device checks the certificate revision number against a roll back counter and checks the signature on the firmware package with the public part of the signing key (i.e., verify the second signature))
the hash value. (Choi; [0008]: receiving, from a host, a first hash value and a signature, the first hash value corresponding to a firmware image at the host; performing a pre-verify operation for at least one of integrity verification and signature certification on the firmware image using the received first hash value and the received signature (i.e., verify based on hash value))
The same motivation to combine as in claim 1 is applicable to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 10, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 10 as follows:
The device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, in response to unsuccessful verification of the first signature, discard the first signature, the second signature, and the firmware. (Fassino; Abstract: The device then rejecting or accepting the received firmware update based on the outcome of the above verifying and checking)
Regarding claim 13, Fassino teaches the limitations of claim 13 substantially as follows:
A storage device comprising: a non-volatile memory configured to store a first signature that is based on a first cryptographic algorithm, a second signature that is based on a second cryptographic algorithm, and firmware; and (Fassino; [0014]; Fig. 3: The created firmware package (i.e., firmware) is then sent to the electronic device, and when received the device checks the validity of the signing certificate by verifying the master key signature with the public part of the master key (i.e. first signature). The device further checks the validity of the CRL with the public part of the master key, and checks whether the signing key has not been revoked with CRL. In addition, the device checks the certificate revision number against a roll back counter and checks the signature on the firmware package with the public part of the signing key (i.e., second signature))
a storage controller configured to verify the first signature based on a first public key for decrypting the first signature and (Fassino; [0014]; Fig. 3: The created firmware package (i.e., firmware) is then sent to the electronic device, and when received the device checks the validity of the signing certificate by verifying the master key signature with the public part of the master key (i.e. verify the first signature). The device further checks the validity of the CRL with the public part of the master key, and checks whether the signing key has not been revoked with CRL. In addition, the device checks the certificate revision number against a roll back counter and checks the signature on the firmware package with the public part of the signing key)
update, in response to successful verification of the first signature, a second public key that is included in the firmware into the storage device. (Fassino; [0012]: In general, a public key infrastructure employs a set of private and public keys for signing and certificates for the purpose of verifying authenticity of the signature. Hence, in order to verify if firmware comes from an authorized provider, an electronic device checks the signature of the firmware; by verifying the signature placed by the private part of the singing key with the public part of the signing key. The public part of the signing key is usually provided through a certificate (i.e., second public key included in the firmware). The outcome of verifying the signing key is that if the firmware is indeed signed by the private part of the signing key this indicates that the origin of provider of the firmware is authenticated)
Fassino does not teach the limitations of claim 13 as follows:
a hash value associated with the firmware, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 13 as follows:
a hash value associated with the firmware, and (Choi; [0008]: receiving, from a host, a first hash value and a signature, the first hash value corresponding to a firmware image at the host; performing a pre-verify operation for at least one of integrity verification and signature certification on the firmware image using the received first hash value and the received signature (i.e., verify based on hash value))
Choi is combinable with Fassino because all are from the same field of endeavor of firmware verification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Fassino to incorporate verification based on a hash as in Choi in order to improve the security of the system by relying on the uniqueness of a hash for verification.
Regarding claim 14, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 13.
Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 14 as follows:
The storage device of claim 13, further comprising: a key memory configured to store the second public key. (Fassino; [0012]: In general, a public key infrastructure employs a set of private and public keys for signing and certificates for the purpose of verifying authenticity of the signature. Hence, in order to verify if firmware comes from an authorized provider, an electronic device checks the signature of the firmware; by verifying the signature placed by the private part of the singing key with the public part of the signing key. The public part of the signing key is usually provided through a certificate (i.e., second public key included in the firmware). The outcome of verifying the signing key is that if the firmware is indeed signed by the private part of the signing key this indicates that the origin of provider of the firmware is authenticated)
Regarding claim 15, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 14.
Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 15 as follows:
The storage device of claim 14, wherein the storage controller is configured to write the second public key in the key memory in response to successful verification of the first signature. (Fassino; [0012]: In general, a public key infrastructure employs a set of private and public keys for signing and certificates for the purpose of verifying authenticity of the signature. Hence, in order to verify if firmware comes from an authorized provider, an electronic device checks the signature of the firmware; by verifying the signature placed by the private part of the singing key with the public part of the signing key. The public part of the signing key is usually provided through a certificate (i.e., second public key included in the firmware). The outcome of verifying the signing key is that if the firmware is indeed signed by the private part of the signing key this indicates that the origin of provider of the firmware is authenticated)
Regarding claim 16, Fassino teaches the limitations of claim 16 substantially as follows:
A method of operating a device, the method comprising: receiving, from a host, a first signature generated based on a first cryptographic algorithm, a second signature generated based on a second cryptographic algorithm, and firmware; (Fassino; [0014]; Fig. 3: The created firmware package (i.e., firmware) is then sent to the electronic device, and when received the device checks the validity of the signing certificate by verifying the master key signature with the public part of the master key (i.e. first signature). The device further checks the validity of the CRL with the public part of the master key, and checks whether the signing key has not been revoked with CRL. In addition, the device checks the certificate revision number against a roll back counter and checks the signature on the firmware package with the public part of the signing key (i.e., second signature))
verifying the first signature based on a first public key for decrypting the first signature and (Fassino; [0014]; Fig. 3: The created firmware package (i.e., firmware) is then sent to the electronic device, and when received the device checks the validity of the signing certificate by verifying the master key signature with the public part of the master key (i.e. verify the first signature). The device further checks the validity of the CRL with the public part of the master key, and checks whether the signing key has not been revoked with CRL. In addition, the device checks the certificate revision number against a roll back counter and checks the signature on the firmware package with the public part of the signing key)
writing, in response to successful verification of the first signature, a second public key that is included in the firmware into a memory. (Fassino; [0012]: In general, a public key infrastructure employs a set of private and public keys for signing and certificates for the purpose of verifying authenticity of the signature. Hence, in order to verify if firmware comes from an authorized provider, an electronic device checks the signature of the firmware; by verifying the signature placed by the private part of the singing key with the public part of the signing key. The public part of the signing key is usually provided through a certificate (i.e., second public key included in the firmware). The outcome of verifying the signing key is that if the firmware is indeed signed by the private part of the signing key this indicates that the origin of provider of the firmware is authenticated)
Fassino does not teach the limitations of claim 16 as follows:
a hash value associated with the firmware; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi discloses the limitations of claim 16 as follows:
a hash value associated with the firmware; and (Choi; [0008]: receiving, from a host, a first hash value and a signature, the first hash value corresponding to a firmware image at the host; performing a pre-verify operation for at least one of integrity verification and signature certification on the firmware image using the received first hash value and the received signature (i.e., verify based on hash value))
Choi is combinable with Fassino because all are from the same field of endeavor of firmware verification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Fassino to incorporate verification based on a hash as in Choi in order to improve the security of the system by relying on the uniqueness of a hash for verification.
Regarding claim 17, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 16.
Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 17 as follows:
The method of claim 16, further comprising: verifying the second signature based on the second public key that is written in the memory and the hash value; and updating previously installed firmware to the received firmware in response to successful verification of the second signature. (Fassino; [0012]: In general, a public key infrastructure employs a set of private and public keys for signing and certificates for the purpose of verifying authenticity of the signature. Hence, in order to verify if firmware comes from an authorized provider, an electronic device checks the signature of the firmware; by verifying the signature placed by the private part of the singing key with the public part of the signing key. The public part of the signing key is usually provided through a certificate. The outcome of verifying the signing key is that if the firmware is indeed signed by the private part of the signing key this indicates that the origin of provider of the firmware is authenticated (i.e., firmware accepted))
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fassino (US 20190163465 A1), in view of Choi (US 20150261521 A1), as applied to independent claims, further in view of Liu (US 20180183603 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 3.
Fassino and Choi do not teach the limitations of claim 5 as follows:
The device of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to invalidate the first public key in response to successful verification of the second signature.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses the limitations of claim 5 as follows:
The device of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to invalidate the first public key in response to successful verification of the second signature. (Liu; [0052]: TTP checks whether the P identified by IDP has matching attributes indicated in PATTR. If the previous verifications passed, TTP determines if V, identified by IDV, has the attestation privilege relating to the firmware image associated with attribute ATTR on P, identified by PATTR and IDP. In the affirmative case, TTP verifies signature α with multi-time HBS public key MTS-PK1 and signature β with one-time HBS public key OTS-PK1 (i.e., one-time, or invalidated after use). If the two signatures are correct, TTP updates its local copy of OTS-PK1 with OTS-PK2)
Liu is combinable with Fassino and Choi because all are from the same field of endeavor of firmware verification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified system of Fassino and Choi to incorporate one-time use keys as in Liu in order to improve the security of the system by preventing reuse of secure keys.
Regarding claim 18, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 17.
Fassino and Choi do not teach the limitations of claim 18 as follows:
The method of claim 17, further comprising: invalidating the first public key in response to successful verification of the second signature.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses the limitations of claim 18 as follows:
The method of claim 17, further comprising: invalidating the first public key in response to successful verification of the second signature. (Liu; [0052]: TTP checks whether the P identified by IDP has matching attributes indicated in PATTR. If the previous verifications passed, TTP determines if V, identified by IDV, has the attestation privilege relating to the firmware image associated with attribute ATTR on P, identified by PATTR and IDP. In the affirmative case, TTP verifies signature α with multi-time HBS public key MTS-PK1 and signature β with one-time HBS public key OTS-PK1 (i.e., one-time, or invalidated after use). If the two signatures are correct, TTP updates its local copy of OTS-PK1 with OTS-PK2)
Liu is combinable with Fassino and Choi because all are from the same field of endeavor of firmware verification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified system of Fassino and Choi to incorporate one-time use keys as in Liu in order to improve the security of the system by preventing reuse of secure keys.
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fassino (US 20190163465 A1), in view of Choi (US 20150261521 A1), as applied to independent claims, further in view of Colombo (US 20200319876 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Fassino and Choi do not teach the limitations of claim 6 as follows:
The device of claim 1, wherein the memory is a one-time programmable (OTP) memory.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Colombo discloses the limitations of claim 6 as follows:
The device of claim 1, wherein the memory is a one-time programmable (OTP) memory. (Colombo; [0226]: For example, this may be useful, when the signature data are stored in a one-time programmable memory, e.g., implemented with fuses)
Colombo is combinable with Fassino and Choi because all are from the same field of endeavor of firmware verification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified system of Fassino and Choi to incorporate one time programmable media as in Colombo in order to improve the security of the system by providing a means by which stored information is inalterable.
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fassino (US 20190163465 A1), in view of Choi (US 20150261521 A1), as applied to independent claims, further in view of Kelly (US 20260030390 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 1.
Fassino and Choi do not teach the limitations of claim 9 as follows:
The device of claim 1, wherein the first cryptographic algorithm is an elliptic curve digital signature algorithm (ECDSA), and the second cryptographic algorithm is Leighton-Micali Hash-Based signatures (LMS) algorithm.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kelly discloses the limitations of claim 9 as follows:
The device of claim 1, wherein the first cryptographic algorithm is an elliptic curve digital signature algorithm (ECDSA), and the second cryptographic algorithm is Leighton-Micali Hash-Based signatures (LMS) algorithm. (Kelly; [0070]: different types of cryptographic signature schemes are used to verify the endorsement, including, for example, Rivest Shamir Adleman (RSA) (which uses decryption and digest compare, as described above), elliptic curve digital signature algorithm (ECDSA), and Leighton-Micali Signatures (LMS))
Kelly is combinable with Fassino and Choi because all are from the same field of endeavor of firmware verification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified system of Fassino and Choi to incorporate different cryptographic signature schemes as in Kelly in order to improve the security of the system by utilizing known secure signature methods.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fassino (US 20190163465 A1), in view of Choi (US 20150261521 A1), as applied to independent claims, further in view of Nadarajah (US 20210004466 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 3.
Fassino and Choi do not teach the limitations of claim 11 as follows:
The device of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to, in response to unsuccessful verification of the second signature, perform a recovery operation based on the first public key.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nadarajah discloses the limitations of claim 11 as follows:
The device of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to, in response to unsuccessful verification of the second signature, perform a recovery operation based on the first public key. (Nadarajah; [0037]: If the verification passes at block 324, the firmware is loaded to the target controller on the host platform at block 326. Block 326 may include commands from the security processor to the target controller to load and execute the firmware. If the verification fails at block 324, process 300 goes to the recovery procedure at block 313)
Nadarajah is combinable with Fassino and Choi because all are from the same field of endeavor of firmware verification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified system of Fassino and Choi to incorporate the recovery procedure after failed verification as in Nadarajah in order to improve the resiliency of the system by providing a contingent operation based on a failed evaluation or operation.
Regarding claim 19, Fassino and Choi teach the limitations of claim 17.
Fassino and Choi do not teach the limitations of claim 19 as follows:
The method of claim 17, further comprising: performing, in response to unsuccessful verification of the second signature, a recovery operation based on the first public key.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nadarajah discloses the limitations of claim 19 as follows:
The method of claim 17, further comprising: performing, in response to unsuccessful verification of the second signature, a recovery operation based on the first public key. (Nadarajah; [0037]: If the verification passes at block 324, the firmware is loaded to the target controller on the host platform at block 326. Block 326 may include commands from the security processor to the target controller to load and execute the firmware. If the verification fails at block 324, process 300 goes to the recovery procedure at block 313)
Nadarajah is combinable with Fassino and Choi because all are from the same field of endeavor of firmware verification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified system of Fassino and Choi to incorporate the recovery procedure after failed verification as in Nadarajah in order to improve the resiliency of the system by providing a contingent operation based on a failed evaluation or operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 12 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 7, it contains allowable subject matter when the claim is taken as a whole. See the italicized text indicating aspects that in combination with the remainder of the claim differentiate it from prior art.
The device of claim 6, wherein the memory is configured to store the first public key, the first public key including a plurality of bits, and the processor is configured to: verify the second signature based on the second public key that is written in the memory and the hash value; and change, in response to successful verification of the second signature, one or more bits of the plurality of bits of the first public key from a first logic level to a second logic level.
As to claim 8, it contains allowable subject matter when the claim is taken as a whole. See the italicized text indicating aspects that in combination with the remainder of the claim differentiate it from prior art.
The device of claim 6, wherein the memory stores the first public key at a first index, and the processor is configured to write the second public key at a second index having a greater value than the first index.
As to claim 12, it contains allowable subject matter when the claim is taken as a whole. See the italicized text indicating aspects that in combination with the remainder of the claim differentiate it from prior art.
The device of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to: after updating the previously installed firmware to the received firmware, receive, from the host, another version of the firmware and the second signature; verify the second signature based on the second public key and a hash value associated with the another version of the firmware; and perform, in response to unsuccessful verification of the second signature for the another version of the firmware, a recovery operation based on the second public key.
As to claim 20, it contains allowable subject matter when the claim is taken as a whole. See the italicized text indicating aspects that in combination with the remainder of the claim differentiate it from prior art.
The method of claim 17, further comprising: after updating the previously installed firmware to the received firmware, receiving, from the host, another version of the firmware and the second signature; verifying the second signature based on the second public key that is written in the memory and a hash value associated with the another version of the firmware; and performing, in response to unsuccessful verification of the second signature for the another version of the firmware, a recovery operation based on the second public key.
Prior Art Considered But Not Relied Upon
Lan (US 20230221949 A1) which teaches signing stored first firmware based on a preset symmetric encryption algorithm and a symmetric key to obtain a first signature value, comparing the first signature value with a stored second signature value, and controlling the vehicle to be securely started in response to the first signature value being same as the second signature value.
Jeansonne (US 20250068715 A1) which teaches a memory to store control instructions, and a processor to: perform a first authentication of the control instructions using a first key; and in response to receipt of a command to enable a second authentication of the control instructions, add a second key to a one-time programmable portion of the memory.
Conclusion
/BLAKE I NARRAMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438