DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 24, 26-28, 33, 37, and 39-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 19-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,428,874. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21, 24, 26-28, 33, 37, and 39-40 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 19-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,428,874. In other words, claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 19-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,428,874 fully encompasses the subject matter of claims 21, 24, 26-28, 33, 37, and 39-40 and therefore anticipates claims 21, 24, 26-28, 33, 37, and 39-40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 25-26, 28-30, 33-36, 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Number 11,187,011 to Kwon.
Kwon discloses an electronic lock installable at a door (D) having an exterior side, an interior side, and an edge, the door having a borehole (H) extending through the door from the interior side to the exterior side and a mortise extending into the door from the edge, the electronic lock comprising: an exterior assembly (column 1, lines 14-17) mountable to the exterior side of the door at the borehole; an interior assembly (column 1, lines 14-17) mountable to the interior side of the door at the borehole; a latch (1) having a deadbolt (1a) movable between an extended position and a retracted position, wherein in the extended position, the deadbolt extends from the edge of the door, and in the retracted position, the deadbolt retracts at least partially into the door, the latch being movable in response to rotation of a torque blade (41, 42); a motor (10) positioned at least partially within the borehole; a driving mechanism (19) operatively connecting the motor to the torque blade to actuate the deadbolt between the extended position and the retracted position; and a control circuit (column 5, lines 35-44) operatively connected to the motor and configured to selectively actuate the motor to move the deadbolt between the retracted position and the extended position, as in claim 21.
Kwon also discloses the driving mechanism is positioned at least partially within the borehole (figures 2-4), as in claim 22, and the control circuit is positioned at least partially within the borehole (figures 2-4), as in claim 23, as well as the driving mechanism is positioned within the mortise (figures 2-4), as in claim 25, wherein the control circuit is positioned within the mortise (figures 2-4), as in claim 26.
Kwon further discloses the motor is positioned within the mortise (figures 2-4), as in claim 28, and the exterior assembly does not include electronic equipment (electronic equipment is within door; figure 4), as in claim 29, as well as the electronic lock further includes a mortise insert mountable within the mortise, wherein the mortise insert defines a housing (50) extending into the door from the edge, wherein the latch is positioned at least partially within the housing (figure 4), as in claim 30.
Kwon additionally discloses an electronic lock control module for installation within a door (D) having a borehole (H) and a mortise, the control module comprising: a housing (50) sized to be received at least partially within one of the borehole or the mortise of the door; a motor (10) disposed within the housing; a control circuit (column 5, lines 35-44) operatively connected to the motor; and a driving interface (19) configured to transmit torque from the motor to a torque blade (41, 42) of a latch assembly (1), as in claim 33.
Kwon also discloses the control circuit is configured to selectively actuate the motor to move a deadbolt (1a) of the latch assembly between an extended position and a retracted position (column 5, lines 35-44), as in claim 34, and the housing is sized to be installed entirely within the borehole of the door (figure 4), as in claim 35, as well as the housing is sized to be installed entirely within the mortise of the door (figure 4), as in claim 36.
Kwon further discloses the housing is removably installable within the door independent of the latch assembly (housing is installed from a single side; figure 3), as in claim 38, and all electronic components that actuate the deadbolt are located within the borehole and/or mortise (figure 4), as in claim 39.
Kwon additionally discloses a mortise insert for an electronic lock, the mortise insert comprising: a housing (50) configured to be installed within a mortise (H) of a door (D); a latch-receiving portion configured to support a latch (1) having a deadbolt (1a); and an electronics-receiving portion configured to receive an electronic lock control module operable to drive the latch (10; column 5, lines 35-44), as in claim 40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 27 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, as applied above, in view of U.S. Patent Number 11,527,121 to Johnson et al.
Kwon discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Kwon does not disclose a wireless communication interface.
Johnson et al. teach of an electronic lock installable at a door (12) having an exterior side, an interior side, and an edge, the door having a borehole (figure 1B) extending through the door from the interior side to the exterior side and a mortise extending into the door from the edge, the electronic lock comprising: an exterior assembly mountable to the exterior side of the door at the borehole (figure 1B); an interior assembly mountable to the interior side of the door at the borehole (figure 1B); a latch (22) having a deadbolt (24) movable between an extended position and a retracted position, wherein in the extended position, the deadbolt extends from the edge of the door, and in the retracted position, the deadbolt retracts at least partially into the door, the latch being movable in response to rotation of a torque blade (as best shown in figures 2D and 7A); a motor (38) positioned at least partially within the borehole; a driving mechanism (gear train 34 engaged with 38; figures 7A, 7D) operatively connecting the motor to the torque blade to actuate the deadbolt between the extended position and the retracted position; and a control circuit (PCB 18, 36) operatively connected to the motor and configured to selectively actuate the motor to move the deadbolt between the retracted position and the extended position; wherein the control circuit includes a wireless communication interface (via 40) configured to receive lock or unlock commands, as in claims 24, 27 and 37.
All of the component parts are known in Kwon and Johnson et al. The only difference is the combination of the “old elements” into a single device by mounting them on a single chassis. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a wireless communication interface as taught by Johnson et al. onto the borehole or mortise of in Kwon, since the manner the electronic lock is actuated is in no way dependent on the mechanical structure of the electronic lock, and the wireless communication interface could be used in combination with the electronic lock to achieve the predictable results of remotely access the electronic lock to lock or unlock the lock and monitor the use thereof.
Claim(s) 31-32is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, as applied above, in view of U.S. Patent Number 11,527,121 to Johnson et al.
Kwon discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Kwon does not disclose a battery subassembly.
Johnson et al. teach of and electronic lock installable at a door (12) having an exterior side, an interior side, and an edge, the door having a borehole (figure 1B) extending through the door from the interior side to the exterior side and a mortise extending into the door from the edge, the electronic lock comprising: an exterior assembly mountable to the exterior side of the door at the borehole (figure 1B); an interior assembly mountable to the interior side of the door at the borehole (figure 1B); a latch (22) having a deadbolt (24) movable between an extended position and a retracted position, wherein in the extended position, the deadbolt extends from the edge of the door, and in the retracted position, the deadbolt retracts at least partially into the door, the latch being movable in response to rotation of a torque blade (as best shown in figures 2D and 7A); a motor (38) positioned at least partially within the borehole; a driving mechanism (gear train 34 engaged with 38; figures 7A, 7D) operatively connecting the motor to the torque blade to actuate the deadbolt between the extended position and the retracted position; and a control circuit (PCB 18) operatively connected to the motor and configured to selectively actuate the motor to move the deadbolt between the retracted position and the extended position; wherein the mortise insert includes a battery subassembly (50) positioned within the housing, wherein the battery subassembly is electrically connected to the control circuit (figure 1G), as in claim 31, wherein the battery subassembly is removable from the housing independent of the latch (figures 4-7 and 12A-D), as in claim 32.
All of the component parts are known in Kwon and Johnson et al. The only difference is the combination of the “old elements” into a single device by mounting them on a single chassis. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a battery subassembly as taught by Johnson et al. onto electronic lock in Kwon, since the manner the electronic lock receives power is in no way dependent on the mechanical structure of the lock, and the battery subassembly could be used in combination with electronic lock to achieve the predictable results of having easily replaceable batteries powering the electronic lock.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to electronic door locks:
U.S. Patent Number 11,802,423 to Chen; U.S. Patent Number 11,753,850 to Chen; U.S. Patent Number 11,753,848 to Tien; U.S. Patent Number 11,428,028 to Gell; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2025/0146326 to Hu et al.; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0074234 to Chen; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/030120 to Kwon.
/CHRISTOPHER J BOSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
CJB /cb/
July 24, 2026