DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0281542 to Adachi et al (Adachi).
Regarding claim 17, Adachi discloses a heat harvesting system, comprising:
an organic Rankine cycle (ORC) generator (fig. 1), comprising an ORC evaporator (18, fig. 1) and an ORC condenser (13, fig. 1), wherein a cycle of a fluid is formed within the ORC generator (fig. 1); and
an insulation subspace (housing 30, FIG. 1), encompassing a heat generating component (11, 12, fig. 1) within the cycle of the fluid;
wherein the fluid absorbs a heat from the heat generating component in the insulation subspace, and is output toward the ORC evaporator or toward the ORC condenser (Fig. 1).
(Note: From [121] of the specification, heat generating components are “expander, compressor, alternator, motor, pump, chiller, heat source, pipes, etc.” Adachi discloses expander 11 and generator/alternator 12 within insulation housing 30A in fig. 1. As such, it reads on the limitation.)
Regarding claim 20, Adachi discloses the heat harvesting system of claim 17, wherein the insulation subspace encompasses the heat generating component (fig. 1), and the heat generating component comprises an alternator (12, fig. 1) and an expander (11, fig. 1);wherein the insulation subspace receives a working fluid from the ORC evaporator and provides the working fluid to the ORC condenser (fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16, 22-23 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the closest prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the combination including:
“wherein the working fluid flows from the ORC evaporator, reaches the alternator, absorbs a heat generated by the alternator, and then reaches and drives the turbine.”
Regarding claim 22, the closest prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the combination including:
“the ORC evaporator and the ORC condenser are encompassed by the insulation layer.”
Claims 18, 19, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 with respect to 102 rejection of claims 17 and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Adachi does not disclose a heat generating component within an insulation subspace as required by claim 17. However, the office respectfully disagrees. Applicant discloses in [121] of the specification that heat generating components are “expander, compressor, alternator, motor, pump, chiller, heat source, pipes, etc.” Adachi discloses expander 11 and generator/alternator 12 within insulation housing 30A in fig. 1. As such, it reads on the limitations of both claims 17 and 20.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to 112(b) rejection of claims 18-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of claims 18-19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 18-19, 21-23 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 18-19, 21-23 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746