DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/11/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garnier et al. (US 2014/0035531).
Garnier discloses:
In regard to claim 1.
An electrical energy system for a vehicle (Figs. 1-9 & Par. [0064] i.e. electric vehicle), comprising: a high voltage system (Figs. 1-9 Item 1 & Par. [0064] i.e. high voltage 48v-750v battery system) comprising a plurality of battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11 and 13 and Par. [0068] i.e. multiple accumulators) arranged in at least two strings of battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11 and 13 and Par. [0069] i.e. multiple strings), the battery cells of each string being connected in series (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11 and 13 and Par. [0068] i.e. multiple accumulators connected in series), a low voltage system (Figs. 1-9 Item 3 and Par. [0065] an ABS. i.e. 12v aux battery/low-voltage power system), at least one DC/DC converter (Figs. 1-9 Item 7) for each of the strings of battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11 and 13) connected in series to respective opposite ends of the strings of battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 7, 9, 11 and 13 i.e. as shown in Figs. 1 and 2), the DC/DC converters (Figs. 1-9 Item 7) being configured to down-convert a high voltage from the high voltage system (Figs. 1-9 Items 1, 7 & Par. [0078] i.e. 40.6v) to a low voltage provided to the low voltage system (Figs. 1-9 Items 3, 7 & Par. [0078] i.e. 12v), wherein the DC/DC converters (Figs. 1-9 Item 7) are connected in parallel to the low voltage system (Figs. 1-9 Items 7, and 3 i.e. as shown in Figs. 1 & 2), and a cell supervision system (Figs. 1-9 Items 14 and 12 i.e. Fig. 3) for supervising voltages of individual battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11, 13, 14, 12 and Par. [0098-0103]) of the high voltage system (Figs. 1-9 Item 1) comprising a separate communication loop for each of the strings of battery cells for independently supervising battery cell voltages within each of the strings of battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11, 13, 14, 12 and Par. [0098-0103] i.e. receiving voltage information).
In regard to claim 4:
The electrical energy system according to claim 1, wherein the high voltage system (Figs. 1-9 Item 1) is adapted to prevent, defer and/or reduce thermal propagation between the strings of battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11, 13, 14, 12 and Pars. [0011] i.e. thermal runaway is a problem to be solved and [0098-0103] i.e. receiving voltage information)in case of a thermal runaway occurring at one of the battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11, 13, 14, 12, 15 and 17 and Pars. [0117-0119] i.e. fuse).
In regard to claim 6:
The electrical energy system according to claim 1, wherein the strings of battery cells are each connected in series (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11 and 13 i.e. as shown).
In regard to claim 7:
The electrical energy system according to claim 1, wherein each of the DC/DC converters (Figs. 1-9 Item 7) are connected to the high voltage system (Figs. 1-9 Item 1) via two power lines respectively (Figs. 1-9 Item 7 i.e. positive and negative lines as shown), wherein one of the power lines comprises a diode for allowing conduction of electrical current towards the DC/DC converter (Figs. 1-9 i.e. Fig. 7a positive and negative lines with diodes as shown).
In regard to claim 10:
The electrical energy system according to claim 1, wherein the electrical energy system is configured to selectively shut off or connect one or both of the DC/DC converters (Figs. 1-9 Item 7) to the low voltage system (Figs. 1-9 Item 3), wherein a time of operation of the DC/DC converters being shut off from the low voltage system is limited (Figs. 1-9 Item 7 & Par. [0084] i.e. on/off controlled as needed).
In regard to claim 11:
An electric vehicle including the electrical energy system according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-9 & Par. [0064] i.e. electric vehicle).
In regard to claim 12:
A method for a vehicle, wherein the method includes the steps of: a) providing an electrical energy system as defined in claim 1 (Figs. 1-9 & Par. [0064] i.e. electric vehicle); and b) independently supervising the battery cell voltages within each of the strings of battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11, 13, 14, 12 and Par. [0098-0103] i.e. receiving voltage information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garnier et al. (US 2014/0035531) in view of Sung (US 2020/0200828).
In regard to claim 2:
Garnier discloses the electrical energy system according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-9), including the cell supervision system (Figs. 1-9 Items 14 and 12 i.e. Fig. 3) for each of the strings of battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11 and 13 and Par. [0069] i.e. multiple strings) for battery cell voltage sensing and balancing of the battery cell voltages within each of the strings of battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11, 13, 14, 12 and Par. [0098-0103] i.e. receiving voltage information).
However, Garnier does not explicitly disclose wherein the cell supervision system comprises a plurality of slave battery management systems (BMS) for each of the strings of battery cells for battery cell voltage sensing and balancing of the battery cell voltages within each of the strings of battery cells.
Sung teaches a plurality of slave management modules (Fig. 1 Item 200_1, 2, I and N) connected to a plurality of battery modules (Fig. 1 Item 20_1, 2, I and N).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the known plurality of slave management modules as taught by Sung with the known charge balancing system for batteries as disclosed by Garnier as doing so would have yielded the predictable result increasing control efficiency (Fig. 1 & Par. [0005]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garnier et al. (US 2014/0035531) in view of Chow et al. (US 2020/0381923).
In regard to claim 3:
Garnier discloses the electrical energy system according to claim 1, including the plurality of battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11 and 13) connected to the low voltage system (Figs. 1-9 Items 3, 7 & Par. [0078] i.e. 12v), wherein the electrical energy system is configured to in case of a thermal runaway of at least one of the battery cells (Figs. 1-9 Items 9, 11, 13, 14, 12 and Pars. [0011] i.e. thermal runaway is a problem to be solved and [0098-0103] i.e. receiving voltage information) supplying electrical energy from at least one of the DC/DC converters related to the string of battery cells unaffected by the thermal runaway (Figs. 1-9 Items 7, 14, 12, 15 and 17 and Pars. [0117-0119] i.e. fuse).
However, Garnier does not explicitly disclose a cooling pump for cooling the plurality of battery cells to prevent the thermal runaway of at least one of the battery cells.
Chow teaches a battery management system (Fig. 3 Item 184) that may include thermal management systems including liquid coolant systems and pumps (Fig. 3 Item 184 & Par. [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the known thermal management systems as taught by Chow with the known charge balancing system for batteries as disclosed by Garnier as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of maximizing the energy efficiency of the vehicle by reducing thermal runaway of the batteries as well as increased safety to the vehicle occupants (Fig. 3 Item 184 & Par. [0039]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garnier et al. (US 2014/0035531).
In regard to claim 5:
Garnier discloses the electrical energy system according to claim 1.
However, Garnier does not explicitly disclose wherein the low voltage system does not comprise a low voltage battery.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system with no low voltage battery, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garnier et al. (US 2014/0035531) in view of Matsui (US 5,982,050).
In regard to claim 8:
Garnier discloses the electrical energy system according to claim 7, including a diode (Figs. 1-9 i.e. Fig. 7a positive and negative lines with diodes as shown).
However, Garnier does not explicitly disclose wherein the diode is an active diode for actively controlling the electrical current conducting through the diode.
Matsui teaches the use of a Zener diode an active element capable of actively controlling the electrical current conducting through the diode (Figs. 3 and 4 Item 16 and Cols. 4-5 Lines 64-67 and 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the use of active diodes as taught by Matsui with the known charge balancing system for batteries as disclosed by Garnier as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of an increase in control of the flow of electrical current through the system (Figs. 3 and 4 Item 16 and Cols. 4-5 Lines 64-67 and 1-5).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garnier et al. (US 2014/0035531) in view of Sukhatankar et al. (US 20220105793).
In regard to claim 9:
Garnier discloses the electrical energy system according to claim 1.
However, Garnier does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrical energy system is configured to request the vehicle to switch into a limp home function to reduce the required power in the low voltage system in case of a failure in one of the DC/DC converters.
Sukhatankar teaches an example system including a controller (Figs. 192 and 193 Item 19220 & Par. [0792]) configured to request the vehicle to switch into a limp home function to reduce the required power in the low voltage system (Figs. 192 and 193 Item 19220 & Par. [0792] i.e. limp home mode limiting operating condition).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the known electrical controller system as taught by Sukhatankar with the known charge balancing system for batteries as disclosed by Garnier as doing so would have yielded the predictable result prioritizing loads as critical/necessary verse unnecessary during low power emergencies (Figs. 192 and 193 Item 19220 & Par. [0792]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
MW
8/6/2026
/Menatoallah Youssef/ SPE, Art Unit 2836