DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 lacks antecedent basis for “the spring system resisting the load collar”.
Claim 17 lacks antecedent basis for “the load collar”.
For further examination purposes, claim 16 will be assumed dependent on claim 15 where these limitations are introduced, which if amended as such would overcome this rejection of both claim 16 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Nash et al. (WO 2019/232006, submitted with IDS on 9/30/2025).
In regard to claim 11, Nash et al. disclose a downhole shock absorbing sub comprising: (a) a tubular main stem (314, fig 12) extending through a sub housing (312); (b) a torsional shock absorbing assembly positioned within the sub housing and comprising: (i) a first helix sleeve (328) configured to rotate with the main stem (paragraph 34), the first helix sleeve having a first helical cam surface (332) formed on an end surface of the sleeve; (ii) a second helix sleeve (326) configured to translate relative to the main stem (paragraphs 36-37), the second helix sleeve having a second helical cam surface (330) formed on an end surface of the sleeve and engaging the first helical cam surface; (iii) a spring system (322) positioned to resist movement of the first and second helix sleeves away from one another; and (c) whereby rotational movement of the main stem causes the first and second helical cam surfaces to move (i) the first and second helix sleeves apart (paragraphs 36-37), and (ii) at least one of the first or second helix sleeves into engagement with the spring system (paragraphs 36-37).
In regard to claim 12, Nash et al. disclose wherein the second helix sleeve engages the spring system (as in fig 12, with 326 engaging 322).
In regard to claim 13, Nash et al. disclose the sub including a series of axially oriented anti-rotation splines preventing rotation of the second helix sleeve relative to the sub housing (as in fig 13, with 334, multiple shown, as engaging between 312 and second helix sleeve, paragraphs 37-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nash et al. in view of Ostertag (US 4,194,582).
In regard to claim 14, Nash et al. disclose all the limitations of this claim, as applied to claim 11 above, except for the spring system as a bank of spring washers. Ostertag discloses a shock absorbing sub comprising a spring system as a bank of spring washers (col. 3, lines 19-21). It would have been obvious to include a bank of spring washers, as taught by Ostertag, with the shock absorbing sub of Nash et al. in order to allow the sub to absorb shocks regardless of the extension of the sub (as in abstract of Ostertag).
In regard to claim 15, Nash et al. discloses all the limitations of this claim, as applied to claim 11 above, except for an axial shock absorbing assembly as claimed. Ostertag discloses a shock absorbing sub comprising an axial shock absorbing assembly including: (d) a load collar (57) fixed axially on a main stem (as on 17); (e) a spring system (52) configured to resist axial movement of the load collar relative to a sub housing (29); and (f) first and second seal collars (20, as in fig 1 and 70 as in fig 1d) positioned to bracket the load collar and spring system between the seal collars, and control the flow of a fluid in which the load collar and spring system are immersed (col. 4, lines 21-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to provide the axial shock absorbing assembly of Ostertag with the system of Nash et al. in order to provide additional axial shock absorption since combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill.
In regard to claim 16, Ostertag discloses wherein the spring system resisting the load collar is a bank of spring washers (col. 3, lines 19-21).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-10, and 15-17 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,965,383. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,428,916. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g. In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 11 is generic to all that is recited in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,428,916. In other words, claim 1 of ‘916 fully encompasses the subject matter of claim 11 and therefore anticipates claim 11. Since claim 11 is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 11. Thus the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claim 11. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 11 is anticipated (fully encompassed) by claim 1 of the patent, claim 11 is not patentably distinct from claim 1, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claim 1. Instant claims 12-16 are similarly encompassed by claims 2-5 of ‘916.
Conclusion
/D. ANDREWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
2/18/2026