Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, and 7 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/321,332 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,199 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,199 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,201 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,202 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiu et al. (Xiu) (US 2020/0045336) in view of Hannuksela (US 2017/0347026).
Regarding claim 1, Xiu discloses a method for decoding an image, the method comprising:
obtaining partitioning information for a default coding unit included in the image from the bitstream (FIG. 14, [0062], [0090], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled and partitioning is performed);
partitioning the default coding unit into a plurality of lower coding units based on the partitioning information for the default coding unit (FIG. 14, [0062], [0090], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled and partitioning is performed); and
decoding each of the lower coding units to reconstruct the image ([0049], the image is reconstructed via decoding),
wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit is determined based on a size of the lower coding unit ([0062], partitioning of a node (i.e. a coding unit) is based on the size of the node (coding unit)) and based on that the default coding unit is partitioned into four coding units ([0062], a first quad split block is further partitioned; the quad-tree node may be partitioned (e.g., further partitioned) using binary tree in horizontal or vertical direction),
wherein the lower coding unit is not partitioned into the plurality of prediction units based on that the default coding unit is partitioned into two lower coding units ([0062], The binary tree node may be used as the basic unit of prediction and/or transform without further partitioning).
Xiu is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0288], yaw information is encoded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Xiu into the teachings of Zhao for more efficient image streaming and reproduction (Hannuksela: [0002]) and for applying the teachings of Wang to a 360 degree image encoding system.
Regarding claim 2, Xiu discloses the lower coding unit is partitioned into the plurality of prediction units based on type-based partitioning ([0062], the quad-tree node may be partitioned (e.g., further partitioned) using binary tree in horizontal or vertical direction).
Regarding claim 3, Xiu discloses wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit is determined based on whether the default coding unit is quad-tree partitioned ([0062], the quad-tree node may be partitioned (e.g., further partitioned) using binary tree in horizontal or vertical direction).
Regarding claim 5, Xiu discloses wherein the default coding unit is partitioned using a tree-based partitioning including a quad-tree partitioning and a binary-tree partitioning ([0062], quad tree binary tree partitioning).
Regarding claim 6, Xiu discloses a method for encoding an image, the method comprising:
partitioning a default coding unit into a plurality of lower coding units (FIG. 14, [0062], [0090], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled and partitioning is performed);
encoding partitioning information for the default coding unit into a bitstream (FIG. 14, [0062], [0090], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled and partitioning is performed), and
encoding each of the lower coding units to encode the image into the bitstream (FIG. 7, a bitstream 620 is encoded),
wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit is determined based on a size of the lower coding unit ([0062], partitioning of a node (i.e. a coding unit) is based on the size of the node (coding unit)) and based on that the default coding unit is partitioned into four coding units ([0062], a first quad split block is further partitioned; the quad-tree node may be partitioned (e.g., further partitioned) using binary tree in horizontal or vertical direction),
wherein the lower coding unit is not partitioned into the plurality of prediction units based on that the default coding unit is partitioned into two lower coding units ([0062], The binary tree node may be used as the basic unit of prediction and/or transform without further partitioning).
Xiu is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0288], yaw information is encoded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Xiu into the teachings of Zhao for more efficient image streaming and reproduction (Hannuksela: [0002]) and for applying the teachings of Wang to a 360 degree image encoding system.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 (see claim 6 above). Zhao further discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream and transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 1, the bitstream 16 is received at decoder 30).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiu et al. (Xiu) (US 2020/0045336) in view of Hannuksela (US 2017/0347026), and further in view of Liu et al. (Liu) (US 2013/0022129).
Regarding claim 4, Xiu in view of Hannuksela discloses the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Xiu in view of Hannuksela is silent about wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit is determined based on a prediction mode of the default coding unit.
Liu from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit is determined based on a prediction mode of the default coding unit ([0020], Once the splitting of CU hierarchical tree is done, each leaf CU is subject to further split into prediction units (PUs) according to prediction type and PU partition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liu into the teachings of Xiu in view of Hannuksela for more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. (Park) (US 2016/0029033) ([0087] partitioning of a block is performed based on a size and a shape of the block).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488