DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's reply filed on 12 August 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-30 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-18, 20-23 and 25-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0377356 A1 to Miller et al. (Miller).
In reference to claim 1, Miller discloses a high-pressure reciprocating pump (par. 0003) comprising: a housing (102; Fig. 8); at least one plunger assembly including a plunger (106) received within a plunger bore extending through the housing and positioned to move in a reciprocating motion along the plunger bore for pumping a fluid through a fluid chamber; and a sealing assembly (Fig. 8) comprising a plurality of seal elements (110, 112, 114, 118), at least one seal element of the plurality of seal elements including at least one component (50, 68, 110, 88; Figs. 5-9) positioned to increase dissipation of heat due to movement of the plunger along the plunger bore in contact with the sealing assembly (any of the seals are capable of transferring heat), the at least one component comprising: a first component including a first material (90 or alternatively 96/61/62, or alternatively, 74) having a thermal conductivity and a coefficient of friction (any material possess these characteristics), and a second component (the other of 90 or 96/61/62 or 74) including one or more of (a) a thermally conductive material having a thermal conductivity greater than the thermal conductivity of the first component or (b) a low coefficient of friction material having a coefficient of friction lower than the coefficient of friction of the first material (96 is disclosed as including a fabric comprising nylon, polyester, aramid or fiberglass and 90 as either nitrile or butadiene rubber, all which are disclosed by Applicant as meeting the particular physical characteristics in at least pars. 0189 and 0194).
In reference to claim 2, Miller discloses the high-pressure reciprocating pump of claim 1, wherein the sealing assembly comprises one or more of: (a) boron nitride, graphene, Silicon or SI-containing compounds, carbon nanotubes, Aluminum or Al-containing compounds, Copper or Cu-containing compounds (118 is brass, par. 0032), Zinc or Zn-containing compounds, brass (118 is brass, par. 0032), bronze, silver, silver alloys, steel, steel alloys, magnesium containing compounds, carbon fibers, or combinations thereof; (b) a plurality of fibers (par. 0035), flakes, filaments, a mesh, sheet material, strips, ribbons, chips, or combinations thereof, of a metal and/or metal alloy integrated with one or more of the seal elements, applied about one or more of the seal elements, or combinations thereof; or (c) one or more layers of a woven mesh, non-woven, a woven fabric (par. 0035), or non-woven fabric, or a combination thereof embedded within the first material, mixed or blended first material, attached to the first material, or combinations thereof.
In reference to claim 3, Miller discloses the high-pressure reciprocating pump of claim 1, wherein the first component comprises a core (90, 52, 70), and the second component (96, 74, 60, 61) comprises a thermally conductive reinforcing fabric including a woven, non-woven, knit, short fiber, or combinations thereof (par. 0035).
In reference to claim 4, Miller discloses the high-pressure reciprocating pump of claim 1, wherein the at least one component configured to increase dissipation of heat comprises one or more of: (a) a thermally conductive reinforcing fabric, the thermally conductive reinforcing fabric comprising: a plurality of thermally conductive fibers including about 5% to about 100% carbon fiber, about 0% to about 95% of secondary fibers including aramid fibers, cotton fibers, PET fibers, or combinations thereof, and a binder comprising urethane, elastomers, thermoplastics, rubbers, or combinations thereof (interpreted as optional); or (b) a base material including a wear resistant material (par. 0034), a low coefficient of friction material (par. 0034), or a combination thereof, and an additive material having a thermal conductivity greater than a thermal conductivity of the base material, or a low coefficient of friction material having a coefficient of friction lower than a coefficient of friction of the base material, or a combination thereof (96 is disclosed as including a fabric comprising nylon, polyester, aramid or fiberglass and 90 as either nitrile or butadiene rubber, all which are disclosed by Applicant as meeting the particular physical characteristics in at least pars. 0189 and 0194).
In reference to claim 5, Miller discloses the high-pressure reciprocating pump of claim 4, wherein the base material comprises an elastomer (par. 0034), thermoplastic polymer, thermosetting polymer, elastomeric polymer, thermosetting plastics, natural rubber (par. 0034), synthetic rubber (par. 0034), nitrile (par. 0034), butadiene rubber (par. 0034), polyether ether ketone (PEEK), fabric reinforced rubber, aramid reinforced rubber, fiber reinforced rubber, fluorocarbon resins, thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), thermoplastic copolyester (COPE), ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM), highly saturated nitrile rubber (HNBR), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), RESILON, polyurethane, or combinations thereof.
In reference to claim 6, Miller discloses the high-pressure reciprocating pump of claim 1, wherein at least one of the seal elements (50, 68, 110) includes a thermally conductive reinforcing fabric (par. 0034) and further comprises at least one of a pressure ring (112, 114) and a header ring (110), the thermally conductive reinforcing fabric comprising one or more of: (a) about 5% to about 100% carbon fiber (optional); (b) about 0% to about 95% of secondary fibers comprising aramid fibers (par. 0035), cotton fibers (par. 0035), PET fibers (par. 0035), or combinations thereof; (c) about 0% to about 95% of a binder comprising: urethane, elastomers, thermoplastics, rubber (par. 0035), or combinations thereof; or (d) carbon fiber and a binder, the binder comprising an elastomer, urethane, thermoplastic rubber, fiber reinforced rubber, PTFE, or combinations thereof (optional).
In reference to claim 7, Miller discloses the high-pressure reciprocating pump of claim 1, wherein one or more of: (a) the at least one of the seal elements comprises a core wrapped with a thermally conductive reinforcing fabric (Figs. 6, 7); (b) the plunger bore includes a packing recess defined therealong and a packing sleeve positioned along the packing recess between the sealing assembly and the housing (see Fig. 8); or (c) the at least one plunger includes a coating, the coating comprising a thermally conductive material, a reduced friction material or a combination thereof (interpreted as optional).
In reference to claim 8, Miller discloses the high-pressure reciprocating pump of claim 1, wherein one or more of: (a) the high-pressure reciprocating pump further comprises a power end coupled to the housing and configured to transfer power for driving the reciprocating motion of the plunger along the plunger bore (inherent property of a pump); (b) the at least one seal element further comprises a heat sink defined along at least a portion thereof (any element depicted in Fig. 8 can be considered a “heat sink”); or (c) the at least one seal element comprises a pressure ring (112, 114) or a header ring (110).
In reference to claim 12, Miller discloses the high-pressure reciprocating pump of claim 1, wherein the plurality of seal elements comprises one or more of a lantern ring, a lube seal, an adaptor ring (116), a pressure ring (112, 114), or a header ring (110).
In reference to claims 13-18 and 20, the pump claimed is substantively identical to the limitations recited in claims 1-8 and 12. See rejections above; the same rationale applies.
In reference to claims 21-23 and 25, the pump claimed is substantively identical to the limitations recited in claims 1-8 and 12. See rejections above; the same rationale applies.
In reference to claim(s) 26-29, under the principles of inherency, the prior art apparatus of Miller would necessarily perform the method(s) claimed in its normal and usual operation and thereby meets the limitations of the claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller as applied to claims 8 and 21 above, and further in view of CN 215334442 U to Ding (Ding).
In reference to claims 9-11 and 24, Miller discloses the pump of claim 8 and sealing assembly of claim 21, further including the at least one seal element comprises a pressure ring (112, 114; Fig. 8) or a header ring (110) and the thermally conductive reinforcing fabric material comprising a fiber and binder (pars. 0027-0029) is molded to form the at least one seal element (see Figs. 5-7); but fails to explicitly disclose the particular component materials. However, Ding discloses a packing seal for a shaft of a piston pump (par. 0002) wherein the at least one component of the at least one seal element comprises a thermally conductive reinforcing fabric material including carbon fiber (303; Fig. 4, par. 0008), a binder material (silicone, par. 0008) and a low coefficient of friction material (PTFE, 304). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the known seal material disclosed by Ding for the known sealing material of Miller. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious (see MPEP 2141).
Claim(s) 19 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller as applied to claims 13 and 26 above, and further in view of US 2020/0386223 A1 to Hurst et al. (Hurst).
In reference to claim 19, Miller discloses the high-pressure reciprocating pump of claim 13, but fails to explicitly disclose a plunger coating. However, Hurst discloses a similar pump comprising a plunger (18; Figs. 2-5) wherein the plunger includes a plunger coating to a surface of the plunger applied thereto, and wherein the plunger coating includes a filler material comprising a high thermal conductivity material, the high thermal conductivity material of the plunger coating comprising boron nitride, graphene, Silicon or SI-containing compounds, carbon nanotubes, Aluminum or Al-containing compounds (aluminum, alumina; par. 0068), Copper or Cu-containing compounds, Zinc or Zn-containing compounds, brass, bronze, silver, silver alloys, steel, steel alloys, magnesium containing compounds, or a combination thereof. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plunger coating disclosed by Hurst into the pump of Miller. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Hurst teaches that doing so advantageously provides for an indicator that the plunger needs maintenance (par. 0006).
In reference to claim(s) 30, under the principles of inherency, the prior art apparatus of the modified Miller would necessarily perform the method(s) claimed in its normal and usual operation and thereby meets the limitations of the claim(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that inherency of the material properties disclosed by Miller was not properly established and goes on to discuss the properties of the genus of synthetic rubber and natural rubbers, and how each may possess a range of values for physical properties. However, Miller clearly discloses not only the genus of natural and synthetic rubbers but also the species of nylon, polyester, aramid and fiberglass in par. 0035 and butadiene rubber in par. 0034. MPEP 2131.02 states that “when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named”. Additionally, Applicant’s own specification states that these specific materials are used for the seals in question (for example nylon in par. 0189 of the PGPUB document and butadiene rubber in par. 0194). Further, MPEP 2112.01 states that “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established... When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." The rejection indicated the specific materials disclosed by Miller are also disclosed by Applicant. Applicant has not addressed the properties of the specific materials disclosed by Miller (such as nylon and butadiene rubber) and made no showing on how the nylon and butadiene rubber of Miller are any different from the nylon and butadiene rubber disclosed by Applicant. Since inherency was properly established and Applicant has not presented a rebuttal with regards to the specific disclosed materials, the rejection in view of Miller is proper and remains.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2023/0047066 A1, 11,143,305 B1 and 2019/0170137 A1 each disclose a pump that appears to also anticipate at least claims 1, 13, 21 and 26 and may be relied upon in a subsequent Office action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN R MATTHIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
24 June 2026