Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the L- shaped slot, circumferentially extending portion, axially extending portion, button cover must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that Claim 7 introduces “biasing means”. The above limitations use the word “means” and is not modified by sufficient structure or material. As such, the above limitations have been interpreted as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-8 and 13-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claims not addressed below are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 4-6 and 13-14 recite limitation “L-shaped slot”. It is unclear which element this is referring to appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4-6 and 14 recite limitation “circumferentially extending portion”. It is unclear which element this is referring to appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4-7 and 14 recite limitation “axially extending portion”. It is unclear which element this is referring to appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20160318426 A1 Aita; Shinya et al.
Regarding claim 1, Aita teaches, a passenger seat (element S) for an aircraft (para 0221), comprising: a seat frame (element F); a seatback (element S2); a seat cushion (element S1) pivotally connected to at least one of the seatback or the seat frame (fig. 14); a support leg (element 37) pivotally connected to the seat cushion and (fig. 14) configured, in a first position, to contact a cabin floor and support the seat cushion in a substantially horizontal orientation (fig. 14 (A1)); an actuation mechanism configured to cause the support leg to pivot with respect to the seat cushion (element 68, para 0094), into a second position, out of contact with the cabin floor such that the support leg no longer supports the seat cushion substantially horizontally and the seat cushion pivots with respect to the seatback and/or seat frame down towards the cabin floor due to gravity (fig. 14 (A3)).
Regarding claim 2, Aita teaches, the passenger seat of claim 1, wherein the actuation mechanism comprises a locking mechanism configured to lock the support leg into the first position (element 41).
Regarding claim 15, Aita teaches, a method of operating the passenger seat of, comprising: providing a passenger seat (element S), the passenger seat comprising: a seat frame (element F); a seatback (element S2); a seat cushion (element S1) pivotally connected to the seatback or seat frame (fig. 14); a support leg (element 37) pivotally connected to the seat cushion (fig. 14) and configured, in a first position, to contact the cabin floor and support the seat cushion in a substantially horizontal orientation (fig 14(A1)); and an actuation mechanism configured to cause the support leg to pivot with respect to the seat cushion (element 68), into a second position, out of contact with the cabin floor such that the support leg no longer supports the seat cushion substantially horizontally and the seat cushion pivots with respect to the seatback and/or seat frame down towards the cabin floor due to gravity (fig. 14 (A3)); and actuating the actuation mechanism, causing the support leg to pivot with respect to the seat cushion, from the first position into the second position, out of contact with the cabin floor such that the support leg no longer supports the seat cushion substantially horizontally and the seat cushion pivots with respect to the seatback and/or seat frame down towards the cabin floor due to gravity (para 0094).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior art Aita and closest additional prior art of a row of seats with a secondary passenger seat US 12179635 B2 Line; Johnathan Andrew et al. teaches a seat with pivoting leg, cushion and actuation mechanism, but fails to teach “wherein the passenger seat and each of the one or more secondary passenger seats are configured to collapse simultaneously upon actuation of the actuation mechanism.”
Claim 3 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art Aita fails teaches, a seat with pivoting leg, cushion and actuation mechanism and the actuation mechanism comprises a locking mechanism configured to lock the support leg, but fails to teach, “wherein the actuation mechanism comprises a torsion spring, wherein a first end of the torsion spring is connected to the seat cushion and a second end of the torsion spring is connected to the support leg and wherein the torsion spring is configured to bias the support leg into the second position”.
Conclusion
/C.M.C/
Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642