DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were filed on 09/11/2025 and 04/06/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dev (US Patent No: 9,869,194).
Regarding Claim 1: Dev discloses a sealing assembly (Figure 10, No. 122) comprising a first sealing part (66B) configured to seal a first target sealing part defined along a first direction (Figure 10); a second sealing part (66C) configured to seal a second target sealing part defined along a second direction crossing the first direction and provided adjacent to an end of the first sealing part for connection thereto (Figure 10); and a first extending sealing part (88C) integrally extending from the end of the first sealing part, configured to be bent, disposed to cover a gap (71) between the first sealing part and the second sealing part, and connected to the second sealing part (Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 14: Dev discloses a sealing assembly (122) comprising a first sealing part (66B) configured to seal a first target sealing part defined along a first direction (Figure 10); a second sealing part (66C) configured to seal a second target sealing part defined along a second direction crossing the first direction, and provided adjacent to an end of the first sealing part for connection thereto (Figure 10); a third sealing part (66E) configured to seal a third target sealing part defined along a third direction crossing the second direction and provided adjacent to an end of the second sealing part for connection thereto (Figure 10); a first extending sealing part (88C) integrally extending from the end of the first sealing part, configured to be bent, disposed to cover a gap (71) between the first sealing part and the second sealing part, and connected to the second sealing part (Figure 10); and a second extending sealing part (88D) integrally extending from an end of the third sealing part, configured to be bent, disposed to cover a gap between the second sealing part and the third sealing part, and connected to the second sealing part (Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 17: Dev discloses a gas turbine (120) comprising a compressor (Figure 1, No. 14) configured to suck in and compress air; a burner (16) configured to mix the air compressed in the compressor and fuel to burn the fuel; a turbine (18) including a turbine casing, a plurality of turbine vanes provided on an inner surface of the turbine casing along a circumferential direction thereof (Figure 3), and a plurality of ring segments provided on an inner surface of the turbine casing along the circumferential direction thereof to face turbine blades that are rotatably provided in the interior of the turbine casing (Figures 4, 6, & 10) and configured to rotate the turbine blades by combustion gas discharged from the burner; a first sealing part (66B) configured to seal a first target sealing part defined between adjacent ring segments of the plurality of ring segments or adjacent turbine vanes of the plurality of turbine vanes along a first direction (Figure 10); a second sealing part (66C) configured to seal a second target sealing part defined between the adjacent ring segments or the adjacent turbine vanes along a second direction crossing the first direction and provided adjacent to an end of the first sealing part for connection thereto (Figure 10); and a first extending sealing part (88C) integrally extending from the end of the first sealing part, configured to be bent, disposed to cover a gap (71) between the first sealing part and the second sealing part, and connected to the second sealing part (Figure 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-13, 15-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dev in view of Paprotna (US Patent No: 6,733,234).
Regarding Claim 2: Dev discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 1, wherein the first extending sealing part integrally extends from an end of the first sealing part (Figure 10); however, Dev fails to disclose the first sealing part including a first cloth layer provided along the first direction; a first shim sheet stacked on the first cloth layer; and a first elastic plate stacked on the first shim sheet, and configured to elastically support the first shim sheet against the first target sealing part, and wherein the first extending sealing part integrally extends from an end of the first shim sheet.
Paprotna teaches a sealing assembly (Figure 1) comprising a first sealing part including a first cloth layer (46; Column 4, Lines 20-21) provided along a first direction (Figure 1); a first shim sheet (26) stacked on the first cloth layer (Figure 1); and a first elastic plate (38; Column 3, Lines 22-24) stacked on the first shim sheet and configured to elastically support the first shim sheet against the first target sealing part (Figure 1; Column 3, Lines 22-28).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the sealing assembly of Dev with a first cloth layer, first shim sheet, and first elastic plate, as taught by Paprotna, and thus with the first extending sealing part integrally extending from an end of the first shim sheet, for the purpose of providing secondary leakage resistance and urging the sealing part into contact with turbine members (Column 3, Lines 59-60; Column 3, Lines 25-28).
Regarding Claim 3: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 2, wherein the first shim sheet includes a first shim sheet body part (Paprotna: 36) stacked on the first cloth layer (Figure 1); and a pair of first shim sheet side parts (32, 34), each connected to a respective one of opposite side ends of the first shim sheet body part to cover side surfaces of the first cloth layer (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 4: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 2, wherein the first elastic plate includes a first plate body (Paprotna: 40) stacked on the first shim sheet; and a pair of first elastic edge parts (44), each provided at a respective one of opposite side ends of the first plate body and configured to be bent and to elastically support the first plate body against the first target sealing part (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 5: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 2, wherein the second sealing part includes a second cloth layer (Paprotna: 46; Column 4, Lines 20-21) provided along the second direction (Figure 1); a second shim sheet (26) stacked on the second cloth layer (Figure 1); and a second elastic plate (38; Column 3, Lines 22-24) stacked on the second shim sheet and configured to elastically support the second shim sheet against the second target sealing part and wherein the first extending sealing part is supported by the second elastic plate (Figure 1; Column 3, Lines 22-28).
Regarding Claim 6: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 5, wherein the second elastic plate includes a second plate body (Paprotna: 40) stacked on the second shim sheet (Figure 1); and a pair of second elastic edge parts (44), each provided at a respective one of opposite side ends of the second plate body, and configured to be bent and to elastically support the second plate body against the second target sealing part, and wherein the first extending sealing part is inserted between the second plate body and the pair of second elastic edge parts (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 6, further comprising a third sealing part (Dev: 66E) configured to seal a third target sealing part defined along a third direction crossing the second direction and provided adjacent to an end of the second sealing part for connection thereto (Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 9: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 8, further comprising a second extending sealing part (88D) integrally extending from an end of the third sealing part, configured to be bent, disposed to cover a gap between the second sealing part and the third sealing part, and connected to the second sealing part (Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 10: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 9, wherein the third sealing part includes a third cloth layer (Paprotna: 46; Column 4, Lines 20-21) provided along the third direction (Figure 1); a third shim sheet (26) stacked on the third cloth layer (Figure 1); and a third elastic plate (38; Column 3, Lines 22-24) stacked on the third shim sheet and configured to elastically support the third shim sheet against the third target sealing part, and wherein the second extending sealing part integrally extends from an end of the third shim sheet (Figure 1; Column 3, Lines 22-28).
Regarding Claim 11: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 10, wherein the second extending sealing part is inserted between the second plate body and the second elastic edge part (Dev: Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 12: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 10, wherein the third shim sheet includes a third shim sheet body part (Paprotna: 36) stacked on the third cloth layer; and a pair of third shim sheet side parts (32, 34), each connected to a respective one of opposite side ends of the third shim sheet body part to cover side surfaces of the third cloth layer (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 13: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 10, wherein the third elastic plate includes a third plate body (Paprotna: 40) stacked on the third shim sheet (Figure 1); and a pair of third elastic edge parts (44), each provided at a respective one of opposite side ends of the third plate body and configured to be bent and to elastically support the third plate body against the third target sealing part (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 5, wherein the second shim sheet includes a second shim sheet body part (Paprotna: 36) stacked on the second cloth layer (Figure 1); and a pair of second shim sheet side parts (32, 34), each connected to a respective one of opposite side ends of the second shim sheet body part to cover side surfaces of the second cloth layer (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 15: Dev discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 14; however, Dev fails to disclose the first sealing part including a first cloth layer provided along the first direction, a first shim sheet having the first extending sealing part integrally extending from one end thereof and stacked on the first cloth layer, and a first elastic plate stacked on the first shim sheet and configured to elastically support the first shim sheet against the first target sealing part, wherein the second sealing part includes a second cloth layer provided along the second direction, a second shim sheet stacked on the second cloth layer, and a second elastic plate stacked on the second shim sheet and configured to elastically support the second shim sheet against the second target sealing part, and wherein the third sealing part includes a third cloth layer provided along the third direction, a third shim sheet having the second extending sealing part integrally extending from one end thereof and stacked on the third cloth layer, and a third elastic plate stacked on the third shim sheet and configured to elastically support the third shim sheet against the third target sealing part, and wherein the first extending sealing part and the second extending sealing part are each supported by the second elastic plate.
Paprotna teaches a sealing assembly (Figure 1) comprising first, second, and third sealing parts including a first, second, and third cloth layers (46; Column 4, Lines 20-21) provided along a first, second, and third directions (Figure 1); first, second, and third shim sheets (26) stacked on the first, second, and third cloth layers, respectively (Figure 1); and first, second, and third elastic plates (38; Column 3, Lines 22-24) stacked on the first, second, and third shim sheets and configured to elastically support the first, second, and third shim sheets against the first, second, and third target sealing parts (Figure 1; Column 3, Lines 22-28).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the sealing assembly of Dev with cloth layers, shim sheets, and elastic plates, as taught by Paprotna, and thus with the first extending sealing part integrally extending from an end of the first shim sheet, for the purpose of providing secondary leakage resistance and urging the sealing part into contact with turbine members (Column 3, Lines 59-60; Column 3, Lines 25-28).
Regarding Claim 16: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the sealing assembly of Claim 15, wherein the second elastic plate includes a second plate body (Paprotna: 38) stacked on the second shim sheet (Figure 1); and a pair of second elastic edge parts (44), each provided at a respective one of opposite side ends of the second plate body and configured to be bent and to elastically support the second plate body against the second target sealing part (Figure 1), and wherein the first extending sealing part and the second extending sealing part are inserted between the second plate body and the pair of second elastic edge parts (Dev: Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 18: Dev discloses the gas turbine of Claim 17; however, Dev fails to disclose the first sealing part including a first cloth layer provided along the first direction; a first shim sheet stacked on the first cloth layer; and a first elastic plate stacked on the first shim sheet, and configured to elastically support the first shim sheet against the first target sealing part, and wherein the first extending sealing part integrally extends from an end of the first shim sheet.
Paprotna teaches a gas turbine sealing assembly (Figure 1) comprising a first sealing part including a first cloth layer (46; Column 4, Lines 20-21) provided along a first direction (Figure 1); a first shim sheet (26) stacked on the first cloth layer (Figure 1); and a first elastic plate (38; Column 3, Lines 22-24) stacked on the first shim sheet and configured to elastically support the first shim sheet against the first target sealing part (Figure 1; Column 3, Lines 22-28).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the sealing assembly of Dev with a first cloth layer, first shim sheet, and first elastic plate, as taught by Paprotna, and thus with the first extending sealing part integrally extending from an end of the first shim sheet, for the purpose of providing secondary leakage resistance and urging the sealing part into contact with turbine members (Column 3, Lines 59-60; Column 3, Lines 25-28).
Regarding Claim 19: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the gas turbine of Claim 18, wherein the second sealing part includes a second cloth layer (46; Column 4, Lines 20-21) provided along the second direction (Figure 1); a second shim sheet (26) stacked on the second cloth layer (Figure 1); and a second elastic plate (38) stacked on the second shim sheet (Figure 1) and configured to elastically support the second shim sheet against the second target sealing part (Figure 1; Column 3, Lines 22-28), and wherein the first extending sealing part is supported by the second elastic plate (Dev: Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 20: Dev, as modified by Paprotna, discloses the gas turbine of Claim 19, wherein the second elastic plate includes a second plate body (40) stacked on the second shim sheet (Figure 1); a pair of second elastic edge parts (44), each provided at a respective one of opposite side ends of the second plate body and configured to be bent and to elastically support the second plate body against the second target sealing part (Figure 1), and wherein the first extending sealing part is inserted between the second plate body and the pair of second elastic edge parts (Dev: Figure 10).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L SEHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745