DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-32 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 14, 15, 18, 19, 24, 25, 27-29, 31 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mihelich et al (PG Pub NO 2015/0193982).
As in claim 1, Mihelich et al discloses a method comprising: at a computer system in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (Fig 1 item 100) discloses portable user device, such as a tablet computer or a smartphone:
while a three-dimensional environment is visible via the display generation component from a first viewpoint of a user of the computer system, displaying, via the display generation component, a first virtual object including first content from the first viewpoint, (Fig 5 and Par 0042) discloses three-dimensional environment is visible via the display from a first viewpoint of a user of the computer system (502) wherein virtual object (506) displayed from the first viewpoint,
wherein: the first virtual object has a first size and a first shape relative to the three- dimensional environment, the first virtual object is visible from a first angle from the first viewpoint; (Fig 5 item 502) discloses virtual object (506) has a first size and a first shape relative to the three- dimensional environment (508) visible from a first angle from the first viewpoint;
and while the first virtual object is viewed at the first angle from the first viewpoint, a respective visual characteristic of the first content has a first value corresponding to a first level of visual prominence of the first content in the three-dimensional environment, (Fig 5 and Par 0042) discloses the physical position/orientation between two electronic devices 502, 504 is used to control how each electronic device views a virtual object 506 inserted into a local environment 508 observed by the electronic devices 502, 504.
while displaying, via the display generation component, the first virtual object in the three-dimensional environment from the first viewpoint, detecting movement of a current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint to a second viewpoint, different from the first viewpoint; (Fig 9 and Par 0064 line 8-16) discloses detecting movement of a current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint (position A) to a second viewpoint (position B), different from the first viewpoint and (Fig 13) discloses change of viewing angle of the user in virtual environment in relation to object within said environment and change in perceptive view of an object within said environment
and in response to detecting the movement of the current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint to the second viewpoint, displaying, in the three-dimensional environment, while the three-dimensional environment is visible from the second viewpoint of the user, the first virtual object from the second viewpoint, wherein: the first virtual object maintains the first size and the first shape relative to the three-dimensional environment, the first virtual object is visible from a second angle from the second viewpoint, the second angle being different from the first angle; (Fig 5, 9, 13 and Par 0042-0043, 0063-0064) discloses change in viewpoint of the user within three-dimensional environment that is visible from each viewpoint of the user wherein said virtual object maintains its size and shape relative to the three-dimensional environment as the viewpoint/view angle changes
and while the first virtual object is viewed at the second angle from the second viewpoint, the respective visual characteristic of the first content has a second value corresponding to a second level of visual prominence of the first content in the three-dimensional environment, the second level of visual prominence of the first content being different from the first level of visual prominence. (Fig 5, 9, 13 and Par 0042-0043, 0063-0064) discloses virtual object being viewed at different angles from different viewpoints wherein the respective visual characteristic of the said content (i.e. virtual object) has a second/another value corresponding to a second/subsequent level of visual prominence that is different from the first level of visual prominence when the viewing angle/prospective changes.
As in claim 2, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the movement of the current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint to the second viewpoint includes detecting movement of the user in a physical environment of the user. (Fig 9 and Par 0064) discloses detecting movement of the user in a physical environment of the user (position A and B)
As in claim 3, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the three-dimensional environment is visible from the first viewpoint and the second viewpoint of the user during a communication session between the user of the computer system and a second user of a second computer system, wherein the first virtual object is accessible by the computer system and the second computer system, and detecting the movement of the current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint to the second viewpoint includes detecting movement of the first virtual object relative to the current viewpoint of the user. (Fig 5 and Par 0042-0043) discloses different viewpoints between first and second computer systems (502, 504) and communication session between the user of the computer system, wherein the virtual object is accessible by both computer system (502, 504) and (Fig 9 and Par 0064) discloses prospective view of virtual object changing as viewpoint of the user changes.
As in claim 4, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first virtual object from the second viewpoint, wherein the first virtual object has a first orientation relative to the second viewpoint of the user, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a respective input corresponding to a request to move the first virtual object relative to the second viewpoint of the user; (Fig 5) discloses the orientation of virtual object (506) in relation to different viewpoint of the user and (Fig 4) discloses an input corresponding to a request to move the first virtual object relative to the second viewpoint of the user
and in response to detecting the respective input, moving the first virtual object relative to the second viewpoint of the user in the three-dimensional environment in accordance with the respective input, including while moving the first virtual object relative to the second viewpoint of the user, displaying the first virtual object at one or more second orientations relative to the second viewpoint of the user, different from the first orientation relative to the second viewpoint of the user, wherein the one or more second orientations are based on a relative location of the first virtual object relative to the second viewpoint of the user. (Fig 4, 5, 9, 13 and Par 0040, 0042-0044) disclose moving virtual object relative to (the second) viewpoint of the user in the three-dimensional environment accordance with the respective input and displaying the (first) virtual object at one or more second orientations relative to the second viewpoint of the user that is different from the first orientation wherein the one or more second orientations are based on a relative location of the first virtual object relative to the second viewpoint of the user.
As in claim 9, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: displaying the first virtual object from the first viewpoint includes displaying the first virtual object in association with a user interface element for moving the first virtual object relative to the three-dimensional environment, and displaying the first virtual object from the second viewpoint includes displaying the first virtual object in association with the user interface element for moving the first virtual object relative to the three-dimensional environment. (Fig 4) disclose displaying virtual object from the first/second viewpoint includes displaying the virtual object in association with a user interface element for moving the virtual object relative to the three-dimensional environment
As in claim 14, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein displaying the first virtual object includes: while the first virtual object is visible from a first range of angles, including the first angle, displaying the first virtual object with a first appearance; and while the first virtual object is visible from a second range of angles, different from the first range of angles, including the second angle, displaying the first virtual object with a second appearance different from the first appearance. (Fig 5, 9 and 13) discloses displaying the first virtual object visible from a first range of angles with a first appearance and the first virtual object is visible from a second range of angles, different from the first range of angles, displaying the first virtual object with a second appearance different from the first appearance
As in claim 15, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 14, wherein displaying the first virtual object includes: while the first virtual object is visible from a third range of angles, different from the first range of angles and the second range of angles, displaying the first virtual object with a third appearance different from the first appearance and the second appearance. (Fig 5, 9 and 13) disclose displaying the virtual object visible from different angels (I.e. viewpoints) having with different appearance based on viewing angle.
As in claim 18, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying, via the display generation component, the first virtual object in the three-dimensional environment from the first viewpoint, displaying, in the three-dimensional environment, a second virtual object that includes second content from the first viewpoint, the respective visual characteristic of the second content having a third value corresponding to a third level of visual prominence of the second content in the three-dimensional environment; and while displaying, via the display generation component, the first virtual object in the three-dimensional environment from the second viewpoint, displaying, in the three-dimensional environment, the second virtual object from the second viewpoint, the respective visual characteristic of the second content having a fourth value corresponding to a fourth level of visual prominence of the second content in the three-dimensional environment, the fourth level of visual prominence being different from the third level of visual prominence. (Fig 5, 9, 13) displaying virtual object in a three-dimensional environment wherein said objects having different visual prominence based on perspective viewpoints (i.e. first viewpoint or second viewpoint); (Fig 11, 13) discloses displaying different virtual objects (i.e. first, second virtual object). Thus, prior art of record discloses change in visual prominence based on perspective viewpoints of the user of each object displayed.
As in claim 19, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising: while the three-dimensional environment is visible via the display generation component from the first viewpoint of the user and the first virtual object has a first orientation relative to the first viewpoint of the user and a second orientation relative to the three-dimensional environment, wherein the first orientation is directed towards the first viewpoint of the user, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a respective input corresponding to a request to move the first virtual object relative to the three-dimensional environment from a first location to a second location; and in response to the respective input, displaying, via the display generation component, the first virtual object at the second location in the three-dimensional environment, wherein the first virtual object has the first orientation relative to the first viewpoint of the user and a third orientation, different from the second orientation, relative to the three-dimensional environment. (Fig 4, 5, 9, 13 and Par 0039-0044) discloses displaying virtual objects in a three-dimensional environment wherein said objects having different orientation relative to the viewpoint. [Par 0042] FIG. 5 illustrates the physical position/orientation between two electronic devices 502, 504 is used to control how each electronic device views a virtual object 506 inserted into a local environment 508 observed by the electronic devices 502, 504. The AR software of the two electronic devices are in communication, so in response to the generation and placement of the virtual object 506 in the virtualized representation of the local environment 508, the AR software of the electronic device 504 determines how its physical position/orientation relative to the virtual object 506 differs compared to the electronic device 502, and thus prepares a representation of the virtual object 506 in the AR overlay of the electronic device 504 to reflect this difference so as to accurately depict how the virtual object 506 would appear given the particular position/orientation of the electronic device 504. [0043] discloses both the electronic device 502 and the electronic device 504 could be concurrently viewing the local environment 508, and thus the generation, modification, or other manipulation of the virtual object 506 by one of the electronic devices is soon reflected in the AR overlay of the other. Either user may then interact with the virtual object 506 via the corresponding electronic device, and the manipulation of the virtual object 506 would then be reflected in the depiction of the virtual object 506 in the AR overlay of the other electronic device. And (Fig 4 and Par 0040) discloses an input wherein the user would move virtual object to a second location.
As in claim 24, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first virtual object in the three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an indication of an input directed to the first virtual object; and in response to detecting the indication of the input directed to the first virtual object: in accordance with a determination that the first virtual object is at a third angle with respect to the second viewpoint of the user, different from the second angle from the second viewpoint, initiating one or more operations based on the indication of the input directed to the first virtual object; and in accordance with a determination that the first virtual object is at the second angle with respect to the second viewpoint of the user, different from the first angle, forgoing initiation of the one or more operations based on the indication of the input directed to the first virtual object. (Fig 4 and par 0040-0041 & 0045) discloses initiate movement of the virtual object via input device from first location to second location. [0045] An electronic device 600 can utilize its imaging cameras to capture imagery of the local environment 602 as the user moves through the local environment 602, and provide an AR overlay 604 over this imagery so as to transform local environment as depicted in the display 104 of the electronic device 600 into an alternate reality whereby depictions of physical objects in the local environment 602 within the captured and displayed imagery are "replaced" with corresponding objects in accordance with the theme of the transformation. (Fig 5, 9, 13) discloses displaying virtual object in a three-dimensional environment wherein said objects having different visual prominence based on perspective viewpoints (i.e. first viewpoint or second viewpoint). Thus, as the virtual objects are moved to different location having different angle within the three-dimensional environment.
As in claim 25, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying, via the display generation component, the first virtual object in the three-dimensional environment from the first viewpoint, detecting movement of the current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint to a third viewpoint, wherein movement of the current viewpoint from the first viewpoint to the third viewpoint corresponds to transitioning from the first virtual object being visible from the first angle relative to a front surface of the first virtual object to being visible from a third angle relative to the front surface of the first virtual object, wherein the third angle is greater than the first angle; in response to detecting the movement of the current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint to the third viewpoint: in accordance with a determination that the third angle is greater than a first threshold angle, displaying the first virtual object with the respective visual characteristic of the first content having a third value corresponding to a third level of visual prominence of the first content in the three-dimensional environment, less than the first level of visual prominence; and in accordance with a determination that the third angle is less than the first threshold angle, maintaining display of the first virtual object with the respective visual characteristic of the first content having the first value corresponding to the first level of visual prominence of the first content in the three-dimensional environment; while displaying, via the display generation component, the first virtual object in the three-dimensional environment from the third viewpoint, detecting movement of the current viewpoint of the user from the third viewpoint to a fourth viewpoint, wherein movement of the current viewpoint from the third viewpoint to the fourth viewpoint corresponds to transitioning from the first virtual object being visible from the third angle relative to a front surface of the first virtual object to being visible from a fourth angle relative to the front surface of the first virtual object, wherein the fourth angle is less than the third angle; and in response to detecting the movement of the current viewpoint of the user from the third viewpoint to the fourth viewpoint: in accordance with a determination that the fourth angle is less than a second threshold angle, displaying the first virtual object with the respective visual characteristic of the first content having a fourth value corresponding to a fourth level of visual prominence of the first content in the three-dimensional environment, wherein the fourth level of visual prominence is greater than the third level of visual prominence; and in accordance with a determination that the fourth angle is greater than the second threshold angle, maintaining display of the first virtual object with the respective visual characteristic of the first content having the third value corresponding to the third level of visual prominence of the first content in the three-dimensional environment. (Fig 5, 9, 13) discloses the virtual objects may be implemented as 3D graphical representations such that, as the electronic device moves relative to the physical object represented by a virtual object in the AR overlay, the view of the virtual object presented in the AR overlay changes in response to the change in perspective of the electronic device. [0064] As with the other examples of AR overlays described above, the virtual pet AR overlay utilizes the current pose of the electronic device 900 to inform the content displayed in the AR overlay. To illustrate, the electronic device 900 may simulate the actions of the virtual pet 902 such that it appears to hide behind a physical object 906 in the local environment 904 after being "scared" by the user. Accordingly, when the user holds the electronic device 900 in position A depicted in FIG. 9, the AR overlay omits presentation of the virtual pet 902 so as to give the appearance of the virtual pet 902 hiding behind the physical object 906. However, when the user moves the electronic device 900 to position B depicted in FIG. 9, the new pose of the electronic device 900 permits viewing behind the physical object 906, and thus the AR overlay depicts the virtual pet 902 behind the physical object 906. [0075] To illustrate, FIG. 13 depicts an example VR-based service provided by an electronic device 1300 whereby a user can "walk" through a virtual/remote environment 1302 (as viewed through the electronic device 1300) by manipulating the position and orientation of the electronic device 1300 in a local environment 1304, whereby the imagery of the virtual/remote environment 1302 changes to reflect a changing viewpoint caused by changes in position/orientation of the electronic device 1300 in the local environment 1304. In this example, the virtual environment 1302 includes a box 1305 upon a table 1306. The user may view the box 1305 and table 1306 from various angles in the virtual environment 1302 by moving around the local environment 1304 in a corresponding manner. To illustrate, when the electronic device 1300 is at position/orientation 1310 in the local environment 1304, the electronic device 1300 determines the view of the box 1305 and table 1306 that would be presented to the user in the corresponding position/orientation 1311 in the virtual/remote environment 1302, and displays this view of the box 1305 and table 1306 in the manner depicted as "Viewpoint A" in FIG. 13. When the user moves so that the electronic device 1300 is at position/orientation 1312 in the local environment 1304, the electronic device 1300 determines the view of the box 1305 and table 1306 that would be presented to the user in the corresponding position/orientation 1313 in the virtual/remote environment 1302, and displays this view in the manner depicted as "Viewpoint B" in FIG. 13.
As in claim 26, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first virtual object detecting, via the one or more input devices, an interaction input directed to the first virtual object; and in response to detecting the interaction input: in accordance with a determination that the current viewpoint corresponds to the first viewpoint, performing one or more operations associated with the first virtual object in accordance with the input; and in accordance with a determination that the current viewpoint corresponds to the second viewpoint, forgoing initiation of the one or more operations associated with the first virtual object in accordance with the input. (Fig 4) discloses an interaction with virtual object wherein the viewpoint of virtual object changes by moving said virtual object; (Fig 9 and 13) discloses user interaction with virtual object within the three-dimensional environment wherein viewpoint of the user changes and viewing angle and orientation of virtual object changes giving the user different view of said object.
As in claim 27, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein displaying the first virtual object with the second level of visual prominence includes displaying one or more virtual elements concurrently with the first virtual object. (Fig 5, 9) disclose displaying virtual object with different level of visual prominence based on viewpoint. (Fig 6, 7 and 10) disclose displaying virtual elements concurrently with virtual object.
As in claim 28, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 27 (Fig 5, 9) discloses displaying plurality of virtual content in the three-dimensional environment wherein the level of visual prominence change based on viewing angle. But fails to explicitly disclose the one or more virtual elements include a virtual border surrounding the first virtual object having a third level of visual prominence. Given prior art of record discloser wherein plurality of virtual contents are displayed in the three-dimensional environment having different level of visual prominence based on viewing angle it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to display different configuration of virtual elements having virtual border surrounding virtual object with different visual prominence.
As in claim 29, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the one or more virtual elements include a fill pattern overlaid over the first virtual object. Obvious design choice to display particular virtual element (i.e. fill pattern overlaid over the virtual object) given the capability of display device.
As in claim 31, Mihelich et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (204/206) storing one or more programs (software; 232) configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display(102) generation component and one or more input devices [Par 0031-0032 and (Fig 1 item 100) discloses portable user device, such as a tablet computer or a smartphone], the one or more programs including instructions for:
while a three-dimensional environment is visible via the display generation component from a first viewpoint of a user of the computer system, displaying, via the display generation component, a first virtual object including first content from the first viewpoint, (Fig 5 and Par 0042) discloses three-dimensional environment is visible via the display from a first viewpoint of a user of the computer system (502) wherein virtual object (506) displayed from the first viewpoint,
wherein: the first virtual object has a first size and a first shape relative to the three- dimensional environment, the first virtual object is visible from a first angle from the first viewpoint; (Fig 5 item 502) discloses virtual object (506) has a first size and a first shape relative to the three- dimensional environment (508) visible from a first angle from the first viewpoint;
and while the first virtual object is viewed at the first angle from the first viewpoint, a respective visual characteristic of the first content has a first value corresponding to a first level of visual prominence of the first content in the three-dimensional environment, (Fig 5 and Par 0042) discloses the physical position/orientation between two electronic devices 502, 504 is used to control how each electronic device views a virtual object 506 inserted into a local environment 508 observed by the electronic devices 502, 504.
while displaying, via the display generation component, the first virtual object in the three-dimensional environment from the first viewpoint, detecting movement of a current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint to a second viewpoint, different from the first viewpoint; (Fig 9 and Par 0064 line 8-16) discloses detecting movement of a current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint (position A) to a second viewpoint (position B), different from the first viewpoint and (Fig 13) discloses change of viewing angle of the user in virtual environment in relation to object within said environment and change in perceptive view of an object within said environment
and in response to detecting the movement of the current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint to the second viewpoint, displaying, in the three-dimensional environment, while the three-dimensional environment is visible from the second viewpoint of the user, the first virtual object from the second viewpoint, wherein: the first virtual object maintains the first size and the first shape relative to the three-dimensional environment, the first virtual object is visible from a second angle from the second viewpoint, the second angle being different from the first angle; (Fig 5, 9, 13 and Par 0042-0043, 0063-0064) discloses change in viewpoint of the user within three-dimensional environment that is visible from each viewpoint of the user wherein said virtual object maintains its size and shape relative to the three-dimensional environment as the viewpoint/view angle changes
and while the first virtual object is viewed at the second angle from the second viewpoint, the respective visual characteristic of the first content has a second value corresponding to a second level of visual prominence of the first content in the three-dimensional environment, the second level of visual prominence of the first content being different from the first level of visual prominence. (Fig 5, 9, 13 and Par 0042-0043, 0063-0064) discloses virtual object being viewed at different angles from different viewpoints wherein the respective visual characteristic of the said content (i.e. virtual object) has a second/another value corresponding to a second/subsequent level of visual prominence that is different from the first level of visual prominence when the viewing angle/prospective changes.
As in claim 32, Mihelich et al discloses a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices [(Fig 1 item 100) discloses portable user device, such as a tablet computer or a smartphone], the computer system comprising: one or more processors (Fig 2 item 202); and memory (204,206) storing one or more programs (232 software) configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Par 0031-0032 and Fig 2), the one or more programs including instructions for:
while a three-dimensional environment is visible via the display generation component from a first viewpoint of a user of the computer system, displaying, via the display generation component, a first virtual object including first content from the first viewpoint, (Fig 5 and Par 0042) discloses three-dimensional environment is visible via the display from a first viewpoint of a user of the computer system (502) wherein virtual object (506) displayed from the first viewpoint,
wherein: the first virtual object has a first size and a first shape relative to the three- dimensional environment, the first virtual object is visible from a first angle from the first viewpoint; (Fig 5 item 502) discloses virtual object (506) has a first size and a first shape relative to the three- dimensional environment (508) visible from a first angle from the first viewpoint;
and while the first virtual object is viewed at the first angle from the first viewpoint, a respective visual characteristic of the first content has a first value corresponding to a first level of visual prominence of the first content in the three-dimensional environment, (Fig 5 and Par 0042) discloses the physical position/orientation between two electronic devices 502, 504 is used to control how each electronic device views a virtual object 506 inserted into a local environment 508 observed by the electronic devices 502, 504.
while displaying, via the display generation component, the first virtual object in the three-dimensional environment from the first viewpoint, detecting movement of a current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint to a second viewpoint, different from the first viewpoint; (Fig 9 and Par 0064 line 8-16) discloses detecting movement of a current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint (position A) to a second viewpoint (position B), different from the first viewpoint and (Fig 13) discloses change of viewing angle of the user in virtual environment in relation to object within said environment and change in perceptive view of an object within said environment
and in response to detecting the movement of the current viewpoint of the user from the first viewpoint to the second viewpoint, displaying, in the three-dimensional environment, while the three-dimensional environment is visible from the second viewpoint of the user, the first virtual object from the second viewpoint, wherein: the first virtual object maintains the first size and the first shape relative to the three-dimensional environment, the first virtual object is visible from a second angle from the second viewpoint, the second angle being different from the first angle; (Fig 5, 9, 13 and Par 0042-0043, 0063-0064) discloses change in viewpoint of the user within three-dimensional environment that is visible from each viewpoint of the user wherein said virtual object maintains its size and shape relative to the three-dimensional environment as the viewpoint/view angle changes
and while the first virtual object is viewed at the second angle from the second viewpoint, the respective visual characteristic of the first content has a second value corresponding to a second level of visual prominence of the first content in the three-dimensional environment, the second level of visual prominence of the first content being different from the first level of visual prominence. (Fig 5, 9, 13 and Par 0042-0043, 0063-0064) discloses virtual object being viewed at different angles from different viewpoints wherein the respective visual characteristic of the said content (i.e. virtual object) has a second/another value corresponding to a second/subsequent level of visual prominence that is different from the first level of visual prominence when the viewing angle/prospective changes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihelich et al (PG Pub NO 2015/0193982).
As in claim 5, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second level of visual prominence of the first content is less than the first level of visual prominence of the first content, and reducing the visual prominence of the first content from the first level to the second level includes fading display of the first content in the three-dimensional environment. (Fig 4, 9, 13) discloses different viewpoints wherein the level of visual prominence of displayed contents changes based on different viewpoints of user device that is related to objects orientation. For example, in Fig 9 the visual prominence of the first content (902) in one position (i.e. position B) has different levels of visual prominence than the second position (i.e. position B). But fails to disclose change in level of visual prominence includes fading display. However, it is obvious and well known in the art at the time of the filing that when changing viewpoint of an object would affect the visibility of certain portion of viewed content/object wherein some portion would be less viewable (i.e. faded) based on orientation and viewing angle.
As in claim 6, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second level of visual prominence of the first content is less than the first level of visual prominence of the first content, and reducing the visual prominence of the first content from the first level to the second level includes blurring display of the first content in the three-dimensional environment. (Fig 4, 9, 13) discloses change in the level of visual prominence of contents displayed based on viewpoints of the user, wherein the orientation of content changes giving the user different view of said content. But fails to disclose change in level of visual prominence includes blurring display. However, it is obvious and well known in the art at the time of the filing that when changing viewpoint of an object would affect the visibility of certain portion of viewed content/object wherein some portion would be less viewable (i.e. blured) based on orientation and viewing angle.
As in claim 7, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second level of visual prominence of the first content is less than the first level of visual prominence of the first content, and reducing the visual prominence of the first content from the first level to the second level includes reducing opacity of the first content in the three-dimensional environment. (Fig 4, 9, 13) discloses change in the level of visual prominence of contents displayed based on viewpoints of the user, wherein the orientation of content changes giving the user different view of said content. But fails to disclose change in level of visual prominence includes reducing opacity. However, it is obvious and well known in the art at the time of the filing that when changing viewpoint of an object would affect the visibility of certain portion of viewed content/object wherein some portion would be less viewable based on orientation and viewing angle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time go the filing to reduce opacity of the first content in the three-dimensional environment based on viewing angle in order to provide the user clear chang in viewing angel of displayed object relative to the viewing angel within virtual environment.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihelich et al (PG Pub NO 2015/0193982) in view of Kim et al (PG Pub NO 2011/0234631).
As in claim 30, Mihelich et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: displaying the first virtual object with the first level of visual prominence includes (Fig 5, 9) disclose displaying virtual object with different levels of visual prominence based on viewpoint of the user. But fails to disclose displaying a virtual shadow associated with virtual objects. However Kim et al (fig 2C) discloses displaying virtual shadow (25) associated with virtual object (24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Michelich et al display device configured to generate virtual object having different levels of visual prominence based on viewpoint of the user with the teaching of Kim et al device that display virtual object comprising virtual shadow associated with the virtual object in order to provide the user a more realistic content (virtual object) similar to real word experience which would elevate users experience of virtual object in three-dimensional environment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8, 10-12, 16, 17, and 20-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art of record discloses three-dimensional mapping to facilitate location-based augmented reality overlays in electronic devices whereby the physical position/orientation of electronic devices is used to control how said electronic device views a virtual object inserted into a local environment observed by the electronic device. The user of the electronic device interacts with the electronic device to place the virtual object into three-dimensional environment of the electronic device in its particular position/orientation. The electronic device determines how its physical position/orientation is related to the virtual object differs compared to the electronic device, and thus prepares a representation of the virtual object in the three-dimensional environment of the electronic device to reflect this difference so as to accurately depict how the virtual object would appear given the particular position/orientation of the electronic device. However, prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose the claimed limitation of objected claims as filed.
Conclusion
/BENYAM KETEMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626