DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1, The self-moving cleaning device.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because readable storage medium is considered computer readable transmission media defined as signal per se and is not within one of the four statutory categories. The claim does not recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes. The computer readable medium is not defined as other than transmission media in the applicant’s specification as filed, thus the claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US 20160000290 A1; hereinafter Kwak) in view of Gritsenko et al. (US 20230052571 A1; hereinafter Gritsenko).
Regarding claim 1, Kwak teaches a control method of a self-moving cleaning device (see at least, [0009] a robot cleaner configured to prevent collision with an obstacle while tracing a position indicated by a remote device), wherein the self-moving cleaning device comprises: a body (see at least, [0011] a robot cleaner includes: a traveling unit to move a main body) and a cleaning element arranged at the bottom of the body (see at least, [0178] As shown in FIGS. 12 and 13, the dust suction fan 177 is mounted to the main body 101 so that the dust scattered by the drum brush 173 is sucked into the dust box 179); and the control method comprises: determining a target interference area of the self-moving cleaning device (see at least, [0318] the robot cleaner 100 may divide the obstacle detection region (DR) in which the obstacle sensing unit 140 can detect the obstacle (O) into a plurality of regions, and may determine which region has the obstacle (O)); and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to travel based on obstacle information within the target interference area (see at least, [0324] If the obstacle (O) is detected, the robot cleaner 100 performs the outline tracing movement during which the robot cleaner 100 moves in parallel to the outline of the obstacle (O) such that the robot cleaner 100 avoids colliding with the obstacle (O) and moves toward the light spot (LS)).
Kwak does not explicitly teach at least a portion of the cleaning element is located outside an edge projection area of the body. However, Gritsenko teaches this limitation.
Gritsenko teaches at least a portion of the cleaning element is located outside an edge projection area of the body (see at least, [0047] the brush 126 can extend beyond one of the side surfaces 150, 152 of the robot 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak to include at least a portion of the cleaning element is located outside an edge projection area of the body as taught by Gritsenko so that the robot is capable of engaging debris on portions of the floor surface 10 that the rotatable members 118 typically cannot reach (Gritsenko, [0047]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko the control method according to claim 1. Gritsenko further teaches wherein the body is circular (see at least, [0040] The rounded surface 160 define a semicircular portion of a perimeter of the housing infrastructure 108 of the robot 100. The semicircular portion of the perimeter of the housing infrastructure 108 corresponds to a portion of a circle having a center 162); and the determining the target interference area of the self-moving cleaning device comprises: determining the target interference area based on a structure of the self-moving cleaning device and a position of the self-moving cleaning device in a space where it is located (see at least, [0130] a difference between a reading produced by the left right obstacle following sensor and a reading produced by the right obstacle following sensor can be maintained within a certain range such that the robot 100 is substantially equidistant from the first obstacle surface 1300 and the third
obstacle surface 1304), wherein the structure of the self-moving cleaning device comprises a radius of the body (see at least, [0040] The rearward portion 121 includes a rounded surface 160. The rounded surface 160 define a semicircular portion of a perimeter of the housing infrastructure 108 of the robot 100), and a maximum distance between an outer edge of the cleaning element located outside the edge projection area of the body and a rotation center of the body (see at least, [0130] a distance between the center 162 (shown in FIG. 3C) of the robot 100 and the first obstacle surface 1300 can be between 45% and 55% of the width W3 of the alley 1301).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak to include determining the target interference area based on a structure of the self-moving cleaning device and a position of the self-moving cleaning device in a space where it is located, wherein the structure of the self-moving cleaning device comprises a radius of the body, and a maximum distance between an outer edge of the cleaning element located outside the edge projection area of the body and a rotation center of the body as taught by Gritsenko in order to enable the robot to avoid obstacles within the environment of the robot during the mission (Gritsenko, [0060]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko teaches the control method according to claim 1. Kwak further teaches wherein the controlling the self-moving cleaning device to travel based on the obstacle information within the target interference area comprises: in response to determining that an obstacle exists within the target interference area (see at least, [0318] For example, as shown in FIG. 25, the robot cleaner 100 may divide the obstacle detection region (DR) in which the obstacle
sensing unit 140 can detect the obstacle (O) into a plurality of regions, and may determine which
region has the obstacle (O)), determining a relative position between the obstacle and the self-moving cleaning device (see at least, [0125] since the reflection light is reflected from various positions of the obstacle (O), the image sensor 143b may obtain a reflected-light image, and the obstacle sensing unit 140 may calculate the distance and direction to the obstacle (O)); and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform a corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position (see at least, [0324] If the obstacle (O) is detected, the robot cleaner 100 performs the outline tracing movement during which the robot cleaner 100 moves in parallel to the outline of the obstacle (O) such that the robot cleaner 100 avoids colliding with the obstacle (O) and moves toward the light spot (LS)).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko teaches the control method of the self-moving cleaning device according to claim 1. Kwak further teaches a readable storage medium, having a program or instruction stored thereon, wherein the program or instruction, when performed by a processor, implements the steps of the control method of the self-moving cleaning device according to claim 1 (see at least, [0197] The memory 115 may include volatile memories such as SRAM, DRAM; [0091] The remote controller 210 may include a memory 213 for storing a control program and control data to control the remote device 200; and a microprocessor 211 for performing associations in response to the control program and control data stored in the memory 213).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko teaches a self-moving cleaning device. Kwak further teaches comprising a storage medium, a processor, and a computer program stored on the storage medium and executable on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the program, implements the control method of the self-moving cleaning device according to claim 1 (see at least, [0197] The memory 115 may include volatile memories such as SRAM, DRAM; [0091] The remote controller 210 may include a memory 213 for storing a control program and control data to control the remote device 200; and a microprocessor 211 for performing associations in response to the control program and control data stored in the memory 213).
Regarding claim 12, Kwak teaches a self-moving cleaning device (see at least, [0009] a robot cleaner configured to prevent collision with an obstacle while tracing a position indicated by a remote device), comprising: a body (see at least, [0011] a robot cleaner includes: a traveling unit to move a main body) and a cleaning element arranged at the bottom of the body (see at least, [0178] As shown in FIGS. 12 and 13, the dust suction fan 177 is mounted to the main body 101 so that the dust scattered by the drum brush 173 is sucked into the dust box 179); a driver configured to drive the self-moving cleaning device to travel (see at least, [0163] The traveling unit 160 may move the robot cleaner 100. The traveling unit 160 may include a wheel-driving motor 161, a traveling wheel 163, and a caster wheel
165); a perception apparatus configured to perceive obstacle information around a perimeter of the self-moving cleaning device (see at least, [0148] The obstacle sensing unit 140 may include a light emission module 141 to emit the light to the front of the robot cleaner 100; a light reception module
143 to receive the light reflected from the obstacle (O)); and a processor configured to determine a target interference area of the self-moving cleaning device based on the perception information of the perception apparatus (see at least, [0318] the robot cleaner 100 may divide the obstacle detection
region (DR) in which the obstacle sensing unit 140 can detect the obstacle (O) into a plurality of
regions, and may determine which region has the obstacle (O)), and control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to travel based on the obstacle information within the target interference area (see at least, [0324] If the obstacle (O) is detected, the robot cleaner 100 performs the outline tracing movement during which the robot cleaner 100 moves in parallel to the outline of the obstacle (O) such that the robot cleaner 100 avoids colliding with the obstacle (O) and moves toward the light spot (LS)).
Kwak does not explicitly teach at least a portion of the cleaning element is located outside an edge projection area of the body. However, Gritsenko teaches this limitation.
Gritsenko teaches at least a portion of the cleaning element is located outside an edge projection area of the body (see at least, [0047] the brush 126 can extend beyond one of the side surfaces 150, 152 of the robot 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak to include at least a portion of the cleaning element is located outside an edge projection area of the body as taught by Gritsenko so that the robot is capable of engaging debris on portions of the floor surface 10 that the rotatable members 118 typically cannot reach (Gritsenko, [0047]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko teaches the self-moving cleaning device according to claim 12. Gritsenko further teaches wherein the body is circular (see at least, [0040] The rounded surface 160 define a semicircular portion of a perimeter of the housing infrastructure 108 of the robot 100. The semicircular portion of the perimeter of the housing infrastructure 108 corresponds to a portion of a circle having a center 162); the perception apparatus is also configured to determine a position of the self-moving cleaning device in a space where it is located (see at least, [0010] detecting that the location of the obstacle following sensor is forward of the first obstacle surface); and the processor is also configured to determine the target interference area based on a structure of the self-moving cleaning device and a position, determined by the perception apparatus, of the self-moving cleaning device in a map of the space where it is located (see at least, [0130] a difference between a reading produced by the left right obstacle following sensor and a reading produced by the right
obstacle following sensor can be maintained within a certain range such that the robot 100 is substantially equidistant from the first obstacle surface 1300 and the third obstacle surface 1304), wherein the structure of the self-moving cleaning device comprises a radius of the body (see at least, [0040] The rearward portion 121 includes a rounded surface 160. The rounded surface 160 define a semicircular portion of a perimeter of the housing infrastructure 108 of the robot 100), and a maximum distance between an outer edge of the cleaning element located outside the edge projection area of the body and a rotation center of the body (see at least, [0130] a distance between the center 162 (shown in FIG. 3C) of the robot 100 and the first obstacle surface 1300 can be between 45% and 55% of the width W3 of the alley 1301).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak to include determine the target interference area based on a structure of the self-moving cleaning device and a position, determined by the perception apparatus, of the self-moving cleaning device in a map of the space where it is located, wherein the structure of the self-moving cleaning device comprises a radius of the body, and a maximum distance between an outer edge of the cleaning element located outside the edge projection area of the body and a rotation center of the body as taught by Gritsenko in order to enable the robot to avoid obstacles within the environment of the robot during the mission (Gritsenko, [0060]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko teaches the self-moving cleaning device according to claim 12. Kwak further teaches wherein the processor is also configured to: in response to determining that an obstacle exists within the target interference area based on the perception information of the perception apparatus (see at least, [0318] For example, as shown in FIG. 25, the robot cleaner 100 may divide the obstacle detection region (DR) in which the obstacle sensing unit
140 can detect the obstacle (O) into a plurality of regions, and may determine which region has the obstacle (O)), determine a relative position between the obstacle and the self-moving cleaning device based on the perception information of the perception apparatus (see at least, [0125] since the reflection light is reflected from various positions of the obstacle (O), the image sensor 143b may obtain a reflected-light image, and the obstacle sensing unit 140 may calculate the distance and direction to the obstacle (O)); and the processor is also configured to control the driver (see at least, [0163] The traveling unit 160 may move the robot cleaner 100. The traveling unit 160 may include a wheel-driving motor 161, a traveling wheel 163, and a caster wheel 165) to drive the self-moving cleaning device to perform a corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position (see at least, [0324] If the obstacle (O) is detected, the robot cleaner 100 performs the outline tracing movement during which the robot cleaner 100 moves in parallel to the outline of the obstacle (O) such that the robot cleaner 100 avoids colliding with the obstacle (O) and moves toward the light spot (LS)).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US 20160000290 A1; hereinafter Kwak) in view of Gritsenko et al. (US 20230052571 A1; hereinafter Gritsenko) in further view of Kim et al. (US 20150142169 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko teaches the control method according to claim 3. Kwak further teaches the controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position (see at least, [0324] If the obstacle (O) is detected, the robot cleaner 100 performs the outline tracing movement during which the robot cleaner 100 moves in parallel to the outline of the obstacle (O) such that the robot cleaner
100 avoids colliding with the obstacle (O) and moves toward the light spot (LS)) comprises: in response to determining that the obstacle is located at one side of the self-moving cleaning device and the self-moving cleaning device performs a turning operation toward a side opposite to the obstacle (see at least, [0343] if the LS is located at the left side of the obstacle (O), the robot cleaner 100 turns left toward the LS and then performs the right tracing traveling (RWF)); and determining a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area (see at least, Fig 27A; [0340] if the obstacle (O) is detected in the LFDR region, and if the LS is detected in any one of the LFRR region, the LSRR region, and the LRRR region, the robot cleaner 100 may turn to the left and then perform the right tracing traveling (RWF)), and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform a backward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area (see at least, [0343] if the LS is located at the left side of the obstacle (O), the robot cleaner 100 turns left toward the LS and then performs the right tracing traveling (RWF)).
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the cleaning element is arranged at the rear of the body; acquiring a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on a map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located. However, Kim teaches these limitations.
Kim teaches wherein the cleaning element is arranged at the rear of the body (see at least, [0354] During movement and cleaning, the cleaning robot 1…uses the other two pad assemblies arranged at the rear for cleaning); acquiring a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on a map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located (see at least, [0254] the controller 430 produces a movement route for optimized movement about the cleaning region based on the map information, and also produces a movement pattern based on the map information and operation information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to include the cleaning element is arranged at the rear of the body; acquiring a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on a map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located as taught by Kim in order to perform avoidance movement by changing a moving direction by individually adjusting positions and directions to which frictional forces applied to the plurality of pad assemblies are applied (Kim, [0079]).
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US 20160000290 A1; hereinafter Kwak) in view of Gritsenko et al. (US 20230052571 A1; hereinafter Gritsenko) in further view of Kim et al. (US 20150142169 A1; hereinafter Kim) and Sun et al. (US 20250098923 A1; hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kwak, Gritsenko and Kim teaches the control method according to claim 4. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position also comprises: enabling the self-moving cleaning device to rotate back to an original angle and perform the turning operation. However, Sun teaches this limitation.
Sun teaches wherein the controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position also comprises: enabling the self-moving cleaning device to rotate back to an original angle and perform the turning operation (see at least, [0361] the robot rotates at the calculated angle, then arcs, and re-performs the actions until the robot rotates 360 degrees or returns to an original point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak, Gritsenko and Kim to include perform the corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position also comprises: enabling the self-moving cleaning device to rotate back to an original angle and perform the turning operation as taught by Sun in order to avoid the position of the object and to operate according to the cleaning parameter (Sun, [0050]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kwak, Gritsenko and Kim teaches the self-moving cleaning device according to claim 15. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is also configured to control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to rotate back to an original angle and perform the turning operation. However, Sun teaches this limitation.
Sun teaches wherein the processor (see at least, [0126] processor to perform…controlling the cleaning device) is also configured to control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to rotate back to an original angle and perform the turning operation (see at least, [0361] the robot rotates at the calculated angle, then arcs, and re-performs the actions until the robot rotates 360 degrees or returns to an original point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak, Gritsenko and Kim to include control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to rotate back to an original angle and perform the turning operation as taught by Sun in order to avoid the position of the object and to operate according to the cleaning parameter (Sun, [0050]).
Claims 6-9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US 20160000290 A1; hereinafter Kwak) in view of Gritsenko et al. (US 20230052571 A1; Gritsenko) in further view of Kim et al. (US 20150142169 A1; hereinafter Kim) and Xia et al. (US 20190053682 A1; hereinafter Xia).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko teaches the control method according to claim 3. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of cleaning elements are symmetrically arranged at the rear of the body; and the controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position comprises: in response to determining that the obstacle is located behind the self-moving cleaning device and the self-moving cleaning device performs a turning operation, acquiring a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on a map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located. However, Kim teaches these limitations.
Kim teaches wherein a plurality of cleaning elements are symmetrically arranged at the rear of the body (see at least, [0354] During movement and cleaning, the cleaning robot 1…uses the other two pad assemblies arranged at the rear for cleaning); and the controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position comprises: in response to determining that the obstacle is located behind the self-moving cleaning device (see at least, [0433] The detection unit 620 for detecting information regarding cleaning conditions of the cleaning region includes obstacle detectors mounted on the…rear…sides of the frame 310 of the main body 300 for detecting obstacles in…back…of the cleaning robot) and the self-moving cleaning device performs a turning operation (see at least, [0265] the controller 430 may adjust a rotation angle of the main body such that the main body is parallel to the boundary of an obstacle), acquiring a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on a map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located (see at least, [0254] the controller 430 produces a movement route for optimized movement about the cleaning region based on the map information, and also produces a movement pattern based on the map information and operation information).
Kim teaches wherein a plurality of cleaning elements are symmetrically arranged at the rear of the body; (see at least, [0354] During movement and cleaning, the cleaning robot 1…uses the other two pad assemblies arranged at the rear for cleaning); and the controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position comprises: in response to determining that the obstacle is located behind the self-moving cleaning device and the self-moving cleaning device performs a turning operation, acquiring a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on a map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to include a plurality of cleaning elements are symmetrically arranged at the rear of the body; and the controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position comprises: in response to determining that the obstacle is located behind the self-moving cleaning device and the self-moving cleaning device performs a turning operation, acquiring a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on a map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located as taught by Kim in order to perform avoidance movement by changing a moving direction by individually adjusting positions and directions to which frictional forces applied to the plurality of pad assemblies are applied (Kim, [0079]).
The combination further does not teach in response to determining that the reachable area is located in front of the self-moving cleaning device, enabling the self-moving cleaning device to travel forward to cause the obstacle to exit the target interference area, otherwise, determining a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area, and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area. However, Xia teaches these limitations.
Xia teaches in response to determining that the reachable area is located in front of the self-moving cleaning device, enabling the self-moving cleaning device to travel forward to cause the obstacle to exit the target interference area (see at least, [0064] when encountering an obstacle in a region in the process of cleaning…When it is determined that the obstacle is moved away, the unclean region
previously occupied by the obstacle is cleaned), otherwise, determining a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area (see at least, [0034] When the cleaning robot encounters an obstacle in the process of cleaning a room, the cleaning robot can turn around the obstacle to clean regions around the obstacle), and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area (see at least, when the cleaning robot detects that the obstacle placed on the unclean region is moved away, i.e., the cleaning robot detects no obstacle when the cleaning robot moves to the unclean region, the cleaning function of the cleaning robot may be turned on to clean the unclean region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to include enabling the self-moving cleaning device to travel forward to cause the obstacle to exit the target interference area, otherwise, determining a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area, and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area as taught by Xia in order to increasing flexibility in cleaning the room, ensuring the cleaning quality and then improving user experience (Xia, [0064]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kwak, Gritsenko, Kim and Xia teaches the control method according to claim 6. Xia further teaches wherein the controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position also comprises: in response to determining that the obstacle is still located within the target interference area, after the self-moving cleaning device is controlled to perform the forward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle (see at least, [0047] after obtaining information about the unclean region, the cleaning robot may move to the unclean region every 10 minutes and determine whether the obstacle placed on the unclean region is removed by means of its path obstacle avoidance function), re-determining a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area, and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the re-determined rotation direction and rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area (see at least, [0050] when the cleaning robot detects that the obstacle placed on the unclean region is moved away, i.e., the cleaning robot detects no obstacle when the cleaning robot moves to the unclean region, the cleaning function of the cleaning robot may be turned on to clean the unclean region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to include in response to determining that the obstacle is still located within the target interference area, after the self-moving cleaning device is controlled to perform the forward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle, re-determining a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area, and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the re-determined rotation direction and rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area as taught by Xia in order to increasing flexibility in cleaning the room, ensuring the cleaning quality and then improving user experience (Xia, [0064]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kwak, Gritsenko, Kim and Xia teaches the control method according to claim 7. Xia further teaches wherein the controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position also comprises: in response to determining that the obstacle is still located within the target interference area , after repeating the step of re-determining the rotation direction and the rotation angle based on the reachable area and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the re-determined rotation direction and rotation angle for multiple times (see at least, [0047] after obtaining information about the unclean region, the cleaning robot may move to the unclean region every 10 minutes and determine whether the obstacle placed on the unclean
region is removed by means of its path obstacle avoidance function), adjusting a rotation direction of the cleaning elements to enable the rotation direction of the cleaning elements to be the same as a turning direction of the turning operation, or controlling the cleaning elements to stop rotating and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the turning operation until the obstacle exits the target interference area (see at least, [0084] The first operation instruction instructs the cleaning robot to detect the unclean region according to the preset time interval and clean the unclean region if determining that the obstacle placed on the unclean region is removed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to include in response to determining that the obstacle is still located within the target interference area, after the self-moving cleaning device is controlled to perform the forward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle, re-determining a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area, and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the re-determined rotation direction and rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area as taught by Xia in order to increasing flexibility in cleaning the room, ensuring the cleaning quality and then improving user experience (Xia, [0064]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kwak, Gritsenko, Kim and Xia teaches the control method according to claim 7. Xia further teaches wherein the controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the corresponding obstacle avoidance operation based on the relative position (see at least, [0047] determining whether there exists an obstacle on the unclean region by means of the path obstacle avoidance function) also comprises: enabling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the turning operation after the obstacle exits the target interference area (see at least, [0050] when the cleaning robot detects that the obstacle placed on the unclean region is moved away, i.e., the cleaning robot detects no obstacle when the cleaning robot moves to the unclean region, the cleaning function of the cleaning robot may be turned on to clean the unclean region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to include enabling the self-moving cleaning device to perform the turning operation after the obstacle exits the target interference area as taught by Xia in order to increasing flexibility in cleaning the room, ensuring the cleaning quality and then improving user experience (Xia, [0064]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko teaches the self-moving cleaning device according to claim 14. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of the cleaning elements are symmetrically arranged at the rear of the body; and the processor is also configured to: in response to determining that the obstacle is located behind the self-moving cleaning device and the self-moving cleaning device performs a turning operation, acquire a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on the map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located. However, Kim teaches these limitations.
Kim teaches wherein a plurality of the cleaning elements are symmetrically arranged at the rear of the body (see at least, [0354] During movement and cleaning, the cleaning robot 1…uses the other two pad assemblies arranged at the rear for cleaning); and the processor is also configured to: in response to determining that the obstacle is located behind the self-moving cleaning device (see at least, [0433] The detection unit 620 for detecting information regarding cleaning conditions of the cleaning region includes obstacle detectors mounted on the…rear…sides of the frame 310 of the main body 300 for detecting obstacles in…back…of the cleaning robot) and the self-moving cleaning device performs a turning operation (see at least, [0265] the controller 430 may adjust a rotation angle of the main body such that the main body is parallel to the boundary of an obstacle), acquire a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on the map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located (see at least, [0254] the controller 430 produces a movement route for optimized movement about the cleaning region based on the map information, and also produces a movement pattern based on the map information and operation information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to include in response to determining that the obstacle is located behind the self-moving cleaning device and the self-moving cleaning device performs a turning operation, acquire a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on the map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located as taught by Kim in order to perform avoidance movement by changing a moving direction by individually adjusting positions and directions to which frictional forces applied to the plurality of pad assemblies are applied (Kim, [0079]).
The combination further does not teach in response to determining that the reachable area is located in front of the self-moving cleaning device based on the perception information of the perception apparatus, control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to travel forward to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area, otherwise, determine a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area, and control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area. However, Xia teaches these limitations.
Xia teaches in response to determining that the reachable area is located in front of the self-moving cleaning device based on the perception information of the perception apparatus, control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to travel forward to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area (see at least, [0064] when encountering an obstacle in a region in the process of cleaning…When it is determined that the obstacle is moved away, the unclean region previously
occupied by the obstacle is cleaned), otherwise, determine a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area (see at least, [0034] When the cleaning robot encounters an obstacle in the process of cleaning a room, the cleaning robot can turn around the obstacle to clean regions around the obstacle), and control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area (see at least, [0050] when the cleaning robot detects that the obstacle placed on the unclean region is moved away, i.e., the cleaning robot detects no obstacle when the cleaning robot moves to the unclean region, the cleaning function of the cleaning robot may be turned on to clean the unclean region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to include in response to determining that the reachable area is located in front of the self-moving cleaning device based on the perception information of the perception apparatus, control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to travel forward to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area, otherwise, determine a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area, and control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area as taught by Xia in order to increasing flexibility in cleaning the room, ensuring the cleaning quality and then improving user experience (Xia, [0064]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kwak, Gritsenko, Kim and Xia teaches the self-moving cleaning device according to claim 17. Xia further teaches wherein the processor is also configured to: in response to determining that the obstacle is still located within the target interference area based on the perception information of the perception apparatus after the self-moving cleaning device is controlled to perform the forward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle , re-determine a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area (see at least, [0047] after obtaining information about the unclean region, the cleaning robot may move to the unclean region every 10 minutes and determine whether the obstacle placed on the unclean region is removed by means of its path obstacle avoidance function),, and control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the re-determined rotation direction and rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area (see at least, [0084] The first operation instruction instructs the cleaning robot to detect the unclean region according to the preset time interval and clean the unclean region if determining that the obstacle placed on the unclean region is removed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to include in response to determining that the obstacle is still located within the target interference area based on the perception information of the perception apparatus after the self-moving cleaning device is controlled to perform the forward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle , re-determine a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area, and control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the re-determined rotation direction and rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area as taught by Xia in order to increasing flexibility in cleaning the room, ensuring the cleaning quality and then improving user experience (Xia, [0064]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kwak, Gritsenko, Kim and Xia teaches the self-moving cleaning device according to claim 18. Xia further teaches wherein the processor is also configured to: control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to perform the turning operation after the obstacle exits the target interference area (see at least, when the cleaning robot detects that the obstacle placed on the unclean region is moved away, i.e., the cleaning robot detects no obstacle when the cleaning robot moves to the unclean region, the cleaning function of the cleaning robot may be
turned on to clean the unclean region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to include control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to perform the turning operation after the obstacle exits the target interference area as taught by Xia in order to increasing flexibility in cleaning the room, ensuring the cleaning quality and then improving user experience (Xia, [0064]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kwak, Gritsenko, Kim and Xia teaches the self-moving cleaning device according to claim 18. Kwak further teaches also comprising: a motion mechanism configured to drive the cleaning element to rotate (see at least, [0174] The cleaning unit 170 may include…a brush drive motor 171 for rotating the drum brush 173…a dust suction motor 175 for rotating the suction fan 177).
Xia further teaches processor is also configured to: in response to determining that the obstacle is still located within the target interference area based on the perception information of the perception apparatus, after repeating the step of re-determining the rotation direction and the rotation angle based on the reachable area and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the re-determined rotation direction and rotation angle for multiple times (see at least, [0047] after obtaining information about the unclean region, the cleaning robot may move to the unclean region every 10 minutes and determine whether the obstacle placed on the unclean region is removed by means of its path obstacle avoidance function), control the motion mechanism to adjust a rotation direction of the cleaning elements to enable the rotation direction of the cleaning elements to be the same as a turning direction of the turning operation, or control the motion mechanism to enable the cleaning elements to stop rotating and control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to perform the turning operation until the obstacle exits the target interference area (see at least, [0084] The first operation instruction instructs the cleaning robot to detect the unclean region according to the preset time interval and clean the unclean region if determining that the obstacle placed on the unclean region is removed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to in response to determining that the obstacle is still located within the target interference area based on the perception information of the perception apparatus, after repeating the step of re-determining the rotation direction and the rotation angle based on the reachable area and controlling the self-moving cleaning device to perform a forward operation after rotating according to the re-determined rotation direction and rotation angle for multiple times, control the motion mechanism to adjust a rotation direction of the cleaning elements to enable the rotation direction of the cleaning elements to be the same as a turning direction of the turning operation, or control the motion mechanism to enable the cleaning elements to stop rotating and control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to perform the turning operation until the obstacle exits the target interference area as taught by Xia in order to increasing flexibility in cleaning the room, ensuring the cleaning quality and then improving user experience (Xia, [0064]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US 20160000290 A1; hereinafter Kwak) in view of Gritsenko et al. (US 20230052571 A1; hereinafter Gritsenko) in further view of Kim et al. (US 20150142169 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko teaches the self-moving cleaning device according to claim 14. Kwak further teaches the processor is also configured to: in response to determining that the obstacle is located at one side of the self-moving cleaning device and the self-moving cleaning device performs a turning operation toward a side opposite to the obstacle based on the perception information of the perception apparatus (see at least, [0343] if the LS is located at the left side of the obstacle (O), the robot cleaner 100 turns left toward the LS and then performs the right tracing traveling (RWF)); and the processor is also configured to determine a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the self-moving cleaning device based on the reachable area (see at least, Fig 27A; [0340] if the obstacle (O) is detected in the LFDR region, and if the LS is detected in any one of the LFRR region, the LSRR region, and the LRRR region, the robot cleaner 100 may turn to the left and then perform the right tracing traveling (RWF)), and control the driver to drive the self-moving cleaning device to perform a backward operation after rotating according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle to enable the obstacle to exit the target interference area (see at least, [0343] if the LS is located at the left side of the obstacle (O), the robot cleaner 100 turns left toward the LS and then performs the right tracing traveling (RWF)).
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the cleaning element is arranged at the rear of the body; acquire a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on the map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located. However, Kim teaches these limitations.
Kim teaches wherein the cleaning element is arranged at the rear of the body (see at least, [0354] During movement and cleaning, the cleaning robot 1…uses the other two pad assemblies arranged at the rear for cleaning); acquire a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on the map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located (see at least, [0254] the controller 430 produces a movement route for optimized movement about the cleaning region based on the map information, and also produces a movement pattern based on the map information and operation information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kwak and Gritsenko to include the cleaning element is arranged at the rear of the body; acquire a reachable area of the self-moving cleaning device based on the map of the space where the self-moving cleaning device is located as taught by Kim in order to perform avoidance movement by changing a moving direction by individually adjusting positions and directions to which frictional forces applied to the plurality of pad assemblies are applied (Kim, [0079]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shim et al. (US 20230255432 A1) discloses controlling the self-moving cleaning device to travel based on obstacle information within the target interference area (e.g., [0269] the terminal 5 may receive information on driving in the cleaning area from the robot cleaners 1 and 2…the robot cleaners 1 and 2 may generate location information of obstacles while driving in the cleaning area…generate location information on a location with a high degree of contamination).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662