DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Chinese parent Application No. CN202310268041.8, filed on March 14, 2023.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for international priority The Instant Application is a continuation of International Patent Application No. PCT/CN2024/071221, filed on January 8, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on September 12, 2025 and February 16, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lockwood, United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2012/0208601 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lockwood discloses a method, applied to an electronic device comprising a display (see Figs. 1-7, generally, Abstract, Summary), wherein the method comprises:
obtaining a current proximity light status of the electronic device when a target function of an application of the electronic device is enabled (Fig. 1, proximity sensor, #26; Detailed Description, [0013-0027], “Proximity sensor 26 and accelerometer 28, along with, e.g. a processor of mobile phone 10, may be configured to act together to manage display 14 during a phone call made with mobile phone 10. In one example, after a phone call is initiated on mobile phone 10, either an outgoing call made to or an incoming call received by the phone, proximity sensor 26 may be employed to detect the presence of an object proximate to mobile phone 10. For example, proximity sensor 26 may be configured such that the sensor is activated when an object is within a threshold distance from the sensor.”; See also Detailed Description, [0040], “Proximity sensor 26 may include, e.g., a capacitive, photoelectric, or inductive sensor. In one example, proximity sensor 26 may emit a beam of electromagnetic radiation, e.g. infrared, and detect a return signal after the beam bounces off an object near mobile phone 10.”); and
determining, when the display is in a screen-on state, when the current proximity light status has changed compared with a previous proximity light status, and when the current proximity light status indicates that an object is close to the electronic device, to delay turning off the display for a preset duration (See Detailed Description, [0013-0027], Figs. 4-7, Detailed Description, [0055-0060], “For example, in the event proximity sensor 26 detects an object proximate mobile phone 10 and accelerometer 28 determines the orientation of the phone as vertical, processor 30 of the mobile phone may infer that the phone has been raised to the user's head to listen and talk to the other person on the call and may, therefore, turn off display 14.”).
Regarding claim 2, Lockwood discloses wherein after determining to delay turning off the display, the method further comprises delaying, for the preset duration, turning off the display (Detailed Description, [0055-0060], “In some examples, a mobile phone may apply hysteresis in the management of the display of the phone, e.g. to reduce the occurrence of the phone repeatedly toggling between turning the display on and off. For example, mobile phone 10, and, in particular, processor 30 may only turn off display 14 in the event that accelerometer 28 determines the orientation of the phone as vertical for a threshold period of time.”).
Regarding claim 3, Lockwood discloses, wherein delaying turning off the display comprises:
obtaining a subsequent proximity light status of the electronic device after the preset duration (Figs. 4-7, Detailed Description, [0055-0060], “For example, in the event proximity sensor 26 detects an object proximate mobile phone 10 and accelerometer 28 determines the orientation of the phone as vertical, processor 30 of the mobile phone may infer that the phone has been raised to the user's head to listen and talk to the other person on the call and may, therefore, turn off display 14.”; See also Lockwood claim 18, “determining, during the phone call, the mobile device is in the first orientation for a threshold period of time before turning off the display.”); and
turning off the display when the subsequent proximity light status indicates that the object is close to the electronic device (Figs. 4-7, Detailed Description, [0055-0060].
Regarding claim 4, Lockwood discloses wherein before determining to delay turning off the display, the method further comprises determining that the application is a preset application (Detailed Description, [0013-0027][0055-0060], “ In one example, processor 30 is configured to check the manner in which the user is interacting with mobile phone 10 during a phone call…”).
Regarding claim 5, Lockwood discloses wherein after determining to delay turning off the display, the method further comprises:
obtaining a subsequent proximity light status of the electronic device within the preset duration (Detailed Description, [0013-0027][0045-0070]); and
when the subsequent proximity light status indicates that the object is far away from the electronic device, terminating performing the delay of turning off the display (See Figs. 6-7; S70, determine object is not proximate phone; Detailed Description, [0059-0070], “In the example of FIG. 6, after turning off the display of a mobile phone responsive to an object detected proximate the phone and the orientation of the phone determined as vertical, the mobile phone may determine that the object is no longer proximate the phone (70). For example, proximity sensor 26 may become deactivated after becoming activated during a phone call using mobile phone 10 such that the sensor does not detect the presence of any objects at or within a threshold distance to the phone”).
Regarding claim 9, Lockwood discloses wherein the target function comprises a call function (Detailed Description, [0013-0027][0055-0060], “ In one example, processor 30 is configured to check the manner in which the user is interacting with mobile phone 10 during a phone call…”; See Fig. 4 and S50).
Regarding claim 10, Lockwood discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1-3, generally), comprising:
a display (Fig. 3, display, #14);
a memory configured to store instructions (Fig. 3, storage device, #32; Detailed Description, [0032-0033]); and
one or more processors coupled to the display and the memory (Fig. 3, processor, #30; Detailed Description, [0032-0033]), wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the electronic device to perform the steps of claim 1.
Thus, claim 10 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, this is met by the rejection to claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, this is met by the rejection to claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, this is met by the rejection to claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, this is met by the rejection to claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, this is met by the rejection to claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, Lockwood discloses a computer program product comprising instructions that are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Figs. 1-3, storage device, #32; Detailed Description, [0032-0033]) and that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig. 3, processor, #30; Detailed Description, [0032-0033], cause an electronic device to perform the steps of claim 1.
Thus, claim 19 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, this is met by the rejection to claim 2.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood.
Regarding claim 7, Lockwood discloses every element of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the preset duration is greater than or equal to 250 milliseconds (ms).
However, Lockwood provide the suggestion of using different durations in milliseconds (Detailed Description, [0056-0063], “…in particular, processor 30 may only turn off display 14 in the event that accelerometer 28 determines the orientation of the phone as vertical for a threshold period of time. In one example, processor 30 may only turn off display 14 in the event accelerometer 28 determines the orientation of the phone as vertical for more than 100 milliseconds.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the preset duration within Lockwood to be set as greater than or equal to 250 milliseconds (ms). The motivation to make this modification is to use different thresholds of timing duration based on design choice and user preference, and to prevent unnecessary toggling between display on and display off (see Lockwood, Detailed Description, [0056]).
Regarding claim 8, Lockwood discloses every element of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the preset duration is less than or equal to 350 milliseconds (ms).
However, Lockwood provide the suggestion of using different durations in milliseconds (Detailed Description, [0056-0063], “…in particular, processor 30 may only turn off display 14 in the event that accelerometer 28 determines the orientation of the phone as vertical for a threshold period of time. In one example, processor 30 may only turn off display 14 in the event accelerometer 28 determines the orientation of the phone as vertical for more than 100 milliseconds.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the preset duration within Lockwood to be set as less than or equal to 350 milliseconds (ms). The motivation to make this modification is to use different thresholds of timing duration based on design choice and user preference, and to prevent unnecessary toggling between display on and display off (see Lockwood, Detailed Description, [0056]).
Regarding claim 16, this is met by the rejection to claim 7 with the modification to Lockwood.
Regarding claim 17, this is met by the rejection to claim 8 with the modification to Lockwood.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood in view of Manzari et al., United States Patent No. US 10,735,643 B1.
Regarding claim 6, Lockwood discloses every element of claim 5 but does not disclose wherein after determining to delay turning off the display, the method further comprises creating a delay processing task of delaying, for the preset duration, turning off the display, and wherein terminating performing the delay of turning off the display comprises deleting the delay processing task.
Manzari, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses as method applied to an electronic device comprising a display, the method further comprises creating a delay processing task of delaying, for the preset duration, turning off the display, and wherein terminating performing the delay of turning off the display comprises deleting the delay processing task (See Manzari, Figs. 1, event definition, #187, Detailed Description, Column 58, Lines 28-47, “In some embodiments, the definition for a respective event (187) also includes delayed actions that delay delivery of the event information until after it has been determined whether the sequence of sub-events does or does not correspond to the event recognizer's event type…. When a respective event recognizer 180 determines that the series of sub-events do not match any of the events in event definitions 186, the respective event recognizer 180 enters an event impossible, event failed, or event ended state, after which it disregards subsequent sub-events…”; See also Fig. 6C, and Column 70, lines 35-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the delay step of the method of Lockwood in such a way to utilize the teachings of Manzari to provide the method further comprises creating a delay processing task of delaying, for the preset duration, turning off the display, and wherein terminating performing the delay of turning off the display comprises deleting the delay processing task. The motivation to combine these arts is to use the delay period to confirm the intended command (Manzari, Detailed Description, Column 58, Lines 28-47; See also Figs. 26, Column 223, lines 6-54, “In some embodiments, the difference in the pose is measured relative to a prior pose of a subject in a field-of-view of the one or more cameras (e.g., current or time-delayed orientation of the electronic device. In some embodiments, the difference is a non-zero difference. In some embodiments, the difference is zero”). The fact that Manzari and Lockwood disclose similar types of display devices, namely devices with proximity and orientation sensors, makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regarding claim 15, this is met by the rejection to claim 6 with the combination and rationale of Lockwood and Manzari.
Other References
The following references are also cited as pertinent on the PTO-892 but may not be specifically relied upon within this Action:
Chen et al. (WO 2021/004527 A1);
Sachidanandam et al. (US 2022/0413620 A1).
Conclusion
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626