Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the application filed 09/12/2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2025 and 12/30/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim reads “a local navigation algorithms” in line 6. Claim should either read “local navigation algorithms” or “a local navigation algorithm” instead.
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim reads “at least one processor is configure to determine” in lines 2-3. Claim should read “at least one processor is configured to determine” instead. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silver US 20190082377 A1 (“Silver”).
Regarding Claim 1. Silver teaches a method of providing navigation assistance to a vehicle-to- everything (V2X) device, the method comprising:
receiving, at an edge network device via one or more wireless communication links that directly connect the V2X device the edge network device (GS-E at 130 of FIG. 1 reads on an edge network device [paragraph 44]. The method may also include transmitting the speed event to a remote edge gateway server located remotely from the motor vehicle, and storing the speed event in the remote edge gateway server [paragraphs 9 and 63], which means that the speed event is transmitted to the edge gateway server [paragraph 74], and that the network is an edge network), a destination of a vehicle and information of the vehicle (paragraphs 3, 40-41, and 119. Paragraph 41 in particular describes receiving the destination of the vehicle), the vehicle information including one or more of acceleration, velocity, and geographic location of the vehicle (Any device in the network in FIG. 1 that the user equipment communicates directly with could qualify as an edge network device, in particular the tower at 101, which is located somewhere in the geographic area around the vehicle and the road. Alternatively, the vehicle can communicate directly with the infrastructure around the vehicle such as a traffic light in FIG. 6A, or another vehicle at FIG. 6B, or a pedestrian device in FIG. 6C. The traffic light in particular is shown to be connected to the edge network);
determining a recommendation, based on the vehicle information and the destination, the recommendation comprising at least one of:
a route recommendation,
a lane recommendation, or
a vehicle speed recommendation; and
transmitting the recommendation from the edge network device to the V2X device via one or more wireless communication links (paragraph 125, which teaches that the V2I systems can share intelligent traffic information with a vehicle, such as traffic light sequencing information which can be used, for example, to identify and share with the driver or vehicle systems associated with the driver when a traffic light will turn green, provide a suggested speed to the driver or related vehicle systems in order to minimize red lights experienced by the vehicle movement on a projected route, which reads on an edge network device (such as a stationary traffic light) providing a recommendation to a vehicle wherein the recommendation is based on crowdsourcing traffic condition information such as the speed of other vehicles [paragraphs 124-125], and the user’s desired destination [paragraph 74]. Knowledge of the vehicle’s destination is also necessary in order to know which traffic lights the vehicle will pass through).
Regarding Claim 4. Silver teaches the method of claim 1.
Silver also teaches:
wherein the edge network device comprises a roadside unit that is part of a navigation network comprising a plurality of edge network devices distributed around the geographic location of the vehicle (Any device in the network in FIG. 1 that the user equipment communicates directly with could qualify as an edge network device, in particular the tower at 101, which is located somewhere in the geographic area around the vehicle and the road. Alternatively, the vehicle can communicate directly with the infrastructure around the vehicle such as a traffic light in FIG. 6A, or another vehicle at FIG. 6B, or a pedestrian device in FIG. 6C. The traffic light in particular is shown to be connected to the edge network).
Regarding Claim 5. Silver teaches the method of claim 1.
Silver also teaches:
wherein the recommendation includes a route recommendation, and wherein:
the edge network device comprises a roadside unit deployed at an intersection, and the route recommendation is optimized to (1) minimize travel time, including driving time and intersection waiting time, or (2) minimize fuel consumption (paragraphs 120-125. Note that the edge network device in this example is a stationary traffic light, which reads on a roadside unit deployed at an intersection).
Regarding Claim 6. Silver teaches the method of claim 1.
Silver also teaches:
wherein the recommendation is based at least in part on at least one of:
road conditions or events sensed by the edge network device, instant traffic conditions collected from users by the edge network device, or
a local navigation algorithms performed by the edge network device (The system can identify emergency conditions [paragraph 15], collect traffic data with live and real-time information [paragraph 121], and even perform navigation applications accordingly [paragraph 14], which combined with the disclosure of paragraphs 124-125, this reads on basing the recommendation on at least one of the road conditions, the instant traffic conditions, or a local navigation algorithm).
Regarding Claim 7. Silver teaches the method of claim 6.
Silver also teaches:
wherein the instant traffic conditions collected from users are collected via V2X messages received by the edge network device (The system can identify emergency conditions [paragraph 15], collect traffic data with live and real-time information [paragraph 121], and even perform navigation applications accordingly [paragraph 14]).
Regarding Claim 8. Silver teaches the method of claim 1.
Silver also teaches:
wherein the recommendation includes a route recommendation based at least in part on traffic light phase (TLP) at one or more intersections (paragraph 125, which teaches that the V2I systems can share intelligent traffic information with a vehicle, such as traffic light sequencing information which can be used, for example, to identify and share with the driver or vehicle systems associated with the driver when a traffic light will turn green, provide a suggested speed to the driver or related vehicle systems in order to minimize red lights experienced by the vehicle movement on a projected route, which reads on an edge network device (such as a stationary traffic light).
Regarding Claim 9. Silver teaches the method of claim 1.
Silver also teaches:
wherein determining the recommendation is responsive to the edge network device detecting an event affecting traffic (The system can identify emergency conditions [paragraph 15], collect traffic data with live and real-time information [paragraph 121], and even perform navigation applications accordingly [paragraph 14], indicating that the emergency condition can be one affecting traffic or the vehicle itself).
Regarding Claim 10. Silver teaches the method of claim 9.
Silver also teaches:
wherein determining the recommendation is further responsive to the edge network device determining that current travel of the V2X device will be influenced by the event affecting traffic (The system can identify emergency conditions [paragraph 15], collect traffic data with live and real-time information [paragraph 121], and even perform navigation applications accordingly [paragraph 14], indicating that the emergency condition can be one affecting traffic or the vehicle itself).
Regarding Claim 11. Silver teaches an edge network device comprising:
at least one transceiver (paragraph 36, FIG. 6B, paragraph 163. It is apparent from the arrows in FIG. 6B that the mobile device features a transceiver);
at least one memory; and
at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one transceiver and the at least one memory (paragraphs 3, 40-41, 118-119, and FIG. 5, a memory 510 and a processor 520. The mobile device may maintain a subscription for service on the mobile telephone network service provider's network 20. The subscription may be provisioned and stored in memory in the carrier’s home location register (HLR) 112 and/or a home subscriber server (HSS) 114 [paragraph 39, FIG. 1]), the at least one processor configured to:
receive, using the at least one transceiver communicating via one or more wireless communication links that directly connect the edge network device to a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) device, a destination of a vehicle and information of the vehicle (paragraphs 3, 40-41, and 119. Paragraph 41 in particular describes the destination of the vehicle. Paragraphs 11 and 15 cover the transmission and receiving of vehicle information), the vehicle information including one or more of acceleration, velocity, and geographic location of the vehicle (paragraphs 9 and 79. Paragraph 79 specifically discloses that the vehicle information including velocity);
determining a recommendation, based on the vehicle information and the destination, the recommendation comprising at least one of:
a route recommendation,
a lane recommendation, or a vehicle speed recommendation; and
transmitting, using the at least one transceiver communicating via the one or more wireless communication links, the recommendation from the edge network device to the V2X device (paragraph 125, which teaches that the V2I systems can share intelligent traffic information with a vehicle, such as traffic light sequencing information which can be used, for example, to identify and share with the driver or vehicle systems associated with the driver when a traffic light will turn green, provide a suggested speed to the driver or related vehicle systems in order to minimize red lights experienced by the vehicle movement on a projected route, which reads on an edge network device (such as a stationary traffic light) providing a recommendation to a vehicle wherein the recommendation is based on crowdsourcing traffic condition information such as the speed of other vehicles [paragraphs 124-125], and the user’s desired destination [paragraph 74]. Knowledge of the vehicle’s destination is also necessary in order to know which traffic lights the vehicle will pass through).
Regarding Claim 14. Silver teaches the edge network device of claim 11.
Silver also teaches:
wherein the edge network device comprises a roadside unit that is part of a navigation network comprising a plurality of edge network devices distributed around the geographic location of the vehicle (Any device in the network in FIG. 1 that the user equipment communicates directly with could qualify as an edge network device, in particular the tower at 101, which is located somewhere in the geographic area around the vehicle and the road. Alternatively, the vehicle can communicate directly with the infrastructure around the vehicle such as a traffic light in FIG. 6A, or another vehicle at FIG. 6B, or a pedestrian device in FIG. 6C. The traffic light in particular is shown to be connected to the edge network).
Regarding Claim 15. Silver teaches the edge network device of claim 11.
Silver also teaches:
wherein:
the edge network device comprises a roadside unit deployed at an intersection, the at least one processor is configured to include, in the recommendation, the route recommendation, and the route recommendation is optimized to (1) minimize travel time, including driving time and intersection waiting time, or (2) minimize fuel consumption (paragraphs 120-125. Note that the edge network device in this example is a stationary traffic light, which reads on a roadside unit deployed at an intersection).
Regarding Claim 16. Silver teaches the edge network device of claim 11.
Silver also teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to base the recommendation at least in part on at least one of:
road conditions or events sensed by the edge network device,
instant traffic conditions collected from users by the edge network device, or
a local navigation algorithms performed by the edge network device (The system can identify emergency conditions [paragraph 15], collect traffic data with live and real-time information [paragraph 121], and even perform navigation applications accordingly [paragraph 14], which combined with the disclosure of paragraphs 124-125, this reads on basing the recommendation on at least one of the road conditions, the instant traffic conditions, or a local navigation algorithm).
Regarding Claim 17. Silver teaches the edge network device of claim 16.
Silver also teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to collect the instant traffic conditions collected from users via V2X messages received using the at least one transceiver (The system can identify emergency conditions [paragraph 15], collect traffic data with live and real-time information [paragraph 121], and even perform navigation applications accordingly [paragraph 14]).
Regarding Claim 18. Silver teaches the edge network device of claim 11.
Silver also teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to include, in the recommendation, wherein the route recommendation is based at least in part on traffic light phase (TLP) at one or more intersections (paragraph 125, which teaches that the V2I systems can share intelligent traffic information with a vehicle, such as traffic light sequencing information which can be used, for example, to identify and share with the driver or vehicle systems associated with the driver when a traffic light will turn green, provide a suggested speed to the driver or related vehicle systems in order to minimize red lights experienced by the vehicle movement on a projected route, which reads on an edge network device (such as a stationary traffic light).
Regarding Claim 19. Silver teaches the edge network device of claim 11.
Silver also teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configure to determine the recommendation responsive to detecting an event affecting traffic (The system can identify emergency conditions [paragraph 15], collect traffic data with live and real-time information [paragraph 121], and even perform navigation applications accordingly [paragraph 14], indicating that the emergency condition can be one affecting traffic or the vehicle itself).
Regarding Claim 20. Silver teaches an apparatus comprising:
means for receiving, at an edge network device via one or more wireless communication links that directly connect a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) device the edge network device (GS-E at 130 of FIG. 1 reads on an edge network device [paragraph 44]. The method may also include transmitting the speed event to a remote edge gateway server located remotely from the motor vehicle, and storing the speed event in the remote edge gateway server [paragraphs 9 and 63], which means that the speed event is transmitted to the edge gateway server [paragraph 74], and that the network is an edge network), a destination of a vehicle and information of the vehicle (paragraphs 3, 40-41, and 119. Paragraph 41 in particular describes receiving the destination of the vehicle), the vehicle information including one or more of acceleration, velocity, and geographic location of the vehicle (Any device in the network in FIG. 1 that the user equipment communicates directly with could qualify as an edge network device, in particular the tower at 101, which is located somewhere in the geographic area around the vehicle and the road. Alternatively, the vehicle can communicate directly with the infrastructure around the vehicle such as a traffic light in FIG. 6A, or another vehicle at FIG. 6B, or a pedestrian device in FIG. 6C. The traffic light in particular is shown to be connected to the edge network);
means for determining a recommendation, based on the vehicle information and the destination, the recommendation comprising at least one of:
a route recommendation,
a lane recommendation, or
a vehicle speed recommendation; and means for transmitting the recommendation from the edge network device to the V2X device via one or more wireless communication links (paragraph 125, which teaches that the V2I systems can share intelligent traffic information with a vehicle, such as traffic light sequencing information which can be used, for example, to identify and share with the driver or vehicle systems associated with the driver when a traffic light will turn green, provide a suggested speed to the driver or related vehicle systems in order to minimize red lights experienced by the vehicle movement on a projected route, which reads on an edge network device (such as a stationary traffic light) providing a recommendation to a vehicle wherein the recommendation is based on crowdsourcing traffic condition information such as the speed of other vehicles [paragraphs 124-125], and the user’s desired destination [paragraph 74]. Knowledge of the vehicle’s destination is also necessary in order to know which traffic lights the vehicle will pass through).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silver US 20190082377 A1 (“Silver”) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Poornachandran et al. US 11096036 B2 (“Poornachandran”).
Regarding Claim 2. Silver teaches the method of claim 1.
Silver does not teach:
wherein the one or more wireless communication links include a direct PC5 communication link.
However, Poornachandran teaches:
wherein the one or more wireless communication links include a direct PC5 communication link (Claim 1, Column 3, lines 44-67, Column 4, lines 1-11, and Column 58, lines 22-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Silver with wherein the one or more wireless communication links include a direct PC5 communication link as taught by Poornachandran because a direct PC5 communication link is one of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 3. Silver teaches the method of claim 1.
Silver does not teach:
wherein the one or more wireless communication links include a local Uu interface.
However, Poornachandran teaches:
wherein the one or more wireless communication links include a local Uu interface (Column 2, lines 58-67, Column 3, lines 1-20, and Column 5, lines 42-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Silver with wherein the one or more wireless communication links include a local Uu interface as taught by Poornachandran because a local Uu interface communication link is one of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 12. Silver teaches the edge network device of claim 11.
Silver does not teach:
wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to communicate with the V2X device via a direct PC5 communication link.
However, Poornachandran teaches:
wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to communicate with the V2X device via a direct PC5 communication link (Claim 1, Column 3, lines 44-67, Column 4, lines 1-11, and Column 58, lines 22-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Silver with wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to communicate with the V2X device via a direct PC5 communication link as taught by Poornachandran because a direct PC5 communication link is one of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 13. Silver teaches the edge network device of claim 11.
Silver does not teach:
wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to communicate with the V2X device via a local Uu interface.
However, Poornachandran teaches:
wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to communicate with the V2X device via a local Uu interface (Column 2, lines 58-67, Column 3, lines 1-20, and Column 5, lines 42-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Silver with wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to communicate with the V2X device via a local Uu interface as taught by Poornachandran because a local Uu interface communication link is one of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Muscariello et al. US 20200036814 A1 (“Muscariello”) teaches a system of road-side units which are identical to one another and used to communicate data regarding a road between one another and to the various vehicles along the road. Additionally, Gaither US 20190108749 A1 (“Gaither”) teaches a system of road-side units that are identical to one another that provide recommendations to vehicles along a road.
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656