DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim 57 hold-back assembly must be clearly shown with reference characters or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because the claim 45 notch and ramp surface are not given reference characters so are not clearly depicted in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim 45 notch and ramp surface are not given reference characters to be depicted in the figures.
The claim 57 hold-back mechanism is not given reference characters to be depicted in the figures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 52, 53, 55, and 58 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 52, line 2, “the side of a door” is recited. The “the side” should likely be “a side” because “a side of a door” has not been previously recited. The “a door” should likely be “the side” because “a door” was previously recited in claim 30. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read “a side of the door”.
Regarding claim 53, lines 2-3, “the top of a door” is recited. The “the top” should likely be “a top” because “a top of a door” has not been previously recited. The “a door” should likely be “the side” because “a door” was previously recited in claim 30. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read “a top of the door”.
Regarding claim 55, lines 2 and 6, “the side of a door” is recited. The “a door” should likely be “the door” because “a door” was previously recited in claim 30. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read “a side of the door”.
Regarding claim 58, line 5, the punctuation at the end of the line is missing. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the line to end with a comma.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 30, 42, 43, 44, 52, 53, 55, 56, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White, US 11725421 B1.
Regarding claim 30, White teaches a bolting mechanism with a lockdown mode (Fig 1; [Abstract]), the bolting mechanism comprising:
at least one bolt (bolt 54), the at least one bolt moveable between a thrown position (Fig 4 depicts the thrown position in solid lines) and a retracted position (Fig 4 depicts the retracted position in dashed lines), the thrown position for securing a door (door 20; Fig 3);
at least one first rotor (bottom gear 50) arranged to simultaneously drive the at least one bolt and one or more drive members (vertical lower rack bar 58; vertical upper rack bar 60; rack bar 84; Fig 5 depicts driving 54, 58, 60; col 5, line 59-col 6, line 15);
a first bias (spring loaded rack bar 52) arranged to drive the at least one first rotor to urge the at least one bolt to the thrown position (col 5, line 59-col 6, line 15; col 7, lines 43-59); and
a lockdown assembly (biased roller assembly 138) comprising a lockdown button (Fig 27 depicts the lockdown button to be the upper portion of 138 comprising the roller which is depressed to initiate follow-on actions) and plunger (roller mounting bar 142), the plunger movable between a blocking position (Fig 29) and a retracted position (Fig 31),
wherein the plunger is biased by a second bias (coiled spring 146) to engage with one of the drive members and block throwing of the at least one bolt (col 6, lines 16-30; col 7, lines 43-59 discusses and Fig 9 depicts, 142, via 144, engages 60 via steel tube connectors 66 and 70 and intervening lock assembly 100), and
the lockdown button is arranged to release the plunger such that the first bias throws the at least one bolt or primes the at least one bolt ready to be urged to the thrown position (col 5, line 59-col 6, line 15; col 7, lines 43-59 discuss how depressing 138 triggers the throwing of all the system locks).
Regarding claim 42, White teaches the bolting mechanism of claim 30, further comprising a deadbolt assembly (finger latch 74; shuttle interlock bar 86) comprising a deadbolt (86) movable between an extended position and a retracted position (col 6, lines 31-54), wherein in the extended position the deadbolt extends into a first notch (cut out 88) in the one or another of the one or more drive members (84) to block retraction of the at least one bolt (col 6, lines 31-54).
Regarding claim 43, White teaches the bolting mechanism of claim 42, further comprising a latch assembly (upper finger interlock lock assembly 100), the latch assembly comprising:
a latch bolt (tapered bolt bar 112); and
a latch rotor assembly (gear 110) comprising one or more second rotors (Fig 20),
wherein the latch bolt is biased to a thrown position (Fig 20) and one of the one or more second rotors is configured to be rotated by a handle (handle 28) or key cylinder (Note: the claim recites alternative limitations therefore only one rejection is required) to retract the latch bolt (col 5, line 59-col 6, line 15; col 7, lines 28-42 discusses operating 28 to rotate 50 and withdraw the system locks which are biased to their thrown position), the one of the one or more second rotors further arranged to drive the one or another of the one or more drive members to retract the at least one bolt (movement from Fig 20 to Fig 22 depicts 110 retracting 112 by keeping in operation the translation of 116 thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 3c of drive and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term).
Regarding claim 44, White teaches the bolting assembly of claim 43, wherein the one of the one or more second rotors (110) is an inside second rotor arranged to be driven by a handle on the inside of a door (handle 28; col 5, line 59-col 6, line 15; col 7, lines 28-42 discusses operating 28 to rotate 50 and withdraw the system lock bolts) or a key cylinder (Note: the claim recites alternative limitations therefore only one rejection is required),
the latch assembly further comprising:
an inside latch slider (rack section 114) arranged to be driven by the inside second rotor to retract the latch bolt (col 6, line 55-col 7, line 11);
a drive member inside slider (vertical rack bar 116) arranged to be driven by the inside second rotor to move the drive member to retract the at least one bolt (col 6, line 55-col 7, line 11 discusses and movement from Fog 20 to Fig 22 depicts 116 engaged with 110 keeping in operation the translation of 116 thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 3c of drive and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term).
Regarding claim 52, White teaches the bolting mechanism of claim 30, wherein the at least one bolt (54) comprises: a first laterally movable bolt for securing a side of the door (20; see claim interpretation under claim 52 Claim Objection; Figs 3;4;9 depict 54 to be a laterally movable bolt for securing the left side of 20 to frame 6).
Regarding claim 53, White teaches the bolting mechanism of claim 52, further comprising: a first vertically movable bolt (vertical bolt 136) configured to move vertically upwards for securing a top of the door (see claim interpretation under claim 53 Claim Objection; movement between Fig 30 and Fig 29 depicts the vertical movement of 136 and Figs 3;9 depicts 136 securing the top of 20 to frame 6) and driven by one of the one or more drive members (Fig 9 depicts the interconnectedness of the drive members and how they drive the system lock bolts; col 7, lines 12-27); and/or a second vertically movable bolt configured to move vertically downwards for securing the bottom of a door and driven by another of the one or more drive members (Note: the claim recites alternative limitations therefore only one rejection is required).
Regarding claim 55, White teaches the bolting mechanism of claim 52, further comprising: a second laterally moveable bolt (horizontally tapered bolt 80) for securing the side of the door (see claim interpretation under claim 53 Claim Objection; Figs 3;9;13 depict 80 to be a laterally movable bolt for securing the left side of 20 to frame 6), the second laterally movable bolt spaced downwards from the first laterally movable bolt (Figs 3;9 depict 80 to be spaced downward from 54), the second laterally movable bolt arranged to be driven by a first auxiliary bolt driver (rack bar 84) driven by one of the one or more drive members (84; Fig 13; col 6, lines 31-54); and/or a third laterally moveable bolt for securing the side of a door, the third laterally movable bolt spaced upwards from the first laterally movable bolt, the third laterally movable bolt arranged to be driven by a second auxiliary bolt driver arranged to be driven by another of the one or more drive members (Note: the claim recites alternative limitations therefore only one rejection is required).
Regarding claim 56, White teaches a bolting mechanism with a lockdown mode (Fig 1; [Abstract]), the bolting mechanism comprising:
at least one bolt (bolt 54), the at least one bolt moveable between a thrown position (Fig 4 depicts the thrown position in solid lines) and a retracted position (Fig 4 depicts the retracted position in dashed lines), the thrown position for securing a door (door 20; Fig 3);
at least one first rotor (bottom gear 50) arranged to simultaneously drive the at least one bolt and one or more drive members (vertical lower rack bar 58; vertical upper rack bar 60; Fig 5 depicts driving 54, 58, 60; col 5, line 59-col 6, line 15);
a first bias (spring loaded rack bar 52) arranged to drive the at least one first rotor to urge the at least one bolt to the thrown position (col 5, line 59-col 6, line 15; col 7, lines 43-59); and
a lockdown assembly (biased roller assembly 138) comprising a lockdown button (Fig 27 depicts the lockdown button to be the upper portion of 138 comprising the roller which is depressed to initiate follow-on actions) and plunger (roller mounting bar 142), the plunger movable between a blocking position (Fig 29) and a retracted position (Fig 31),
wherein the plunger is biased by a second bias (coiled spring 146) to engage with one of the drive members and block retracting of the at least one bolt (col 6, lines 16-30; col 7, lines 43-59 discusses and Fig 9 depicts, 142, via 144, engages 60 via steel tube connectors 66 and 70 and intervening lock assembly 100), and
the lockdown button is arranged to release the plunger such that the at least one bolt is ready to be moved to the retracted position on action of a handle (handle 28) or key cylinder (Note: the claim recites alternative limitations therefore only one rejection is required) driving the at least one first rotor (col 5, line 59-col 6, line 15; col 7, lines 28-42 discusses operating 28 to rotate 50 and withdraw the system locks).
Regarding claim 58, White teaches a bolting mechanism with latch (Fig 1; [Abstract]), the bolting mechanism comprising:
at least one bolt (bolt 54), the at least one bolt moveable between a thrown position (Fig 4 depicts the thrown position in solid lines) and a retracted position (Fig 4 depicts the retracted position in dashed lines), the thrown position for securing a door (door 20; Fig 3);
at least one first rotor (bottom gear 50) arranged to simultaneously drive the at least one bolt and one or more drive members (vertical lower rack bar 58; vertical upper rack bar 60; Fig 5 depicts driving 54, 58, 60; col 5, line 59-col 6, line 15), (see claim interpretation under claim 58 Claim Objection)
a bias (spring loaded rack bar 52) arranged to drive the at least one first rotor to urge the at least one bolt to the thrown position (col 5, line 59-col 6, line 15; col 7, lines 43-59);
a latch assembly (upper finger interlock lock assembly 100) comprising a latch bolt (tapered bolt bar 112) and a second rotor (gear 110), the latch bolt biased to a thrown position (Fig 20) and the second rotor configured to be rotated by a handle to retract the latch bolt (col 5, line 59-col 6, line 15; col 7, lines 28-42 discusses operating 28 to rotate 50 and withdraw the system locks), the second rotor further arranged to drive the at least one drive member to retract the at least one bolt (movement from Fig 20 to Fig 22 depicts 110 retracting 112 by keeping in operation the translation of 116 thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 3c of drive and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31, 32, 33, 34-41, 45, 46, 47, 48-51, and 54 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 31, while White teaches it is known in the art for a bolting mechanism to comprise first and second bias mechanism, one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify White as claimed in the instant application wherein the second bias is weaker than the first bias such that the first bias is arranged to drive the at least one bolt and push the plunger to a retracted position, without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the references.
Regarding claim 32, while Geringer et al., US 4634155 A, teaches it is known in the art for a bolting mechanism (assembly 10; Fig 1) to comprise a plunger (ball 42; plunger 50; return spring 54; Fig 4), wherein the plunger comprises a ball (42) and a pushrod (52), one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify White in view of Geringer as claimed wherein the plunger comprises a ball and pushrod, and further modify White in view of Geringer as claimed in the instant application wherein the one of the drive members comprises a recess arranged to receive at least part of the ball to block throwing of the at least one bolt, without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the references.
Regarding claim 33, while White teaches it is known in the art for a bolting mechanism lockdown button to comprise a stem, one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify White as claimed in the instant application wherein the lockdown button comprises a stem, the stem having a foot arranged to block retraction of the plunger when the plunger is in the blocking position and until the button is pressed, without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the references.
Regarding claims 34-41 and 48-51, they would be allowable because they pend from claim 33.
Regarding claim 45, while White teaches it is known in the art for a bolting mechanism to comprise wherein the drive member inside slider comprises a notch to receive the deadbolt, one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify White as claimed in the instant application wherein the notch having a ramp surface such that when the drive member is driven by the inside second rotor the ramp surface pushes against the deadbolt to move the deadbolt to the retracted position, without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the reference.
Regarding claim 46, while Taylor et al., US 9719278 B2, teaches it is known in the art for a bolting mechanism to comprise a latch rotor assembly comprising an inside second rotor driven by a handle on the inside of the door and an outside second rotor driven by a handle on the outside of the door, one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify White in view of Taylor as claimed in the instant application wherein the latch rotor assembly further comprises: an outside second rotor arranged to be driven by a handle or key cylinder on the outside of the door, and the latch assembly further comprises: an outside latch slider arranged to be driven by the outside second rotor to retract the latch bolt; a drive member outside slider arranged to be driven by the outside second rotor to move the drive member to retract the at least one bolt; wherein drive member outside slider comprises a notch into which the deadbolt extends, the notch having square sides blocking retraction of the at least one bolt, without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the reference.
Regarding claim 47, while White teaches it is known in the art for a bolting mechanism to comprise drive members comprising first and second notches, one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify White as claimed in the instant application wherein the drive member comprises a second notch for receiving the deadbolt, the second notch having a ramp surface to override the deadbolt when the at least one bolt is moving to the thrown position; without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the reference.
Regarding claim 54, while White teaches it is known in the art for a bolting mechanism further comprising a bolt restraint for restricting throwing of the first or second vertically movable bolt until the door is closed, the bolt restraint comprising an actuator arranged to be pushed against a door frame as the door is closed releasing the bolt for throwing, these features were mapped to other claim limitations in claim 30 therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify White as claimed in the instant application wherein further comprising a bolt restraint for restricting throwing of the first or second vertically movable bolt until the door is closed, the bolt restraint comprising an actuator arranged to be pushed against a door frame as the door is closed releasing the bolt for throwing; without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the reference.
Claim 57 is allowed.
Regarding claim 57, while White teaches it is known in the art for a bolting mechanism with a hold-back mode, the bolting mechanism comprising: at least one bolt, the at least one bolt moveable between a thrown position and a retracted position, the thrown position for securing a door; at least one first rotor arranged to simultaneously drive the at least one bolt and one or more drive members; a first bias arranged to drive the at least one first rotor to urge the at least one bolt to the thrown position; and a hold-back assembly comprising a hold-back plunger, the hold-back plunger movable between a blocking position and a retracted position, wherein the hold-back plunger is biased by a second bias to engage with one of the drive members and block throwing of the at least one bolt, and a key cylinder arranged to retract the system lock bolts, one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify White as claimed in the instant application wherein a key cylinder arranged to retract the hold-back plunger and release the at least one bolt to move or ready to be moved to the thrown position; without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art for bolting mechanisms.
Brinson, US 2431105 A, teaches a lock and latch with at least one bolt, at least one first rotor, a first bias, and a lockdown assembly.
Murray et al., US 12221807 B2, teaches a deadbolt assembly with at least one bolt, at least one first rotor, a first bias, and a deadbolt assembly.
Davies, US 11905734 B2, teaches a bolt module with at least one bolt, a first bias, and inner and outer first rotors.
Sedley, US 5707090 A, teaches a magnetic card operated door closure with at least one bolt, at least one first rotor, a first bias, and a lockdown button.
Everett et al., AU 2018247281 A1, teaches a multi-lock and method of use with a lockdown assembly.
Kim, KR 102031880 B1, teaches a locking device for fire-proof door and fire-proof door including the same with at least one bolt, at least one first rotor, a first bias, and a bolt release assembly
/STEVEN A TULLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3675