DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is the initial office action based on the 19/327,900 application filed September 12, 2025. Claims 21-40 are pending and have been fully considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated September 26, 2025 is noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 31, 33-35, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirose et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,181,485, herein “Hirose”).
Regarding Claim 21, Hirose discloses an assembly for an internal combustion engine (see column 1, lines 5-9) that includes a camshaft (5) configured to rotate about a first axis (inherently defined along a longitudinal length of the shaft), an auxiliary shaft (6) configured to rotate about a second axis (inherently defined along a longitudinal length of the shaft), a primary gear (12) configured to rotate with camshaft (5) about the first axis (see column 4, lines 44-49), a first auxiliary gear (13) configured to rotate with the auxiliary shaft about the second axis (see column 4, lines 49-53). Hirose discloses that the primary gear meshes with the first auxiliary gear (see column 5, lines 9-22) such that the camshaft drives rotation of the auxiliary shaft (see column 4, lines 38-40 camshafts (5) and (6) functions as drive and driven camshafts), wherein one or more cam lobes (5a) are positioned on the camshaft and facilitate controlling movement of at least one valve of the internal combustion engine (see column 4, lines 44-49).
Regarding Claim 31, Hirose discloses that the primary gear (12) is coupled to or integrally formed with the camshaft (5) (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 33, Hirose discloses that the auxiliary shaft includes one or more recessed portions along its length (see Figure 2, smaller diameter portions between cam lobes (6a) that aligned with the one or more cam lobes (5a) (see Figure 2) such that the auxiliary shaft and camshaft can be in close proximity to each other without interference between the one or more cam lobes and the auxiliary shaft (functionality of the recessed portions).
Regarding Claims 34 and 35, Hirose discloses that the camshaft (5) includes an oil passage (37) extending along at least a portion of a length of the camshaft (5) (see column 6, lines 54-62, and Figure 2), wherein the oil passage (37) comprises a primary oil passage aligned with the first axis (see Figure 2) and one or more secondary oil passages (oil chamber (41) connected to and extending at an angle from the primary oil passage (see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 40, Hirose discloses an assembly for an internal combustion engine that includes a first shaft (5) configured to rotate about a first axis (inherently defined along a longitudinal length of the shaft), a second shaft (6) configured to rotate about a second axis (inherently defined along a longitudinal length of the shaft), wherein rotation of the second shaft is driven by rotation of the first shaft (see column 4, lines 38-40 camshafts (5) and (6) functions as drive and driven camshafts), and a plurality of lobes (5a) positioned on the first shaft (5), wherein rotation of the first shaft (5) causes corresponding rotation of at least one lobe of the plurality of lobes (5a), and wherein rotation of the second shaft (6) causes corresponding rotation of at least one lobe of a plurality of lobes (6a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Gregor et al. (U.S. Patent Publ’n No. 2007/0056542, herein “Gregor”).
Regarding Claim 32, Hirose discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but is silent concerning inclusion of a differential assembly for adjusting an angular position of the camshaft relative to the crankshaft during engine operation.
However, Gregor discloses an internal combustion engine having a crankshaft that drives a gear (10) for driving a camshaft (40) (see Abstract and paragraph [0026]). Gregor discloses that the engine includes an adjusting mechanism with a control device in the form of a four-shaft transmission for adjusting a phase position of a camshaft (40) in relation to a crankshaft (see paragraph [0026]), which thereby controls a timing of opening and closing an engine valve (see paragraph [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engine of Hirose by providing a variable valve timing system as described in Gregor allowing the engine to optimize valve opening/closing for better power, fuel economy, and lower emissions across different speeds, essentially acting as a dynamic controller for the engine's breathing.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Lettmann et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,388,713 herein “Lettmann”).
Regarding Claim 36, Hirose discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but is silent concerning inclusion of mounting portions having a greater roughness relative to the remainder of the camshaft.
However, Lettmann discloses a camshaft (1) for an internal combustion engine wherein camshaft (1) includes a shaft (2) and at least one component (3) joined thermally thereto (a cam (4)), which can be connected to a shaft-side joining face (6) by means of a component-side joining face (5). The shaft-side joining face (6) may include a predefined roughness (7) introduced and hardened via a laser (see Abstract), thereby having a greater roughness relative to a majority of the outer surface of the camshaft.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engine of Hirose by providing a roughness at a mounting location on the camshaft as described in Lettmann to increase friction/adhesion of the cam at the mounting locations.
Claim(s) 37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Tores et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,087,391 herein “Tores”).
Regarding Claims 37 and 39, Hirose discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not specifically describe that the cam lobes are configured to move a pushrod, and the pushrod acts against one or more rocker arms to cause movement of the engine valve.
However, Tores discloses a rocker arm assembly (5) is generally located at the top of an engine, and mounted upon a cylinder head (11) (shown in Figures 5 and 9). The rocker arm assembly (5) is held to the cylinder head (11) by way of fasteners (400). Tores discloses that it is very well-known in the engine art to provide cam lobes configured to move a pushrod, and wherein the pushrod acts against one or more rocker arms to cause movement of the at least one valve (see column 9, lines 34-42). Further, Tores discloses that cam lobes are configured to contact a cam follower mounted to a rocker arm, and wherein positioning of the rocker arm is controlled by a lash adjuster (see column 11, line 53 - column 12, line 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engine of Hirose by providing a system wherein rotation of the camshaft drives a pushrod and subsequently a rocker arm for opening and closing the engine valve as described in Tores to facilitate a more compact and durable design than other engine design options.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Toth et al. (EP 4194667 A1, herein “Toth”).
Regarding Claim 38, Hirose discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not specifically describe that cam lobes are configured to cause movement of a valve actuating arm that includes a paw, wherein the paw is positioned within a paw slot, and wherein the paw and the paw slot cooperating to restrain movement of the valve actuating arm.
However, Toth discloses an internal combustion engine (1) having a camshaft (2) and valves (3), a first rocker arm part (4), a second rocker arm part (5), wherein the first rocker arm part (4) and the second rocker arm part (5) are pivotably mounted, and a latch (6) for activating a transmission of an actuation motion between the camshaft (2) and at least one valve (3). Toth discloses that in a first rotational position, a latch (6) form-fittingly engages with a contact surface (24) of the first rocker arm part (4) such that a valve actuation motion is transmittable from the camshaft (3) of the internal combustion engine (1) via the first rocker arm part (4) and the second rocker arm part (5), and, in a second rotational position of the latch (6), enables a relative movement of the first rocker arm part (4) and the second rocker arm part (5). See Abstract.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engine of Hirose by providing an engine valve system having a paw and paw slot as described in Toth to facilitate activating/deactivating transmission of actuation motion between the camshaft and the engine valve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 23-30 are similarly objected to based upon their dependency to Claim 22.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Specifically, various references are cited that provide detail of relevant valve operating systems for engines.
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747