DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 19/327,945 filed on 08/04/2026.
Claims 1 – 14 and 16 – 23 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 2, 4, 11 and 20 have been amended. Claim 23 is new.
This action is made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first target model that is configured to…” in claim 12.
“second target model that is configured to…” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3), further in view of Jin et al. (US 20250054284 A1) and Schneider et al. (WO2008112012A2).
Regarding claim 1, Alfred teaches a weapon system comprising:
a weapon system body; (Alfred: Paragraph 0001: “The present invention relates to missiles for carrying a payload.”)
a flight control system housed within the weapon system body and comprising:
a plurality of controllers mechanically coupled to a plurality of control surfaces; (Alfred: Paragraph 0044: “The two direction controllers 27A and 27B illustrated in Figure 2 represent, by way of example, two different flight modes. Both steering controllers 27A, B receive navigation data from both the navigation sensor 23 and the navigation device 25 and relative data about the target object, in particular angular sight lines and the status and/or quality of an estimation result. of the relative geometry estimation device 26. Based on these relative data, eg angular velocity speeds of line of sight and state and / or quality of the estimated data, can be selected using a switching element 29 of one of the two controllers address 27A, B, which influences actuator 28 within its parameters or passes command values thereto and influences the flight of the missile.”)
a targeting system housed within the weapon system body and comprising:
one or more target sensors, (Alfred: Paragraph 0001: “Furthermore, in particular, the present invention relates to a missile with a static optical sensor,”; Paragraph 0002: “Conventional missiles are equipped with an optical image sensor. The sensor is used for target acquisition as well as target activation and therefore significantly determines the flight direction and flight behavior of the missile.”)
a targeting control system in electrical communication with the one or more target sensors, and (Alfred: Paragraph 0008: “On the missile side, the steering loop of a conventional system 10 comprises at least one gimbal suspension image sensor 11, a navigation sensor 13, for example one or more position, angular velocity or rotational acceleration sensors, an image processing device 14, a navigation device 15, a relative geometry estimation device 16, a direction or flight status controller 17 and an actuator 18, for example the rudder or fins. The image processing device 14, the navigation device 15, the relative geometry estimation device 16 and / or the direction controller 17 can be functionally designed to use a microprocessor or can be realized using individual, discretely structured circuits. A combination and / or compendium of the respective functional units is also conceivable.”; Paragraph 0009: “Image sensor 11 now detects a target object.”; Paragraph 0042: “Although the image processing device 24 can forward information about the position of the target object in the image, the status and quality of a tracking relative geometry estimating device 26, it can, by using an image processing device 24, establish or request a FOV subregion of sensor element 21, which ultimately corresponds to the ordered position of FOV. Within the scope of the present invention, quality can be understood to mean, on the one hand, a quality of the result of image processing and, on the other hand, a quality of the result of the estimation of relative geometry. The quality of the estimate of the relative geometry may depend on the quality of the image processing.”)
… that are decipherable by the flight control system; and (Alfred: Paragraph 0046: “The object in the FoV is tracked using the image processing device 24; Tracking data, generally mapped as coordinates of an excellent point on the target object, is transmitted to the relative geometry estimating device 26.”; Paragraph 0047: “The data from the navigation sensor 23 is transmitted to the navigation device 25, which estimates at least the position of the missile therefrom”; Paragraph 0048: “In this case, a steering device is provided with an estimate of the angular velocity of the land line, i.e. the angular velocity of the flight path, connecting a defined point of the missile, for example the tip of the missile, with a defined or excellent point of the target object. Alternatively or additionally, other amounts of relative geometry can be generated, for example, a first-dimensional line of sight angle, a relative velocity or acceleration, or information about a target maneuver, for example, target object motion information.”)
… wherein the targeting control system is configured to perform targeting operations comprising:
obtaining sensor data from the target sensors, (Alfred: Paragraph 0048: “The relative geometry estimation device / target filtering device 26 uses the data from the image processing device 24, the navigation device 25 and possibly the navigation sensor 23 to obtain estimation information on the geometry from them. relative and relative kinematics between missile 20 and the target object.”)
… obtaining the output data from the target model, and (Alfred: Paragraph 0049: “The relative geometry estimation device / target filtering device 26 can also consider a model or information regarding the movement of the target object. In the simplest case, the target object is a stationary or (momentarily) immobile target, alternatively, the movement of the target or aspects of the target motion can be estimated, particularly using previous tracking data, which is not just a relative motion of the target. missile, for example, compared to the surface of the earth, but also relative to it, considering a movement of the target.”)
providing the output data to the flight control system, and
wherein the flight control system is configured to perform flight operations comprising controlling operation of the control surfaces responsive to the output data to control a trajectory of the weapon system (Alfred: Paragraph 0044: “Both steering controllers 27A, B receive navigation data from both the navigation sensor 23 and the navigation device 25 and relative data about the target object, in particular angular sight lines and the status and / or quality of an estimation result. of the relative geometry estimation device 26. Based on these relative data, eg angular velocity speeds of line of sight and state and / or quality of the estimated data, can be selected using a switching element 29 of one of the two controllers address 27A, B, which influences actuator 28 within its parameters or passes command values thereto and influences the flight of the missile.”; Paragraph 0048: “In this case, a steering device is provided with an estimate of the angular velocity of the land line, i.e. the angular velocity of the flight path, connecting a defined point of the missile, for example the tip of the missile, with a defined or excellent point of the target object. ”).
In sum, Alfred teaches a weapon system comprising: a weapon system body; a flight control system housed within the weapon system body and comprising: a plurality of controllers mechanically coupled to a plurality of control surfaces; a targeting system housed within the weapon system body and comprising: one or more target sensors, a targeting control system in electrical communication with the one or more target sensors, and that are decipherable by the flight control system; and wherein the targeting control system is configured to perform targeting operations comprising: obtaining sensor data from the target sensors, obtaining the output data from the target model, and providing the output data to the flight control system, and wherein the flight control system is configured to perform flight operations comprising controlling operation of the control surfaces responsive to the output data to control a trajectory of the weapon system. Alfred however does not teach a data store in electrical communication with the targeting control system and storing a target model comprising an artificial intelligence (AI) model trained to detect a particular type of object within a set of sensor data from one or more particular types of sensors and to provide output data comprising navigation instructions providing the sensor data as input to the target model and, in response.
Jin teaches a data store in electrical communication with the targeting control system and storing a target model comprising an artificial intelligence (AI) model (Jin: Paragraph 0006: “an apparatus for processing one or more confidence maps is provided. The apparatus includes at least one memory and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory”; Paragraph 0045: “FIG. 1 illustrates an example implementation of a system-on-a-chip (SOC) 100, which may include a central processing unit (CPU) 102 or a multi-core CPU, configured to perform one or more of the functions described herein. Parameters or variables (e.g., neural signals and synaptic weights), system parameters associated with a computational device (e.g., neural network with weights)”; Paragraph 0059: “As mentioned previously, a machine learning system (e.g., a deep neural network system or model, such as that described with respect to FIG. 2A-3C, FIG. 9, and/or FIG. 10) can be used to perform object detection, for example, by processing one or more images and detecting one or more objects in the image(s). A machine learning system trained to perform object detection can be referred to herein as an object detection machine learning system or model. In some cases, an output of an object detection machine learning system (e.g., an object detection neural network model) can include one or more heatmaps.”)
trained to detect a particular type of object within a set of sensor data from one or more particular types of sensors and to provide output data comprising navigation instructions (Jin: Paragraph 0034: “object detection can be used to identify one or more objects in one or more images (e.g., from a digital image or a video frame of a video clip) or sensor data (e.g., radar or Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) data).”; Paragraph 0037: “In some cases, an output of the machine learning system (e.g., the neural network model) trained to perform object detection can include one or more heatmaps (also referred to herein as confidence maps). For instance, a neural network model can process sensor data (e.g., LIDAR data captured using one or more LIDAR sensors, radar data captured using one or more radar sensors, an image captured using one or more image sensors or cameras) of a scene to generate a heatmap for the scene. A heatmap can be a two-dimensional map (having a width (W) and a height (H)) of values. Each value in the heatmap can represent a score or confidence (as determined by the machine learning system) that an object of a particular class (or category) is present at a corresponding spatial position or location in the heatmap.”; Paragraph 0060: “In some cases, the shape or dimension of the heatmaps output by the machine learning system is [C, H, W], where C is the number of classes (e.g., in a channel or depth dimension), H is the height of each heatmap, and W is the width of each heatmap. The classes can include any class or type of object, such as a vehicle, a pedestrian, a building, an obstacle (e.g., a traffic cone), a street sign, a traffic light, etc. In some cases, a heatmap can have a birds-eye view (BEV) perspective (e.g., an overhead perspective) relative to a tracking object (e.g., a tracking or ego vehicle).”)
… providing the sensor data as input to the target model and, in response, (Jin: Paragraph 0034: “object detection can be used to identify one or more objects in one or more images (e.g., from a digital image or a video frame of a video clip) or sensor data (e.g., radar or Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) data).”; Paragraph 0037: “In some cases, an output of the machine learning system (e.g., the neural network model) trained to perform object detection can include one or more heatmaps (also referred to herein as confidence maps). For instance, a neural network model can process sensor data (e.g., LIDAR data captured using one or more LIDAR sensors, radar data captured using one or more radar sensors, an image captured using one or more image sensors or cameras) of a scene to generate a heatmap for the scene”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Jin with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Alfred and Jin teach systems which use sensors to detect targets. Jin further teaches the use of a learning model able to create heatmaps representing a score of confidence that a particular class of object is present. One of ordinary skill would find this method of object detection as taught by Jin to be obvious to try with the targeting system of Alfred. Alfred teaches the ability of utilizing models to determine the movement of the target object (Alfred: Paragraph 0051), therefore the ability to use an AI model for tracking which creates heatmaps would be obvious to try as it increases the detection capabilities. For example, if the target is lost by the missile of Alfred, having an AI which can create heatmaps of the surrounding areas and create confidence values of the various objects which would aid in increasing the accuracy in which a target is found. Alfred in view of Jin however still do not teach a power system comprising one or more capacitors housed within the weapon system body and configured to supply electrical power to the targeting system and the flight control system through a regulated power bus, the one or more capacitors electrically connected to a charging terminal on the weapon system body.
Schneider teaches a power system comprising one or more capacitors housed within the weapon system body and configured to supply electrical power to the targeting system and the flight control system through a regulated power bus, (Schneider: lines 95 – 98: “For example, referring to Figure 1 , in one embodiment in accordance with various aspects of the present invention, arming system 100 may include a projectile 150, at least one supercapacitor 105, a launcher winding 110, a projectile winding 120, an operations system 130, and a power source 140. Supercapacitor 105 will generally be capable of supplying suitably conditioned power to the projectile during its flight”; lines 164 – 166: “When the operator receives a signal that the operations seeker is in tracking mode, the operator pushes the fire button and the projectile is launched towards the target in tracking mode. Supercapacitor 105 may be used as the power source of the guidance system of the projectile.”)
the one or more capacitors electrically connected to a charging terminal on the weapon system body, (Schneider: lines 95 – 98: “For example, referring to Figure 1 , in one embodiment in accordance with various aspects of the present invention, arming system 100 may include a projectile 150, at least one supercapacitor 105, a launcher winding 110, a projectile winding 120, an operations system 130, and a power source 140. Supercapacitor 105 will generally be capable of supplying suitably conditioned power to the projectile during its flight”: lines 114 – 116: “Supercapacitor 105 may be able to receive power from the launcher. This may be performed through physical electrical connections or through other means of transferring power. Supercapacitor 105 may also serve as the power source for transmitting data to the launcher. In a representative embodiment, supercapacitor 105 may be electrically connected to projectile winding 130 and charged through induction”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Schneider with a reasonable expectation of success. Alfred and Schneider teach a missile/projectile which is able to track an object and fly towards it. Schneider further teaches the use of a supercapacitor within these missiles which can be charged by a power source in which the supercapacitor is used as a power source for the guidance system of the missile when launched. Schnider teaches the supercapacitors to be more capable of supplying conditioned power to the missile by having a higher energy density than traditional capacitors (Schneider: lines 98 – 100). This aids in making devices smaller with higher energy storage capabilities (Schneider: lines 104 – 105). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement this function of the supercapacitors as taught by Schneider with the missile of Alfred. For example, now the missiles can have extra energy for tracking a target, thus the missile can be deployed from a further and potentially safer range. The missile will also have additional energy to track the target if it gets lost, the additional energy of the supercapacitors can be enough to locate the target again whereas it currently cannot. This improves the efficiency of the missile as the stored energy in these supercapacitors give the missiles additional power which aids in them performing their function.
Regarding claim 3, Alfred, as modified, teaches wherein the targeting operations further comprise:
tracking a target using sensor data generated by the one or more sensors; and (Alfred: Paragraph 0009: “Image sensor 11 now detects a target object. Conventional sensors generally use a two-dimensional configuration with, for example, 256x256 or 512x512 imaging elements. In this case, the sensor 11 is tilted using the gimbal suspension in a suitable position, thus aligned with the target object, so that the target object in the sensor image is visible / detectable. The target object in the sensor image is then tracked with the image processing device 14.”)
responsive to losing acquisition of the target:
determining, based on prior tracking data of the target, an estimated location of the target;
controlling navigation of the weapon system based on the estimated location; and
searching within the estimated location of the target to re-acquire the target (Alfred: Paragraph 0026: “If there is a loss of tracking, it is also possible, by rotating the search head in the form of a search pattern, for example, in a spiral, to favor a (re) location of the target. This can be done according to the invention by dynamically changing the field of view in the field of observation according to a predetermined search pattern.”; Paragraph 0027: “ Furthermore, a prediction functionality can be implemented in the relative geometry estimation device using the navigation sensor system, as well as previous or current tracking data, which favors the relocation of the target object, therefore , the replacement of the tracker on the target object after the loss of tracking. If, for example, the missile is hit on an approach to the target object by a gust of wind, and therefore deviates from its planned trajectory, so that the target object disappears from the field of view or, in the worst case, cases, from the observation field, you can also use the above tracking data and information from the navigation sensors regarding the trajectory compensated by the gust of wind using the prediction functionality, to make an estimate of where you can now locate the target object outside the field of view or field of observation, so that this information allows an estimate of the relative geometry between the missile and the target object without the (current) target object being present in the sensor image. Due to the missile's prediction functionality, it can now be targeted so that the location area likely of the target object to return to the field of view or field of view of the sensor image. Once the target object is recognizable there, the tracker can reconnect the target and determine a new path through an updated calculation of relative geometry.”).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3), further in view of Patravali et al. (US 20250371721 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Alfred, as modified, teaches wherein the targeting operations further comprise:
obtaining, from an image sensor, one or more images depicting a target space; (Alfred: Paragraph 0004: “In the allocation phase, the target object is assigned, that is, the target object is defined in the sensor image, and the associated data is transmitted to a target tracking device, a so-called tracker, generally arranged on the missile. In the subsequent targeting phase, the target tracking device tracks the target object on the sensor image, the information of which is used to direct the missile toward the target object.”; Paragraph 0021: “Read from the image sensor corresponding to the "Observation field (FoR)", the scene, therefore the display image, only one subregion, for example, a smaller and rectangular subregion, the called "Field of View" (FoV).”)
… generating output data that, when received by a flight control system of the weapon system, causes the flight control system to operate control surfaces of the weapon system to control a trajectory of the weapon system towards the target (Alfred: Paragraph 0018: “Accordingly, a missile for carrying a payload according to the independent claim is shown, comprising an optical sensor for detecting and controlling a target object, a flight propulsion unit for influencing the trajectory of the missile and a unit for computation for image processing and flight control of a missile,”; Paragraph 0048: “In this case, a steering device is provided with an estimate of the angular velocity of the land line, i.e. the angular velocity of the flight path, connecting a defined point of the missile, for example the tip of the missile, with a defined or excellent point of the target object.”).
In sum, Alfred teaches wherein the targeting operations further comprise: obtaining, from an image sensor, one or more images depicting a target space; generating output data that, when received by a flight control system of the weapon system, causes the flight control system to operate control surfaces of the weapon system to control a trajectory of the weapon system towards the target. Alfred however does not teach providing the one or more images to a display device; obtaining user input indicating a selection of a target within the target space depicted in the one or more images; obtaining a video feed of the target space; identifying the target within the video feed based on the one or more images and the user input; tracking, by the target system, the target within the video feed.
Patravali teaches providing the one or more images to a display device;
obtaining user input indicating a selection of a target within the target space depicted in the one or more images; (Patravali: Paragraph 0028: “The single object tracking pipeline 124 receives an input search image 201 corresponding to the first frame of the sequence of visual frames I.sub.0, a click prompt 202 corresponding to the click prompt c, and a natural language prompt 203 corresponding to language description l. The search image 201 is the first frame of the sequence frames of video in which the target object is to be tracked. The user inputs the click prompt 202 which identifies a point corresponding to the target object in the search image 201. The search image 201 can be presented in a user interface of the native application 114 and/or the web application 190 which enables the user to select video content in which a target object is to be tracked. The user interface shows the search image 201 and enables the user to click on that image to input the click prompt 202 indicating the location of the target object in the search image 201. The user interface also allows the user to input a natural language description of the target object as natural language prompt 203.”)
obtaining a video feed of the target space; (Patravali: Paragraph 0023: “The video processing platform 110 can perform object tracking on a target object in substantially real time as the video content is received by the video processing platform 110 and/or on a target object in video content that was previously received and stored in the video content datastore 168.”)
identifying the target within the video feed based on the one or more images and the user input; (Patravali: Paragraph 0028: “The user interface shows the search image 201 and enables the user to click on that image to input the click prompt 202 indicating the location of the target object in the search image 201”; Paragraph 0040: “. The “click” is treated as a separate modality by the single object tracking pipeline 124, and the single object tracking pipeline 124 performs a concatenation of the click to the target decoder instead of summation to avoid incorrect fusion of the information… The output 250 represents the output of the single object tracking pipeline 124 which includes a bounding box around the target object. This output is updated as each of the frames of the video content are processed by the single object tracking pipeline 124.”)
tracking, by the target system, the target within the video feed; and (Patravali: Paragraph 0023: “The video processing platform 110 can perform object tracking on a target object in substantially real time as the video content is received by the video processing platform 110 and/or on a target object in video content that was previously received and stored in the video content datastore 168. The single object tracking pipeline 124 analyzes the video content and performs the object tracking.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Patravali with a reasonable expectation of success. Patravali teaches a method of identifying a target by a user input to further identify the target. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this to be a simple substitution with the “man-in-the-loop” method as taught by Alfred (Alfred: Paragraph 0006). Both methods teach the use of user intervention to further specify the target based on sensor data, therefore both functions of Alfred and Patravali are nothing than a simple substitution. Furthermore, Patravali teaches the ability to track the object by using a video feed. To one of ordinary skill in the art, this would be a use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way when combined with the missile system of Alfred. Currently, Alfred teaches detecting the target based on the captured images, therefore the ability to track using a video feed improves the ability to track the object. For example, continuously running a video feed on the target provides more information about the target than just images. Alfred also does not specify the rate at which the images are being taken therefore, a video feed capturing multiple frames per second would be an improvement of the current detection methods.
Claims 4, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3), further in view of Schneider et al. (WO2008112012A2).
Regarding claim 4, Alfred teaches a guided weapon system comprising:
a weapons system body; (Alfred: Paragraph 0001)
a targeting system housed within the weapon system body and comprising: one or more target sensors, a targeting control system in electrical communication with the one or more target sensors, (Alfred: Paragraph 0001; Paragraph 0002)
a flight control system housed within the weapon system body and in communication with the targeting system, the flight control system comprising: a plurality of controllers mechanically coupled to a plurality of control surfaces; and (Alfred: Paragraph 0044; Paragraph 0048).
In sum, Alfred teaches a guided weapon system comprising: a weapons system body; a targeting system housed within the weapon system body and comprising: one or more target sensors, a targeting control system in electrical communication with the one or more target sensors, a flight control system housed within the weapon system body and in communication with the targeting system, the flight control system comprising: a plurality of controllers mechanically coupled to a plurality of control surfaces. Alfred however does not teach a power system comprising one or more capacitors housed within the weapon system body and configured to supply electrical power to the targeting system and the flight control system through a regulated power bus, the one or more capacitors electrically connected to a charging terminal on the weapon system body, wherein the power system is configured to charge the one or more capacitors through the charging terminal.
Schneider teaches a power system comprising one or more capacitors housed within the weapon system body and configured to supply electrical power to the targeting system and the flight control system through a regulated power bus, (Schneider: lines 95 – 98; lines 164 – 166)
the one or more capacitors electrically connected to a charging terminal on the weapon system body, wherein the power system is configured to charge the one or more capacitors through the charging terminal (Schneider: lines 95 – 98; lines 114 – 116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Schneider with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 6, Alfred, as modified, does not teach wherein the one or more capacitors comprise one or more super capacitors.
Schneider teaches wherein the one or more capacitors comprise one or more super capacitors (Schneider: lines 95 – 98: “For example, referring to Figure 1 , in one embodiment in accordance with various aspects of the present invention, arming system 100 may include a projectile 150, at least one supercapacitor 105, a launcher winding 110, a projectile winding 120, an operations system 130, and a power source 140. Supercapacitor 105 will generally be capable of supplying suitably conditioned power to the projectile during its flight”; lines 164 – 166: “When the operator receives a signal that the operations seeker is in tracking mode, the operator pushes the fire button and the projectile is launched towards the target in tracking mode. Supercapacitor 105 may be used as the power source of the guidance system of the projectile.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Schneider with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 10, Alfred, as modified, teaches wherein the weapon system comprises one of a missile, a torpedo, or a bomb (Alfred: Paragraph 0059: “Missile 30 in this case has a missile head 36, an elongated missile body or shell 33. The missile 30 has a flight propulsion unit 34, eg a conventional known rocket engine. A stabilizer 35 stabilizes the flight of the missile 30. Actuator elements 28 are provided to allow a change of trajectory.”).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3) and Schneider et al. (WO2008112012A2) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Smith et al. (US 10408587 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Alfred, as modified, does not teach wherein the power system comprises a buck/boost converter connected between the charging terminal and the one or more capacitors.
Smith teaches wherein the power system comprises a buck/boost converter connected between the charging terminal and the one or more capacitors (Smith: Col. 3, lines 22 – 25: “A voltage regulator 52 is connected to capacitor 50. Voltage regulator 52 is connected to a flight computer 54, to electro-mechanical actuators 56A and 56B, and to sensor 58.”,
Supplemental Note: please see Figure A below).
Figure A: Smith: Figure 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Smith with a reasonable expectation of success. Smith teaches a self-charging missile in which the electrical generator provides power to a voltage regulator in which the regulator distributes power to the flight computer, the sensors, and the actuators controlling the flight path of the missile. Smith teaches this method of powering the missile allows for the ability of the missile to stay on shelf for a longer time as traditional missiles utilize thermal batteries to power the flight computer and missile actuation functions (Smith: Col. 1, lines 11 – 28). These thermal batteries have a shelf life, thus a limiting factor of the missile life. Smith teaching the ability of having a missile with an electrical generator which can be used to power the various components of the missile in-flight would be obvious to try to combine by one of ordinary skill in the art with the missile system of Alfred. This combination mitigates the shelf life issues of the thermal batteries used in the missiles as taught by Alfred as the missiles would be self-charging. This increases the efficiency and usability of the missiles.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3) and Schneider et al. (WO2008112012A2) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Gajanayake et al. (US 20230348079 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Alfred, as modified, does not teach further comprising a charging system configured to convert input voltage from an external power source to an operating voltage of the power system.
Gajanayake teaches further comprising a charging system configured to convert input voltage from an external power source to an operating voltage of the power system (Gajanayake: Paragraph 0003: “In general, this disclosure describes aircraft propulsion systems that include electrical energy storage systems (ESSs) with partially rated converters.”; Paragraph 0018: “Aircraft 2 may include protection and distribution components 20 (“PnD 20”) that form portions of the electrical busses.”; Paragraph 0022: “where the first electrical bus is a DC electrical bus (e.g., a 1080 volt DC electrical bus), converter 28A may include DC/DC converters configured to convert electrical energy between a voltage of battery stack 34A and a voltage of the first electrical bus. Converters 28 may be bi-directional in that converters 28 may convert electrical energy provided by battery stacks 34 for use by other components of aircraft 2 and convert electrical energy provided by other components of aircraft 2 (or sourced from components external to aircraft 2) for use in charging battery stacks 34.”; Paragraph 0025: “Battery stacks 34 may each include a plurality of battery modules that store electrical energy to be used for propulsion of aircraft 2.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Gajanayake with a reasonable expectation of success. Alfred teaches a missile which is powered by flight propulsion unit whereas Gajanayake teaches an aircraft able to be flown by electrically powered propulsors (Gajanayake: Paragraph 0013). One of ordinary skill in the art would find both of the flight propulsion methods a simple substitution of one another as both are used to fly an aerial vehicle. The ability of the Gajanayake’s aircraft being able to use battery stacks which can be charged from an external source and used to power the propulsion of the aircraft as a simple substitution with the flight propulsion unit of Alfred to power the missile in flight.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 14, 16, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3) and Schneider et al. (WO2008112012A2) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Jin et al. (US 20250054284 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Alfred, as modified, teaches to provide output data that is decipherable by flight control systems (Alfred: Paragraph 0048).
In sum, Alfred teaches to provide output data that is decipherable by flight control systems. Alfred however does not teach wherein the targeting system comprises a data store in electrical communication with the targeting control system and storing a target model comprising an artificial intelligence (AI) model trained to detect a particular type of object within a set of measurement data from one or more particular types of sensors.
Jin teaches wherein the targeting system comprises a data store in electrical communication with the targeting control system and (Jin: Paragraph 0006; Paragraph 0050)
storing a target model comprising an artificial intelligence (AI) model trained to detect a particular type of object within a set of measurement data from one or more particular types of sensors and (Jin: Paragraph 0034; Paragraph 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Jin with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 9, Alfred, as modified, teaches wherein the targeting control system is configured to perform targeting operations comprising:
obtaining sensor data from the target sensors, (Alfred: Paragraph 0046)
… in response, obtaining output data from the target model, and (Alfred: Paragraph 0049)
providing the output data to the flight control system, and
wherein the flight control system is configured to perform flight operations comprising controlling operation of the control surfaces responsive to the output data to control a trajectory of the weapon system (Alfred: Paragraph 0048).
In sum, Alfred teaches wherein the targeting control system is configured to perform targeting operations comprising: obtaining sensor data from the target sensors, in response, obtaining output data from the target model, and providing the output data to the flight control system, and wherein the flight control system is configured to perform flight operations comprising controlling operation of the control surfaces responsive to the output data to control a trajectory of the weapon system. Alfred however does not teach providing the sensor data as input to the target model.
Jin teaches providing the sensor data as input to the target model and, (Jin: Paragraph 0034; Paragraph 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Jin with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 14, Alfred, as modified, teaches wherein the targeting operations further comprise:
tracking a target using sensor data generated by the one or more sensors; and (Alfred: Paragraph 0008: “On the missile side, the steering loop of a conventional system 10 comprises at least one gimbal suspension image sensor 11, a navigation sensor 13, for example one or more position, angular velocity or rotational acceleration sensors, an image processing device 14, a navigation device 15, a relative geometry estimation device 16, a direction or flight status controller 17 and an actuator 18, for example the rudder or fins. The image processing device 14, the navigation device 15, the relative geometry estimation device 16 and / or the direction controller 17 can be functionally designed to use a microprocessor or can be realized using individual, discretely structured circuits. A combination and / or compendium of the respective functional units is also conceivable.”; Paragraph 0009: “Image sensor 11 now detects a target object.”; Paragraph 0042: “Although the image processing device 24 can forward information about the position of the target object in the image, the status and quality of a tracking relative geometry estimating device 26, it can, by using an image processing device 24, establish or request a FOV subregion of sensor element 21, which ultimately corresponds to the ordered position of FOV. Within the scope of the present invention, quality can be understood to mean, on the one hand, a quality of the result of image processing and, on the other hand, a quality of the result of the estimation of relative geometry. The quality of the estimate of the relative geometry may depend on the quality of the image processing.”)
responsive to losing acquisition of the target:
determining, based on prior tracking data of the target, an estimated location of the target;
controlling navigation of the weapon system based on the estimated location; and
searching within the estimated location of the target to re-acquire the target (Alfred: Paragraph 0027: “Furthermore, a prediction functionality can be implemented in the relative geometry estimation device using the navigation sensor system, as well as previous or current tracking data, which favors the relocation of the target object, therefore , the replacement of the tracker on the target object after the loss of tracking. If, for example, the missile is hit on an approach to the target object by a gust of wind, and therefore deviates from its planned trajectory, so that the target object disappears from the field of view or, in the worst case, cases, from the observation field, you can also use the above tracking data and information from the navigation sensors regarding the trajectory compensated by the gust of wind using the prediction functionality, to make an estimate of where you can now locate the target object outside the field of view or field of observation, so that this information allows an estimate of the relative geometry between the missile and the target object without the (current) target object being present in the sensor image. Due to the missile's prediction functionality, it can now be targeted so that the location area likely of the target object to return to the field of view or field of view of the sensor image. Once the target object is recognizable there, the tracker can reconnect the target and determine a new path through an updated calculation of relative geometry.”).
Regarding claim 16, Alfred, as modified, teaches wherein the targeting operations further comprise:
detecting an object within the estimated location; and (Alfred: Paragraph 0045: “The objective object is received by the imaging sensor 21, it is fixedly mounted. Comparatively, particularly compared to conventional missiles, a comparatively wide-angle lens, not shown separately in Figure 2, will provide high resolution and a large angle of view, therefore, a large field of view is achieved. observation. In this can be the objective object, to be traceable. In order to be able to carry out, in particular, fast and comparatively cost-effective image processing, only one subregion of the field of observation is read and evaluated, for example a rectangular subregion, a so-called field of view. At a sufficiently high processing speed and storage capacity, in particular of the computing unit 32, the field of view can also correspond to the field of view.”).
In sum, Alfred teaches wherein the targeting operations further comprise: detecting an object within the estimated location. Alfred however does not teach determining whether the detected object is the target.
Jin teaches determining whether the detected object is the target (Jin: Paragraph 0037; Paragraph 0051,
Supplemental Note: the machine learning model is able to determine what class objects are. Therefore it is able to determine a target if it is identified within that class).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Jin with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 17, Alfred, as modified does not teach wherein determining whether the detected object is the target comprises: providing data representing the detected object as input to a target re-acquisition model; and obtaining output data from the target re-acquisition model that indicates whether the detected object comprises the target.
Jin teaches wherein determining whether the detected object is the target comprises:
providing data representing the detected object as input to a target re-acquisition model;
and obtaining output data from the target re-acquisition model that indicates whether the detected object comprises the target (Jin: Paragraph 0034; Paragraph 0037,
Supplemental Note: per specification paragraph 0192, the re-acquisition model is part of the targeting algorithm, thus the same machine learning system of Jin used to detect the target can also be used as the re-acquisition model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Jin with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated for claim 1, both Alfred and Jin teach systems which use sensors to detect targets. Jin further teaches the use of a learning model able to create heatmaps representing a score of confidence that a particular class of object is present. One of ordinary skill would find this method of object detection as taught by Jin to be obvious to try with the targeting system of Alfred. Alfred teaches the ability of utilizing models to determine the movement of the target object (Alfred: Paragraph 0051), therefore the ability to use an AI model for tracking which creates heat maps for tracking the object would be obvious to try as it increases the detection capabilities. For example, if the target is lost by the missile of Alfred, having an AI which can create heatmaps of the surrounding areas and create confidence values of the various objects which would aid in increasing the accuracy in which a target is found.
Regarding claim 19, Alfred, as modified, teaches wherein the estimated location of the target comprises a region of a field of view of the sensors, and (Alfred: Paragraph 0046: “The object in the FoV is tracked using the image processing device 24; Tracking data, generally mapped as coordinates of an excellent point on the target object, is transmitted to the relative geometry estimating device 26.”)
a size of the region changes over time based on a present time and the at least one characteristic of the target (Alfred: Paragraph 0045: “In this can be the objective object, to be traceable. In order to be able to carry out, in particular, fast and comparatively cost-effective image processing, only one subregion of the field of observation is read and evaluated, for example a rectangular subregion, a so-called field of view. At a sufficiently high processing speed and storage capacity, in particular of the computing unit 32, the field of view can also correspond to the field of view.”; Paragraph 0049: “In the simplest case, the target object is a stationary or (momentarily) immobile target, alternatively, the movement of the target or aspects of the target motion can be estimated, particularly using previous tracking data, which is not just a relative motion of the target. missile, for example, compared to the surface of the earth, but also relative to it, considering a movement of the target. Relative geometry estimation device / target filtering device 26 also orders the position of the FoV in the FoR of the sensor 21 to better prevent the target object from leaving the FoV. In this context, ordering means that the FoV position is determined or instructed in the FoR, and therefore ultimately determining which imaging elements 37 of sensor 21 represent the FoV.”).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3), Schneider et al. (WO2008112012A2) and Jin et al. (US 20250054284 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Stewart et al. (US 12189388 B2).
Regarding claim 12, Alfred, as modified, does not teach wherein the targeting operations further comprise: processing, with a first target model that is configured to detect objects using a first type of sensor data, first sensor data of the first type of sensor data; obtaining, as output from the first target model, a first confidence for detection of an object using the first type of sensor data; selecting, based on the first confidence and the second confidence, a first weight for the first type of sensor data and a second weight for the second type of sensor data.
Jin teaches wherein the targeting operations further comprise:
processing, with a first target model that is configured to detect objects using a first type of sensor data, first sensor data of the first type of sensor data; (Jin: Paragraph 0034; Paragraph 0037)
… obtaining, as output from the first target model, a first confidence for detection of an object using the first type of sensor data; (Jin: Paragraph 0037)
… selecting, based on the first confidence and the second confidence, a first weight for the first type of sensor data and a second weight for the second type of sensor data; and (Jin: Paragraph 0006; Paragraph 0059,
Supplemental Note: confidence maps can be created by the use of multiple sensors in which the heatmaps of each can be compared).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Jin with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Alfred in view of Jin however still do not teach processing, with a second target model that is configured to detect objects using a second type of sensor data, second sensor data of the second type of sensor data; obtaining, as output from the second target model, a second confidence for detecting the object using the second type of sensor data; tracking the object by applying the first weight to additional sensor data of the first type of sensor data and applying the second weight to additional sensor data of the second type of sensor data.
Stewart teaches processing, with a second target model that is configured to detect objects using a second type of sensor data, second sensor data of the second type of sensor data; (Stewart: Col. 2, line 58 – 61: “Some IMUs include multiple inertial sensors. As used herein, inertial sensors refer to combinations of one or more accelerometers and gyroscope sensors that provide measurements of specific force and angular rates.”; Col. 4, lines 22 – 24: “the machine learning algorithms may calculate the various values for the fusing of multiple inertial sensors as separate processes that each receive the truth data as an input.”)
… obtaining, as output from the second target model, a second confidence for detecting the object using the second type of sensor data; (Stewart: Col. 7, lines 43 – 55: “the calibration computer 131 may create separate models based on separate comparisons of the feature extraction results, sensor selection, and compensation values against the truth data 139. For example, the calibration processor 133 may create a model for feature extraction by comparing the feature extraction output against the truth data 139. Also, the calibration processor 133 may create a model for sensor selection and weight application by comparing the output of the sensor selection against the truth data 139. Additionally, the calibration processor 133 may create a model for compensating and fusing the weighted measurements by comparing the output of the compensation values against the truth data 139.”)
… tracking the object by applying the first weight to additional sensor data of the first type of sensor data and applying the second weight to additional sensor data of the second type of sensor data (Stewart: Col. 2, line 62 – Col. 3, line 5: “The different sensors in the IMUs may have different performance characteristics based on the materials and the technology used to manufacture the sensors. The differences in materials and implementing technology may introduce various degrees of noise or errors or both into the measurements from the sensors. The sensor measurements and their associated noise and errors are frequently integrated over time when generating navigation estimates. The integration causes accumulated navigation errors that impact resultant navigation solutions that rely on inertial measurements. Thus, reducing the effects of noise and errors on IMU measurements improves resultant navigation solutions.”; Col. 7, line 56 – Col. 8, line 4: “when the calibration computer 131 has created the model, the calibration computer provides the model to the IMU 123 or inertial navigation system 115 for storage as the fusion model 127. During operation of the IMU 123, the inertial sensors 125 may provide measurements to the inertial processor 129, which applies the fusion model 127 to the received inertial measurements. The fusion model 127 directs the inertial processor 129 to extract the features from the measurements, select sensors providing the measurements and apply weights to the measurements, and then apply compensation coefficients to the weighted measurements, before fusing the measurements. The inertial processor 129 may provide the output of the applied fusion model 127 as an inertial navigation solution for the IMU 123 or inertial navigation system 115.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Stewart with a reasonable expectation of success. Stewart teaches the ability to have models which evaluate sensor data for any errors. These are then weighed and impact the final sensor fusion measurements. Stewart teaches this method to reduce the effects of noises and errors from these measurements. Due to this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to combine this function of Stewart with the missile system of Alfred. For example, the missile of Alfred will now be able to gather data from multiple sensors and able to more accurately determine the position of the target as the weighted fusion method as taught by Steward reduces the noise and errors of the captured data.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3), Schneider et al. (WO2008112012A2), Jin et al. (US 20250054284 A1) and Stewart et al. (US 12189388 B2) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Abhyanker et al. (US 20250389520 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Alfred, as modified, does not teach the first type of sensor data comprises thermal sensor data and the second type of sensor data comprises electro-optical sensor data.
Abhyanker teaches the first type of sensor data comprises thermal sensor data and the second type of sensor data comprises electro-optical sensor data (Abhyanker: Paragraph 0496: “Electro-Optical (EO) Systems may use cameras to detect objects based on visible light. When combined with infrared (IR) sensors of the sensor system 2700 for thermal imaging, EO/IR systems may effectively identify hostile drones 2702 approaching a target by their shape during the day and by their heat signatures at night. These systems may also be equipped with tracking capabilities to follow a drone's movement once detected, according to one embodiment.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Abhyanker with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Alfred and Abhyanker teach the ability of using sensors to locate a target. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the different sensors used by both Alfred and Abhyanker to be simple substitutions of one another. For example, the sensors used by Abhyanker can be replaced by the ones used by Alfred and target detection can still be performed.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3), Schneider et al. (WO2008112012A2) and Jin et al. (US 20250054284 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Danielsson et al. (US 20240386579 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Alfred, as modified, teaches at least one characteristic of the target, and
wherein the at least one characteristic of the target comprises one or more of: a speed of the target during tracking of the target, a direction of movement of the target during tracking of the target, a speed capability of the target, and a maneuverability of the target (Alfred: Paragraph 0051: “In the event of a loss of tracking, for example, when the target object leaves the field of view due to unforeseen events, the relative geometry estimating device / target filtering device 26 can again provide a target position estimated with respect to missile 20 to image processing device 24 using existing target motion models, navigation data device 25, and possibly navigation sensor 23, in the form of estimated fixed line-of-sight angles with missile or the like . With this information, the reconstruction of the tracker of the image processing device 24 can be assisted.”).
In sum, Alfred teaches at least one characteristic of the target, and wherein the at least one characteristic of the target comprises one or more of: a speed of the target during tracking of the target, a direction of movement of the target during tracking of the target, a speed capability of the target, and a maneuverability of the target. Alfred however does not teach wherein the targeting operations further comprise: determining the estimated location of the target based on a time at which the target was lost, a present time.
Danielsson teaches wherein the targeting operations further comprise:
determining the estimated location of the target based on a time at which the target was lost, a present time, and (Danielsson: Paragraph 0076: “a determined feature vector may be associated with a time stamp indicating a capturing time of the image frame. Such information may be used by the re-identification component 820 to determine relevance of the feature vector for a track which have been lost in the video sequence. For example, the time stamp may be used to determine an acceptable distance between a location of the selected object and a last instance of a lost track. Moreover, the time stamp may be used to determine relevance of the feature vector when performing long-term tracking.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Danielsson with a reasonable expectation of success. Danielsson teaches the ability to record a time and location of when a target is lost. This would be obvious to try to combine with the tracking system of Alfred to one of ordinary skill in the art. Alfred teaches methods of using a model to estimate the target’s position while adjusting the field-of-view for its sensors to find the target again (Alfred: Paragraph 0051). The ability of having a time stamp of when the target was lost along with its position provides additional information to the tracking system. For example, if the target is lost multiple times, the times and location can be identified which can be used to train the relative geometry estimation device or provide a user with information of how long the target is lost and at which locations.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3) and Schneider et al. (WO2008112012A2) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Patravali et al. (US 20250371721 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Alfred, as modified, teaches wherein the targeting control system is configured to perform targeting operations comprising:
obtaining, from an image sensor, one or more images depicting a target space; (Alfred: Paragraph 0040: “The imaging sensor 21, preferably consisting of a pixel array, eg 1024x1024; 2048x2048; 4096x4096 and corresponds in particular to a conventional 1: 1 image sensor, and provides an image of the field of view in substantially the missile's direction of flight. The image processing device 24 receives information from the imaging sensor 21, which may correspond to a partial FOV image of the imaging sensor 21 or to each individual imaging element 37.”)
… generating output data that, when received by a flight control system of the weapon system, causes the flight control system to operate control surfaces of the weapon system to control a trajectory of the weapon system towards the target (Alfred: Paragraph 0018; Paragraph 0048).
In sum, Alfred teaches wherein the targeting control system is configured to perform targeting operations comprising: obtaining, from an image sensor, one or more images depicting a target space; generating output data that, when received by a flight control system of the weapon system, causes the flight control system to operate control surfaces of the weapon system to control a trajectory of the weapon system towards the target. Alfred however does not teach providing the one or more images to a display device that is in communication with a weapon system; obtaining user input indicating a selection of a target within the target space depicted in the one or more images; obtaining a video feed of the target space; identifying the target within the video feed based on the one or more images and the user input; tracking, by the target system, the target within the video feed.
Patravali teaches providing the one or more images to a display device that is in communication with a weapon system;
obtaining user input indicating a selection of a target within the target space depicted in the one or more images; (Patravali: Paragraph 0028)
obtaining a video feed of the target space; (Patravali: Paragraph 0023)
identifying the target within the video feed based on the one or more images and the user input; (Patravali: Paragraph 0028; Paragraph 0040)
tracking, by the target system, the target within the video feed; and (Patravali: Paragraph 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Patravali with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3), further in view of Elhossini et al. (US 12417710 B2).
Regarding claim 20, Alfred teaches a guided weapon system targeting method comprising: (Alfred: Paragraph 0001)
obtaining, by a computing device and from an image sensor, one or more images depicting a target space, wherein the one or more images comprise at least one of an optical image, a thermal image, or an infrared image; (Alfred: Paragraph 0001)
… generating, by the target system, output data that, when received by a flight control system of the weapon system, causes the flight control system to operate control surfaces of the weapon system to control a trajectory of the weapon system towards the target (Alfred: Paragraph 0018; Paragraph 0048).
In sum, Alfred teaches A guided weapon system targeting method comprising obtaining, by a computing device and from an image sensor, one or more images depicting a target space, wherein the one or more images comprise at least one of an optical image, a thermal image, or an infrared image; generating, by the target system, output data that, when received by a flight control system of the weapon system, causes the flight control system to operate control surfaces of the weapon system to control a trajectory of the weapon system towards the target. Alfred however does not teach presenting, by the computing device, the one or more images on a display device; obtaining, by the computing device, user input indicating a selection of a target within the target space depicted in the one or more images; uploading, by the computing device, the one or more images and the user input to a targeting system of the weapon system; obtaining, by the targeting system, a video feed of the target space; identifying, by the targeting system, the target within the video feed based on the one or more images and the user input; after weapon launch, tracking, by the target system, the target within the video feed.
Elhossini teaches presenting, by the computing device, the one or more images on a display device;
obtaining, by the computing device, user input indicating a selection of a target within the target space depicted in the one or more images;
uploading, by the computing device, the one or more images and the user input to a targeting system of the weapon system; (Elhossini: lines 411 – 418: “In block 1102, a UAV system may be started in a search and rescue mode. In this mode, the pilot of the UAV may be able to command the UAV to autonomously search for a specific target. In block 1104, the pilot may be given the option to either upload an image of the target through a user interface (e.g., a tablet) or by capturing an image of the target using a camera of the UAV. If the pilot selects to use the camera of the UAV, the pilot may show a target image to the camera (block 1110). For example, the pilot may physically place a photo of the target at the front of the camera while the UAV is on the ground. The photo may be placed so that the target is fully visible in the user interface.”,
Supplemental Note: the target selected by the user is communicated with the UAV to perform searching)
obtaining, by the targeting system, a video feed of the target space;
identifying, by the targeting system, the target within the video feed based on the one or more images and the user input;
after weapon launch, tracking, by the target system, the target within the video feed; and (Elhossini: lines 442 – 445: “In block 1140, one or more images of the search area may be captured by the UAV. For instance, at the rate calculated in block 1124, images may be captured by camera. The images may be processed after capture in several stages, including: 1) converting to grey (which may be provided directly by the camera), 2) down-sampling the image, and 3) extracting important pixels that correspond to objects in the image.”; lines 464 – 468: “In block 1168, the pilot may be notified when the target is found. For example, the target position and a live video feed may be transmitted to the pilot on the user interface. If the target is found, the process 1100 may proceed to block 1160, where the UAV will continue hovering above the target while sending the video feed and updated target position. If the target is moving, the UAV may automatically follow the target and update target position.”,
Supplemental Note: once the target is identified, a notification is sent to the user in which a video stream is started to track the target).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Elhossini with a reasonable expectation of success. Elhossini teaches methods of a UAV acquiring information regarding a target being uploaded from a user interface in which the drone is able to travel in a particular area in search of the target. Once the target is identified, a notification is sent to the user interface in which a live video is streamed to the user about the target. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to combine this method of Elhossini with the missile of Alfred. Alfred teaches a guided missile able to track and fly towards a target. Combining with Elhossini allows for a user in communication with the missile to also verify the target identified by the missile as it is traveling. For example, if the target is identified and some obstruction starts blocking the target, the missile be able to automatically follow the target and update the target position. A live video stream being sent to a user on the ground will allow the user to view directly from the missile’s sensor, providing the user with additional information about the trajectory of the missile. This can be used for further optimization of the missile and how it travels to a target location as the user will be able to monitor its actions.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3) and Elhossini et al. (US 12417710 B2) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Patravali et al. (US 20250371721 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Alfred, as modified, does not teach further comprising responsive to identifying the target within the video feed, providing an indication that the targeting system is locked onto the target.
Patravali teaches further comprising responsive to identifying the target within the video feed, (Patravali: Paragraph 0023: “The video processing platform 110 can perform object tracking on a target object in substantially real time as the video content is received by the video processing platform 110 and/or on a target object in video content that was previously received and stored in the video content datastore 168. The single object tracking pipeline 124 analyzes the video content and performs the object tracking.”)
providing an indication that the targeting system is locked onto the target (Patravali: Paragraph 0044: “Once the single object tracking pipeline 124 begins outputting the bounding box information for the tracked object, the user interface 305 can present the frames of the video content with the bounding boxes overlaid on the frame of video content on the user interface 305. The bounding box information generated by the single object tracking pipeline 124 can also be stored in the video content datastore 168 with the frames of video content to enable the video content and the tracking information to be accessed and replayed at a later time.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Patravali with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated for claim 2, Patravali teaches a method of identifying a target by the use of user input to further identify the target. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this to be a simple substitution with the “man-in-the-loop” method as taught by Alfred (Alfred: Paragraph 0006). Both methods teach the use of user intervention to further specify the target based on sensor data, therefore both functions of Alfred and Patravali are nothing than a simple substitution. Furthermore Patravali teaches the ability to track the object by using a video feed and provide a bounding box around the target. To one of ordinary skill in the art, this would be a use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way when combined with the missile system of Alfred. Currently, Alfred teaches detecting the target based on the captured images, therefore the ability to track using a video feed with a bounding box around the target improves the ability to track the object. For example, continuously running a video feed on the target provides more information about the target than just images. Alfred also does not specify the rate at which the images are being taken therefore, a video feed capturing multiple frames per second would be an improvement of the current detection methods.
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfred et al. (ES2753643T3), Elhossini et al. (US 12417710 B2) and Patravali et al. (US 20250371721 A1) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Teetzel et al. (US 20220120533 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Alfred, as modified, does not teach wherein the image sensor is mounted to a drone.
Patravali teaches wherein the image sensor is mounted to a drone, and (Patravali: Paragraph 0017: “Vision-based tracking techniques typically utilize a target bounding box in the first frame of the video content to crop a template that facilitate tracking of the target object in subsequent frames of the video content. Such vision-based tracking techniques utilize various computer vision techniques, such as but not limited to correlation filters, to track the target object across the frames of the video content.”; Paragraph 0022: “The video processing platform 110 is configured to receive video content captured by a video source 115. The video source 115 includes a recording unit 119 and a data transmission unit 117. The recording unit 119 is configured to obtain video content from one or more video cameras (not shown). The video cameras may be disposed on one or more manned aerial vehicles and/or UAVs. The video cameras may be part of a video surveillance system that includes cameras distributed across an area to be monitored, such as but not limited to a retail establishment, one or more roadways, a home or other residential building, a business or educational campus, and/or other areas in which tracking of people, vehicles, animals, and/or other objects over a series of frames of video content is needed. The recording unit 119 receives and buffers the video content received from the video cameras in a memory of the video source 115.”,
Supplemental Note: multiple cameras are used to acquire video and image information. A drone is a type of unmanned aerial vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Patravali with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated for claim 2, Patravali teaches a method of identifying a target by a user input to further identify the target. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this to be a simple substitution with the “man-in-the-loop” method as taught by Alfred (Alfred: Paragraph 0006). Both methods teach the use of user intervention to further specify the target based on sensor data, therefore both functions of Alfred and Patravali are nothing than a simple substitution. Furthermore Patravali teaches the ability to track the object by using a video feed which can be provided from multiple cameras on various devices such as UAVs. To one of ordinary skill in the art, this would be a use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way when combined with the missile system of Alfred. Currently, Alfred teaches detecting the target based on the captured images, therefore the ability to track using a video feed improves the ability to track the object. Gathering video from other devices within the vicinity of the target, provides for additional sources used for verifying the target. For example, continuously running a video feed on the target provides more information about the target than just images. Alfred also does not specify the rate at which the images are being taken therefore, a video feed capturing multiple frames per second would be an improvement of the current detection methods. Alfred in view of Patravali however still do not teach wherein the display device is a viewfinder of a shoulder launcher for the weapon system.
Teetzel teaches wherein the display device is a viewfinder of a shoulder launcher for the weapon system (Teetzel: Paragraph 0002: “This application discloses a fire control system for projectile weapons and, more particularly, a fire control system with zoom optics and high-resolution display… The terms “firearm” and “artillery” as used herein are intended to encompass all manner of weaponry, which may be handheld weapons, shoulder launched weapons, and crew served weapon platforms, including without limitation, guns such as handguns and rifles, heavy caliber guns, grenade launchers, cannons, howitzers, mortars, rocket launchers, shoulder launched rocket and missile delivery systems, and the like.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Teetzel with a reasonable expectation of success. Teetzel teaches the ability of providing a display device for a shoulder launched weapon system which is able to display targets. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this to be a simple substitution with the “man-in-the-loop” method as taught by Alfred (Alfred: Paragraph 0006). For example, a user being able to select a target as taught by Alfred would have to receive data regarding the target information. A screen would be able to provide that information for the user and allow the user to select the targets. Furthermore, Teetzel teaches the ability of the shoulder launcher to be used to launch a missile. Alfred teaches a missile therefore, one of ordinary skill would find the shoulder launcher of Teetzel as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of firing the missile.
Regarding claim 23, Alfred, as modified, does not teach wherein the image sensor comprises a first image sensor, and the video feed is generated by a different, second image sensor.
Patravali teaches wherein the image sensor comprises a first image sensor, and the video feed is generated by a different, second image sensor (Patravali: Paragraph 0017; Paragraph 0022: ,
Supplemental Note: multiple cameras are used to acquire video and image information. The image information is from the frames of the video which are analyzed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Alfred with the teachings of Patravali with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 22 as both claim the same function of having various image sensors and various devices (i.e. a drone with an image sensor) and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section Specification of the REMARKS, filed 08/04/2026, with respect to specification objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The specification objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see section Claim Objection of the REMARKS, filed 08/04/2026, with respect to the claim objections of claims 1 – 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 1 – 3 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see section Claim Interpretation of the REMARKS, filed 08/04/2026, with respect to the claim interpretation have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive. The specification objection has been withdrawn. Examiner states the terms “first target model” and “second target model” within claim 12 are stated to be “configured to detect objects using a first (or second) type of sensor data”. There is no structural limitation stating how the first target model and second target model are able to perform this configuration. The claim limitations are merely claiming function and not structure. Independent claim 1 does state: “a data store in electrical communication with the targeting control system and storing a target model comprising an artificial intelligence (AI) model trained to detect a particular type of object within a set of sensor data from one or more particular types of sensors”, however claim 12 is dependent upon claim 9, which is dependent upon independent claim 4. Neither claims 9 or 4 state that the target models comprise of AI to perform their function.
Applicant’s arguments, see section Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103 of the REMARKS, filed 08/04/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. prior art rejection of claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 14 – 17 and 19 have been considered but are not fully persuasive.
Applicant states claim 1 has been amended to state: “an artificial intelligence (AI) model trained to detect a particular type of object within a set of sensor data from one or more particular types of sensors and to provide output data comprising navigation instructions that are decipherable by the flight control system”. Applicant states how Jin discloses a machine learning system that outputs two-dimensional “heatmaps” of confidence scores. These are not navigational instructions and cannot be combined with Alfred’s to decipher these heat maps into steering controls for steering the weapon.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Alfred teaches a missile that is able to receive navigational data regarding a target object such as sight lines and status or quality of an estimation result (Alfred: Paragraph 0044). The ability to detect an estimation result of a target object can be broadly interpreted to correspond to the heatmaps determining an object is within an area as taught by Jin. The heatmaps can provide the claimed “navigation instructions” as it determines where the target object may be, thus positional information of where the missile is to navigate to. Using this information, the missile can be directed (steered) to the target object when in combination with the system of Alfred.
Applicant further states regarding claim 4 that the prior art of Cano does not fully disclose all of the features regarding “a power system comprising one or more capacitors housed within the weapon system body and configured to supply electrical power to the targeting system and the flight control system through a regulated power bus, the one or more capacitors electrically connected to a charging terminal on the weapon system body, wherein the power system is configured to charge the one or more capacitors through the charging terminal”. Examiner agrees, however through further search and consideration, a rejection has been made in view of Schneider (WO 2008112012 A2).
Applicant further states the rejections based on Alfred in view of Cano are improper. Applicant states regarding claims 1, 4, 5 and 6, Cano is improperly mapping the “hybrid power system 200” and “graphine supercapacitor banks” to the power systems recited within the claims. The combination of Cano’s drone with Alfred’s missile is improper as there is no rational connection to why the missile system of Alfred would add the “hybrid power system”. Applicant states the discussion stated modifying Alfred with propellers and actuators, not a different kind of power system. The combination would also change Alfred’s principal operation of the rocket propelled missile and not a drone. Applicant states Alfred would understand a rocket does not use propellers for propulsion and the rejections fails to explain how such a modification would be achieved without changing the fundamental operation of the rocket propelled missile. Examiner agrees and states the prior art of Cano is no longer being used to teach the power systems recited within the claims of 1, 4, 5 and 6. Through further search and consideration however, a rejection has been made in view of Schneider (WO 2008112012 A2).
Applicant further states regarding the amended claim 20, that the prior art of Patravali does not teach the limitation of “uploading, by the computing device, the one or more images and the user input to a targeting system of the weapon system”. Examiner agrees, however through further search and consideration, a rejection has been made in view of Elhossini (US 12417710 B2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665