DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batey (US 9816750 B2) in view of Dain (US 20090113899 A1).
Regarding claim 21:
Batey discloses a dilution refrigerator (abstract) comprising:
an outer vacuum chamber #5 (col. 7, L 3-5) comprising substantially planar surfaces (see Fig. 1 of Batey Reproduced and Annotated below) in a plane parallel to a floor supporting the dilution refrigerator, wherein:
the outer vacuum chamber comprises an opening #6 in a portion of a first surface of the substantially planar surfaces, the opening extending through the outer vacuum chamber from an exterior of the outer vacuum chamber to at least one internal volume disposed inside the outer vacuum chamber (outer vacuum vessel #5 has a central port 6 (col. 7: L 3-7) as an “access opening” in a “top surface” of outer vacuum vessel #5. As seen in Figure 1 annotated below, Batey’s central port 6 (encircled) in a “top surface” of outer vacuum vessel 5 provides access to the interior of cryostat #1. Central port #6 clearly extends through the outer vacuum chamber #5).
Fig. 1 of Batey Reproduced and Annotated
Batey does not disclose wherein the substantially planar surfaces are arranged such that the outer vacuum chamber has to have a first rectangular cross section.
In other words, the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is in respect with the shape of the refrigerator.
However, it has held that the particular shape of a structure is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed invention was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, Dain discloses a refrigerator (Fig. 1) comprising an outer chamber #10 comprising substantially planar surfaces arranged such that the outer chamber has to have a first rectangular cross section (see at least Fig. 2, [0008]).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Batey with the substantially planar surfaces arranged such that the outer vacuum chamber has to have a first rectangular cross section; in a similar manner as taught by Dain.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided a refrigerator that is compact, easy to manufacture and assemble as suggested by Dain ([0008]).
Regarding claim 22:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses a sample stage #20 housed within the at least one internal volume, wherein the opening is configured to provide access to the sample stage through the outer vacuum chamber (col. 7, L 66 – col. 8, L 12).
Regarding claim 23:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses one or more radiation shields #40-41 housed within the outer vacuum chamber, and wherein the opening extends through portions #26 of the one or more radiation shields proximate the sample stage (via #25 & #26; col. 7, L 66 – col. 8, L 27).
Regarding claim 24:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein the portions #26 of the one or more radiation shields proximate the sample stage are removable and/or slidable to provide the opening extending through the portions (col. 8, L 14-27).
Regarding claim 25:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein the first surface of the substantially planar surfaces is disposed within a plane (see vertical plane along #5; Fig. 1) perpendicular to the plane parallel to the floor supporting the dilution refrigerator (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 26:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein the substantially planar surfaces are arranged to form a rectangular prism (see rejection of claim 21: the shape of the refrigerator is modified to be a cuboid).
Regarding claim 27:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein the outer vacuum chamber has a second rectangular cross section in a plane perpendicular to a floor supporting the dilution refrigerator (see rejection of claim 21: the shape of the refrigerator is modified to be a cuboid).
Regarding claim 28:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein the first surface of the outer vacuum chamber is disposed in a plane parallel to the second rectangular cross section (see rejection of claim 21: the shape of the refrigerator is modified to be a cuboid).
Regarding claim 29:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein the opening comprises a hermetic opening (col. 7: L 3-11).
Regarding claim 30:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations; except for wherein the opening comprises a hinged door.
Nonetheless, Dain further teaches wherein the refrigerator comprises a door #41 having a piano hinge 45 to allow the door to move for access purposes ([0028]).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Batey as modified with the opening comprising a hinged door; in a similar manner as taught by Dain.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided a reliable and easy-to-use opening. Other benefits include easy installation.
Regarding claim 31:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the opening comprises a load lock.
Nonetheless, openings provided with load locks are well known in the art (official notice).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Batey as modified with the opening provided with a load lock.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided a secured locking mechanism for the opening so as to provide control access to the refrigerator.
Regarding claim 32:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein the outer vacuum chamber comprises: a first section #11; and a second section #12 suspended from the first section (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 33:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein the first and/or second section of the outer vacuum chamber are configured to be at least partially removed from the dilution refrigerator to provide access to an interior of the outer vacuum chamber (with appropriate tools provided, this can be achieved).
Regarding claim 34:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses an external system #2 configured to lift and/or lower the first and/or second section of the outer vacuum chamber (#2 can be used to lift and/or lower the first and/or second section of the outer vacuum chamber).
Regarding claim 35:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein the outer vacuum chamber further comprises a third section (see uppermost section of #5, upon which #2 is laying) suspended from the second section (see Fig. 1: the aforementioned section is structurally suspended from #12).
Regarding claim 36:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein the opening is disposed in the third section of the outer vacuum chamber (see Fig. 1 of Batey above).
Regarding claim 37:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein both the first section and the second section have rectangular cross sections in planes parallel to the first rectangular cross section (see rejection of claim 21: the shape of the refrigerator is modified to be a cuboid).
Regarding claim 38:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
Batey further discloses wherein the outer vacuum chamber is configured to fit within a server rack container (the outer vacuum chamber can fit within a server rack container larger than its size).
Regarding claims 39-40:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations.
The limitations “wherein the server rack container is configured to integrate with commercial server rack infrastructure” and “wherein the server rack container comprises an external housing comprising an integrated horizontal surface” are directed to the server rack. However, the server rack has not been claimed as part of the invention. Thus, Batey as modified is considered to meet all the limitations.
For sake of completeness, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Batey as modified with the outer vacuum chamber fitted in a server rack container with the aforementioned claimed limitations.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have allowed the refrigerator to provide the cryogenic temperatures needed for superconducting qubits in quantum computers to maintain their quantum state.
Regarding claims 41-44:
Batey as modified discloses all the limitations (see at least rejection of claim 21 above); but does not disclose wherein the wherein opening include four substantially right angle corners.
Nonetheless, Dain further teaches wherein the refrigerator comprises and opening (covered by door #41); said opening including four substantially right angle corners (see at least Fig. 7A; [0028]).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Batey as modified with the opening comprising four substantially right angle corners; in a similar manner as taught by Dain.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided facilitated installation of the door while providing better structural integration. Other benefits include easy manufacturing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/26/2026 have been considered but are moot because in view of the new ground of rejection set forth in this office action.
The claims have been rejected as being unpatentable over Batey (US 9816750 B2) in view of Dain (US 20090113899 A1). See elaborated rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763