DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the aforementioned Application filed September 12, 2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 3, April 22, May, 18, and September 10, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-16, and 18-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20230259138; hereinafter Chen), in view of Pell et al. (US 20230210039; hereinafter Pell, of record in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1,
Chen teaches
An autonomous mowing vehicle (Chen: Paragraph [0104]) comprising:
a camera system comprising a plurality of cameras positioned around the autonomous mowing vehicle; (Chen: Fig. 1, Paragraph [0095]-[0096], [0100]; “The camera assembly 120 may include a single camera or two (multiple) cameras.”)
a mowing deck comprising one or more motorized blades for mowing plants in an environment; (Chen: Paragraph [0095]; “The smart mower 110 includes a cutting blade 112 for cutting grass; a body 113 to which the cutting blade 112 is mounted;”) and
a control system (Chen: Paragraph [0095]; “...a processor electrically connected to the camera assembly 120 and the IMU 122 and used for calculating and processing information collected by the camera assembly 120 and the IMU 122; and a memory for storing a control program 145 that controls the operation of the smart mower 110. The processor may call the control program 145 to fuse the image information about the environment around the mower collected by the camera assembly 120 and the pose information data of the mower collected by the IMU 122 to achieve the SLAM of the mower and generate a corresponding navigation or mowing action instruction according to a preset logic and real-time data to control the behavior of the smart mower 110.”) configured to:
capture image data from a camera system of an autonomous mowing vehicle; (Chen: Paragraph [0095]; “a camera assembly 120 for collecting image information about the environment around the mower; ... The processor may call the control program 145 to fuse the image information about the environment around the mower collected by the camera assembly 120 and the pose information data of the mower collected by the IMU 122 to achieve the SLAM of the mower and generate a corresponding navigation or mowing action instruction according to a preset logic and real-time data to control the behavior of the smart mower 110.”)
detect an object in an environment surrounding the autonomous mowing vehicle based on the image data; (Chen: Paragraph [0006], [0121])
generate a virtual buffer for the object, the virtual buffer positioned around the object; (Chen: Paragraph [0121]; The system categorizes detected obstacles into different categories and establishes threshold distances that extend from the detected obstacle based on the assigned category.)
...
Chen does not teach the generation of virtual safety bubbles which act as distance thresholds for detecting collisions.
However in the same field of endeavor, Pell teaches
...
generate a plurality of virtual safety bubbles around the autonomous mowing vehicle based on a configuration of the autonomous mowing vehicle; (Pell: Paragraph [0087], [0126]) and
perform, via at least the mowing deck, autonomous operation of the mowing vehicle to perform one or more landscaping actions in the environment while evading breach of the plurality of virtual safety bubbles by the virtual buffer of the object. (Pell: Paragraph [0029]; “When an object is determined to have breached, i.e., is within the virtual safety bubble, the control system may terminate or cease operations, and/or may enact other preventive measures. Preventive measures include rerouting the farming machine around the obstacle, changing a configuration of the farming machine, requesting input from an operator or a manager, etc.”; [0153]; When a breach of the safety bubble is detected, one of the preventative measures the machine may respond with is rerouting the machine in order to avoid collision with the obstacle. By rerouting the machine, the system is moving the machine so that the obstacle is no longer within the safety bubble. The machine is then controlled to travel on a path that avoids the obstacle thereby evading any further breach of the safety bubble.)
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous mower obstacle detection system of Chen with the virtual safety bubble generation of Pell for the benefit of autonomously performing agricultural tasks in the environment safely. (Pell: Paragraph [0004])
Regarding Claim 2,
Chen, in view of Pell, teaches
The autonomous mowing vehicle of claim 1, the control system further configured to:
generate a spatial representation of the autonomous mowing vehicle based on the image data, wherein the spatial representation spatially describes the object in relation to the autonomous mowing vehicle. (Chen: Paragraph [0122])
Regarding Claim 3,
Chen, in view of Pell, teaches
The autonomous mowing vehicle of claim 2, the control system further configured to:
applying one or more machine-learning models to classify an object type of a plurality of object types for the object based on the image data, wherein the virtual buffer for the object is based on the object type classified by the one or more machine- learning models. (Chen: Paragraph [0120], [0125])
Regarding Claim 4,
Chen, in view of Pell, teaches
The autonomous mowing vehicle of claim 3, wherein the plurality of object types includes persons and inanimate objects, (Chen: Paragraph [0121]; “As shown in FIG. 14, different obstacle avoidance strategies are adopted according to categories of obstacles. If the detected obstacles are fallen leaves, branches, pine nuts, and even animal wastes that are cuttable by the blade 112 and naturally degradable, the smart mower 110 may ignore the obstacles and travel according to the original path. Although the animal wastes are likely to foul the blade 112 and chassis of the smart mower 110, similar to soil, the dirt is more or less cleaned during frequent cuts, so avoidance is not required. If the detected obstacle is an animal, such as a person, a bird, a squirrel, or a dog, a first threshold distance D1 and a second threshold distance D2 may be preset.”)
wherein responsive to classifying the object as a person, generating the virtual buffer for the object having a first size, (Chen: Paragraph [0121]; “If the detected obstacle is an animal, such as a person, a bird, a squirrel, or a dog, a first threshold distance D1 and a second threshold distance D2 may be preset.”) and
wherein responsive to classifying the object as an inanimate object, generating the virtual buffer for the object having a second size smaller than the first size. (Chen: Paragraph [0121]; “If the detected obstacle is an immovable (permanent) and large-volume item such as a tree or garden furniture (for example, a bench or a swing), the smart mower 110 may adopt a short-distance avoidance strategy, that is, slow down and approach the obstacle as close as possible to maximize the mowing coverage, for example, bypass the obstacle at a distance of 0.1 m and travel, or when the smart mower 110 is equipped with a crash sensor, a slight collision at a slow speed does not cause any damage to these large-volume items, so avoidance at the smallest distance can be achieved by the crash sensor.”)
Regarding Claim 5,
Chen, in view of Pell, teaches
The autonomous mowing vehicle of claim 1, wherein the control system being configured to generate the plurality of virtual safety bubbles based on the configuration of the autonomous mowing vehicle comprises being configured to:
generate an outer virtual safety bubble; (Pell: Paragraph [0132], FIG. 4B (Element 420)) and
responsive to breach of the outer virtual safety bubble, trigger one or more warnings to distance the object from the autonomous mowing vehicle. (Chen: Paragraph [0121]; “When the distance D between the smart mower 110 and the detected animal obstacle is less than or equal to the first threshold distance D1 and greater than the second threshold distance D2, the smart mower 110 slows down and sends out a warning sound to prompt the animal such as the person, the bird, the squirrel, or the dog to notice the smart mower 110 and actively avoid the smart mower 110.”)
The motivation to combine Chen and Pell is the same as stated for Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 6,
Chen, in view of Pell, teaches
The autonomous mowing vehicle of claim 5, wherein the control system being configured to trigger one or more warnings comprises being configured to:
the outer virtual safety bubble is configured to trigger, as the one or more warnings, an audio cue by a speaker or a visual cue by a light system. (Chen: Paragraph [0121]; “When the distance D between the smart mower 110 and the detected animal obstacle is less than or equal to the first threshold distance D1 and greater than the second threshold distance D2, the smart mower 110 slows down and sends out a warning sound to prompt the animal such as the person, the bird, the squirrel, or the dog to notice the smart mower 110 and actively avoid the smart mower 110.”)
Regarding Claim 8,
Chen, in view of Pell, teaches
The autonomous mowing vehicle of claim 1, wherein the control system being configured to generate the plurality of virtual safety bubbles based on the configuration of the autonomous mowing vehicle comprises being configured to:
generate an inner virtual safety bubble during actuation of the mowing deck of the autonomous mowing vehicle; (Pell: Paragraph [0132], FIG. 4B (Element 410)) and
responsive to breach of the inner virtual safety bubble, terminate actuation of the mowing deck. (Pell: Paragraph [0089])
The motivation to combine Chen and Pell is the same as stated for Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 9,
Chen, in view of Pell, teaches
The autonomous mowing vehicle of claim 1, wherein the control system being configured to perform autonomous operation of the mowing vehicle comprises being configured to:
detect a potential breach by the virtual buffer of the plurality of virtual safety bubbles based on a trajectory of the autonomous mowing vehicle; (Pell: Paragraph [0090], [0153]; “The control system 210 detects an obstacle on the active path 1145. As noted, the control system 210 may utilize a virtual safety bubble to detect when obstacles have breached the virtual safety bubble. In response to detecting the obstacle has breached the virtual safety bubble, the controls system 210 stops 1150 operations (or enact other preventive measures)”)
responsive to detecting the potential breach, modify the configuration of the autonomous mowing vehicle to evade the breach of the plurality of virtual safety bubbles; (Pell: Paragraph [0029]; “Preventive measures include rerouting the farming machine around the obstacle, changing a configuration of the farming machine, requesting input from an operator or a manager, etc.”; [0153]; When a breach of the safety bubble is detected, one of the preventative measures the machine may respond with is rerouting the machine in order to avoid collision with the obstacle. By rerouting the machine, the system is moving the machine so that the obstacle is no longer within the safety bubble. The machine is then controlled to travel on a path that avoids the obstacle thereby evading any further breach of the safety bubble.) and
modify the plurality of virtual safety bubbles around the autonomous mowing vehicle based on the modified configuration of the autonomous mowing vehicle. (Pell: Paragraph [0087]; “...the safety bubble generation module 212 may determine a shape and/or a size of the virtual safety bubble based on whether the farming machine 100 is in a first configuration for navigating to an operating environment or in a second configuration for performing a treatment plan. The safety bubble generation module 212 may dynamically adjust the virtual safety bubble based on sensor data. For example, the safety bubble generation module 212 may increase the virtual safety bubble size in response to a sunset darkening the operating environment.”)
The motivation to combine Chen and Pell is the same as stated for Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 10, the claim is analogous to Claim 1 limitations with the following additional limitations:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium... (Pell: Claim 11)
Therefore the claim is rejected under the same premise as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is analogous to Claim 2 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is analogous to Claim 3 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is analogous to Claim 4 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is analogous to Claim 5 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 16, the claim is analogous to Claim 6 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is analogous to Claim 8 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is analogous to Claim 9 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20, the claim is analogous to Claim 1 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 1.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Pell, as applied to claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-16, and 18-20, above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US 20110166705; hereinafter Anderson).
Regarding Claim 7,
Chen, in view of Pell, teaches
The autonomous mowing vehicle of claim 5,...
Chen, in view of Pell, does not teach a system for initiating a timer once the safety bubble is breached.
However in the same field of endeavor, Anderson teaches
...wherein the control system being configured to generate the plurality of virtual safety bubbles based on the configuration of the autonomous mowing vehicle comprises being further configured to:
responsive to breach of the outer virtual safety bubble, initiate a timer; (Anderson: Paragraph [0083]) and
responsive to expiration of the timer, terminate autonomous operation of the autonomous mowing vehicle. (Anderson: Paragraph [0083])
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous mowing system of Chen, in view of Pell, with the timer of Anderson for the benefit of preventing damage to the mowing blades by allowing enough time for the blades to stop spinning before the mower reaches an obstacle. (Anderson: Paragraph [0083])
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is analogous to Claim 7 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 7.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Pell, as applied to claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-16, and 18-20, above, and further in view of Wolowelsky et al. (US 20160129593; hereinafter Wolowelsky).
Regarding Claim 11,
Chen, in view of Pell, teaches
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10,...
Chen, in view of Pell, does not teach a camera system capable of a 360-degree panoramic view.
However in the same field of endeavor, Wolowelsky teaches
...wherein capturing the image data comprises capturing images from stereoscopic pairs of cameras positioned around the autonomous mowing vehicle to capture a 360-degree panoramic view of the environment surrounding the autonomous mowing vehicle. (Wolowelsky: Paragraph [0077])
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous mowing system of Chen, in view of Pell, with the panoramic camera of Wolowelsky for the benefit of enhancing the field of view for the local environment sensors is directed generally in the plane in which the robot moves. (Wolowelsky: Paragraph [0077])
Conclusion
/P.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663