DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claim 1 has been amended by having claims 5-7 incorporated into them. Claim 14 has been amended by having claims 18-21 incorporated into them. As such, claim 5-7 and 18-21 have been canceled. Claims 2-4, 8-13, 15-17, and 22-26 are as previously presented. Claims 1-4, 8-17, and 22-26 are presently examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 10-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US20180277802A1) and further in view of Reber (US20100221590A1), Olsson (US20130164567A1), and Aston (US20140210416A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun discloses an energy storage power supply ([0001], Sun), comprising: a housing (1001 + 1002) having an accommodation chamber (1002) ([0031], fig. 11a, Sun), the accommodation chamber being provided with a positioning portion (1109) ([0108-0111], fig. 11a Sun);
Sun continues to teach the housing comprises a first casing and a second casing (1001 + 1002) [fig. 11A, Sun], wherein: the first casing and the second casing are detachably connected to each other and define a accommodation chamber [0107, 0151, Sun discloses using clips to connect the top and bottom. One would understand that the clips can allow for the top to additionally be removed]; and the positioning portion is disposed at the first casing [0144, fig. 18c and 20c, Sun].
In regards to the limitation of “the positioning portion is integrally formed on the first casing”. The examiner notes that "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.", see MPEP 2144.04.V.
As such, prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that the “positioning portion” was integrally formed on the first casing as a matter of engineering choice.
Sun continues to teach a plurality of cells (101) ([0108-0109, fig. 11, Sun), wherein each of the plurality of cells has a first end and a second end opposite to the first end (fig. 11c, Sun), the second end of the cell being provided with two electrodes (1114(i)p/1114(i)n) ([0109-0110], fig. 11, Sun), and the first end of the cell being accommodated in the positioning portion (fig. 18C, Sun).
a split support (1202) disposed on the second ends of the plurality of cells [fig. 11a, Sun], the split support having a plurality of through holes (1206) ([0112-0120], fig. 12a-c and e, Sun), the plurality of through holes positionally corresponding to the electrodes of the plurality of cells ([0112-0120], fig. 12a-c, Sun); and each of the plurality of through holes fitted with the second end of the corresponding cell [fig. 20D and 20E], a busbar (1402) configured to electrically connect the plurality of cells ([0123-0128], fig. 13-14, Sun); and a positive and negative post (1003.1 and 1003.2; “port”) configured to connect the energy storage power supply to an electrical device or a charging device ([0005, 0094, 0107, 0150] fig. 10, Sun).
Sun annotated fig. 12b, Sun
Sun additionally teaches that the “split support” (1202) is connected to a middle housing that is attached to the lower housing [0114, Sun]. As well as a displaying unit to display working conditions of the battery pack [0059, Sun]. Along with an energy storage power supply, configured to display a quantity of electricity of the energy storage power supply [0103, Sun].
However, Sun is silent to 1) wherein the split support is provided with screws and wherein the first casing has screw holes with threads corresponding to the screws, the split support being detachably connected to the first casing by screwing the screws of the split support in the screw holes of the first casing. 2) a panel disposed on the housing and configured to display a quantity of electricity of the energy storage power supply. 3) the port being formed on the panel. 4) each of the plurality of through holes being interference-fitted with the second end of the cell.
In regards to 1) Reber discloses a battery pack comprising a and electrode with a first and second end provided in a first and second cell holder (6, 7) containing circumferential rims (12, “positioning portion”/ “split support” respectively) [0055-0060, fig. 2, Reber]. Each holder contains two support sleeves (28, 29) that are screw connected to one another [0066-0069, fig. 1, Reber]. Allowing for a “split support” (7) to be detachably connected to the “first casing” (6) by screwing the screws (38) of the split support in the screw holes (39) of the first casing [0067, 0069, fig. 2, Reber].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that the split support was provided with screws that screwed into screw holes of the first casing. As the use of screws and screw holes are known method for mechanically connecting two objects together [0069, Reber].
In regards to 2) and 3), Olsson discloses a battery pack with enhanced performance and safety feature for monitoring and controlling operations of the battery [abstract, Olsson]. One of these features is a display status indictor that visually displays conditions of the battery on the surface of the battery pack [0071, 0138, 0157, Olson]. Additionally, they discuss a port (3102) on the outer surface (“panel”) of the energy storage power supply [0213, fig. 31A, Olsson]. Where the port to power sources that can either receive or deliver energy is formed on an outer surface (“panel”) of the power energy storage device [[0213, fig. 31A, Olsson].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that one have one of the panels disposed on the surface of the energy storage power supply could display the conditions of the plurality of battery cells on the surface of the energy storage power supply. Doing so provides a way to visually convey to the user one or more condition elements of the battery [0157, Olsson]. One of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that a panel on the surface of the housing contained a port. Doing so can provide one with an access point to either charge or discharge the battery [0213, Olsson].
In regards to 4) Reber teaches of circumferential rims (12, “through holes”) that wraps around the circumference of each end of the battery cell and is then mechanically secured [0014-0015, 0057, fig. 2].
Aston teaches that a power generation system with a plurality of battery cells within a plurality of channels (324, “through holes”) are secured together via a securing mechanism (342) such as interference fitting the plurality of battery cells within the plurality of channels [0057-0058, fig. 3, Aston].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to have the through holes be interference-fitted with the second end of the corresponding cell. Doing so is a known means for securing a plurality of battery cells within a housing apparatus [0015, 0057, Reber; 0057-0058, Aston].
Regarding claim 4, Sun discloses the energy storage power supply, wherein the plurality of cells are each a cylindrical cell (fig. 11B, Sun), and wherein the positioning portion (1109) is a positioning groove (fig. 20C, Sun), the cylindrical cell being vertically accommodated in the positioning groove (fig. 18C and 20E, Sun).
Regarding claim 10, Sun discloses the energy storage power supply, wherein the plurality of through holes (1206) expose the electrodes of the plurality of cells [fig. 13, 18c, 20g, Sun].
Regarding claim 11, Sun discloses the energy storage power supply, wherein the support (1202) s further configured to position the electrodes of the plurality of cells [fig. 12e, Sun].
Annotated fig. 12e, Sun
Regarding claim 12, Sun discloses the energy storage power supply, wherein a plurality of busbars are provided [0124, Sun], the plurality of busbars being arranged above the plurality of through holes and configured to connect electrodes of opposite polarities of adjacent cells among the plurality of cells [0124, fig. 13-14, Sun].
Regarding claim 13, Sun discloses the energy storage power device, further comprising a collection plate (1106) electrically connected to the busbar [0123, fig. 11a and 13, Sun], the collection plate being configured to collect state information of the plurality of cells [0092-0096, 0123, Sun].
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shimizu (US20110076521A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sun discloses the energy storage power supply, wherein the positioning portion is a positioning groove [fig. 20C, Sun], the plurality of cells being accommodated in the positioning groove [fig. 18C and 20C, Sun]; and wherein the energy storage power supply further comprises a reinforcement rib (1822/1824) [0145, fig. 20D, Sun], the reinforcement rib connecting a side wall of the positioning portion with a side wall of the accommodation chamber [0145, Sun].
Modified Sun is silent to the use of a colloid being used to fix the position of the cell.
However, Shimizu discloses a power supply accommodated in a case (10) [0042, fig. 30, Shimizu], which a positioning groove (38) accommodating the unit cell with adhesive (“colloid”) [0056, fig. 4, Shimizu], and a support provided with a plurality of limiting grooves (56) [0084, Shimizu].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that an adhesive (“colloid”) was used to fix the position of the cell in the positioning groove. Doing so can allow for one to fit and fix a unit cell in a designated space [0056, Shimizu].
Regarding claim 3, modified Sun is silent to the cells being prismatic cells and the positioning grooves being in a square shape.
However, Shimizu discloses the use of prismatic cells [0004, 0039-0040, Shimizu], wherein the cells are accommodated in a square shaped (38) positioning groove (16) [0042, 0049, fig. 4, Shimizu].
Prior to the effective filing date, one would find it obvious to modify Sun such that it utilized and was fitted for the prismatic cells as they are a known secondary battery shape capable of being used in plurality to make battery packs with a reasonable expectation of similar results [0004, fig. 1-2, Shimizu].
One of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that they may substitute the type of battery in an energy storage power supply from either a cylindrical or prismatic cells and still except the energy storage power supply to function with reasonable success, see MPEP 2144
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hurst (US2008088276A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sun discloses the use of an inverter to switch between a low and high voltage state [0062, Sun]. The inverter being located on a PCB board in the housing [0132, fig. 15, Sun].
However, modified Sun is silent to an inverter received in the housing and electrically connected to the plurality of cells, the inverter being configured to convert a direct current generated by the plurality of cells into an alternating current.
However, Hurst discloses power supply module wherein an inverter electrically connected to the plurality of cells is used to direct current into alternating current [0116, 0118, Hurst].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that include an inverter. Doing so would allow for one to convert direct current into alternating current [0116, Hurst]. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill within the arts would further find it obvious to modify Sun such that the inverter was received in the housing as a matter of obvious to try, see MPEP 2143.1.E. The inverter may be located either inside or outside of the housing, either way will still result in the inverter being able to convert DC into AC. However, if the invert was received in the housing then it would have protection from outside elements.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Totman (WO2022069910A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Sun is explicitly silent to the electrodes of each of the plurality of cell passing through one of the plurality of through holes.
However, Totman discloses a battery module comprising a housing and a plurality of battery cells with a positioning portion (110) and a support (109) provided with through holes (207) [0047, fig. 2, 11, 13, Totman], wherein the electrode of each cell passes through the through holes [fig. 11, 13, Totman].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that the cell passed through the through holes as depicted in Totman. Doing so is a known method to insure that the cell is held in a sealing tight fashion [0044, Totman].
Annotated Fig. 13, Totman
Claim(s) 27, 32, and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US20180277802A1) and in view of Reber (US20100221590A1), Olsson (US20130164567A1), and Aston (US20140210416A1).
Regarding claim 27, all of the limitations of claim 1 are present in claim 27 and are applied to the rejection of claim 27.
Claim 27 has the additional limitation of, a handle connected to the housing.
Sun as modified in claim 1 is silent to a handle connected to the housing.
However, Olsson discloses an embodiment in which an attachment or handle structure is attached to the housing of a battery pack system [0179, fig. 19, Olsson].
One or ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that incorporating a handle structure onto the housing of a battery pack system provides an attachment that allows one to hold the object. Doing so would allow for improve one’s handling and transportation of the battery pack system.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that energy storage power supply had a handle structure. Doing so is a matter of 1) a mere change in shape of the housing of the battery pack system and 2) improves handling and transportation (portability) of the energy storage power supply, see MPEP 2144.04.IV.B and 2144.04.V.A
In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.), see MPEP 2144.04.IV.B.
In re Lindberg, 194 F.2d 732, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952) (Fact that a claimed device is portable or movable is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results.), see MPEP 2144.04.V.A.
Regarding claim 32, Sun discloses the energy storage power supply, wherein the plurality of cells are each a cylindrical cell (fig. 11B, Sun), and wherein the positioning portion (1109) is a positioning groove (fig. 20C, Sun), the cylindrical cell being vertically accommodated in the positioning groove (fig. 18C and 20E, Sun).
Regarding claim 34, Sun discloses the energy storage power supply, wherein the plurality of through holes (1206) expose the electrodes of the plurality of cells [fig. 13, 18c, 20g, Sun].
Regarding claim 35, Sun discloses the energy storage power supply, wherein a plurality of busbars are provided [0124, Sun], the plurality of busbars being arranged above the plurality of through holes and configured to connect electrodes of opposite polarities of adjacent cells among the plurality of cells [0124, fig. 13-14, Sun].
Regarding claim 36, Sun discloses the energy storage power device, further comprising a collection plate (1106) electrically connected to the busbar [0123, fig. 11a and 13, Sun], the collection plate being configured to collect state information of the plurality of cells [0092-0096, 0123, Sun].
Claim(s) 28-29, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Sun as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Hurst (US2008088276A1).
Regarding claim 28, modified Sun discloses the use of an inverter to switch between a low and high voltage state [0062, Sun]. The inverter being located on a PCB board in the housing [0132, fig. 15, Sun].
However, modified Sun is silent to an inverter received in the housing and electrically connected to the plurality of cells, the inverter being configured to convert a direct current generated by the plurality of cells into an alternating current.
However, Hurst discloses power supply module wherein an inverter electrically connected to the plurality of cells is used to direct current into alternating current [0116, 0118, Hurst].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that include an inverter. Doing so would allow for one to convert direct current into alternating current [0116, Hurst]. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill within the arts would further find it obvious to modify Sun such that the inverter was received in the housing as a matter of obvious to try, see MPEP 2143.1.E. The inverter may be located either inside or outside of the housing, either way will still result in the inverter being able to convert DC into AC. However, if the invert was received in the housing then it would have protection from outside elements.
Regarding claim 29, modified Sun discloses a PCB (main) board (169) as part of a battery management system (100) disposed in the accommodation chamber [0049, 0062, 0149, Sun], connected to an inverter and plurality of cells [0049, 0053, 0132, Sun]. The PCB board contains a supervision unit (160) containing a CPU used for monitoring and adjusting the operation conductions through working conditions and instructions [0053, 0060, 0096, Sun]. The PCB additionally contains a processor unit (109) in communication with a displaying unit (“panel”) connected to a graphic user interface to display operation or working conditions of the battery [0059, Sun].
The claim limitation of wherein the main board is configured to obtain user instructions and control a charging or discharging process of the plurality of cells and the inverter. Recites the intended use of the main board.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 31, modified Sun is silent to a plurality of foot pads disposed on a bottom of the second casing, wherein the plurality of foot pads are configured to increase a friction force at a bottom of the energy storage power supply.
However, Olsson teaches of cleats (612, “foot pad”) on the bottom of the case assembly that may be used to improve grip [0134, fig. 10, Olsson].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that a plurality of foot pads were located on the bottom of the second casing. Doing so may not only improve grip (increase friction force) but may additionally provide vibration dampening, cushion against impact, comfort in handling, and/or other ergonomic considerations [0134, Olsson].
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Sun as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Torrey (US20200243821A1).
Regarding claim 30, modified Sun wherein the handle is foldable to be accommodated in a groove formed on the second casing.
However, Torrey discloses a battery including a handle attached across the centerline, the handle configured to be recessed relative to the periphery of the primary cover [0005, fig. 1, Torrey].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that the handle is foldable to be accommodated in a groove formed on the second casing. Doing so would allow for the handle to rest in a collapse state [0005, fig. 1, Torrey].
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Sun as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Totman (WO2022069910A1).
Regarding claim 33, modified Sun is explicitly silent to the electrodes of each of the plurality of cell passing through one of the plurality of through holes.
However, Totman discloses a battery module comprising a housing and a plurality of battery cells with a positioning portion (110) and a support (109) provided with through holes (207) [0047, fig. 2, 11, 13, Totman], wherein the electrode of each cell passes through the through holes [fig. 11, 13, Totman].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Sun such that the cell passed through the through holes as depicted in Totman. Doing so is a known method to insure that the cell is held in a sealing tight fashion [0044, Totman].
Annotated Fig. 13, Totman
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below for details.
In light of the applicant’s amendments the examiner maintains that modified Sun does read on the applicant’s claimed limitations. In response to applicant’s arguments that 1202 (Sun) does not read on a “split support” because it lacks the use of screws as a means of detachable connectivity to the casing. The examiner has introduced Reber to address the deficiencies of Sun as outlined above in the rejection of claim 1.
Applicant argues that the installation holes of Sun would not be interference-fitted with the second end of a corresponding cell. The examiner has addressed this deficiency in the rejection of claim 1.
The examiner maintains their rejection.
Conclusion
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724