DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed February 27, 2026. The following rejections are overcome:
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-19 & 22-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flannery RU2789348 C2 in view of Rao et al. US Pub. 2021/0083506.
Claim(s) 9 & 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flannery RU2789348 C2 in view of Rao et al. US Pub. 2021/0083506, and further in view of Zhou et al. CN 107134548A.
Claim(s) 8 & 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flannery RU2789348 C2 in view of Rao et al. US Pub. 2021/0083506, and further in view of Guo et al. CN 112531275A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7 & 12, 13, 15 &17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flannery RU2789348 C2 in view of Rao et al. US Pub. 2021/0083506, and further in view of Zhang CN 219086186U.
With respect to claim 1, Flannery teaches an energy storage power supply (Fig. 32, below), comprising. a housing (Fig. 30, at 231) having a plurality of cylindrical recess holes formed on an inner wall of the housing (recess; Fig. 32) a plurality of cells in a cylindrical shape, wherein each of the plurality of cells has a first end and a second end opposite to the first end (cylindrical battery cells with top and bottom; Fig. 32, below), the second end of each of the plurality of cells being provided with a positive electrode and a negative electrode, and the first ends of the plurality of cells being inserted in the plurality of cylindrical recess holes (the cells are lithium-ion batteries, thus having electrodes of opposing polarity; See Background, paragraph 2; Fig. 32, below);
a fixing member configured to fix the second ends of the plurality of cells (fixing member 80; Fig. 3); a busbar configured to electrically connect the plurality of cells (top flap 80 is placed over the array of cells 30 in the battery 21 after the flexible conduit 50 has been placed as described above. Busbars (not shown) are located within the recesses 82 on top of the upper shutter 80 for electrical connection of individual elements 30; 30th paragraph after description of figure; Fig. 3); the fixing member has a plurality of through holes, the plurality of through holes exposing the second ends of the plurality of cells to enable the busbar to electrically connect the plurality of cells (top flap 80 is placed over the array of cells 30 in the battery 21 after the flexible conduit 50 has been placed as described above. Busbars (not shown) are located within the recesses 82 on top of the upper shutter 80 for electrical connection of individual elements 30; 30th paragraph after description of figure; Fig. 3).
Fig. 3
With respect to an claim 3, a plurality of busbars are provided, the plurality of busbars being arranged above the fixing member and configured to connect electrodes of adjacent cells among the plurality of cells (80 include busbars that electrically connect the individual elements 30 and constitute the battery 21; 6th paragraph after description of figure; Fig. 3). With respect to an claim 6, the housing has a plurality of position-limiting strips (plurality of position limiting strips illustrated in Fig. 16) formed on an inner bottom wall of the housing, each of the plurality of position-limiting strips comprising a wavy side surface (plurality of position limiting strips illustrated in Fig. 30 below), and the plurality of cylindrical recess holes being defined by adjacent wavy side surfaces (the cylindrical recess holes being defined by adjacent wavy side surfaces 230; Fig. 30 below).
Fig. 30
With respect to an claim 7, the housing has a one-piece support formed on an inner side wall of the housing (one piece groove 231; Fig. 30 above), the plurality of cylindrical recess holes being defined by the inner side wall of the housing and the one-piece support (one piece groove 231; Fig. 30 above). With respect to an claim 13, an energy storage power supply (Fig. 32, below), comprising: a housing (Fig. 30, at 231) having a plurality of cylindrical recess holes formed on an inner wall of the housing (recess; Fig. 32); a plurality of cells in a cylindrical shape (cylindrical battery cells with top and bottom; Fig. 32), wherein each of the plurality of cells has a first end and a second end opposite to the first end (cylindrical battery cells with top and bottom; Fig. 32, above), the second end of each of the plurality of cells being provided with a positive electrode and a negative electrode, and the first ends of the plurality of cells being inserted in the plurality of cylindrical recess holes (the cells are lithium-ion batteries, thus having electrodes of opposing polarity; See Background, paragraph 2; Fig. 32, above); a fixing member configured to fix the second ends of the plurality of cells (fixing member 80; Fig. 3); a busbar configured to electrically connect the plurality of cells (top flap 80 is placed over the array of cells 30 in the battery 21 after the flexible conduit 50 has been placed as described above. Busbars (not shown) are located within the recesses 82 on top of the upper shutter 80 for electrical connection of individual elements 30; 30th paragraph after description of figure; Fig. 3); the fixing member has a plurality of through holes, the plurality of through holes exposing the second ends of the plurality of cells to enable the busbar to electrically connect the plurality of cells (top flap 80 is placed over the array of cells 30 in the battery 21 after the flexible conduit 50 has been placed as described above. Busbars (not shown) are located within the recesses 82 on top of the upper shutter 80 for electrical connection of individual elements 30; 30th paragraph after description of figure; Fig. 3). . With respect to an claim 14, a busbar configured to electrically connect the plurality of cells (80 include busbars that electrically connect the individual elements 30 and constitute the battery 21; 6th paragraph after description of figure; Fig. 3). With respect to an claim 15, a plurality of busbars are provided, the plurality of busbars being arranged above the fixing member and configured to connect electrodes of adjacent cells among the plurality of cells (80 include busbars that electrically connect the individual elements 30 and constitute the battery 21; 6th paragraph after description of figure; Fig. 3). With respect to an claim 16, the fixing member has a plurality of through holes, the plurality of through holes exposing the second ends of the plurality of cells to enable the busbar to electrically connect the plurality of cells (fixing member 80 has a plurality of through holes; Fig. 3; 80 include busbars that electrically connect the individual elements 30 and constitute the battery 21; 6th paragraph after description of figure; Fig. 3). With respect to an claim 18, the housing has a plurality of position-limiting strips (plurality of position limiting strips illustrated in Fig. 16) formed on an inner bottom wall of the housing, each of the plurality of position-limiting strips comprising a wavy side surface (plurality of position limiting strips illustrated in Fig. 30 above), and the plurality of cylindrical recess holes being defined by adjacent wavy side surfaces (the cylindrical recess holes being defined by adjacent wavy side surfaces 230; Fig. 30 above). With respect to an claim 19, the housing has a one-piece support formed on an inner side wall of the housing (one piece groove 231; Fig. 30 above), the plurality of cylindrical recess holes being defined by the inner side wall of the housing and the one-piece support (one piece groove 231; Fig. 30 above).
Flannery does not teach or suggest: energy storage power supply (claims 1 & 13); a port configured to connect the energy storage power supply to an electrical device or a charging device wherein the port is formed on the panel (claims 1 & 13); a panel disposed on the housing, wherein the panel is configured to display a quantity of electricity of the energy storage power supply (claims 1 & 13); a collection plate configured to collect state information of the plurality of cells, the collection plate being electrically connected to the busbar (claims 5 & 17); an inverter received in the housing and electrically connected to the plurality of cells, the inverter being configured to convert a direct current generated by the plurality of cells into an alternating current (claims 12 & 13).
Rao teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a port configured to connect the energy storage power supply to an electrical device or a charging device wherein the port is formed on the panel (controller ports and power ports in a power supply system; [0173]; claims 1 & 13); a collection plate configured to collect state information of the plurality of cells, the collection plate being electrically connected to the busbar (current sensor 200 may be mounted to the backplate of an electrical panel; [0115]; claims 5 & 17).
Zhang teaches that it is well known in the art to employ (mobile energy storage power supply, specifically to a mobile energy, storage inverter power supply easy to be combined and modularized, comprising a control module and at least one battery module; See Abstract; claims 1 & 13); a panel disposed on the housing, wherein the panel is configured to display a quantity of electricity of the energy storage power supply ( the control module is provided with a control panel and a display panel, the control panel and the display panel are electrically connected with the control circuit; The content of the utility model [0008]; claims 1 & 13); an inverter received in the housing and electrically connected to the plurality of cells, the inverter being configured to convert a direct current generated by the plurality of cells into an alternating current (a mobile energy storage inverter power supply easy to be combined and modularized, comprising a control module and at least one battery module; Abstract; claims 12 & 13).
Flannery, Rao and Zhang are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely the fabrication power management systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the port configured to connect the energy storage power supply to an electrical device or a charging device of Rao, in the power supply of Flannery, in order to supply power to the load. The skilled artisan recognizes that access points to the power generated is necessary to supply power to the load.
With respect to a port configured to connect the energy storage power supply to an electrical device or a charging device wherein the port is formed on the panel (claim 1 & 13); it would have been obvious in the power supply of Flannery in view of Rao, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to a panel disposed on the housing, wherein the panel is configured to display a quantity of electricity of the energy storage power supply (claims 1 & 13); it would have been obvious to employ the display panel of Zhang, in the power supply of Flannery in view of Rao, in order to monitor condition of the system.
With respect to the energy storage power supply; it would have been obvious to employ the energy storage power supply of Zhang , to contain the power supply modules of Flannery in view of Rao, (mobile energy storage power supply, specifically to a mobile energy, storage inverter power supply easy to be combined and modularized, comprising a control module and at least one battery module; See Abstract; claims 1 & 13);as it would be obvious to make essential working parts of a device integral. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 & 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flannery RU2789348 C2 in view of Rao et al. US Pub. 2021/0083506, and further in view of Zhou et al. CN 107134548A and even further in view of Zhang CN 219086186U.
Flannery in view of Rao and Zhang teach an energy storage power supply s described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
Flannery does not teach or suggest: the housing comprises a first casing and a second casing, wherein the first casing and the second casing are detachably connected to each other and define a receiving chamber, the plurality of cells being disposed in the receiving chamber, and the plurality of cylindrical recess holes being formed on the first casing or the second casing (claim 9 & 21).
Zhou teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the housing comprises a first casing and a second casing (two cases that fit inside each other; Fig. 3), wherein the first casing and the second casing are detachably connected to each other and define a receiving chamber (two cases that fit inside each other; Fig. 3), the plurality of cells being disposed in the receiving chamber, (plurality of cells in 2 case; Fig. 3; claim 9 & 21).
Flannery and Zhou are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely the fabrication energy storage power supplies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ housing comprising a first casing and a second casing of Zhou, in the energy storage power supply of Flannery in view of Rao and Zhang, in order to improve structural support of the plurality of cells. Furthermore, duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). With respect to the plurality of cylindrical recess holes being formed on the first casing or the second casing, the limitation is satisfied as Flannery teaches recesses in the bottom of the case. See Fig. 32 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flannery RU2789348 C2 in view of Rao et al. US Pub. 2021/0083506, and further in view of Guo et al. CN 112531275A and even further in view of Zhang CN 219086186U..
Flannery in view of Rao and Zhang teach an energy storage power supply described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
Flannery does not teach or suggest: the housing has a plurality of posts formed on an inner bottom wall of the housing, the plurality of posts being arranged in an array to define the plurality of cylindrical recess holes (claims 8 & 20).
Guo teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the housing has a plurality of posts formed on an inner bottom wall of the housing, the plurality of posts being arranged in an array to define the plurality of cylindrical recess holes (a plurality of posts formed on an inner bottom wall of the housing the plurality of holes; Fig. 3; claims 8 & 20).
Flannery and Guo are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely the fabrication energy storage power supplies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a plurality of posts formed on an inner bottom wall of the housing, wherein the plurality of posts being arranged in an array to define the plurality of recess holes of Guo, in the energy storage power supply of Flannery in view of Rao and Zhang, in order to improve structural support of the plurality of cells. Furthermore, change in shape of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Additionally, the plurality of cylindrical recess holes being formed Flannery teaches cylindrical recesses in the bottom of the case. See Fig. 32 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts that Flannery RU2789348 C2 does not teach or suggest an energy storage power supply. This argument is not persuasive as under the broadest reasonable interpretation a battery module stores and supplies energy. However, it would have been obvious to employ the energy storage power supply of Zhang , to contain the power supply modules of Flannery in view of Rao, (mobile energy storage power supply, specifically to a mobile energy, storage inverter power supply easy to be combined and modularized, comprising a control module and at least one battery module; See Abstract; claims 1 & 13);as it would be obvious to make essential working parts of a device integral. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Applicant asserts that Flannery RU2789348 C2 does not teach or suggest a fixing member configured to fix the second ends of the plurality of cells, wherein the fixing member has a plurality of through holes, the plurality of through holes exposing the second ends of the plurality of cells to enable the busbar to electrically connect the plurality of cells; [[and]] a panel disposed on the housing, the panel being configured to display quantity of electricity of the energy storage power supply. More specifically, Flannery fails to reveal that the grooves 82 expose the second ends of the battery cells 30. This argument is not persuasive as the fixing member has a plurality of through holes, the plurality of through holes exposing the second ends of the plurality of cells to enable the busbar to electrically connect the plurality of cells (top flap 80 is placed over the array of cells 30 in the battery 21 after the flexible conduit 50 has been placed as described above. Busbars (not shown) are located within the recesses 82 on top of the upper shutter 80 for electrical connection of individual elements 30; 30th paragraph after description of figure; Fig. 3). With respect to Flannery teaching away from providing both positive and negative electrodes on the one end, the electrode are across the cell and are not prohibited grom being on both ends.
Applicant asserts that Flannery RU2789348 C2 nor Rao et al. US Pub. 2021/0083506 teach or suggest a panel disposed on the housing, wherein the panel is configured to display a quantity of electricity of the energy storage power supply. This assertion is correct. However, it would have been obvious to employ the display panel of Zhang CN 219086186U, in the power supply of Flannery in view of Rao, in order to monitor condition of the system.
Applicant asserts that Flannery RU2789348 C2 nor Rao et al. US Pub. 2021/0083506 teach or suggest a port configured to connect the energy storage power supply to an electrical device or a charging device wherein the port is formed on the panel. This argument is not persuasive as it is well known in the art to employ ports and well within the artisans skill to place ports to facilitate efficient electrical connection. Lastly, it would have been obvious in the power supply of Flannery in view of Rao, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Applicant asserts that Flannery RU2789348 C2 nor Rao et al. US Pub. 2021/0083506 teach or suggest an inverter received in the housing and electrically connected to the plurality of cells, the inverter being configured to convert a direct current generated by the plurality of cells into an alternating current. This argument is not persuasive as it is well known in the art to rearrange the bi-directional inverter of Rao that is outside the battery system to inside, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). However, Zhang CN 219086186U teaches a mobile energy storage inverter power supply easy to be combined and modularized, comprising a control module and at least one battery module. See Abstract.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723