Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears claim 15 should depend on claim 14. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 14, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 21, and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 12443286 in view of Pinchon et al (11294475) hereinafter, Pinchon.
‘286 fails to expressly teach comparing the distance to a threshold.
However, Pinchon teaches comparing the distance to a threshold. (fig. 5 (506 and 512)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of ‘’286 to further include comparing the distance to a threshold as taught by Pinchon in order to allow for more intuitive inputs and allow for interaction such that the user’s hand does not block the view (col. 2 lines 25-54).
19328334
12443286
1. A method comprising: an electronic device having a processor: obtaining a position of a virtual object in an extended reality (XR) environment corresponding to a three-dimensional (3D) space; obtaining a user hand position in the 3D space based on sensor data, wherein the hand position is associated with a hand gesture; determining a distance between the user hand position and the position of the virtual object; selecting between a direct interaction mode and an indirect interaction mode based on comparing the distance to a threshold, wherein: the direct interaction mode is selected if the distance is below the threshold; and the indirect interaction mode is selected if the distance is above the threshold, and interpreting the hand gesture using an interaction recognition process, wherein a direct interaction recognition process is used when the direct interaction mode is selected and an indirect interaction recognition process is used when the indirect interaction mode is selected.
1. A method comprising: at an electronic device having a processor: obtaining a position of a virtual object in an extended reality (XR) environment corresponding to a three-dimensional (3D) space; obtaining a user hand position in the 3D space based on sensor data, wherein the hand position is associated with a hand gesture; determining an interaction mode based on the user hand position and the position of the virtual object in the 3D space, wherein a direct interaction mode is selected when a relationship between the user hand position and the position of the virtual object in the 3D space satisfies a criterion and an indirect interaction mode is selected when the relationship satisfies a second criterion different than the first criterion; and interpreting the hand gesture using an interaction recognition process associated with the determined interaction mode, wherein a direct interaction recognition process is used when the direct interaction mode is selected and an indirect interaction recognition process is used when the indirect interaction mode is selected.
14. A system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium; and one or more processors coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises program instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising: obtaining a position of a virtual object in an extended reality (XR) environment corresponding to a three-dimensional (3D) space; obtaining a user hand position in the 3D space based on sensor data, wherein the hand position is associated with a hand gesture; determining a distance between the user hand position and the position of the virtual object; selecting between a direct interaction mode and an indirect interaction mode based on comparing the distance to a threshold, wherein: the direct interaction mode is selected if the distance is below the threshold; and the indirect interaction mode is selected if the distance is above the threshold, and interpreting the hand gesture using an interaction recognition process, wherein a direct interaction recognition process is used when the direct interaction mode is selected and an indirect interaction recognition process is used when the indirect interaction mode is selected.
21. A system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium; and one or more processors coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises program instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising: obtaining a position of a virtual object in an extended reality (XR) environment corresponding to a three-dimensional (3D) space; obtaining a user hand position in the 3D space based on sensor data, wherein the hand position is associated with a hand gesture; determining an interaction mode based on the user hand position and the position of the virtual object in the 3D space, wherein a direct interaction mode is selected when a relationship between the user hand position and the position of the virtual object in the 3D space satisfies a criterion and an indirect interaction mode is selected when the relationship satisfies a second criterion different than the first criterion; and interpreting the hand gesture using an interaction recognition process associated with the determined interaction mode, wherein a direct interaction recognition process is used when the direct interaction mode is selected and an indirect interaction recognition process is used when the indirect interaction mode is selected.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions executable via one or more processors to perform operations comprising: obtaining a user hand position in the 3D space based on sensor data, wherein the hand position is associated with a hand gesture; determining a distance between the user hand position and the position of the virtual object; selecting between a direct interaction mode and an indirect interaction mode based on comparing the distance to a threshold, wherein: the direct interaction mode is selected if the distance is below the threshold; and the indirect interaction mode is selected if the distance is above the threshold, and interpreting the hand gesture using an interaction recognition process, wherein a direct interaction recognition process is used when the direct interaction mode is selected and an indirect interaction recognition process is used when the indirect interaction mode is selected.
23. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions executable via one or more processors to perform operations comprising: obtaining a position of a virtual object in an extended reality (XR) environment corresponding to a three-dimensional (3D) space; obtaining a user hand position in the 3D space based on sensor data, wherein the hand position is associated with a hand gesture; determining an interaction mode based on the user hand position and the position of the virtual object in the 3D space, wherein a direct interaction mode is selected when a relationship between the user hand position and the position of the virtual object in the 3D space satisfies a criterion and an indirect interaction mode is selected when the relationship satisfies a second criterion different than the first criterion; and interpreting the hand gesture using an interaction recognition process associated with the determined interaction mode, wherein a direct interaction recognition process is used when the direct interaction mode is selected and an indirect interaction recognition process is used when the indirect interaction mode is selected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pinchon et al (11294475) hereinafter, Pinchon
In regards to claim 1, Pinchon teaches a method comprising: an electronic device having a processor (abstract):
Embodiments described herein disclose methods and systems directed to input mode selection in artificial reality. In some implementations, various input modes enable a user to perform precise interactions with a target object without occluding the target object. Some input modes can include rays that extend along a line that intersects an origin point, a control point, and an interaction point. An interaction model can specify when the system switches between input modes, such as modes based solely on gaze, using long or short ray input, or with direct interaction between the user's hand(s) and objects. These transitions can be performed by evaluating rules that take context factors such as whether a user's hands are in view of the user, what posture the hands are in, whether a target object is selected, and whether a target object is within a threshold distance from the user.
obtaining a position of a virtual object in an extended reality (XR) environment corresponding to a three-dimensional (3D) space (fig. 2a-2b)(col. 1, lines 40-50)col. 3-4, lines 54-30))
obtaining a user hand position space based on sensor data, wherein the hand position is associated with a hand gesture (col. 5, lines 5-32) (col. 4, lines 55-67);
determining a distance between the user hand position and the position of the virtual object (col. 2, lines 45-55, col. 3, lines 3-10) (fig. 4 (436)/434);
selecting between a direct interaction mode (col. 3, lines 3-10 (fig. 4 (440)) (fig. 5 (506) to (508)) and an indirect interaction (fig. 5 506 to 510 or fig. 5 512)) mode based (fig. 4 (444/446)) on comparing the distance to a threshold (fig. 4 (436)), wherein:
the direct interaction mode is selected if the distance is below the threshold (col. 10, lines 22-35); and
the indirect interaction mode is selected if the distance is above the threshold (col. 10, lines 52-67), and
interpreting (col. 8, lines 10-20) the hand gesture using an interaction recognition process (col. 12, lines 1-17), wherein a direct interaction recognition process is used when the direct interaction mode is selected (fig. 5 (508)) and an indirect interaction recognition process is used when the indirect interaction mode is selected (col. 12, lines 17-67) (fig. 5 (514/516)).
In regards to claim 14, Pinchon teaches system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (abtract); and one or more processors coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises program instructions that, when executed on handthe one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising: obtaining a position of a virtual object in an extended reality (XR) environment corresponding to a three-dimensional (3D) space(fig. 2a-2b)(col. 1, lines 40-50)col. 3-4, lines 54-30)); obtaining a user hand position in the 3D space based on sensor data, wherein the hand position is associated with a hand gesture (col. 5, lines 5-32) (col. 4, lines 55-67);; determining a distance between the user hand position and the position of the virtual object; selecting between a direct interaction mode and an indirect interaction mode based on comparing the distance to a threshold(col. 2, lines 45-55, col. 3, lines 3-10) (fig. 4 (436)/434);, wherein: the direct interaction mode is selected if the distance is below the threshold(col. 3, lines 3-10 (fig. 4 (440)) (fig. 5 (506) to (508)); and the indirect interaction mode is selected if the distance is above the threshold, (col. 10, lines 52-67), and interpreting the hand gesture using an interaction recognition process(col. 8, lines 10-20) (col. 12, lines 1-17),, wherein a direct interaction recognition process is used when the direct interaction mode is selected (fig. 5 (508)) and an indirect interaction recognition process is used when the indirect interaction mode is selected. (col. 12, lines 17-67) (fig. 5 (514/516)).
In regards to claim 20, Pinchon teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions executable via one or more processors to perform operations comprising(abstract):: obtaining a user hand position in the 3D space based on sensor data, wherein the hand position is associated with a hand gesture; (fig. 2a-2b)(col. 1, lines 40-50)col. 3-4, lines 54-30)) (col. 5, lines 5-32) (col. 4, lines 55-67); determining a distance between the user hand position and the position of the virtual object(col. 2, lines 45-55, col. 3, lines 3-10) (fig. 4 (436)/434);; selecting between a direct interaction mode and an indirect interaction mode based on comparing the distance to a threshold, wherein: the direct interaction mode is selected if the distance is below the threshold; (col. 3, lines 3-10 (fig. 4 (440)) (fig. 5 (506) to (508)) and the indirect interaction mode is selected if the distance is above the threshold(col. 10, lines 52-67),, and interpreting the hand gesture using (col. 8, lines 10-20) (col. 12, lines 1-17), an interaction recognition process, wherein a direct interaction recognition process is used when the direct interaction mode is selected and an indirect interaction recognition process (fig. 5 (508)) is used when the indirect interaction mode is selected. (col. 12, lines 17-67) (fig. 5 (514/516)).
In regards to claim 2, Pinchon teaches method of claim 1 further comprising identifying which virtual object to associate the hand gesture with based on the selecting between the direct interaction mode and the indirect interaction mode (col. 10, lines 22-33).
In regards to claim 3, Pinchon teaches method of claim 2, wherein, for the direct interaction mode, identifying which virtual object to associate the hand gesture with is based on hand proximity (col. 10, lines 22-33 “pressing a virtual” button).
In regards to claim 4, Pinchon teaches method of claim 2, wherein, for the indirect interaction mode, identifying which virtual object to associate the hand gesture with is based on gaze direction. (14) Eye gaze input mode can include tracking head position and/or eye gaze direction of the user to determine input direction and the target object that a ray will be cast at. In some cases, the gaze input action can be signaled using a gaze timer (e.g., a gaze held without moving above a time threshold amount, such as every threshold amount of time 0.5, 1, 2, or 3 seconds). In other cases, the gaze input action can be signaled with an eye blink. In other cases, the gaze input mode activation can be a hand gesture recognized with a wearable (e.g., bracelet can recognize tap gesture from inertial measurement unit (IMU) data, electromagnetic motion data, or analysis of wrist muscle contraction). The eye gaze selection can be a fast, efficient, and natural way to select target objects, requiring less user energy as compared to requiring the user to lift her hand into view to select an object. (col 2-3, lines 55-3).
In regards to claim 5, Pinchon teaches method of claim 1, wherein the direct interaction mode is selected based on the hand position intersecting a 3D area associated with the virtual object in the 3D space. (col. 10, lines 22-33 “pressing a virtual” button).
In regards to claim 7, Pinchon teaches method of claim 1, wherein the hand gesture is a direct touch with the virtual object (col. 10, lines 22-33 “pressing a virtual” button)..
In regards to claim 8, Pinchon teaches method of claim 1 further comprising initiating a hover of the virtual object based on interaction mode being a direct interaction mode and the hand position satisfying being within a second threshold of the position of the virtual object and within an attention zone.(fig. 5 “short ray” and attention zone is the virtual object area)col. 14, lines 47-67))
In regards to claim 10, Pinchon teaches method of claim 1, wherein the indirect interaction mode is selected based on a gaze direction intersecting an area associated with at least one virtual object (col. 10, lines 1-25).
In regards to claim 11, Pinchon teaches method of claim 1, wherein the indirect interaction mode is selected based on the hand position being outside of a 3D area associated with the virtual object in the 3D space (fig. 5 (502)).
In regards to claim 12, Pinchon teaches method of claim 1, wherein the hand gesture is a pinch recognized by the indirect interaction recognition process as a selection of a second virtual object identified based on a gaze direction occurring during the pinch. “In some cases, eye gaze is the default input mode for selecting target objects, when a target object is selected (e.g. with a pinch gesture) but the user's hands are not in-view or the target object is beyond a threshold distance from the user.” Col. 12, lines 10-17)
In regards to claim 13, Pinchon teaches method of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a head-mounted device (fig. 2a and 2b HMD).
In regards to claim 15, Pinchon teaches system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise identifying which virtual object to associate the hand gesture with based on the selecting between the direct interaction mode and the indirect interaction mode (fig. 5 (502-510) (col. 10, lines 22-33)).
In regards to claim 16, Pinchon teaches system of claim 15, wherein, for the direct interaction mode, identifying which virtual object to associate the hand gesture with is based on hand proximity. ( col.3, lines 3-10, col. 10, lines 22-35, fig. 4 (440)));
In regards to claim 17, Pinchon teaches system of claim 15, wherein, for the indirect interaction mode, identifying which virtual object to associate the hand gesture with is based on gaze direction. (col. 10, lines 1-25).
In regards to claim 18, Pinchon teaches system of claim 14, wherein the direct interaction mode is selected based on the hand position intersecting a 3D area associated with the virtual object in the 3D space. (fig. 5 (502)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinchon in view of Kaplan et al (2014/0118244) hereinafter, Kaplan.
In regards to claim 6, Pinchon fails to teach the method of claim 1 further comprising discontinuing interaction detection for a predetermined period of time following a recognition of the hand gesture via the direct interaction recognition process.
However, discontinuing interaction detection for a predetermined period of time following a recognition of the hand gesture via the direct interaction recognition process.[0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Pinchon to further include discontinuing interaction detection for a predetermined period of time following a recognition of the hand gesture via the direct interaction recognition process as taught by Kaplan in order to help reduce unintentional inputs [0070].
In regards to claim 19, Pinchon in view of Kaplan teaches, see rational of claim 6, the system of claim 14, wherein the operations further comprise discontinuing interaction detection for a predetermined period of time following a recognition of the hand gesture via the direct interaction recognition process.[0070] Kaplan.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinchon in view of Faaborg et al (2017/0060230) hereinafter, Faaborg.
In regards to claim 9, Pinchon fails to teach the method of claim 8 further comprising maintaining the hover of the virtual object when the position of the virtual object is no longer in the attention zone.
However, Faaborg teaches comprising maintaining the hover of the virtual object when the position of the virtual object is no longer in the attention zone.(fig. 4a-4d (4c 102 touch/hover [0033] attention zone of gaze is moved).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Pinchon to further include further comprising maintaining the hover of the virtual object when the position of the virtual object is no longer in the attention zone as taught by Faaborg in order to interact with multiple objects in order to better interact and personalize control in 3d environment [002-005].
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622