DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, and 11 are currently amended. Claims 1-15 and 17 are currently pending. Claims 1-15 and 17 are currently rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 as amended have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Carlsson does not teach the limitation of non overlapping and non rotational alignment, Examiner notes that Neer is relied upon for these teachings. See updated 103 rejection of claim 1 below.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Examiner notes that Applicant does mention Neer in the last paragraph of page 7 of the Remarks of 07/31/2026, however this argument fails to specifically point out how the proposed combination in view of Neer would fall short of the claim limitations.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlsson (US 20200119769 A1; hereafter Carlsson) in view of Neer et al (US 20080306443 A1) and Yin et al (WO 2022228936 A1; hereafter Yin); in a first alternative over Carlsson, Neer, Yin, and further in view of Radmer et al (US 20180126088 A1; hereafter Radmer); in a second alternative over Carlsson, Neer, Yin, Radmer, and further in view of Zeng (US 20160162775 A1; hereafter Zeng); and in a third alternative over Carlsson, Neer, Yin, Radmer, and further in view of 이용범 (KR 101940206 B1; hereafter KR’206) Text citations for Yin are made to the pdf document of Yin included with the previous Office Action. Text citations for KR’206 are made to the included Espacenet English translation.
Regarding claim 1. Carlsson discloses an injection device (medicament delivery device 10, fig. 1, [0024) for dispensing a liquid drug ([0024] medicament is delivered by device 10) from a reservoir (medicament container 22, fig. 2, [0024]), the injection device comprising a reservoir unit (proximal part 24, fig. 2, [0026] the whole proximal part 24 is removed and replaced with a new proximal part 24 containing a new medicament container 22) and a drive unit (distal part 8, fig. 2, [0024] distal part 8 having an electric drive unit 12 with an electric motor 14) releasably attachable to each other by a coupling mechanism ([0030] describes attachment of proximal part 24 and distal part 8 via engagement areas 40 and 50 respectively; [0026] the whole proximal part 24 is removed and replaced with a new proximal part 24), wherein in an attached state the reservoir unit is (24, fig. 2) in a first predefined rotational position (one of the two positions noted in [0031]; [0031] With the design having oppositely positioned attachment members, it is possible to attach the proximal part 24 in two positions rotated 180 degrees in relation to each other) around a longitudinal axis (line from a proximal end of the proximal part 24 to a distal end of the distal part 8, see fig. 2, axis spans from left to right) relative to the drive unit (see [0031-0032]),
the reservoir unit (24, fig. 2) comprising:
the reservoir (22, fig. 2) defining the longitudinal axis (see fig. 2, axis falls along length of reservoir 22);
a reservoir holder (see cylindrical wall of reservoir unit 24 noted in annotated fig. 2 below) for holding the reservoir (see fig. 2 below, the reservoir 22 is within the noted walls);
a viewing window (see fig. 1 and fig. 4 which both show a viewing window) for viewing a fill level of the liquid drug contained in the reservoir (Examiner notes that claim language of “for viewing” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function. Since fig. 1-4 show that the viewing window is aligned with the reservoir 22, the viewing window meets the functional limitation.);
at least one opening (see aligned openings in fig. 1 vs fig. 4, note: [0020] FIG. 4 is a perspective view of the distal part of the medicament delivery device of FIG. 1, with an outer housing removed) as part of the coupling mechanism or of the viewing window (see figs. 1 and 4, the openings make up the viewing window); and
a machine-readable tag (information carrier 28, fig. 4, [0027]) storing tag information and including a tag antenna (antenna 30, fig. 4, [0027]) ([0027] information carrier 28 comprises an antenna 30 that enables reading of stored data from the tag by an information carrier reader),
the drive unit (distal part 8, fig. 2) comprising:
a housing extending along the longitudinal axis between a proximal end and a distal end, and a first side and a second side extending along the longitudinal axis and separated from each other by 180° (see annotated fig. 1 above, note also [0020] “FIG. 4 is a perspective view of the distal part of the medicament delivery device of FIG. 1, with an outer housing removed and with an antenna of an information carrier reader detached”);
a drive source (electric motor 14, fig. 2, [0024]) for dispensing the liquid drug; and
a code reader (information carrier reader 34, fig. 4, [0028]) for reading the tag information and including a reader antenna (antenna 38, fig. 4, [0028]) ([0028] information carrier reader 34 may have an information carrier reader chip 36 provided with data and storage means as well as an antenna 38 for enabling reading of information carriers 28),
wherein in the attached state, in the first predefined rotational position of the reservoir unit and the drive unit, a center of the tag antenna (30) (see fig. 4, center of antenna 30 points towards the viewer, out of the page, on a “near side” of the device 10) and a center of the reader antenna (see figs. 4 and 5, center of antenna 38 is arranged on “top” of the device 10 as seen in figs. 4 and 5, note the location of carrier reader chip 36; [0032] antenna 38 is arranged on a flexible holder 60 and extended to cover 180 degrees of circumference of the second engagement area 50 of the distal part 8 so that the range of the antenna 38 covers both positions that the information carrier 28 and its antenna 30 may assume) are arranged relative to each other at an angle between 60° and 120° around the longitudinal axis (Examiner notes that fig. 4 shows carrier reader chip 36, located near the center of reader antenna 38, offset by about 90° from the center of antenna 30 around the longitudinal axis); and
Carlsson is silent to wherein the tag antenna and the reader antenna are not rotationally aligned and do not overlap.
Neer, in the field of injection devices with replaceable reservoir units, teaches a single code reader (receiver/transmitter circuit 420, fig. 24b, [0237]) for reading the tag information (see fig. 27, [0237] describes code reader 420 receiving a signal from the tag/pressure sensor 400) and including a single reader antenna (RF Antenna 422, fig. 27, [0237]), the code reader arranged on one of the first side or the second side of the housing (see fig. 24b which shows code reader 420 arranged on housing of injector 50, see also [0233]-[0234]); and
wherein in an attached state (see fig. 24b which shows attached state, see [0236]) a tag antenna (RF antenna 402, see figs. 24b-26 which shows the orientation of RF antenna 402, [0235]) and the code reader (420, fig. 24b) are not rotationally aligned and do not overlap (see fig. 24b which shows that the code reader 420 and the tag antenna are offset by 90 degrees from one another and do not overlap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reader antenna of Carlsson to be on one of the first or second sides of the housing, as taught by Neer, and to further have the tag antenna and the code reader arranged so that they do not rotationally align or overlap when assembled, as further taught by Neer, since Neer also deals with a drug delivery device reading antennas. Such a modification would yield predictable results without change to the inventive function of Carlsson. Neer teaches that an offset of 90 degrees between the antennas does not preclude communication, and such a modification of having only one single reader antenna offset from the tag antenna by 90 degrees would simplify the device of Carlsson since only one reader antenna would need to be used, while maintaining the goal of Carlsson to have consistent connection between the tag antenna and reader antenna in either of the possible connection positions of Carlsson. Furthermore, the new arrangement would be obvious to try by beneficially ensuring that the distance between the center of the reader antenna and the center of the tag antenna would be the same in either of the two positions of Carlsson, rotated 180 degrees from each other, while also reducing the number/length of antenna required. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation, and the device of Carlsson modified by Bauss would still perform correctly.
Carlsson modified by Neer is silent to the opening in the outer housing of proximal part 24 (see annotated fig. 1 above and [0020]) and the opening in the wall of 24 (see annotated fig. 4 above) explicitly being viewing windows.
Yin, in the art of pen like injection devices receiving medicament containers, teaches a viewing window (window 201 in outer shell 200 and window portion 213 of delivery member guard 21, see fig. 2 and fig. 5) for viewing a fill level of the liquid drug contained in the reservoir (pg. 14 ln. 17-20, “the outer shell 200 may comprise a window 201 aligned with the medicament container, so that the end-user can observe the medicament through the window 201”; pg. 15 ln. 27-29, “window portion 213 can be an aperture or a portion formed by a transparent material”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the openings of Carlsson (see annotated figs. 1 and 4 above) to be viewing windows as taught by Yin since both references deal with pen-like drug delivery devices. One would have been motivated to make the modification because having the openings of Carlsson be viewing windows allows the user to easily observe the medicament (see Yin pg. 14 ln. 17-20), keep track of how much medicament is left in the cartridge, and note if the medicament exhibits any concerning discoloration or textures which may indicate the medicament has gone bad and is no longer suitable for injection.
Alternatively, Carlsson modified by Neer and Yin teaches all limitations of the claim except for wherein the tag antenna is circumferentially arranged around the at least one opening.
It would have been an obvious matter of rearrangement of parts to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the tag antenna circumferentially around the at least one opening, thereby yielding predictable results without change to inventive function. Furthermore, looping the tag antenna 30 of Carlsson modified by Neer and Yin would be obvious to try by beneficially making efficient use of space, since the antenna is already looped in form as shown in Carlsson fig. 4. An additional benefit would arise in making it clear to the user to location of the tag antenna 30 by associating the antenna with the window, so the user is more likely to notice if the tag antenna 30 is broken or tampered with in some way which may compromise the safety of the medicament cartridge. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation, and the modified device of Carlsson modified by Yin still performs the intended function.
In a first alternative regarding claim 1, Carlsson modified by Neer and Yin is silent to wherein the tag antenna is circumferentially arranged around the at least one opening.
Radmer, directed to a pen-like injection device, teaches wherein the tag antenna (NFC antenna noted in [0144]; [0144] electronic label may include an NFC antenna through which personal settings can be wirelessly entered electronic label 801, electronic label shown in fig. 13.1, [0141]) is circumferentially arranged around the at least one opening (window 202, fig. 1a, [0141]) ([0141] label has a generally rectangular form with a cutout (not to be seen) specific for the drug delivery device for which the label is intended allowing the display window 202 to be viewed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tag antenna of Carlsson modified by Bauss and Yin to be located around the at least one opening as with the electronic label taught by Radmer, since all three references deal with pen-like injection devices. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the tag antenna 30 of Carlsson is circular in shape as seen in Carlsson fig. 4, and thus it would be an efficient use of space to incorporate the electronic label of Radmer with the tag antenna 30 of Carlsson being around the window, since the tag antenna is already formed in a loop.
In a second alternative regarding claim 1, Carlsson modified by Neer and Yin is silent to wherein the tag antenna is circumferentially arranged around the at least one opening.
Radmer, as applied in the first alternative above, teaches an electronic label with a cutout surrounding a viewing window, but it technically silent to the tag antenna being specifically arranged circumferentially around the opening.
Zeng, in the art of PCBs, teaches wherein the tag antenna (field loop antenna 226, figs. 4-5, [0027]) is circumferentially arranged around the at least one opening (rectangular opening 222, figs. 4-5, [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna of Carlsson as modified to be circumferentially arranged around the at least one opening (in the PCB of Radmer which surrounds the viewing window) as taught by Zeng since Zeng also deals with tags with antennas. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Zeng, [0028] “In the exemplified embodiment, the rectangular opening 222 where the ground plane 210 is etched is used to tune the tag frequency”, which communicates through the antenna.
In a third alternative regarding claim 1, Carlsson modified by Neer and Yin is silent to wherein the tag antenna is circumferentially arranged around the at least one opening.
Radmer, as applied in the first alternative above, teaches an electronic label with a cutout surrounding a viewing window, but it technically silent to the tag antenna being specifically arranged circumferentially around the opening.
KR’206, in the art of electronic labels attachable to goods, teaches wherein the tag antenna (antenna portions 171 and 173, figs. 6-7, [0021]) is circumferentially arranged around the at least one opening (hollow portion 500, figs. 6-7, [0026] describes hollow portion 500 in which the battery is placed, [0021] describes the antenna portions 171 and 173 which are described “along the outer circumference of the battery”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna of Carlsson as modified to be circumferentially arranged around the at least one opening (in the PCB of Radmer which surrounds the viewing window) as taught by KR’206 since KR’206 also deals with electronic labels with antennas. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by KR’206, [0025] “By forming a pair of radiators on both sides of the feed line along the outer perimeter of the battery when viewed on a flat surface, avoiding the battery which is a conductor on the printed circuit board, the target radiation characteristics can be achieved without increasing the size of the electronic label.” Thus one would have been motivated to make the modification since KR’206 teaches that having the antenna circumferentially surround an opening in the PCB makes efficient use of the space provided on the PCB.
Claim(s) 2-7, 12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the alternative rejections of claim 1 presented above, and further in view of Carlsson.
Regarding claim 2. Carlsson as modified in any alternative discloses the injection device according to claim 1, as described above, including wherein in the attached state, the angle at which the center of the tag antenna (Carlsson: tag antenna 30, fig. 4; Neer: RF antenna 402, fig. 24b) and the center of the reader antenna (Carlsson: reader antenna 38, fig. 4; Neer: RF antenna 422 of code reader 420, fig. 27) are arranged relative to each other is between 85° and 95° (Neer: see fig. 24b which shows that the code reader 420 and the tag antenna 402 are offset by between 85° and 95° from one another and do not overlap) around the longitudinal axis (see Carlsson, tag antenna and reader antenna are arranged around the longitudinal axis) in the first predefined rotational position of the reservoir unit and the drive unit (Carlsson [0032] describes both positions that the information carrier 28 and its antenna 30 may assume).
Regarding claim 3. Carlsson as modified in any alternative discloses the injection device according to claim 1, as described above. Carlsson further discloses wherein the coupling mechanism comprises a protrusion (protrusions 44, figs. 3 and 4, [0030]) and a recess (recess 46, fig. 3, [0030]), and wherein one of the recess and the protrusion is located on the drive unit (8, fig. 2) ([0030] recesses 46 are formed in the drive unit/distal part 8) and the other of the recess and the protrusion is located on the reservoir unit (24, fig. 2) ([0030] protrusions 44 are formed on the reservoir unit/proximal portion 24) ([0030] protrusions 44 are arranged to fit into oppositely positioned recesses 46 on an inner surface of a cavity 48 in the form of a tubular passage in the distal part 8).
Regarding claim 4. Carlsson as modified in any alternative discloses the injection device according to claim 1, as described above. Carlsson further discloses wherein the drive unit (8, fig. 2) comprises two counter coupling members (recesses 46, see fig. 3) ([0030] protrusions 44 are arranged to fit into oppositely positioned recesses 46 on an inner surface of a cavity 48 in the form of a tubular passage in the distal part 8) oppositely arranged to each other such that the reservoir unit (24, fig. 2) can be attached to the drive unit (8) either in the first predefined rotational position or in a second predefined rotational position (second of the two positions noted in [0031]) around the longitudinal axis ([0031] With the design having oppositely positioned attachment members, it is possible to attach the proximal part 24 in two positions rotated 180 degrees in relation to each other.).
Regarding claim 5. Carlsson as modified in any alternative discloses the injection device according to claim 1, as described above. Carlsson further discloses wherein the second predefined rotational position is offset from the first predefined position orientation by approximately 180° ([0031] With the design having oppositely positioned attachment members, it is possible to attach the proximal part 24 in two positions rotated 180 degrees in relation to each other.).
Regarding claim 6. Carlsson as modified in any alternative discloses the injection device according to claim 1, as described above, including wherein the tag antenna (Carlsson: 30, fig. 4) is arranged on the reservoir holder (Carlsson: see annotated fig. 2 above, cylindrical wall of reservoir unit 24 forms reservoir holder) (Carlsson: see fig. 4, tag antenna 30 is arranged on the surface of the wall of reservoir unit 24 which forms the reservoir holder), on a needle cover sleeve of the reservoir unit or on a housing of the reservoir unit.
Regarding claim 7. Carlsson as modified in any alternative discloses the injection device according to claim 6, as described above, including wherein the reservoir holder (Carlsson: see annotated fig. 2 above, cylindrical wall of reservoir unit 24 forms reservoir holder) (Carlsson: see annotated fig. 4 above which shows an opening arranged on in the wall of reservoir unit 24 which forms the reservoir holder), the needle cover sleeve or the housing of the reservoir unit (Carlsson: see fig. 1 which shows an opening on the outer housing of the reservoir unit) comprises the at least one opening (see Carlsson fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12. Carlsson as modified in any alternative discloses the injection device according to claim 1, as described above. Carlsson further discloses wherein the reservoir (medicament container 22, fig. 2) is a prefilled syringe including a barrel (syringe noted in [0025] and shown in fig. 2 as wall of medicament container 22) and an injection needle (injection needle 26, fig. 2, [0025]) permanently connected to the barrel ([0025] medicament container 22 is a syringe which has an injection needle 26 fixedly attached as seen in FIG. 2) and optionally covered by a needle shield (see annotated fig. 2 below which notes a needle shield) in a shipping state (state shown in fig. 2, with needle shield attached and prior to connection of reservoir unit 24 and drive unit 8).
Regarding claim 14. Carlsson as modified in any alternative discloses the injection device according to claim 1, as described above. Carlsson further discloses wherein the drive source (electric motor 14, fig. 2, [0024]) comprises an electronic motor (electronic motor 14) or a resettable or re-chargeable mechanical spring for emptying an entire volume of the reservoir in a single dispensing stroke.
Regarding claim 17. Carlsson as modified in any alternative discloses the injection device of claim 1, as described above. Carlsson further discloses including wherein an opening of the at least one opening is elongated along the longitudinal axis (see figs. 1 and 4, the openings extend along the longitudinal axis).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected by Carlsson as modified in any alternative applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Radmer or alternatively Radmer and Bauss et al (US 20190217018 A1; hereafter Bauss).
Regarding claim 8. Carlsson as modified above discloses the injection device according to claims 6, as described above.
Radmer further teaches wherein the tag antenna (NFC antenna noted in [0144] electronic label may include an NFC antenna through which personal settings can be wirelessly entered) is integrated in a label (electronic label 801, [0142], fig. 13.1) affixed to an outer surface (see fig. 13.1 which shows electronic label 801 affixed to an outer surface) of the needle cover sleeve.
Carlsson as modified discloses all limitations of the claim except for wherein the tag antenna is integrated in a label affixed to an outer surface of the needle cover sleeve.
It would have been an obvious matter of rearrangement of parts to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the label including the tag antenna on an outer surface of the needle cover sleeve, thereby yielding predictable results without change to inventive function. Furthermore, locating the label on the needle cover sleeve beneficially associates the tag antenna with the replaceable cartridge, which aligns with the purpose of the tag antenna of Carlsson. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation, and the modified device of Carlsson as modified still performs the intended function.
Alternatively, regarding claim 8. Carlsson as modified by Bauss, Yin, and Radmer or Carlsson modified by Bauss, Bachmann and Radmer discloses the injection device according to claims 6, as described above.
Radmer further teaches wherein the tag antenna (NFC antenna noted in [0144] electronic label may include an NFC antenna through which personal settings can be wirelessly entered) is integrated in a label (electronic label 801, [0142], fig. 13.1) affixed to an outer surface (see fig. 13.1 which shows electronic label 801 affixed to an outer surface) of the needle cover sleeve.
Carlsson as modified is silent to the tag antenna with the label affixed to an outer surface of the needle cover sleeve.
Bauss, directed to an RFID tag enabled shield assembly, teaches wherein a tag antenna (antenna 208, fig. 10 and fig. 11, [0059]) is attached to a needle cover sleeve (sheath 203, noted in [0059] as the structure around antenna 208 is attached).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the label including the tag antenna of Carlsson as modified to be attached to an outer surface of the needle cover sleeve as taught by Bauss, since Bauss also deals with pen-like injection devices employing near field communication technology. One would have been motivated to make the modification because as noted by [0045] of Bauss, incorporating the RFID tag with the needle shield assembly enables tracking and data collection from a point early in the overall manufacturing process of the injection device up until the moment a user performs the injection.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Carlsson as modified in any alternative applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Carlsson2019 (US 20190001069 A1; hereafter Carlsson2019).
Regarding claim 9. Carlsson as modified discloses the injection device according to claims 6, as described above.
Carlsson as modified is silent to the movement of a needle cover sleeve, although fig. 3 appears to show a needle cover sleeve in a covering position (see annotated fig. 3 below).
Carlsson2019, directed to a pen-like medicament delivery device, teaches wherein the needle cover sleeve (needle guard 10, fig. 1, [0083]) is movable between a covering position in which the needle (needle 7a, fig. 1, [0083]) is covered (initial state noted in [0073] and [0090], shown in fig. 3b and 7a) and a retracted position in which the needle (71, fig. 1) is exposed (medicament delivery state noted in [0074], position after distal movement noted in [0091] which permits drug delivery, shown in fig. 4a) and wherein the needle cover sleeve (10) is an outermost part of the reservoir unit (needle guard 10, medicament container holder 70, and medicament container 70, fig. 1, [0083] medicament container holder 14 arranged for holding a medicament container 70 may be arranged inside the needle guard 10; see fig. 7a which shows assembled view) and wherein the reservoir holder (medicament container holder 14, fig. 1, [0083]) is concentrically arranged inside the needle cover sleeve (10) ([0083] medicament container holder 14 arranged for holding a medicament container 70 may be arranged inside the needle guard 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Carlsson as modified to have the needle cover sleeve of Carlsson2019 since Carlsson2019 also deals with a pen-like medicament delivery device with wireless data transmission [0139]. One would have been motivated to make the modification because including the needle cover sleeve which must be pressed against the skin to reveal with needle reduces the risk of accidental needle sticks.
Claim(s) 10-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the alternative rejections of claim 1 presented above, and further in view of Neer et al (US 20080306443 A1; hereafter Neer).
Regarding claim 10. Carlsson as modified discloses the injection device according to claim 1, as described above.
Carlsson as modified is silent to the drive unit including a tag writer.
Neer, in the field of injection devices with replaceable reservoir units, further teaches wherein the drive unit (powerhead 90, fig. 5a, [0089] injector powerhead 90 includes motors within respective plunger drives 95a, 95b. The plunger drives 95a, 95b are operable to move plungers within the respective syringes 20a, 20b in a known manner) further comprises a tag writer (injector control 93, fig. 5a, [0123]) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to write information to the machine-readable tag (RFID tag 60b, fig. 5a, [0123]) ([0123] the injector control writes to the RFID tag 60b, written data may include [0126] amount of pharmaceutical remaining in the container) in the attached state (see attached state in fig. 4) ([0156] After the injection process, the injector control 93 can write to the RFID tag 60b to set a syringe-used flag that will help to prevent a reuse of the syringe 20b. The syringe 20b is then removed from the faceplate 88b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive unit of Carlsson as modified to further include the tag writer taught by Neer, since Neer also deals with a reusable medicament drive unit engaging with replaceable syringe units and using near field communication between the replaceable reservoir unit and the drive unit. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Neer [0156], injector control 93 can write to the RFID tag 60b to set a syringe-used flag that will help to prevent a reuse of the syringe 20b. Preventing re-use of a used syringe beneficially aids in prevention of the spread of disease.
Regarding claim 11. Carlsson as modified, discloses the injection device according to claim 10, as described above, including wherein the written information includes an indication of a condition of use of the injection unit ([0156] After the injection process, the injector control 93 can write to the RFID tag 60b to set a syringe-used flag that will help to prevent a reuse of the syringe 20b).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the alternative rejections of claim 1 presented above, and further in view of Zucker et al (US 20200376200 A1; hereafter Zucker).
Regarding claim 13. Carlsson as modified discloses the injection device according to claim 1, as described above.
Carlsson as modified is silent to wherein the reservoir holder is adapted to hold the reservoir non-movably relative to the drive unit in the longitudinal axis, although Examiner notes that the reservoir 22 as seen best in fig. 2 appears to be restrained from longitudinal motion by structures on either side.
Zucker, in the field of semi-disposable autoinjectors, teaches wherein a reservoir holder ([0183] Rearward facing edge 356 of outwardly-facing protrusion 350 of finger portions 328 and 338, fig. 13b, [0183]) is adapted to hold the reservoir (syringe 124, fig. 13a, [0183]) non-movably relative to the drive unit (plunger element 168 of the drive unit/reusable driving assembly 110, fig. 1, [0163]) in the longitudinal axis ([0183] describes restraints placed on movement of syringe 124, see fig. 13a/b which shows engagement of syringe with restraints; [0184] “Syringe 124 is thus retained in a retracted operative orientation by engagement of flange 126 thereof between backward-facing generally symmetric edges 202 formed in cassette housing element 120 and forward-facing surface 324 of needle guard element 122 (FIGS. 2-7C)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the syringe holder of Carlsson to explicitly hold the syringe against longitudinal movement as taught by Zucker, since Zucker also deals with an injection device having both a reusable and disposable component. One would have been motivated to make the modification because effectively restraining the syringe in the housing ensures that the syringe does not become jostled out of position or cause accidental sticks during movement of the plunger through the barrel of the syringe.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlsson modified in any alternative applied above and further in view of Bechmann et al (US 20190336685 A1; hereafter Bechmann).
Regarding claim 15. Carlsson modified in any alternative discloses the injection device according to claim 1, as described above.
Carlsson in silent to the drive unit comprising an opening arranged to align with the viewing window of the reservoir unit.
Bechmann further teaches wherein the drive unit (reloadable autoinjector 10, fig. 1, [0167]) comprises an opening of the at least one opening (inspection window 402, fig. 2b, [0170]) arranged to align with the viewing window (syringe tube inspection window 802, fig. 9, [0202]) of the reservoir unit (syringe assembly 20, fig. 1, [0167]; [0207] syringe assembly 20 includes syringe tube 800) in the attached state ([0202] The syringe tube 800 has a syringe tube inspection window 802 configured to interact with syringe lock inspection window 502 and housing inspection window 402).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive unit of Carlsson to comprise a housing portion 400 which overlaps with the reservoir unit as taught by Bechmann, since both references deal with replaceable reservoir units for use with reusable drive units. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Bechmann [0214] “It is an advantage that a user or patient is able to see the medicament through the inspection windows 402 , 502 and 802 at the time of injection of the medicament, as it gives the user a sense of what is injected.”). Additionally, having the reservoir unit further overlap with the drive unit allows better securing of the two units together and decreases a risk of the reservoir unit being bent relative to the drive unit during use, which may damage either or both the reservoir unit and drive unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and in particular to the arrangement of an antenna around an opening in a circuit board.
Lee (US-20140042226-A1) – see fig. 2-3, [0029-0033], an antenna may be naturally formed along the edge of an opening in a PCB
Garber et al (US 20050237241 A1) – see fig. 6, antenna portion is circumferentially disposed about an aperture
[0072] As illustrated, core 430 is positioned to extend through an aperture 415 in PCB 410. See FIG. 9. Windings 420 are circumferentially spaced about the aperture 415, and legs 432 and 434 of the core 430 are positioned to extend over the windings 420. See FIG. 6.
Kube et al (US 20170172701 A1) – see fig. 1, antenna formed in along a circular PCB
[0041] As may be identified in the cut-open region of the housing 2 , a printed circuit board 3 is received in the interior of the housing 2 , said printed circuit board carrying a conductor track 4 on the upper side thereof, said conductor track forming the antenna of the RFID transponder 1 .
/I.S.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 10/26/2026