DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 3 (Figures 9-12 and claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 12/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 22-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12415649; claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11247806; and claims 1-12 or U.S. Patent No. 11027875. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim a telescoping insulated box assembly comprising an inner box and outer box wherein the outer box is formed from a blank defining a double wall construction (i.e. inner and outer wall panels) with a connecting strip connecting an inner side wall with an outer side wall; said inner side walls further comprising tabs; and a first connecting strip having an access tab blank extending therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezich et al. (US 9635916 B2; hereinafter Bezich) in view of Jobe (US 2019/0367209 A1; hereinafter Jobe).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, and 11-12, Bezich discloses a hybrid modular storage container comprising an outer box blank configured to define an outer box comprising a plurality of outer side walls (54/56; see Fig. 3), the outer box blank comprising a first outer side panel (56), a first inner side panel (68), and a first connecting strip (84), the first connecting strip joined to a top of the first outer side panel by a first fold line (70) and a top of the first inner side panel by a second fold line (74; see Fig. 3), the first outer side panel, the first inner side panel, and the first connecting strip configured to at least partially define a first outer sidewall defining a first insulation cavity within the first outer side wall (88; see Fig. 4A). Examiner notes that Bezich’s container comprises four inner panels with four connecting strips connecting each of four respective inner panels to a respective outer panel. Examiner considers paperboard to be repulpable. Bezich lacks an inner box formed from an associated inner box blank.
Jobe teaches a thermal insulation article with compostable panel and paper film comprising an outer box (20) with a smaller inner box (90) of similar construction telescoped within (see Fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Bezich’s hybrid container to comprise an inner box of smaller scale to that of Bezich’s outer box positioned inside of said outer box in order to provide further insulative characteristics for shipping (Jobe; see Par. 0096-0097).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezich in view of Jobe as applied to claims above, and further in view of Wonnacott (GB 2400096 A).
Regarding claim 10, Bezich, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for inner bottom panels. Wonnacott teaches a cool box of folded material and a method of making wherein a blank for making further comprises an inner bottom panel (231-234) joined to an inner side panel (131-134) by a fold line (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to further modify Bezich’s container to include inner bottom panels foldably attached to inner side panels in order to further reinforce and insulate the container construction (Wonnacott; Page 5 line 30-Page 6 line 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest inner side panels with tabs [Claims 3-4, 6-7, and 13-20]; and access tab blanks extending from connecting strips [Claims 8-9].
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734