DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 18-37 have not been amended.
Claims: 1-17 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/24/26 with regards to claims 18-37 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS:
The applicant argues that … The Office Action (p. 11) acknowledged that Zhou "fails to disclose 'a number of preamble repetitions based on the RSRP;' and "transmit, using a first spatial filter and via the random-access resources, the number of preamble repetitions of a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission'." The Office Action cited Ly to cure the deficiencies of Zhou but Ly also fails to disclose or suggest determining "determine a number of preamble repetitions based on the RSRP," as recited in claim 18. … According to the Office Action, determining that a first SSB is associated with a highest RSRP "reads on based on RSRP" (OA, p. 11). However, the claim recites (and Zhou fails to disclose) "determine a number of preamble repetitions based on the RSRP," which is not cured by determining that a first SSB "may be associated with a highest RSRP" and "is a suitable SSB" for mapping to a valid RO, since such determinations are not equivalent to "determine a number of preamble repetitions based on the RSRP." … Again, however, there is no mention of "determine a number of preamble repetitions based on the RSRP," as recited in claim 18. As best understood, the Office Action's position is that there is some sort of association between the PRACH repetitions and the strongest SSB. However, Ly does not state that there is a determination of "a number of preamble repetitions based on the RSRP," as recited in claim 18. … Note that while the cited paragraphs mention SSB and "PRACH repeitions," Ly nowhere instructs that a device is to "determine a number of preamble repetitions based on the RSRP," as recited in claim 18. Accordingly, Ly cannot cure the deficiencies of Zhou. For at least the above reasons, independent claim 18 and independent claims 25 and 31, which recite similar distinguishing features as independent claim 1, are patentable over the prior art of record. The dependent claims in the present application are patentable over the cited art for at least the same reasons as the independent claims from which they respectively depend, and further in view of their own features. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be reconsidered and withdrawn (See Pages 6-9 of Applicant’s Arguments filed 07/24/26).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Contrary to the applicant’s arguments the teachings of Ly does disclose the applicant’s argued limitations of "determine a number of preamble repetitions based on the RSRP" as will be apparent in the following explanations provided below.
To begin with, the examiner would like to note that the applicant’s claims are written broad such that the claims only require that the number of preamble repetitions are based on the RSRP without explicitly reciting as to how said preamble repetitions are based on said RSRP and as such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims would be to utilize the RSRP in any manner that results in the number of preamble repetitions being determined such as utilizing the RSRP to determine and select a reference signal SSB which is then utilized in determining and mapping the preamble repetition to the selected SSB as is taught by the disclosure of Ly, [0051], [0092] & [0114] and which is also consistent with what is disclosed in the Applicant’s own Specification seen below:
The examiner directs the applicant to the highlighted portion of the Applicant’s Specification, [0157]-[0158] seen below:
[0157] The Msg 1 1311 may include one or more preamble transmissions (e.g., a preamble transmission and one or more preamble retransmissions). An RRC message may be used to configure one or more preamble groups (e.g., group A and/or group B). A preamble group may comprise one or more preambles. The UE may determine the preamble group based on a pathloss measurement and/or a size of the Msg 3 1313. The UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB and/or rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS). The UE may select at least one preamble associated with the one or more reference signals and/or a selected preamble group, for example, if the association between the one or more preambles and the at least one reference signal is configured by an RRC message.
[0158] The UE may determine the preamble based on the one or more RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310. For example, the UE may determine the preamble based on a pathloss measurement, an RSRP measurement, and/or a size of the Msg 3 1313. As another example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate: a preamble format; a maximum number of preamble transmissions; and/or one or more thresholds for determining one or more preamble groups (e.g., group A and group B). A base station may use the one or more RACH parameters to configure the UE with an association between one or more preambles and one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs). If the association is configured, the UE may determine the preamble to include in Msg 1 1311 based on the association. The Msg 1 1311 may be transmitted to the base station via one or more PRACH occasions. The UE may use one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) for selection of the preamble and for determining of the PRACH occasion. One or more RACH parameters (e.g., ra-ssb-OccasionMskIndex and/or ra-OccasionList) may indicate an association between the PRACH occasions and the one or more reference signals.
As can be seen from the highlighted portion of the applicant’s specification seen above, Applicant’s Specification, [0157]-[0158] discloses that the at least one preamble and its repetitions are based on the RSRP via the use of the RSRP to select a reference signal SSB and performing an association or mapping between the SSB and the preambles or between the preambles and PRACH occasions determined from the SSB.
The examine now directs the applicant to the highlighted portions of Ly, [0051], [0092] & [0114] seen below:
[0114] Based on the one or more mapping rules, the UE may determine that a first SSB 420-a (e.g., SSB #0) may be associated with a highest RSRP and is a suitable SSB 420 to map to a valid RO 415-a (e.g., ROs available within the association period 405, association period 410, association pattern, etc.). In some examples, the UE may determine which RO 415 of ROs 415-a and 415-b to utilize, where the UE may use a single RO 415 for the PRACH preamble 435-a. For example, the UE may determine to map the SSB 420-a and RO 415-a to the PRACH preamble 435-a in the repetitions 430.
[0092] Based on the indication in the message 210, the UE 115-a may transmit repetitions of a PRACH preamble 220 using one or more ROs. In some examples, the PRACH repetitions may correspond to multiple PRACH transmissions with different spatial domain filters, which may be associated with different reference signals. For example, the PRACH repetitions may be associated with different SSBs, different CSI-RSs (e.g., if the UE 115-a is in a connected status), or both. In some examples, the PRACH repetitions may correspond to multiple PRACH transmitted with a same spatial domain filter (e.g., a same SSB), which may be associated with an SSB, a CSI-RS, or both. For example, the UE 115-a may measure the SSBs received from the network entity 105-a to determine a strongest SSB (e.g., highest SINR, signal to noise ratio (SNR), or the like) to map to the PRACH repetitions.
[0051] A user equipment (UE) may perform random access channel (RACH) procedures to establish (e.g., or re-establish) communications with a network entity. For example, the UE may perform a 2-step RACH procedure, 4-step RACH procedure, or both. In any case, the UE may determine one or more unique identifiers (e.g., one or more physical RACH (PRACH) preambles) to transmit to the network entity during a RACH occasion (RO), where the PRACH preambles may be mapped to one or more beams, such as synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) detected by the UE, to enable coordination between the UE and the network entity. In some cases, the UE may transmit repetitions (e.g., according to an indication, a set of parameters) to increase the relative likelihood that the network entity may detect a PRACH transmission. For example, during a 4-step PRACH procedure, the UE may determine a set of PRACH preambles, where the PRACH preambles are mapped to SSBs received from the network entity (e.g., based on one or more measurements by the UE, such as a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR) associated with the SSBs). The UE may subsequently transmit the PRACH preambles according a quantity of repetitions (e.g., four repetitions) such that the network entity may detect one or more PRACH preambles, and therefore determine an SSB (e.g., beam) to utilize for subsequent communications with the UE.
As can be seen from the highlighted portions of Ly seen above, the teachings of Ly clearly discloses at least one preamble and its repetitions are based on the RSRP via the use of the RSRP to select a reference signal SSB and performing an association or mapping between the SSB and the preambles or between the preambles and PRACH occasions determined from the SSB and as such clearly reads on applicant’s argued limitations.
Therefore, the argued limitations read upon the cited references or are written broad such that they read upon the cited references, as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0309171 herein after reference as Zhou) in view of LY et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0324025 herein after referenced as Ly).
Regarding claim 18 and claim 25 and claim 31, Zhou discloses:
A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: and A method comprising: and A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to: receive configuration parameters of a serving cell of the wireless device, (Zhou, [0266] discloses a base station may send/transmit, to (i.e. reads on receive) a wireless device (i.e. reads on wireless device) or a plurality of wireless devices, one or more SIB information messages and parameters of the one or more SIB information messages may comprise: one or more configuration parameters of a serving cell (i.e. reads on configuration parameters of a serving cell); Zhou, Fig. 13A & [0178] discloses a base station may send/transmit a configuration message 1310 to a wireless device, for example, before initiating the random access procedure; Zhou, Fig. 15A & [0213] discloses for the uplink, data to be sent to the base station 1504 from the wireless device 1502 may be provided/transferred/sent to the processing system 1518 of the wireless device 1502; Zhou, [0217] discloses the processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524, respectively and memory 1514 and memory 1524 e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518, respectively, to carry out one or more of the functionalities e.g., one or more functionalities described herein and other functionalities of general computers, processors, memories, and/or other peripherals).
wherein the configuration parameters indicate: a plurality of reference signals (RSs), wherein the plurality of RSs comprise a synchronization signal block (SSB);
and a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold; (Zhou, [0180]-[0182] discloses the one or more RACH parameters provided/configured/comprised in the configuration message 1310 may indicate one or more Physical RACH PRACH occasions available for transmission of the first message e.g., Msg 1 1311 and the one or more RACH parameters may indicate (i.e. reads on wherein the configuration parameters indicate) an association between (a) one or more PRACH occasions and (b) one or more reference signals (i.e. reads on a plurality of reference signals RSs) and the one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more preambles and (b) one or more reference signals and the one or more reference signals may be SS/PBCH blocks (i.e. reads on wherein the plurality of RSs comprise a synchronization signal block SSB) and/or CSI-RSs and the one or more RACH parameters may indicate a quantity/number of SS/PBCH blocks mapped to a PRACH occasion and/or a quantity/number of preambles mapped to a SS/PBCH blocks and discloses the one or more RACH parameters may indicate one or more thresholds (i.e. reads on and a reference signal received power RSRP threshold), for example, based on which the wireless device may determine at least one reference signal e.g., an SSB and/or CSI-RS and discloses the wireless device may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB and/or rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS and the wireless device may select at least one preamble associated with the one or more reference signals and/or a selected preamble group, for example, if the association between the one or more preambles and the at least one reference signal is configured by an RRC message; Zhou, [0149] discloses for the downlink, a base station may send/transmit to one or more wireless devices, one or more reference signals RSs e.g., PSS, SSS, CSI-RS, DM-RS, and/or PT-RS and a synchronization signal SS / physical broadcast channel PBCH block may comprise the PSS, the SSS, and the PBCH and the base station may periodically send/transmit a burst of SS/PBCH blocks, which may be referred to as SSBs; Zhou, [0558] discloses features and/or steps of those examples may be combined, divided, omitted, rearranged, revised, and/or augmented in any desired manner).
determine, for a random-access procedure: the SSB, of the plurality of RSs, based on an RSRP of the SSB being above the RSRP threshold; (Zhou, [0182]-[0183] discloses the wireless device may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs and determine at least one reference signal (i.e. reads on determine the SSB, of the plurality of RSs) having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold (i.e. reads on based on an RSRP of the SSB being above the RSRP threshold) e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB and/or rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS and the wireless device may select at least one preamble associated with the one or more reference signals and/or a selected preamble group, for example, if the association between the one or more preambles and the at least one reference signal is configured by an RRC message and discloses the wireless device may determine the preamble to be comprised in first message e.g., Msg 1 1311 (i.e. reads on determine, for a random-access procedure), for example, based on the association if the association is configured and the first message e.g., Msg 1 1311 may be sent/transmitted to the base station via one or more PRACH occasions and the wireless device may use one or more reference signals e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs for selection of the preamble and for determining of the PRACH occasion; Zhou, [0178] discloses the four-step random access procedure may comprise transmissions of four messages comprising: a first message e.g., Msg 1 1311, a second message e.g., Msg 2 1312, a third message e.g., Msg 3 1313, and a fourth message e.g., Msg 4 1314 and the first message e.g., Msg 1 1311 may comprise a preamble or a random access preamble and the first message e.g., Msg 1 1311 may be referred to as a preamble; Zhou, [0109] discloses a physical random access channel PRACH may be used for random access).
a number of preamble (Zhou, [0182]-[0183] discloses the wireless device may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP (i.e. reads on based on the RSRP) above an RSRP threshold e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB and/or rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS and the wireless device may select at least one preamble (i.e. reads on a number of preamble) associated with the one or more reference signals and/or a selected preamble group, for example, if the association between the one or more preambles and the at least one reference signal is configured by an RRC message and discloses the wireless device may use one or more reference signals e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs for selection of the preamble and for determining of the PRACH occasion).
and random-access resources associated with the SSB; (Zhou, [0183] discloses the wireless device may use one or more reference signals e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs for selection of the preamble and for determining of the PRACH occasion and one or more RACH parameters e.g., ra-ssb-OccasionMskIndex and/or ra-OccasionList may indicate an association between the PRACH occasions (i.e. reads on random-access resources associated with) and the one or more reference signals (i.e. reads on the SSB); Zhou, [0395] discloses the wireless device may send/transmit a preamble via a PRACH resource associated with the BFR procedure and the wireless device may send/transmit a preamble via a PRACH resource associated with the BFR procedure after e.g., in response to triggering the BFR comprising determining a candidate beam for the BFR procedure and for the PCell or the PSCell, the wireless device can be provided, by PRACH-ResourceDedicatedBFR e.g., in the RRC messages, a configuration for PRACH transmission; Zhou, [0185] discloses the RA-RNTI may be associated with PRACH occasions in which the wireless device sends/transmits a preamble; Zhou, [0109] discloses a physical random access channel PRACH may be used for random access).
transmit, using a first spatial filter and via the random-access resources, the number of preamble (Zhou, [0395] discloses the wireless device may send/transmit a preamble (i.e. reads on transmit the number of preamble) via a PRACH resource (i.e. reads on via the random-access resources of a physical random-access channel PRACH) associated with the BFR procedure and the wireless device may send/transmit a preamble via a PRACH resource associated with the BFR procedure after e.g., in response to triggering the BFR comprising determining a candidate beam for the BFR procedure and for the PCell or the PSCell, the wireless device can be provided, by PRACH-ResourceDedicatedBFR e.g., in the RRC messages, a configuration for PRACH transmission; Zhou, [0401] discloses the wireless device may send/transmit the PUCCH on a same cell as the PRACH transmission using a same spatial filter (i.e. reads on using a first spatial filter) as for the last PRACH transmission and for example, if a BFR MAC CE is provided in Msg3 or MsgA of contention based random access procedure, and if a PUCCH resource is provided with PUCCH-SpatialRelationlnfo, after 28 symbols from the last symbol of the PDCCH reception that determines the completion of the contention based random access procedure; Zhou, [0185] discloses the RA-RNTI may be associated with PRACH occasions in which the wireless device sends/transmits a preamble; Zhou, [0109] discloses a physical random access channel PRACH may be used for random access).
receive a downlink message, on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), indicating a completion of the random-access procedure; and transmit, after a first predetermined number of symbols from receiving the downlink message on the PDCCH, an uplink signal: using the first spatial filter; and via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Zhou, [0401] discloses the wireless device may send/transmit the PUCCH (i.e. reads on and transmit an uplink signal, via a physical uplink control channel PUCCH) on a same cell as the PRACH transmission using a same spatial filter (i.e. reads on using the first spatial filter) as for the last PRACH transmission and for example, if a BFR MAC CE is provided in Msg3 or MsgA of contention based random access procedure, and if a PUCCH resource is provided with PUCCH-SpatialRelationlnfo, after 28 symbols (i.e. reads on after a first predetermined number of symbols) from the last symbol of the PDCCH reception (i.e. reads on receive a downlink message, on a physical downlink control channel PDCCH and reads on from receiving the downlink message on the PDCCH) that determines the completion of the contention based random access procedure (i.e. reads on indicating a completion of the random-access procedure); Zhou, [0187] discloses the fourth message e.g., Msg 4 1314 may be received, for example, based on e.g., after or in response to the sending/transmitting of the third message e.g., Msg 3 1313 and the base station may address the wireless on the PDCCH e.g., the base station may send the PDCCH to the wireless device using a C-RNTI, for example, If the C-RNTI was included in the third message e.g., Msg 3 1313 and the random access procedure may be determined to be successfully completed, for example, if the unique C RNTI of the wireless device is detected on the PDCCH e.g., the PDCCH is scrambled by the C-RNTI; Zhou, [0207] discloses the wireless device may send/transmit the uplink control signaling via a PUCCH using one of several PUCCH formats; Zhou, [0109] discloses a physical downlink control channel PDCCH may comprise/carry downlink control information DCI, which may comprise downlink scheduling commands, uplink scheduling grants, and uplink power control commands and a physical uplink control channel PUCCH may comprise/carry UCI, which may comprise HARQ acknowledgments, channel quality indicators CQI, pre-coding matrix indicators PMI, rank indicators RI, and scheduling requests SR).
Zhou discloses that a number of preambles is selected based on the RSRP of an SSB and also discloses a number of preamble retransmissions but fails to explicitly disclose that said number of preambles based on the RSRP are directed towards preamble repetitions and also fails to disclose that said preamble repetitions are transmitted using a spatial filter and therefore fails to disclose “a number of preamble repetitions based on the RSRP;” and “transmit, using a first spatial filter and via the random-access resources, the number of preamble repetitions of a physical random-access channel (PRACH) transmission;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Ly discloses:
a number of preamble repetitions based on the RSRP; (Ly, [0114] discloses based on the one or more mapping rules, the UE may determine that a first SSB 420-a e.g., SSB #0 may be associated with a highest RSRP (i.e. reads on based on the RSRP) and is a suitable SSB 420 to map to a valid RO 415-a e.g., ROs available within the association period 405, association period 410, association pattern, etc. and the UE may determine which RO 415 of ROs 415-a and 415-b to utilize, where the UE may use a single RO 415 for the PRACH preamble 435-a and for example, the UE may determine to map the SSB 420-a and RO 415-a to the PRACH preamble 435-a in the repetitions 430 (i.e. reads on a number of preamble repetitions); Ly, [0092] discloses the PRACH repetitions may correspond to multiple PRACH transmitted with a same spatial domain filter e.g., a same SSB, which may be associated with an SSB, a CSI-RS, or both and for example, the UE 115-a may measure the SSBs received from the network entity 105-a to determine a strongest SSB e.g., highest SINR, signal to noise ratio SNR, or the like to map to the PRACH repetitions; Ly, [0051]-[0052] discloses the UE may determine one or more unique identifiers e.g., one or more physical RACH PRACH preambles to transmit to the network entity during a RACH occasion RO and the UE may determine a set of PRACH preambles, where the PRACH preambles are mapped to SSBs received from the network entity e.g., based on one or more measurements by the UE, such as a reference signal received power RSRP or a signal-to-interference plus noise ratio SINR associated with the SSBs and discloses techniques for transmitting PRACH repetitions may be desirable to enable efficient communication that increase relative likelihoods that the network entity may detect a PRACH repetition during an RO and configuration techniques that enable the repetition of the PRACH preamble when a UE is attempting to access the network via the network entity may also be desirable).
transmit, using a first spatial filter and via the random-access resources, the number of preamble repetitions of a physical random-access channel (PRACH) transmission; (Ly, [0004] discloses the UE may transmit (i.e. reads on transmit) a PRACH (i.e. reads on of a physical random-access channel PRACH) on a cell via resources e.g., PRACH resources, repetition resources, ROs (i.e. reads on via the random-access resources) using a same spatial filter (i.e. reads on using a first spatial filter) e.g., a same beam direction for multiple preamble repetitions (i.e. reads on the number of preamble repetitions); Ly, [0086] discloses enable the UE 115 to perform repeated PRACH preamble transmissions during multiple PRACH occasions, where the PRACH transmissions sent via the multiple PRACH occasions are transmitted with a single spatial filter e.g., a spatial domain filter and based on parameters provided by a network entity 105, the UE 115 may transmit a PRACH preamble across multiple ROs, where each RO of the multiple ROs is mapped to a common SSB and/or CSI-RS and here, for PRACH transmission with multiple repetitions e.g., N repetitions, a set of N ROs may be used for multiple repetitions of a PRACH preamble, where the ROs of the set of ROs may be associated with a same SSB e.g., a same SSB index; Ly, [0091]-[0092] discloses the UE 115-a may select a single spatial filter e.g., corresponding to a single SSB to assign to multiple PRACH preambles, where the PRACH preambles are repeated across one or more ROs in accordance with a repetition number and discloses the PRACH repetitions may correspond to multiple PRACH transmitted with a same spatial domain filter e.g., a same SSB, which may be associated with an SSB, a CSI-RS, or both and for example, the UE 115-a may measure the SSBs received from the network entity 105-a to determine a strongest SSB e.g., highest SINR, signal to noise ratio SNR, or the like to map to the PRACH repetitions).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Ly for the purpose of providing the system with a means to enable efficient communication that increase relative likelihoods that the network entity may detect a PRACH repetition during an RO (Ly, [0052]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a number of preambles based on an RSRP or an SSB as taught by Zhou) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a number of preambles based on an RSRP or an SSB, wherein the number of preambles are a number of preamble repetitions transmitted via a set of ROs using the same spatial filter as taught by Ly) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting a number of preambles based on an RSRP or an SSB (i.e. as taught by both Zhou & Ly) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 19 and claim 26 and claim 32, Zhou in view of Ly discloses:
The wireless device of claim 18, (see claim 18) and The method of claim 25 (see claim 25) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31 (see claim 31).
wherein the first predetermined number of symbols is twenty-eight symbols Zhou, [0401] discloses the wireless device may send/transmit the PUCCH on a same cell as the PRACH transmission using a same spatial filter as for the last PRACH transmission and for example, if a BFR MAC CE is provided in Msg3 or MsgA of contention based random access procedure, and if a PUCCH resource is provided with PUCCH-SpatialRelationlnfo, after 28 symbols from the last symbol of the PDCCH reception that determines the completion of the contention based random access procedure).
Regarding claim 20 and claim 27 and claim 33, Zhou in view of Ly discloses:
The wireless device of claim 18, (see claim 18) and The method of claim 25 (see claim 25) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31 (see claim 31).
wherein the configuration parameters are received in one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages (Zhou, [0179] discloses the configuration message 1310 may be sent/transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages and the one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel RACH parameters to the wireless device).
Regarding claim 21 and claim 28 and claim 34, Zhou in view of Ly discloses:
The wireless device of claim 18, (see claim 18) and The method of claim 25 (see claim 25) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31 (see claim 31).
wherein the SSB has a corresponding SSB index (Zhou, [0308] discloses the candidate SSBs in the SSB burst may comprise SSBs with indexes from 0 to 63; Zhou, [0352] discloses the wireless device may be provided a SS/PBCH block index by ssb-Index; Ly, [0086] discloses enable the UE 115 to perform repeated PRACH preamble transmissions during multiple PRACH occasions, where the PRACH transmissions sent via the multiple PRACH occasions are transmitted with a single spatial filter e.g., a spatial domain filter and based on parameters provided by a network entity 105, the UE 115 may transmit a PRACH preamble across multiple ROs, where each RO of the multiple ROs is mapped to a common SSB and/or CSI-RS and here, for PRACH transmission with multiple repetitions e.g., N repetitions, a set of N ROs may be used for multiple repetitions of a PRACH preamble, where the ROs of the set of ROs may be associated with a same SSB e.g., a same SSB index;).
Regarding claim 22 and claim 29 and claim 35, Zhou in view of Ly discloses:
The wireless device of claim 21, (see claim 21) and The method of claim 28 (see claim 28) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 34 (see claim 34).
wherein the uplink signal is transmitted with a power determined based on the SSB (Zhou, [0316] discloses example uplink transmission power determination based on pathloss measurement of SSBs; Zhou, [0184] discloses the wireless device may ramp up the uplink transmit power, for example, if the wireless device determines a reference signal e.g., SSB and/or CSI-RS that is the same as a previous preamble transmission).
Regarding claim 23 and claim 30 and claim 36, Zhou in view of Ly discloses:
The wireless device of claim 18, (see claim 18) and The method of claim 25 (see claim 25) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31 (see claim 31).
wherein the random-access resources are part of a plurality of resource block (RB) sets (Zhou, [0209] discloses the wireless device may select one of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets; Zhou, [0195] discloses the wireless device may determine, based on two-step RACH parameters comprised in the configuration message 1330, a radio resource and/or an uplink transmit power for the preamble 1341 and/or the transport block 1342 e.g., comprised in the first message e.g., Msg A 1331 and the RACH parameters may indicate an MCS, a time-frequency resource, and/or a power control for the preamble 1341; Zhou, [0543] discloses the control information may comprise DCI configured as at least one of: DCI format 2_0 for indicating time slot format, available resource block RB sets; Zhou, [0166] discloses a scheduler at the base station may use/employ the estimated uplink channel state to assign one or more resource blocks for an uplink PUSCH transmission for the wireless device; Ly, [0086] discloses enable the UE 115 to perform repeated PRACH preamble transmissions during multiple PRACH occasions, where the PRACH transmissions sent via the multiple PRACH occasions are transmitted with a single spatial filter e.g., a spatial domain filter and based on parameters provided by a network entity 105, the UE 115 may transmit a PRACH preamble across multiple ROs, where each RO of the multiple ROs is mapped to a common SSB and/or CSI-RS and here, for PRACH transmission with multiple repetitions e.g., N repetitions, a set of N ROs may be used for multiple repetitions of a PRACH preamble, where the ROs of the set of ROs may be associated with a same SSB e.g., a same SSB index).
Regarding claim 24 and claim 37, Zhou in view of Ly discloses:
The wireless device of claim 23, (see claim 23) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 36 (see claim 36).
wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to use an RB set of the plurality of RB sets (Zhou, [0209] discloses the wireless device may select one of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets; Zhou, [0195] discloses the wireless device may determine, based on two-step RACH parameters comprised in the configuration message 1330, a radio resource and/or an uplink transmit power for the preamble 1341 and/or the transport block 1342 e.g., comprised in the first message e.g., Msg A 1331 and the RACH parameters may indicate an MCS, a time-frequency resource, and/or a power control for the preamble 1341; Zhou, [0543] discloses the control information may comprise DCI configured as at least one of: DCI format 2_0 for indicating time slot format, available resource block RB sets; Zhou, [0166] discloses a scheduler at the base station may use/employ the estimated uplink channel state to assign one or more resource blocks for an uplink PUSCH transmission for the wireless device; Ly, [0086] discloses enable the UE 115 to perform repeated PRACH preamble transmissions during multiple PRACH occasions, where the PRACH transmissions sent via the multiple PRACH occasions are transmitted with a single spatial filter e.g., a spatial domain filter and based on parameters provided by a network entity 105, the UE 115 may transmit a PRACH preamble across multiple ROs, where each RO of the multiple ROs is mapped to a common SSB and/or CSI-RS and here, for PRACH transmission with multiple repetitions e.g., N repetitions, a set of N ROs may be used for multiple repetitions of a PRACH preamble, where the ROs of the set of ROs may be associated with a same SSB e.g., a same SSB index).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MolavianJazi et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0284511) discloses a UE 116 determines a number of repetitions for a PRACH transmission based on an indication provided in the DCI format or based on RSRP measurement. In 660, with the RO as a first/starting RO of an RO bundle, the UE 116 determines remaining ROs for the RO bundle based on the predetermined or configured rules. In 670, the UE 116 transmits the number of PRACH repetitions in the RO bundle and when the UE 116 determines a number of PRACH repetitions based on RSRP measurements, the UE 116 determines information related to PRACH repetitions, such as for the ROs or PRACH preambles or the associated DL RSs, by re-interpreting the values provided in the PDCCH order as subsequently described and discloses system information provides information for the UE 116 to determine the association between the SSB and the RACH resources. The RSRP threshold for SSB selection for RACH resource association is configurable by network.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645