DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed on July 23, 2026, in which:
Claims 1, 6, 9, 10, and 11 are currently amended.
Claims 1-17 and 22-30 are currently pending and an Office action on the merits follows.
Response to Arguments
On pages 9-11, the applicant argues that Arteaga fails to teach a single device performing each of the steps of the claimed process. The examiner agrees that Arteaga uses a plurality of devices to teach the steps of claimed process. However, upon further consideration, the claim does not require that a “single device perform all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11.” Only the step of “receive, by the wireless receiver, a wireless communication signal from an unmanned aircraft” is defined to be performed by the wireless receiver of the user device. The steps of calculating, determining, parsing, etc. are not limited to being performed by the single device. Similar arguments are applicable to the applicant’s arguments on pages 12-14, directed to the system in claim 22.
On pages 11-12, the applicant argues that Arteaga fails to teach “calculate the distance to the UA by processing a plurality of wireless communication signals received from the UA.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Arteaga [0066]-[0068] explains that the location data is received from the drones stored in the regional hub and updated in real time where the location data is used to determine when the drone is within the access control area. Regarding claim 10, the examiner has relied upon Trundle to teach the limitation “processing the plurality of wireless communication signals to calculate the distance comprises estimating an average distance between the UA and the user device based on the plurality of wireless communication signals” as further explained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-15, 22-14, 26-28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub No.: US-20200057133-A1 (herein “Arteaga”).
Consider claim 1, Arteaga teaches a system comprising a user device having a wireless receiver and at least one processor communicatively coupled with at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the at least one processor is programmed to:
receive, by the wireless receiver, a wireless communication signal from an unmanned aircraft (UA) (see Arteaga Fig. 4, [0062] note regional hub 110 receive data transmitted by drones);
calculate a distance to the UA based on the received wireless communication signal (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0074], [0079] note determine drone(s) within a predefined radius of the GPS location of the user device);
determine whether the calculated distance exceeds a predetermined threshold (see Arteaga [0074], [0079] note determine drone(s) within a predefined radius of the GPS location of the user device) (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0074], [0079], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200, i.e. the predefined radius of the GPS location);
parse the wireless communication signal to obtain an identifier corresponding to the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 4, [0063] note data transmitted by the drones to the regional hubs includes an identifier of the drone that is transmitting the data);
use the identifier to determine an operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0081] note the operator of each drone registers their drone with the registry including contact information for the operator of the drone);
obtain contact information for the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0081] note the operator of each drone registers their drone with the registry including contact information for the operator of the drone); and
send a message to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area).
Consider claim 2, Arteaga teaches wherein the message is sent directly to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0070], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area via SMS, email, MMS, etc, where the regional hub may communicate directly with their respective associated drone as indicated by the dashed lines in Fig. 5).
Consider claim 3, Arteaga teaches wherein the message is sent indirectly to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0071], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area, where the regional hub may communicate with the drone via the network 135).
Consider claim 4, Arteaga teaches wherein the message is sent indirectly to the operator of the UA via a server (see Arteaga, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0072] note via the central server 145 via network 135).
Consider claim 6, Arteaga teaches wherein the at least one processor is programmed to perform further steps comprising:
calculate a distance to the UA by processing a plurality of wireless communications signals received from the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0066], [0068], [0074], [0079] note determine drone(s) within a predefined radius of the GPS location of the user device as the drone moves updating in real time);
determine whether the calculated distance exceeds the predetermined threshold (see Arteaga [0074], [0079] note determine drone(s) within a predefined radius of the GPS location of the user device); and
when the calculated distance exceeds the predetermined threshold, send a proximity warning message to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0074], [0079], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area).
Consider claim 7, Arteaga teaches wherein the proximity warning message is sent directly to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0070], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area via SMS, email, MMS, etc, where the regional hub may communicate directly with their respective associated drone as indicated by the dashed lines in Fig. 5).
Consider claim 8, Arteaga teaches wherein the proximity warning message is sent indirectly to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0071], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area, where the regional hub may communicate with the drone via the network 135).
Consider claim 9, Arteaga teaches wherein the message is sent indirectly to the operator of the UA via a server or via a satellite (see Arteaga, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0072] note via the central server 145 via network 135).
Consider claim 11, Arteaga teaches a method performed by a user device having a wireless receiver and one or more processors communicatively coupled with a non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the one or more processors are programmed to perform steps comprising:
receive, by the wireless receiver, a wireless communication signal from an unmanned aircraft (UA) (see Arteaga Fig. 4, [0062] note regional hub 110 receive data transmitted by drones);
calculate a distance to the UA based on the received wireless communication signal see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0074], [0079] note determine drone(s) within a predefined radius of the GPS location of the user device);
determine that the calculated distance exceeds a predetermined threshold (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0074], [0079] note determine drone(s) within a predefined radius of the GPS location of the user device); and;
parse the wireless communication signal to identify a wireless communication channel corresponding to the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 4, [0063], [0081] note data transmitted by the drones to the regional hubs includes an identifier of the drone that is transmitting the data, where the operator of each drone registers their drone with the registry including contact information for the operator of the drone. Also see Arteaga [0061], [0072] where the regional hub receives the data via LoRa receiver 115); and
send a proximity warning message to the UA via the wireless communication channel (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0074], [0079], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area).
Consider claim 12, Arteaga teaches wherein the UA relays the proximity warning message to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0070], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area via SMS, email, MMS, etc, where the regional hub may communicate directly with their respective associated drone as indicated by the dashed lines in Fig. 5).
Consider claim 13, Arteaga teaches wherein the proximity warning message is sent directly to the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0070], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area via SMS, email, MMS, etc, where the regional hub may communicate directly with their respective associated drone as indicated by the dashed lines in Fig. 5).
Consider claim 14, Arteaga teaches wherein the proximity warning message is sent indirectly to the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0071], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area, where the regional hub may communicate with the drone via the network 135).
Consider claim 15, Arteaga teaches wherein the proximity warning message is sent indirectly to the UA via a server (see Arteaga, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0072] note via the central server 145 via network 135).
Consider claim 22, Arteaga teaches a system (see Arteaga Fig. 4) comprising:
a user device (see Arteaga Fig. 1, note computer system/server 12) comprising:
a wireless receiver (see Arteaga Fig. 1, note network adapter 20) configured to receive wireless communication signals from an unmanned aircraft (UA) in proximity to the user device (see Arteaga Fig. 4, [0062] note regional hub 110 receive data transmitted by drones);
a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store executable programmed modules (see Arteaga [0050] note system memory 28); and
a processor communicatively coupled with the wireless receiver and the non-transitory computer readable medium (see Arteaga [0047] note processing unit 16), the processor configured to execute one or more programmed modules stored in the non-transitory computer readable medium to:
process a signal from the UA received by the wireless receiver to identify the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 4, [0062] note regional hub 110 receive data transmitted by drones);
identify an operator corresponding to the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0081] note the operator of each drone registers their drone with the registry including contact information for the operator of the drone); and
send a message to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area); and
a server device (see Arteaga Fig. 1, note computer system/server 12) comprising:
a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store executable programmed modules (see Arteaga [0050] note system memory 28); and
a processor communicatively coupled with the non-transitory computer readable medium (see Arteaga [0047] note processing unit 16), the processor configured to execute one or more programmed modules stored in the non-transitory computer readable medium to:
process a signal received from the user device (see Arteaga Fig. 4, [0062] note regional hub 110 receive data transmitted by drones);
identify an operator corresponding to the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0081] note the operator of each drone registers their drone with the registry including contact information for the operator of the drone); and
send a message to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area).
Consider claim 23, Arteaga teaches wherein the user device processor is further configured to send the message directly to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0070], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area via SMS, email, MMS, etc, where the regional hub may communicate directly with their respective associated drone as indicated by the dashed lines in Fig. 5).
Consider claim 24, Arteaga teaches wherein user device processor is further configured to send the message indirectly to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0071], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area, where the regional hub may communicate with the drone via the network 135).
Consider claim 26, Arteaga teaches wherein the message is sent indirectly to the operator of the UA via the server (see Arteaga, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0072] note via the central server 145 via network 135).
Consider claim 27, Arteaga teaches wherein the user device processor is further configured to: calculate a distance to the UA based on the received wireless signal (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0074], [0079] note determine drone(s) within a predefined radius of the GPS location of the user device);
determine whether the calculated distance exceeds a predetermined threshold (see Arteaga [0074], [0079] note determine drone(s) within a predefined radius of the GPS location of the user device); and
when the calculated distance exceeds the predetermined threshold, send a proximity warning message to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0074], [0079], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area).
Consider claim 28, Arteaga teaches wherein the proximity warning message is sent directly or indirectly to the operator of the UA (see Arteaga Fig. 5, [0070], [0071], [0081] note determining that a particular drone is currently within the access control area 200 and transmitting a message to the operator of the particular drone using the contact information instructing the operator to keep the drone out of the access control area, where the regional hub may communicate with the drone via the network 135).
Consider claim 30, Arteaga teaches wherein the proximity warning message is sent indirectly to the operator of the UA via the server (see Arteaga, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0072] note via the central server 145 via network 135).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10, 16, 17, 25, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arteaga, and further in view of Pub No.: US-20170092138-A1 (herein “Trundle”).
Consider claim 5, Arteaga fail to teaches wherein the message is sent indirectly to the operator of the UA via a satellite. Trundle explains a drone detection system for monitoring personal airspace surrounding a property where the network is configured to enable exchange of electronic communications between devices connected to the network where the network may include satellite (see Trundle Fig. 2, Fig. 4, [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arteaga to include the recited teaching of Trundle. Such a modification would improve Arteaga by providing flexibility in monitoring the predetermined geographic area (see Trundle [0030]).
Consider claim 10, Arteaga fails to teach wherein processing the plurality of wireless communication signals to calculate the distance comprises estimating an average distance between the UA and the user device based on the plurality of wireless communication signals. Trundle teaches receiving a plurality of signals from the drone to create a signature for the drone within the predetermined threshold distance (see Trundle [0113]-[0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arteaga to include the recited teaching of Trundle. Such a modification would improve Arteaga by providing flexibility in monitoring the predetermined geographic area (see Trundle [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arteaga to include the recited teaching of Trundle. Such a modification would improve Arteaga by providing flexibility in monitoring the predetermined geographic area (see Trundle [0030]).
Consider claim 16, Arteaga fails to teach wherein the proximity warning message is sent indirectly to the UA via a satellite. Trundle explains a drone detection system for monitoring personal airspace surrounding a property where the network is configured to enable exchange of electronic communications between devices connected to the network where the network may include satellite (see Trundle Fig. 2, Fig. 4, [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arteaga to include the recited teaching of Trundle. Such a modification would improve Arteaga by providing flexibility in monitoring the predetermined geographic area (see Trundle [0030]).
Consider claim 17, Arteaga teaches wherein the satellite broadcasts the proximity warning message to the UA (see Trundle Fig. 2, Fig. 4, [0052], [0110] note when an unauthorized drone device is detected within the personal airspace transmitting a signal to one or more of the user devices 340, 350, monitoring control unit, monitoring application server, or the central alarm station server).
Consider claim 25, Arteaga fails to teach wherein the message is sent indirectly to the operator of the UA via a satellite. Trundle explains a drone detection system for monitoring personal airspace surrounding a property where the network is configured to enable exchange of electronic communications between devices connected to the network where the network may include satellite (see Trundle Fig. 2, Fig. 4, [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arteaga to include the recited teaching of Trundle. Such a modification would improve Arteaga by providing flexibility in monitoring the predetermined geographic area (see Trundle [0030]).
Consider claim 29, Arteaga fails to teach wherein the proximity warning message is sent indirectly to the operator of the UA via a satellite. Trundle explains a drone detection system for monitoring personal airspace surrounding a property where the network is configured to enable exchange of electronic communications between devices connected to the network where the network may include satellite (see Trundle Fig. 2, Fig. 4, [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arteaga to include the recited teaching of Trundle. Such a modification would improve Arteaga by providing flexibility in monitoring the predetermined geographic area (see Trundle [0030]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MARCUS HAMMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647