DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of CPP12 (SEQ ID NO: 58) in the reply filed on 1/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicants elected species was deemed to be free of the prior art. In accordance with Markush Practice, the search was extended to the Markush group/independent claim, and a reference was discovered that rendered it obvious. As a result, claims 1-4, 11 and 15 have been examined and claims 5-10, 12-14 and 16-19 are withdrawn from consideration. While applicant’s elected species may read on one or more withdrawn claims, they have not been fully examined for patentability, and thus a determination of allowability cannot be made with respect to these claims at this time. This is proper, as MPEP 803.02 states that, in these circumstances, the prior art search, however, will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all nonelected species (MPEP 803.02).
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending in this application.
Claims 5-10, 12-14 and 16-19 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected species.
Claims 1-4, 11 and 15 are presently under consideration as being drawn to the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quian et al. (ACS Chem Biol. 2013 February 15; 8(2): 423-431).
With respect to claim 1, Quian et al. teach many peptides which correspond to the instantly claimed cyclic peptides. For instance, SEQ ID NO: 13 (i.e. the peptide cyclo(AFfRRRRQ) corresponds to the instantly claimed cyclic peptide of formula I-D wherein AA1 is Ala, AA2 is Phe, AA3 is L-2-naphthylalanine, AA4 is Arg, AA5 is Arg, AA6 is Arg, AA7 is Arg, AA8 is Gln.
Quian et al. also teach that “[o]ur cyclic CPPs are 2–5-fold more efficacious than R9 in transporting cargos including phosphopeptides into the mammalian cytoplasm and nucleus, apparently due to a more efficient endosomal escape process (page 7, 2nd para).
Quian et al. further teach that “[a]ll cyclic peptides contained a Lys(FITC)-NH2 attached to the side chain of the invariant Gln residue” (Table 1, page 22).
With respect to claim 2, AA3 in the peptide of Quian et al. corresponds to L-2-naphthylalanine.
With respect to claim 3, AA2 in the peptide of Quian et al. corresponds to Phe.
With respect to claim 4, as discussed above, AA2 and AA3 correspond to Phe and L-2-naphthylalanine, respectively.
With respect to claim 11, the Arg at position 4 is adjacent to L-2-naphthylalanine at position 3.
With respect to claim 15, the amino acids of the cyclic peptides of Quian et al. are in the natural stereoconfiguration.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10626147. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same cyclic peptide.
With respect to claim 1, ‘147 teaches a cyclic peptide comprising formula Ia or formula IIa (claims 1 and 7), wherein m is 0; n and p are each 1; AA8 is L-arginine; and AA9 is L-glutamine (claims 3 and 9), wherein the cyclic peptide further comprises a cargo moiety, wherein the cargo moiety comprises a detectable moiety, a therapeutic moiety, a targeting moiety, or a combination thereof (claim 6).
With respect to claim 2, in the peptide of ‘147 (i.e. cyclo(ffRrRrRQ) AA2 corresponds to L-2-naphthylalanine.
With respect to claim 3, AA1 in the peptide of ‘147 corresponds to Phe.
With respect to claim 4, as discussed above, AA1 and AA2 correspond to Phe and L-2-naphthylalanine, respectively.
With respect to claim 11, the Arg at position 3 is adjacent to L-2-naphthylalanine at position 2.
Claims 1-4, 11 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-40 of U.S. Patent No. 10815276. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same cyclic peptide.
With respect to claim 1, ‘276 teaches a cyclic peptide comprising formula Ia or IIa (claims 1 and 16) wherein AA1 is phenylalanine; AA2 is naphthylalanine; AA3 is arginine; AA4 is arginine; AA5 is arginine; AA6 is arginine (claims 12 and 28); and wherein m is 0; n and p are each 1; AA8 is arginine; and AA9 is glutamine (claims 14 and 30); and wherein the cargo moiety comprises a detectable moiety, a therapeutic moiety, a targeting moiety or a combination thereof (claims 16).
With respect to claim 2, in the peptide of ‘276 (i.e. cyclo(FfRRRRRQ) AA2 corresponds to L-2-naphthylalanine.
With respect to claim 3, AA1 in the peptide of ‘276 corresponds to Phe.
With respect to claim 4, as discussed above, AA1 and AA2 correspond to Phe and L-2-naphthylalanine, respectively.
With respect to claim 11, the Arg at position 3 is adjacent to L-2-naphthylalanine at position 2.
With respect to claim 15, the amino acids of the cyclic peptides of ‘276 are in the natural stereoconfiguration.
Claims 1-4, 11 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-35 of U.S. Patent No. 11168310. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same cyclic peptide.
With respect to claim 1, ‘310 teaches a compound of formula V-A1, V-A2, or V-A3 (claims 1-2), which corresponds to the instantly claimed cyclic peptide of structure I-D (i.e. cyclo(FFfRRRRQ)), wherein AA1 is phenylalanine; AA2 is phenylalanine; AA3 is naphthylalanine; AA4 is arginine; AA5 is arginine; AA6 is arginine; AA7 is arginine; and AA8 is glutamine; wherein the cargo moiety (i.e. TP) is coupled to the side chain of glutamine (see claim 2).
With respect to claim 2, in the peptide of ‘310, AA3 corresponds to L-2-naphthylalanine.
With respect to claim 3, AA1 and AA2 in the peptide of ‘310 correspond to Phe.
With respect to claim 4, as discussed above, AA1, AA2 and AA3 correspond to Phe, Phe and L-2-naphthylalanine, respectively.
With respect to claim 11, the Arg at position 4 is adjacent to L-2-naphthylalanine at position 3.
With respect to claim 15, the amino acids of the cyclic peptides of ‘310 are in the natural stereoconfiguration.
Claims 1-4, 11 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11987821. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same cyclic peptide.
With respect to claim 1, ‘821 teaches a compound of formula V-A1, V-A2, or V-A3 (claims 1 and 8), which corresponds to the instantly claimed cyclic peptide of structure I-D (i.e. cyclo(FFfRRRRQ)), wherein AA1 is phenylalanine; AA2 is phenylalanine; AA3 is naphthylalanine; AA4 is arginine; AA5 is arginine; AA6 is arginine; AA7 is arginine; and AA8 is glutamine; wherein the cargo moiety (i.e. TP) is coupled to the side chain of glutamine (see claim 8).
With respect to claim 2, in the peptide of ‘821, AA3 corresponds to L-2-naphthylalanine.
With respect to claim 3, AA1 and AA2 in the peptide of ‘821 correspond to Phe.
With respect to claim 4, as discussed above, AA1, AA2 and AA3 correspond to Phe, Phe and L-2-naphthylalanine, respectively.
With respect to claim 11, the Arg at position 4 is adjacent to L-2-naphthylalanine at position 3.
With respect to claim 15, the amino acids of the cyclic peptides of ‘821 are in the natural stereoconfiguration.
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658