DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, “periodically” is indefinite because it is unclear as to how frequently the adjusting is taking place.
Regarding claim 10, “the digital domain” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 17-20, the language does not further recite a further limiting step in the method.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Labanowski (US 2022/0099763).
Regarding claim 15, Labanowski discloses a method of sensing a biomagnetic field (abstract: “magnetic sensing”) under ambient conditions ([0142]: “biological sensor array and ambient field array”) in an ambulatory subject, the method comprising: placing an acoustically driven ferromagnetic resonance (ADFMR) sensor on a region of a subject's body ([0046]: “smart watches, headphones, fitness trackers” imply an ambulatory subject); shielding, using a flexible foil shield, the ADFMR sensor by at least partially covering the ADFMR sensor with the flexible foil shield ([0113], [0114], Figs. 1 and 2: “shielding 140”: mu-metal shielding is known to be pliable and it is considered to be a foil because it covers an area of space); receiving a signal from the shielded ADFMR sensor worn on the subject; generating a biomagnetic sensor signal from the signal; and outputting the biomagnetic sensor signal ([0097], [0098], [0112], [0142]: “biological sensor array”).
Regarding claim 16, Labanowski discloses shielding comprises partially shielding the ADFMR sensor ([0113], [0114], Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 17, Labanowski discloses that the flexible foil shield comprises a mumetal foil ([0113], [0114], Figs. 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labanowski (US 2022/0099763) in view of Heidari (US 2026/0102094).
Regarding claim 1, Labanowski discloses a method of sensing a biomagnetic field under ambient conditions in an ambulatory subject, the method comprising: receiving a primary signal from one or more primary acoustically driven ferromagnetic resonance (ADFMR) sensors worn on the subject (abstract; [0142], [0046]: “smart watches, headphones, fitness trackers” imply an ambulatory subject). Labanowski does not explicitly disclose receiving a secondary signal from one or more secondary ADFMR sensors worn on the subject; weighting the secondary signal by a weighting factor; periodically adjusting, at a tuning frequency, the weighting factor; generating a corrected biomagnetic sensor signal by subtracting the primary signal from the weighted secondary signal; and outputting the corrected biomagnetic sensor signal. However, Heidari teaches correcting the signals from a biomagnetic sensor that involves noise-cancellation by subtracting a weighted signal (Fig. 7; [0079], [0080]), wherein the noise-cancelling sensor is the same type as the primary sensor ([0016], [0017], [0073]). Periodically adjusting the weighting factor would have been obvious in view of Heidari because the frequency of performing a correction is an arbitrary value that would best fit the need for correction. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the biomagnetic noise correction of Heidari to the sensing of Labanowski, as to provide effective noise reduction techniques.
Regarding claim 2, Labanowski does not explicitly disclose estimating a level of noise from a spectral density of the primary or secondary signal and weighting the secondary signal to minimize the estimated noise. However, Labanowski does teach that a correction factor is based upon a power spectra ([0168]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the spectra of Labanowski, as to provide an optimized offset.
Regarding claim 4, Labanowski does not explicitly disclose receiving the secondary signal comprises receiving the secondary signal from the one or more secondary ADFMR sensor that is flexibly connected to the one or more primary ADFMR sensors. However, Heidari teaches correcting the signals from a biomagnetic sensor that involves noise-cancellation by subtracting a weighted signal from a secondary sensor (Fig. 7; [0079], [0080]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the biomagnetic noise correction of Heidari to the sensing of Labanowski, as to provide effective noise reduction techniques.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Labanowski discloses that the outputting comprises continuous and real-time outputting ([0075]: “heart-rate monitoring” is continuous and real-time).
Regarding claim 7, Labanowski does not explicitly disclose that the one or more secondary ADFMR sensors comprises three or more secondary ADFMR sensors that are arranged orthogonal to each other. However, Heidari teaches correcting the signals from a biomagnetic sensor that involves noise-cancellation by subtracting a weighted signal from a secondary sensor (Fig. 7; [0079], [0080]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the biomagnetic noise correction of Heidari to the sensing of Labanowski, as to provide effective noise reduction techniques.
Regarding claim 10, Labanowski does not explicitly disclose converting the primary signal and the secondary signal into the digital domain before generating the corrected biomagnetic signal. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply digitization to the sensor signals, as to provide conventional A/D conversion capabilities.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Labanowski discloses shielding sensors under a mu metal foil ([0113], [0114], Figs. 1 and 2: “shielding 140”: mu-metal shielding is known to be pliable and it is considered to be a foil because it covers an area of space).
Regarding claim 13, Labanowski discloses denoising a signal ([0050], [0051]).
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labanowski (US 2022/0099763).
Regarding claim 8, Labanowski does not explicitly disclose that the tuning frequency is adjusted based on input from a motion sensor. However, Labanowski does teach that an additional motion detection sensor may improve magnetic sensor functionality ([0083]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the motion detection of Labanowski to the consideration of how frequently the weighting factor is adjusted, as to provide a motion-dependent correction mechanism.
Regarding claim 9, Labanowski does not explicitly disclose that the tuning frequency is between 0.1 Hz and 10 Hz. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply an appropriate tuning frequency to the adjustment of the correction factor, as to provide robust correction.
Regarding claims 18-20, Labanowski does not explicitly disclose that the flexible foil shield is between 0.01 and 0.2 mm thick, approximately 0.1 mm thick, or that it comprises between 1-4 layers of foil. However, Labanowski teaches that a flexible foil shield may be sized and shaped according to the structural limitations of the device ([0113]: “may be incorporated to protect a subset of magnetic sensors”, thus requiring varying physical/dimensional features). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply specific physical features of a flexible foil shield, as to provide a properly constructed and configured shield.
Conclusion
/JASON M IP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3793