DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 12, last limitation: “and and” should be “and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12518333. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious in view of the issued patent.
The table below shows how the claims in the instant application are anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 12518333:
Patent 12518333
Instant Application
1. A computing cloud for forensic criminal investigation comprising at least one data storage unit and at least one memory device configured to store instructions and at least one computer processing unit that executes the instructions, wherein the computing cloud:
provides an interactive webpage having at least a data management page and a storyboard page;
receives first personal data about a first subject via the data management page;
receives a first image via the data management page;
receives first text data associated with the first image via the data management page;
receives first time data associated with the first image via the data management page;
links the first time data and the first text data with the first image;
receives second text data via the data management page;
receives first location data via the data management page;
receives second time data via the data management page;
links the first location data and the second time data with the second text data;
receives a first plurality of digital records of interaction between a first identifier associated with the first subject and a first plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a first plurality of individuals, the first plurality of digital records having been recorded by a first provider, each of the first plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements;
receives a first map from a network location from the location data, the first map showing the first location and an area surrounding the first location, the first map having a graphical representation of the first location;
creates a plurality of story boards on the storyboard page, each storyboard of the plurality of storyboards comprising graphical and/or textual representations of data, the plurality of storyboards comprising:
a first storyboard that includes the first personal data, a reference to the first plurality of records, and a timeline, the timeline comprising a visual representation of the first time data and a visual representation of the second time data;
a second storyboard that includes the first image, the first text, the first time data, and the timeline;
and a third storyboard that includes the second text, the second time location, the first map, and the timeline;
and provides the storyboard on the interactive webpage in response to a request for the interactive webpage
1. A computing cloud for forensic criminal investigation comprising at least one data storage unit and at least one memory device configured to store instructions and at least one computer processing unit that executes the instructions, wherein the computing cloud:
provides an interactive webpage having at least a data management page and a storyboard page;
receives first personal data about a first subject via the data management page;
receives a first image via the data management page;
receives first text data associated with the first image via the data management page;
receives first time data associated with the first image via the data management page;
links the first time data and the first text data with the first image;
receives first location data via the data management page;
receives a first plurality of digital records of interaction between a first identifier associated with the first subject and a first plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a first plurality of individuals, the first plurality of digital records having been recorded by a first provider, each of the first plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements;
receives a first map from a network location from the location data, the first map showing the first location and an area surrounding the first location, the first map having a graphical representation of the first location;
creates a plurality of story boards on the storyboard page, each storyboard of the plurality of storyboards comprising graphical and/or textual representations of data, the plurality of storyboards comprising:
a first storyboard that includes the first personal data, a reference to the first plurality of records, and a timeline, the timeline comprising a visual representation of the first time data;
and a second storyboard that includes the first image, the first text, the first time data, and the timeline;
and provides the storyboard on the interactive webpage in response to a request for the interactive webpage.
2. The computing cloud according to The computing cloud according to wherein the computing cloud receives second time data via the data management page, and receives second text data via the data management page and links the first location data and the second time data with the second text data; and wherein the first story board includes a visual representation of the second time data; wherein the plurality of storyboards comprise: a third storyboard that includes the second text, the second time data, the first map, and the timeline.
8. The computing cloud according to claim 1, wherein the computing cloud further: receives changes to one or more of the first text data, the first time data, the first location data, the second text data, and the second time data; and automatically updates the plurality of storyboards based on the changes.
3. The computing cloud according to claim 2, wherein the computing cloud further: receives changes to one or more of the first text data, the first time data, the first location data, the second text data, and the second time data; and automatically updates the plurality of storyboards based on the changes.
2. The computing cloud according to claim 1, wherein the first provider comprises a provider selected from the group consisting of a wireless communication provider, a social media company, and a messenger company.
4. The computing cloud according to claim 1, wherein the first provider comprises a provider selected from the group consisting of a wireless communication provider, a social media company, and a messenger company.
3. The computing cloud according to claim 1, wherein the data management page comprises one or more pages.
5. The computing cloud according to claim 1, wherein the data management page comprises one or more pages.
4. The computing cloud according to claim 1, wherein the visual representation of the first time data includes a link to the second story board such that when clicked by a user viewing either the first story board or the third story board the second story board is presented to the user.
6. The computing cloud according to claim 1, wherein the visual representation of the first time data includes a link to the second story board such that when clicked by a user viewing either the first story board or the third story board the second story board is presented to the user.
5. The computing cloud according to claim 4, wherein the computing cloud further receives second personal data about a second subject via the data management page; and wherein the plurality of storyboards comprises a fourth storyboard that includes the second personal data.
7. The computing cloud according to claim 6, wherein the computing cloud further receives second personal data about a second subject via the data management page; and wherein the plurality of storyboards comprises a fourth storyboard that includes the second personal data.
6. The computing cloud according to claim 5, wherein the computing cloud further receives a second plurality of digital records of interaction between a second identifier associated with the second subject and a second plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a second plurality of individuals, the second plurality of digital records having been recorded by a second provider, each of the second plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements; wherein the fourth storyboard includes a reference to the second plurality of records.
8. The computing cloud according to claim 7, wherein the computing cloud further receives a second plurality of digital records of interaction between a second identifier associated with the second subject and a second plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a second plurality of individuals, the second plurality of digital records having been recorded by a second provider, each of the second plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements; wherein the fourth storyboard includes a reference to the second plurality of records.
7. The computing cloud according to claim 6, wherein the computing cloud further: establishes a first digital interaction between the first subject and the second subject based on an interaction between the data element of the first plurality of digital records and the data element of the second plurality of digital records.
9. The computing cloud according to claim 8, wherein the computing cloud further: establishes a first digital interaction between the first subject and the second subject based on an interaction between the data element of the first plurality of digital records and the data element of the second plurality of digital records.
9. The computing cloud according to claim 1, wherein the computing cloud further: receives third data via the data management page; receives third time data via the data management page; links the third data and the third time data together; updates the timeline to include a representation of the third time data; and updates the plurality of storyboards to include a fourth storyboard that includes a visual and/or textural representation of the third data.
10. The computing cloud according to claim 1, wherein the computing cloud further: receives third data via the data management page; receives third time data via the data management page; links the third data and the third time data together; updates the timeline to include a representation of the third time data; and updates the plurality of storyboards to include a fourth storyboard that includes a visual and/or textural representation of the third data.
10. The computing cloud according to claim 1, wherein the computing cloud further exports the plurality of storyboards as a standalone file, the standalone file comprising a file selected from the group consisting of a pdf file, an HTML file, and a power point file.
11. The computing cloud according to claim 1, wherein the computing cloud further exports the plurality of storyboards as a standalone file, the standalone file comprising a file selected from the group consisting of a pdf file, an HTML file, and a power point file.
11. A method for producing a storyboard of a forensic case, the method comprising:
providing an interactive webpage having at least a data management page and a storyboard page;
receiving first personal data about a first subject via the data management page;
receiving a first image via the data management page;
receiving first text data associated with the first image via the data management page;
receiving first time data associated with the first image via the data management page;
linking the first time data and the first text data with the first image;
receiving second text data via the data management page;
receiving first location data via the data management page;
receiving second time data via the data management page;
linking the first location data and the second time data with the second text data;
receiving a first plurality of digital records of interaction between a first identifier associated with the first subject and a first plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a first plurality of individuals, the first plurality of digital records having been recorded by a first provider, each of the first plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements;
retrieving a first map from a network location from the location data, the first map showing the first location and an area surrounding the first location, the first map having a graphical representation of the first location;
creating a plurality of story boards on the storyboard page, each storyboard of the plurality of storyboards comprising graphical and/or textual representations of data, the plurality of storyboards comprising:
a first storyboard that includes the first personal data, a reference to the first plurality of records, and a timeline, the timeline comprising a visual representation of the first time data and a visual representation of the second time data;
a second storyboard that includes the first image, the first text, the first time data, and the timeline;
and a third storyboard that includes the second text, the second time location, the first map, and the timeline;
and providing the storyboard on the interactive webpage in response to a request for the interactive webpage.
12. A method for producing a storyboard of a forensic case, the method comprising:
providing an interactive webpage having at least a data management page and a storyboard page;
receiving first personal data about a first subject via the data management page;
receiving a first image via the data management page;
receiving first text data associated with the first image via the data management page;
receiving first time data associated with the first image via the data management page;
linking the first time data and the first text data with the first image;
receiving second text data via the data management page;
receiving first location data via the data management page;
receiving a first plurality of digital records of interaction between a first identifier associated with the first subject and a first plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a first plurality of individuals, the first plurality of digital records having been recorded by a first provider, each of the first plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements;
retrieving a first map from a network location from the location data, the first map showing the first location and an area surrounding the first location, the first map having a graphical representation of the first location;
creating a plurality of story boards on the storyboard page, each storyboard of the plurality of storyboards comprising graphical and/or textual representations of data, the plurality of storyboards comprising:
a first storyboard that includes the first personal data, a reference to the first plurality of records, and a timeline, the timeline comprising a visual representation of the first time data;
a second storyboard that includes the first image, the first text, the first time data, and the timeline;
and and providing the storyboard on the interactive webpage in response to a request for the interactive webpage.
13. The method according to claim 12, further comprising: receiving second time data via the data management page; and linking the first location data and the second time data with the second text data; wherein the first story board includes a visual representation of the second time data; wherein the plurality of storyboards comprises a third storyboard that includes the second text, the second time data, the first map, and the timeline.
18. The method according to claim 11, further comprising: receiving changes to one or more of the first text data, the first time data, the first location data, the second text data, and the second time data; and automatically updating the plurality of storyboards based on the changes.
14. The method according to claim 13, further comprising: receiving changes to one or more of the first text data, the first time data, the first location data, the second text data, and the second time data; and automatically updating the plurality of storyboards based on the changes.
12. The method according to claim 11, wherein the first provider comprises a provider selected from the group consisting of a wireless communication provider, a social media company, and a messenger company.
15. The method according to claim 12, wherein the first provider comprises a provider selected from the group consisting of a wireless communication provider, a social media company, and a messenger company.
13. The method according to claim 11, wherein the data management page comprises one or more pages.
16. The method according to claim 12, wherein the data management page comprises one or more pages.
14. The method according to claim 11, wherein the visual representation of the first time data includes a link to the second story board such that when clicked by a user viewing either the first story board or the third story board the second story board is presented to the user.
17. The method according to claim 12, wherein the visual representation of the first time data includes a link to the second story board such that when clicked by a user viewing either the first story board or the third story board the second story board is presented to the user.
15. The method according to claim 11, further comprising receiving second personal data about a second subject via the data management page; wherein the plurality of storyboards comprises a fourth storyboard that includes the second personal data.
18. The method according to claim 12, further comprising receiving second personal data about a second subject via the data management page; wherein the plurality of storyboards comprises a fourth storyboard that includes the second personal data.
16. The method according to claim 15, further comprising receiving a second plurality of digital records of interaction between a second identifier associated with the second subject and a second plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a second plurality of individuals, the second plurality of digital records having been recorded by a second provider, each of the second plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements; wherein the fourth storyboard includes a reference to the second plurality of records.
19. The method according to claim 18, further comprising receiving a second plurality of digital records of interaction between a second identifier associated with the second subject and a second plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a second plurality of individuals, the second plurality of digital records having been recorded by a second provider, each of the second plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements; wherein the fourth storyboard includes a reference to the second plurality of records.
17. The method according to claim 16, further comprising: establishing a first digital interaction between the first subject and the second subject based on an interaction between the data element of the first plurality of digital records and the data element of the second plurality of digital records.
20. The method according to claim 19, further comprising: establishing a first digital interaction between the first subject and the second subject based on an interaction between the data element of the first plurality of digital records and the data element of the second plurality of digital records.
19. The method according to claim 11, further comprising: receiving third data via the data management page; receiving third time data via the data management page; linking the third data and the third time data together; updating the timeline to include a representation of the third time data; and updating the plurality of storyboards to include a fourth storyboard that includes a visual and/or textural representation of the third data.
21. The method according to claim 12, further comprising: receiving third data via the data management page; receiving third time data via the data management page; linking the third data and the third time data together; updating the timeline to include a representation of the third time data; and updating the plurality of storyboards to include a fourth storyboard that includes a visual and/or textural representation of the third data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (Patent Number 11669512) in view of GUSTOF et al. (‘GUSTOF’ hereinafter) (Publication Number 20230195934).
As per claim 1, Smith teaches
A computing cloud for forensic criminal investigation comprising at least one data storage unit and at least one memory device configured to store instructions and at least one computer processing unit that executes the instructions, wherein the computing cloud: (see abstract and background)
provides an interactive webpage having at least a data management page and a storyboard page; (web portal, column 13, lines 20-30; figure 17-18 & figures 21-22)
receives first personal data about a first subject via the data management page; receives a first image via the data management page; receives first text data associated with the first image via the data management page; (tag person of interest, icon, and data of “Guy in Orange Jacket” in GUI, column 15, lines 20-38 & figure 17)
receives first time data associated with the first image via the data management page; links the first time data and the first text data with the first image; (location and time table for person of interest, column 15, lines 53-60 & figure 21)
receives first location data via the data management page; (location and time table for person of interest, column 15, lines 53-60 & figure 21)
receives a first map from a network location from the location data, the first map showing the first location and an area surrounding the first location, the first map having a graphical representation of the first location; (map defining areas of interest, column 15, lines 45-55)
creates a plurality of story boards on the storyboard page, each storyboard of the plurality of storyboards comprising graphical and/or textual representations of data, the plurality of storyboards comprising: (storyboard for person of interest presented and scenarios with person of interest, column 15, lines 30-67)
a first storyboard that includes the first personal data, a reference to the first plurality of records, and a timeline, the timeline comprising a visual representation of the first time data; (scenario of person of interest including activity over time and averages, column 15, line 60 through column 16, line 15 & figures 23A; see also activity with times in figure 20)
and a second storyboard that includes the first image, the first text, the first time data, and the timeline; (scenario of area of interest and activity levels by time of day, column 15, line 60 through column 16, line 15 & figure 23B)
and provides the storyboard on the interactive webpage in response to a request for the interactive webpage. (figures 23A-B & 24)
Smith does not explicitly indicate “receives a first plurality of digital records of interaction between a first identifier associated with the first subject and a first plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a first plurality of individuals, the first plurality of digital records having been recorded by a first provider, each of the first plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements”.
However, GUSTOF discloses “receives a first plurality of digital records of interaction between a first identifier associated with the first subject and a first plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a first plurality of individuals, the first plurality of digital records having been recorded by a first provider, each of the first plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements” (record with characteristics and identify of person and interaction with another person, paragraphs [0039],[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Smith and GUSTOF because using the steps claimed would have given those skilled in the art the tools to improve the invention by being able to protect personal information of captured data regarding interactions between people by creating versions associated with levels of authorized access (see GUSTOF, paragraph [0047]). This gives the user the advantage of ensuring that personal data is protected from misuse.
As per claim 5, Smith teaches
the data management page comprises one or more pages. (figure 21)
As per claim 6, Smith teaches
the visual representation of the first time data includes a link to the second story board such that when clicked by a user viewing either the first story board or the third story board the second story board is presented to the user. (people of interest associated with recent scenarios are presented for selection by user, column 15, line 53 through column 16, line 20 & figures 21-25, where scenario reads on storyboard and people of interest depicted are depicted in associated or linked scenarios).
As per claim 7, Smith teaches
the computing cloud further receives second personal data about a second subject via the data management page; and wherein the plurality of storyboards comprises a fourth storyboard that includes the second personal data. (people of interest such as “Man w/ Red Jacket” depicted and associated with recent scenarios are presented for selection by user, column 15, line 20 through column 16, line 20 & figures 21-25, where scenario reads on storyboard and people of interest depicted are depicted in associated or linked scenarios).
As per claim 12, Smith teaches
A method for producing a storyboard of a forensic case, the method comprising: (see abstract and background)
providing an interactive webpage having at least a data management page and a storyboard page; (web portal, column 13, lines 20-30; figure 17-18 & figures 21-22)
receiving first personal data about a first subject via the data management page; receiving a first image via the data management page; receiving first text data associated with the first image via the data management page; (tag person of interest, icon, and data of “Guy in Orange Jacket” in GUI, column 15, lines 20-38 & figure 17)
receiving first time data associated with the first image via the data management page; linking the first time data and the first text data with the first image; (location and time table for person of interest, column 15, lines 53-60 & figure 21)
receiving second text data via the data management page; (person of interest also tagged with “Adult Male”, column 15, 20-30)
receiving first location data via the data management page; (location and time table for person of interest, column 15, lines 53-60 & figure 21)
retrieving a first map from a network location from the location data, the first map showing the first location and an area surrounding the first location, the first map having a graphical representation of the first location; (map defining areas of interest, column 15, lines 45-55)
creating a plurality of story boards on the storyboard page, each storyboard of the plurality of storyboards comprising graphical and/or textual representations of data, the plurality of storyboards comprising: (storyboard for person of interest presented and scenarios with person of interest, column 15, lines 30-67)
a first storyboard that includes the first personal data, a reference to the first plurality of records, and a timeline, the timeline comprising a visual representation of the first time data; (scenario of person of interest including activity over time and averages, column 15, line 60 through column 16, line 15 & figures 23A; see also activity with times in figure 20)
a second storyboard that includes the first image, the first text, the first time data, and the timeline; (scenario of area of interest and activity levels by time of day, column 15, line 60 through column 16, line 15 & figure 23B)
and and providing the storyboard on the interactive webpage in response to a request for the interactive webpage. (figures 23A-B & 24)
Smith does not explicitly indicate “receiving a first plurality of digital records of interaction between a first identifier associated with the first subject and a first plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a first plurality of individuals, the first plurality of digital records having been recorded by a first provider, each of the first plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements”.
However, GUSTOF discloses “receiving a first plurality of digital records of interaction between a first identifier associated with the first subject and a first plurality of identifiers each associated with a respective one of a first plurality of individuals, the first plurality of digital records having been recorded by a first provider, each of the first plurality of digital records including a plurality of data elements” (record with characteristics and identify of person and interaction with another person, paragraphs [0039],[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Smith and GUSTOF because using the steps claimed would have given those skilled in the art the tools to improve the invention by being able to protect personal information of captured data regarding interactions between people by creating versions associated with levels of authorized access (see GUSTOF, paragraph [0047]). This gives the user the advantage of ensuring that personal data is protected from misuse.
As per claims 16-18,
These claims are rejected on grounds corresponding to the reasons given above for rejected claims 5-7 and are similarly rejected.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (Patent Number 11669512) in view of GUSTOF et al. (‘GUSTOF’ hereinafter) (Publication Number 20230195934) and further in view of Modestine et al. (‘Modestine’ hereinafter) (Patent Number 11393108).
As per claim 4,
Neither Smith nor GUSTOF explicitly indicate “the first provider comprises a provider selected from the group consisting of a wireless communication provider, a social media company, and a messenger company”.
However, Modestine discloses “the first provider comprises a provider selected from the group consisting of a wireless communication provider, a social media company, and a messenger company” (column 36, lines 30-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Smith, GUSTOF and Modestine because using the steps claimed would have given those skilled in the art the tools to improve the invention by to have a common or well-known provider that can support or provide better infrastructure or services. This gives the user the advantage of being more widely supported and/or available.
As per claim 15,
This claim is rejected on grounds corresponding to the reasons given above for rejected claim 4 and is similarly rejected.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (Patent Number 11669512) in view of GUSTOF et al. (‘GUSTOF’ hereinafter) (Publication Number 20230195934) and further in view of Schriber et al. (‘Schriber’ hereinafter) (Publication Number 20190107927).
As per claim 11,
Neither Smith nor GUSTOF explicitly indicate “the computing cloud further exports the plurality of storyboards as a standalone file, the standalone file comprising a file selected from the group consisting of a pdf file, an HTML file, and a power point file”.
However, Schriber discloses “the computing cloud further exports the plurality of storyboards as a standalone file, the standalone file comprising a file selected from the group consisting of a pdf file, an HTML file, and a power point file” (paragraph [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Smith, GUSTOF and Schriber because using the steps claimed would have given those skilled in the art the tools to improve the invention by providing a standardized output for better sharing or storage of data. This gives the user the advantage of providing easier access to data using more common formats.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 8-10, 13-14 and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable over the prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note that these claims are still rejected for Double Patenting which must be resolved.
Conclusion
/JAY A MORRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151