DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Joint Inventors
Priority/Benefit
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Examiner notes that claims 1-4, 8-11, and 13-20 are supported by the earlier filed provisional, 63/560,381 (effective filing date of 03/01/2024). However, claims 5-7 and 12 are only supported by the application that the instant application is a CON of (18/819,180, effective filing date of 08/09/2024). As such, claims 1-4, 8-11, and 13-20 are granted the effective filing date of 03/01/2024 and claims 5-7 and 12 are granted the effective filing date of 08/09/2024. Examiner notes however that should amendments be made, those limitations will be evaluated based on their support from the prior-filed applications (provisional and non-provisional applications).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/16/2025, was filed before the
mailing of a First Office Action on the Merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37
CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This action is in response to Applicant’s filing on 09/16/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3-4, the claims recite the limitation of “… includes rotating along an axis of rotation …”. However, rotation can only be about an axis of rotation and not along it. As such, the claims are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Vasanth et al., US 12008496 B1, herein referred to as Vasanth, and in view of Nagai et al., JP 2018140692 A, herein referred to as Nagai.
Regarding claim 1, Vasanth discloses a communication interface configured to receive input data from one or more autonomous mobile robots of the plurality of autonomous mobile robots, the input data being determined based on sensor data captured by the one or more autonomous mobile robots (Col. 3 lines 23-25, Col. 15 lines 23-52; autonomous robotic agents may have multiple sensors which can obtain data, this data can be considered input data), an environment mapper configured to determine a scene graph representing the physical environment based at least in part on the input data (Col. 2 lines 1-8, Col. 8 lines 41-45, Col. 15 lines 23-52; the autonomous robotic agents may map an environment based on sensor data; the map can include equipment that the agents may collide with (obstacles)), a workflow coordinator configured to determine a workflow based on the scene graph, the workflow including a plurality of tasks to be performed within the physical environment by an autonomous mobile robot in cooperation with a human (Col. 3 lines 15-40, Col. 15 lines 23-52; the autonomous robotic agents may have tasks assigned to each of them; these tasks may involve the robotic agents and human operators; these tasks are performed in the environment which has been mapped by the robotic agents), and a route planner configured to determine routing information based on the workflow and the scene graph, the autonomous mobile robot being configured to autonomously navigate the physical environment to execute the plurality of tasks based at least in part on the routing information (Col. 15 lines 7-22; a navigation system on each of the robotic agents may be used to navigate along various paths in the environment while performing tasks), but fails to disclose the autonomous mobile robot being configured to move in an updated direction based on a force exerted on a handlebar at the autonomous mobile robot.
However, Nagai, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches the autonomous mobile robot being configured to move in an updated direction based on a force exerted on a handlebar at the autonomous mobile robot (Paragraphs 0022, 0028, 0033, and 0048; multiple sensors may be attached to the handle of a dolly to determine forces and torques applied by a user; these forces and torques may be utilized to control the dolly). Therefore, from the teaching of Nagai, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robotic system of Vasanth to include the autonomous mobile robot being configured to move in an updated direction based on a force exerted on a handlebar at the autonomous mobile robot, as taught/suggested by Nagai. The motivation to do so would be to better allow a user to manipulate the robotic agents. By controlling the robotic agents based on force applied to a handlebar of the robot, a user can more easily push, pull, etc. the robot in a desired direction. This can be advantageous in instances where the user needs to make adjustments to the positioning such as for better item retrieval, better spacing, etc.
Regarding claim 2, Vasanth in view of Nagai renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Vasanth further discloses input data being determined based on sensor data captured by the one or more autonomous mobile robots (Col. 3 lines 23-25, Col. 15 lines 23-52; autonomous robotic agents may have multiple sensors which can obtain data, this data can be considered input data) but fails to disclose wherein the force includes a translational force and a rotational force, and wherein moving in the updated direction includes determining the updated direction based on both the translational force and the rotational force. However, Nagai teaches wherein the force includes a translational force and a rotational force, and wherein moving in the updated direction includes determining the updated direction based on both the translational force and the rotational force (Paragraphs 0022, 0028, 0033, and 0048; multiple sensors may be attached to the handle of a dolly to determine forces and torques applied by a user; these forces and torques may include translational and rotational forces; the robotic dolly may be controlled to move based on these determined translational and rotational forces).
Therefore, from the teaching of Nagai, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robotic system of Vasanth and Nagai to include wherein the force includes a translational force and a rotational force, and wherein moving in the updated direction includes determining the updated direction based on both the translational force and the rotational force, as taught/suggested by Nagai. The motivation to do so would be to ensure that the robotic agents are able to move accurately based on a user’s applied force. This can ensure that the agent moves accurately and do not erroneously move to an undesired position/orientation that can make item/object loading/unloading difficult.
Regarding claim 3, Vasanth in view of Nagai renders obvious the limitations of claim 2. Vasanth further discloses the robotic agents rotating about an axis (Col. 14 line 60 to Col. 15 line 6; the robotic agents may rotate about a vertical axis, tilt axis, and/or a pan axis) but fails to disclose wherein the updated direction includes rotating along an axis of rotation parallel to the handlebar. However, Nagai teaches wherein the updated direction includes rotating along an axis of rotation parallel to the handlebar (Paragraphs 0022, 0028, 0033, and 0048, 0089-0090; the robotic dolly may have vertical handles (see Fig. 14) that allow for a user to impart force/torque for determining robotic control directions; this force input can allow for the robotic dolly to rotate about a vertical axis; this vertical axis may be parallel to the vertical handles). Therefore, from the teaching of Nagai, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robotic system of Vasanth and Nagai to include wherein the updated direction includes rotating along an axis of rotation parallel to the handlebar, as taught/suggested by Nagai. The motivation to do so would be to allow for rotation about certain axes. This can allow for better maneuverability when a human interacts with the robotic agents.
Regarding claim 7, Vasanth in view of Nagai renders obvious the limitations of claim 1. Vasanth further discloses wherein the routing information includes a nominal route including a plurality of waypoints indicated within the scene graph and corresponding to locations in the physical environment (Col. 9 lines 6-10, Col. 15 lines 7-22; robotic agents may navigate through the environment based on local beacons; these local beacons may be considered as waypoints).
Regarding claim 8, Vasanth in view of Nagai renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Vasanth further discloses wherein the physical environment is a warehouse, and wherein the workflow involves retrieving or replenishing a plurality of items stored in the warehouse (Col. 2 lines 1-8, Col. 4 lines 62-67; the robotic agents may operate in a warehouse and can pick/place items during various tasks).
Regarding claim 9, Vasanth in view of Nagai renders obvious all the limitations of claim 8. Vasanth further discloses wherein the plurality of tasks includes autonomously navigating the warehouse in coordination with the human to facilitate transfer of the plurality of items between a plurality of storage locations in the warehouse and the one or more autonomous mobile robots (Col. 3 lines 15-40, Col. 7 lines 16-36; robotic agents may have tasks that include transportation of items throughout the warehouse; these tasks can also include humans assisting).
Regarding claim 11, Vasanth in view of Nagai renders obvious all the limitations of claim 9. Vasanth further discloses wherein the plurality of tasks includes instructing two or more of the plurality of autonomous mobile robots to act together as a virtual pick wall or a virtual put wall (Col. 12 lines 43-58, Col. 18 lines 64-66; multiple robotic agents may perform tasks alongside each other; each of the robotic agents may utilize a storage bin; if multiple agents are working alongside each other while carrying the storage bins, the setup may be considered a virtual pick wall or virtual put wall).
Regarding claim 12, Vasanth in view of Nagai renders obvious all the limitations of claim 9. Vasanth further discloses wherein the plurality of tasks includes receiving scanner data or weight sensor data indicating that an item of the plurality of items has been scanned or moved by the human (Col. 4 lines 42-61, Col. 13 lines 40-67; items may be transferred between robotic agents; humans may use scanners for determining tasks which can include the transfer of items between a human and a robotic agent).
Regarding claim 13, Vasanth in view of Nagai renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Vasanth further discloses wherein the autonomous mobile robot is configured to update a local scene graph representing the physical environment based at least in part on the input data, and wherein autonomously navigating the physical environment involves avoiding obstacles based on the local scene graph (Col. 8 lines 20-45, Col. 15 lines 23-35; robotic agents may map the environment as it changes, this can be considered as updating the local scene graph as new items or other changes in the environment are mapped; the robotic agents may also avoid obstacles present within the environment).
Regarding claim 18, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 1 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 2 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 1 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 1.
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Vasanth, in view of Nagai, and further in view of Deyle et al., US 20200061839 A1, herein referred to as Deyle.
Regarding claim 10, Vasanth in view of Nagai renders obvious all the limitations of claim 9. Vasanth further discloses a plurality of tasks (Col. 3 lines 15-40, Col. 15 lines 23-52; the autonomous robotic agents may have tasks assigned to each of them; these tasks may involve the robotic agents and human operators), but fails to disclose wherein the plurality of tasks includes activating one or more lighting forces at the one or more autonomous mobile robots to indicate a location of an item of the plurality of items. However, Deyle, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the plurality of tasks includes activating one or more lighting forces at the one or more autonomous mobile robots to indicate a location of an item of the plurality of items (Paragraph 0036; the robot can use a laser pointer to identify an item). Therefore, from the teaching of Deyle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robotic system of Vasanth and Nagai to include wherein the plurality of tasks includes activating one or more lighting forces at the one or more autonomous mobile robots to indicate a location of an item of the plurality of items, as taught/suggested by Deyle. The motivation to do so would be to allow for the robotic agents to locate and highlight an item. This can help other humans in the area or can allow for better item retrieval, especially in cases where an item may not have enough light on it to be clearly indicated. This overall can increase the speed of retrieval, which can then lead to faster operations within the warehouse.
Regarding claim 14, Vasanth in view of Nagai renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Vasanth further discloses wherein the autonomous mobile robot includes a mechanical drive unit (Col. 14 line 60 to Col. 15 line 6; the robotic agents may have drive systems which can include wheels, tracks, etc.), but fails to disclose wherein the autonomous mobile robot includes an omnidirectional and backdriveable mechanical drive unit. However, Deyle teaches wherein the autonomous mobile robot includes an omnidirectional and backdriveable mechanical drive unit (Paragraph 0096; the robot may have a holonomic drive system which can allow the robot to move in any direction which can include backwards). Therefore, from the teaching of Deyle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robotic system of Vasanth and Nagai to include wherein the autonomous mobile robot includes an omnidirectional and backdriveable mechanical drive unit, as taught/suggested by Deyle. The motivation to do so would be to allow the robotic agents to have better maneuverability. This can be advantageous in tight spaces where the room for maneuvering is limited, especially when other robotic agents or humans are present.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the examiner has performed a thorough search and has not found a piece of prior art, either alone or in combination with other prior art, that discloses, teaches, suggests, or renders obvious the claim limitations. The closest prior art combination, US 12008496 B1 by Vasanth and JP 2018140692 A by Nagai, teaches wherein the updated direction includes rotating along an axis of rotation parallel to the handlebar (see claim 3 rationale above), but fails to teach wherein the updated direction includes rotating along an axis of rotation identical to the handlebar. Although Nagai teaches rotation about vertical axis parallel to the vertical handle, it does not specifically teach rotations about an axis identical to the handlebar (under BRI and in view of the specification, an axis identical to the handlebar would be a coincident axis; see 00122). This feature is unique in that it allows for the robotic cart to rotate about a specific axis based on forces applied by a user. This can result in better maneuverability and better responsiveness to a user’s force input on the handle.
Regarding claim 5, the examiner has performed a thorough search and has not found a piece of prior art, either alone or in combination with other prior art, that discloses, teaches, suggests, or renders obvious the claim limitations. The closest prior art combination, US 12008496 B1 by Vasanth and JP 2018140692 A by Nagai, teaches an updated direction based on a force exerted on a handlebar at the autonomous mobile robot (see claim 1 rationale), but fails to teach wherein the updated direction is determined based on a force vector that multiplies the translational force and the rotational force by a force multiplier. This feature is novel in that it allows for the robotic cart to effectively apply a gain to the translational and rotational forces. This can allow for amplification or reduction of a user’s applied force and can be advantageous in instances where a user may not be able to apply as much force (older individuals, those with disabilities, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, the examiner has performed a thorough search and has not found a piece of prior art, either alone or in combination with other prior art, that discloses, teaches, suggests, or renders obvious the claim limitations. The closest prior art combination, US 12008496 B1 by Vasanth and JP 2018140692 A by Nagai, teaches an environment mapper configured to determine a scene graph representing the physical environment based at least in part on the input data (see claim 1 rationale), but fails to teach wherein the scene graph is determined based on a knowledge map that represents locations of forces within the physical environment over time. This feature is novel in that it allows the map to indicate how and where forces occur in the environment. This can help with diagnostics of robotic functions within the environment. For instance, if forces occur in a given location often enough over time, this may indicate that the robots are not sufficiently positioning themselves for the task or that the user in that area needs further adjustment of the robot position for collaborative tasks. This can lead to increased efficiency as the user may not need to adjust the robot as often, resulting in faster task completion.
Regarding claim 15, the examiner has performed a thorough search and has not found a piece of prior art, either alone or in combination with other prior art, that discloses, teaches, suggests, or renders obvious the claim limitations. The closest prior art combination, US 12008496 B1 by Vasanth and JP 2018140692 A by Nagai, teaches a user applying a force to move a robotic agent (see claim 1 rationale), but fails to teach wherein the autonomous mobile robot switches to a manual mode upon detecting human presence. This feature is novel in that it allows for the robot to disengage its autonomous function once it detects a human. This can be advantageous as it allows for the robot to prepare itself for manual manipulation by the user. This can save time as the user does not necessarily have to wait for the mode switch.
Regarding claim 16, the examiner has performed a thorough search and has not found a piece of prior art, either alone or in combination with other prior art, that discloses, teaches, suggests, or renders obvious the claim limitations. The closest prior art combination, US 12008496 B1 by Vasanth and JP 2018140692 A by Nagai, teaches a user applying a force to move a robotic agent (see claim 1 rationale), but fails to teach wherein the autonomous mobile robot switches to a manual mode upon detecting the force. This feature is novel in that it allows for the robot to switch modes once it detects a user positively applying a force to the handlebar. This can prevent false mode switches based on data errors or other erroneous factors as a user applying force to the handlebar is a specific trigger event.
Regarding claim 17, the examiner has performed a thorough search and has not found a piece of prior art, either alone or in combination with other prior art, that discloses, teaches, suggests, or renders obvious the claim limitations. The closest prior art combination, US 12008496 B1 by Vasanth and JP 2018140692 A by Nagai, teaches wherein the autonomous mobile robot includes a mechanical drive unit (see claim 14 rationale) but fails to teach wherein the autonomous mobile robot includes a mechanical drive unit includes a first drive unit and a second drive unit, each of the first drive unit and the second drive unit including a respective powered first wheel and a respective powered second wheel offset from a respective axis, each of the first drive unit and the second drive unit freely rotating around the respective axis. This feature is unique in that it requires a specific structure for the mechanical drive. This may allow for better maneuverability as the offset axis may allow for complex movements such as rotating in place, strafing movements, etc.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A BUKSA/Examiner, Art Unit 3658