DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The Response filed September 14, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 49-73, 75, 77 and 79-80 are pending and are being examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 14, 2026 have been fully considered.
The following rejections are MAINTAINED:
Prior art rejections
Response to arguments regarding prior art rejections
Gardner declaration
As an initial matter, the Examiner notes the following:
The declaration is largely directed to opinions of Dr. Gardner as to whether modifying the Cao method by incorporating DNMT5 could have been done so with a reasonable expectation of success (e.g., para 8: “in my view, it would be beyond the capability of one of ordinary skill in the art to have a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Cao … assay with … DNMT5. An outline of these views is … described in more detail below”). MPEP 716.01(c)(III) states “[i]n assessing the probative value of an expert opinion, the examiner must consider the nature of the matter sought to be established, the strength of any opposing evidence, the interest of the expert in the outcome of the case, and the presence or absence of factual support for the expert’s opinion”. The same section of the MPEP states “an opinion as to a legal conclusion is not entitled to any weight”. Most of the declaration is an opinion as to the legal conclusion of a reasonable expectation of the success of a modification, and these opinions are not further considered in view of MPEP 716.01(c)(III). The remaining factual statements are addressed below.
The declaration makes multiple references to “Exhibit 2”. There does not appear to be any document labeled “Exhibit 2”, and it is not entirely clear what Applicant is referring to. Nevertheless, there is a 13-page document comprising various figures and charts. In this document, the figures appear to have been prepared in some kind of grayscale and have numerous text boxes. The text in many of the boxes (in particular, in Figs. 2-4) is illegible due to both the lightness of the grayscale and the extremely small font that is used. Thus, these figures and the corresponding discussion in the declaration cannot be further assessed (e.g., paras. 13-15).
The Gardner declaration summarizes the Catania declaration (paras. 16-20). It is not clear why the Gardner declaration reiterates opinions from another declaration. It is also not clear if Dr. Gardner is personally aware of the facts underlying the Catania declaration or is only aware of the content of the Catania declaration itself. Nevertheless, in view of MPEP 716.01(c)(III), one expert’s opinions as to a second expert’s opinions as to legal conclusions are also not given any weight. The factual evidence provided in the Catania declaration is responded to separately.
Applicant argues that the design and optimization of in vitro multi-enzyme cascades is a complex task that could take many years to conduct and it is impossible to know ahead of time which would work, Applicant identifies critical factors in performing such optimization, including design of the synthesis route, choice of enzymes, reaction conditions, process design and protein engineering (Declaration, paras. 8-12, 21-23).
This is not persuasive for several reasons. First, it is not clear what is so massively complicated about, e.g., altering the reaction temperature or cation concentrations when switching from the amplification step to the methylation step. Further, as to the level of skill in the art, the instant specification teaches at p. 46 …
… and at p. 65 …
… and at p. 68 …
… and at p. 75 …
… and at p. 79 …
So which is it? Are the critical factors in performing such optimization, including design of the synthesis route, choice of enzymes, reaction conditions, process design and protein engineering so well-known in the art that they can be omitted from the specification, or are they so complex and unpredictable that the ordinary artisan would think that they would likely never succeed in developing a working assay? These positions appear to be completely contradictory.
Applicant states “Siedentop teaches that optimizing such a combined multi-enzyme scheme is highly unpredictable (Siedentop at p. 3)” (Declaration, para. 11). Applicant additionally refers to various portions of Siedentop that refer to challenging aspects of multi-enzyme assay design (Declaration, para. 12).
As to the former, the Examiner notes that Siedentop makes no such statement on p. 3 or on any other page of the document. As to the latter, Siedentop also teaches that some optimization approaches use in silico approaches (e.g., Fig. 2). If the principles of enzyme cascade optimization are so well-known that they can be reduced to a series of algorithms and modeled on a computer, then that suggests that they actually are somewhat predictable.
Catania declaration
As with the Gardner declaration above, the Catania declaration is largely directed to opinions as to legal conclusions (e.g., “p. 2: “From My Perspective, One of Ordinary Skill in the Art Would Not be Motivated to Substitute DNMT5 for DNMT1 in the Method of Cao, now Would One Have a Reasonable Expectation of Success in Doing So”). These opinions will be given no weight, as discussed above.
Applicant argues that DNMT5 has a fungal origin while DNMT1 has a mammalian origin,
and “the function and complexity of methylation is so different between fungal and mammalian genomes” (Declaration, para. 8). Applicant additionally argues that DNMT5 and DNMT1 have structural and sequence differences, low sequence protein sequence homology and fulfill different roles in vivo (Declaration, paras. 10-13).
Even assuming that this is true, it isn’t clear what this has to do with either the Cao
method or the instantly claimed method. Neither the Cao method nor the instantly claimed method require that the target DNA be from any particular organism, nor do they even require that the target DNA is from a naturally occurring source (e.g., see Cao paras. 57-58). Further, the DNA amplification is not performed inside cells or tissues. Thus, the only relevant issue is whether DNMT5 would be expected to act on isolated double-stranded DNA, not whether DNMT performs a different function in vivo from DNMT1, or the difference in complexity of fungal and mammalian genome patterns.
Applicant argues that DNMT1 has been known in the art for many years, while DNMT5 is relatively new. Applicant further states that there is no commercial source of DNMT5 and there are no standardized methods for assaying DNMT5 activity (Declaration, paras. 14-16).
A prima facie showing of obviousness does not require a showing that the component parts are well-known or routinely used in the art, nor does it require that the proposed modification would be readily reduced to practice using commercially-available sources.
Applicant states “[t]o study epigenetics in mammals, one would look to a mammalian methyltransferase not a fungal methyltransferase that has specialized function in a very different genome context to mammalian DNA” (Declaration, paras. 17-18).
It is not clear how this is relevant to the instant case. Neither the instantly claimed method nor the Cao methods are limited to studying epigenetics in mammals.
Applicant argues that DNMT5 and DNMT1 have different cofactor requirements and the “cofactor requirements for DNMT1 cannot be extrapolated to DNMT5” (Declaration, para. 10).
These statements directly contradict the teachings of the instant specification. Specifically, the specification (p. 79) teaches that optimizing reaction conditions, including, e.g., Mg2+ concentration, is routine practice.
Response to additional Remarks
Applicant provided additional Remarks in their response. Most of the Remarks reiterate arguments made in the Gardner and Catania Declarations. Those arguments are addressed above and are not reiterated here. Applicant’s other arguments are addressed below.
Applicant argues that para. 27 in Cao should be read more narrowly than it is interpreted in the Office Action (Remarks, pp. 9-10).
This argument has been addressed previously (Non-Final Office Action mailed June 16, 2026, p. 4).
Applicant argues that “reading Cao in is entirety, one of ordinary skill in the art would focus on performing primer extension in the presence of Mg2+ and chelating Mg2+ for the methyltransferase reaction”, and that any other reading of Cao is impermissible picking and choosing (Remarks, pp. 10-11).
The Examiner disagrees. If prior art reference teaches multiple embodiments, it is not improper picking and choosing to cite the embodiment that is closest to the claimed method.
Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine because there was no unsolved problem identified in the art (Remarks, pp. 11-13).
The Examiner disagrees. A prima facie showing of obviousness does not require that the art identifies an unsolved problem. See MPEP 2141 (III).
Finally, as to the dependent claims, Applicant argues that the additional secondary references do not cure the deficiencies of the art cited in the rejections of the independent claims (Remarks, pp. 31-32).
The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s characterization of the teachings of the references cited against the independent claims and thus disagrees with this position as well.
These arguments are not persuasive. Most of Applicant’s response centers around the Gardner and Catania Declarations, and as noted above, most of the content of those Declarations states opinions as to legal conclusions. These opinions are given no weight, as discussed above. The factual evidence provided in the Declarations has also been considered, as also noted, but most of it contradicts statements in the instant specification.
It is also noted that MPEP 716.01(c)(III) states “[i]n assessing the probative value of an expert opinion, the examiner must consider … the interest of the expert in the outcome of the case”. As the Gardner and Catania Declarations state, both Gardner and Catania have a financial interest in Syndex Bio, and thus both also have a financial interest in the ultimate disposition of this Application. Thus, given the experts’ financial interest in the outcome of the case, and the fact that a number of statements by Gardner and Catania contradict the specification, there appears to be a likelihood of bias in the Gardner and Catania Declarations. Consequently, these statements are given little weight.
Finally, Applicant’s additional arguments have mostly been considered and addressed previously.
These arguments are not persuasive. The rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49-60, 63-72, 75, 77 and 79-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao1 (US Patent App. Pub. No. 2020/0063213 A1) in view of Dumesic2 (ATP Hydrolysis by the SNF2 Domain of Dnmt5 is Coupled to Both Specific Recognition and Modification of Hemimethylated DNA, Molecular Cell, 79(1): 127-139, 2020) and Siedentop3 (Getting the Most Out of Enzyme Cascades: Strategies to Optimize In Vitro Multi-Enzymatic Reactions, Catalysts, 11(10): 1183, 1-24, 2021).
Regarding independent claim 49 and dependent claims 50-53, 56-58, 63-64 and 67-68,
Cao teaches …
A method of amplifying methylated DNA, comprising: (a) denaturing double stranded methylated DNA (dsDNA) at a first temperature and lowering the first temperature to a second temperature to copy a target sequence on one strand of the denatured double stranded DNA (dsDNA) with a DNA polymerase, optionally a strand displacing DNA polymerase, optionally Bst DNA polymerase, and at least one target specific DNA oligonucleotide primer (Fig. 1, 2nd p.; paras. 25, 43, 47, 54, 127: denature at 94°C, and lower to second temperature to copy target sequence, e.g., 64°C);
wherein the dsDNA is symmetrically methylated and the copying produces a hemimethylated dsDNA substrate (Fig. 1, 2nd p.: after the primer extension step);
and (b) lowering the second temperature to a third temperature and contacting the hemimethylated dsDNA substrate with a methyltransferase enzyme comprising methyltransferase activity, optionally further comprising a SAM methyl donor group (paras. 59, 101: lower temperature to 37°C and incubate with methyltransferase enzyme, 104; Fig. 1, 2nd p.: DNMT1 incubation step);
wherein the thermal cycling amplification comprising steps (a) and (b) is repeated at least once in the same reaction vessel, optionally between 2-50 times (paras. 10, 14: 2-4 times, 25: 1 to 3 … 2 to 6, 43);
and wherein the method produces an amplified methylated dsDNA product, which is optionally symmetrically methylated (Fig. 1, 2nd p.: after the DNMT1 incubation step).
Regarding the limitation requiring that the hemimethylated dsDNA substrate is contacted with an enzyme comprising methyltransferase activity and ATP hydrolysis (ATPase) activity, Cao teaches a genus of methyltransferases, which are used to treat “hemi-methylated double stranded DNA … to produce methylated double stranded DNA fragments which results in replication of the methylation status … of the original template” (para. 25), and specifically teaches DNMT1 (para. 25). DNMT1 comprises methyltransferase activity, but does not additionally comprise ATPase activity. However, Dumesic teaches another DNMT enzyme, specifically DNMT5, and teaches that DNMT5 comprises both methyltransferase and SNF2 ATPase domains and corresponding activity, and further that the additional ATPase activity contributes to higher specificity for hemimethylated DNA compared to DNMT1. Dumesic additionally teaches that DNMT5 has > 1000-fold greater activity for hemimethylated DNA compared to unmethylated DNA (Fig. 1; abstract; p. 128, left col., paras. 2-3; p. 131, left col., para. 2; p. 135, right col., para. 2; p. 136, right col., para. 2). Dumesic additionally teaches that DNMT5 has hemimethylation activity at 23°C (p. e2: DNA methyltransferase assay).
Regarding the limitations requiring that the cation concentration is sufficient to support both DNA polymerase activity and ATPase activity of the methyltransferase enzyme, and that the DNA is not purified between steps, Cao does not explicitly teach a specific embodiment where magnesium ions are present in both steps of the reaction or that the same buffer is used in both steps. However, Cao does teach carrying out the amplification and methylation steps in the same vessel, and that, in some embodiments “a methyl-transferase … may require conditions, that do not include … cations … which may be a component of a PCR reaction” (para. 27). Thus, the ordinary artisan would understand from “may require” that some methyltransferases require a lack of cations while others do not. The ordinary artisan would also understand that if both the polymerase and methyltransferase being used require magnesium ions, then there would be no reason to purify the DNA between steps. Further,
Cao teaches 3.67 mM MgSO4 4 (para. 103) for DNA polymerase activity, while Dumesic teaches using 1mM MgCl2 for DNMT5 methyltransferase activity (p. e2: DNA methyltransferase assay). It is generally understood in the art, and taught in Siedentop (e.g., abstract), that when a reaction requires the use of multiple, perhaps two, enzymes, the components in the reaction mix should be optimized so to maximize the activity of both enzymes. Siedentop also teaches strategies for optimizing cation concentrations in such situations (sections 2, 3, 3.1.3). Thus, since Cao and Dumesic teach magnesium concentrations appropriate for the polymerase and DNMT5, respectively, and since Siedentop teaches the need to optimize magnesium concentrations and strategies for doing so, the ordinary artisan would have optimized the magnesium concentration, using the prior art conditions as a guide, to arrive at a cation concentration that is sufficient to support both DNA polymerase activity and ATPase activity of the methyltransferase enzyme, and would not have added an unnecessary purification DNA step between the amplification and methylations steps.
Prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the Cao method to incorporate the DNMT5 enzyme of Dumesic. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to incorporate the DNMT5 enzyme into the Cao method with the expectation that doing so would result in the advantage of an assay with an improved efficiency for generating a fully methylated double stranded product, as DNMT5 has higher specificity for hemimethylated DNA as compared to the Cao DNMT1 enzyme. It would have been additionally obvious to use the methyltransferase enzyme at a temperature which is known in the art to be an active temperature for the enzyme. The ordinary artisan would further have optimized the temperature through routine experimentation to customize the assay as desired. The ordinary artisan would have had an expectation of success as Cao teaches using various enzymes, and because DNMT5 is known in the art to be useful for performing methylation functions in assays with hemimethylated DNA substrates.
It would have been further obvious to modify the Cao method to incorporate magnesium ions in both steps of the reaction and to not purify the DNA between steps, as Cao teaches that polymerases require magnesium, as do at least some methyltransferases, and Dumesic teaches a DNMT reaction mix comprising magnesium ions. Further, Siedentop teaches that a reaction mix should be optimized to maximize the activity of both enzymes used in the assay, and provides guidance for doing so. Thus, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to optimize the buffers and buffer components through routine experimentation to customize the assay as desired, including to use a single buffer for both steps of the assay, as doing so would result in the advantage of a lower cost assay. The ordinary artisan would have had an expectation of success as the design and modification of nucleic acid assay reaction components is well-known in the art, as taught by Siedentop.
Regarding dependent claim 54, Cao additionally teaches further determining the presence of methylated DNA in the amplified methylated dsDNA product (para. 43).
Regarding dependent claims 55 and 75, Cao teaches further adding sequencing adapters to the amplified methylated dsDNA product for sequencing (para. 54: Illumina adapters), as recited in claim 55, and that after a final thermal amplification cycle comprising steps (a) and (b) is completed, the method further comprises the step of sequencing the amplified methylated dsDNA product and/or subjecting the amplified methylated dsDNA product to epigenetic analysis (paras. 25, 54), as recited in claim 75.
Regarding dependent claims 59-60, Cao teaches that the polymerase step, excludes the addition of a chelating agent, and specifically EDTA (para. 27). Cao also teaches carrying out the amplification and methylation steps in the same vessel, and that, in some embodiments, “a methyl-transferase … may require conditions, that do not include … cations … which may be a component of a PCR reaction” (para. 27). Thus, the ordinary artisan would understand from “may require” that some methyltransferases require a lack of cations while others do not, and would further understand that, in embodiments that do not require a lack of cations, a chelating agent would not be added to the reaction volume.
Regarding dependent claims 65-66 and 69, Cao additionally teaches that the target specific primer comprises a tag at the 5’ and/or 3’ end (para. 123), as recited in claim 65, and that the tag comprises biotin (para. 123), as recited in claim 66. Cao additionally teaches that the biotin-tagged amplicons are isolated/immobilized using an avidin binding partner attached to a (solid) substrate (para. 123), as recited in claim 69.
Regarding dependent claims 70-71, Cao and Dumesic additionally teach that the enzyme in (b) has de novo methylation activity less than that of DNMT1, as recited in claim 70, and optionally no detectable de novo methylation activity, as recited in claim 71. Specifically, Cao teaches that DNMT1 has de novo and maintenance methylation activities (paras. 26, 114), and Dumesic teaches that DNMT5 has maintenance methylation activity only, but no de novo methylation activity (p. 128, left col., para. 2).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to further modify the modified Cao method, discussed above, to incorporate a methyltransferase enzyme with no de novo methylation activity. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to incorporate the recited enzyme into the Cao method with the expectation that doing so would result in the advantage of an assay with an improved efficiency for generating a fully methylated double stranded product, as the recited enzyme has higher specificity for hemimethylated DNA as compared to the Cao DNMT1 enzyme. MPEP 2144.07 states that “[t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use support[s] a prima facie obvious determination”. The ordinary artisan would have had an expectation of success as Cao teaches using various enzymes, including the genus of enzymes comprising the DNMT enzymes, and because DNMT5 is known in the art to be useful for performing methylation functions in assays with hemimethylated DNA substrates.
Regarding dependent claim 72, Dumesic does not teach that the enzyme in (b) has the property of being thermofunctional at a temperature of up to about 30°C. However, Dumesic does teach that the enzyme is thermofunctional for at least part of the recited range, i.e., up to at least 23°C (p. e2: DNA methyltransferase assay performed at 23°C).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to further modify the modified Cao method, discussed above, to optimize the choice of enzymes and their working temperatures. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so to customize the assay as needed through routine optimization to select an enzyme with the desired properties, and then to use that enzyme at a temperature consistent with its activity profile. The ordinary artisan would also have had an expectation of success in doing so as designing and modifying nucleic acid assay reaction components to select appropriate enzymes is well-known in the art.
Regarding dependent claims 79-80, Cao additionally teaches that first temperature is between about 90°C to about 100°C (para. 127: denature at 94°C) and the second temperature is between about 50°C to about 80°C (para. 127: amplify at, e.g., 64°C), as recited in claim 79. Cao additionally teaches that first temperature is between about 92°C to about 98°C (para. 127: denature at 94°C) and the second temperature is between about 55°C to about 72°C (para. 127: amplify at, e.g., 64°C), as recited in claim 80.
Regarding independent claim 77, Cao teaches …
A method of determining the methylation status of a target sequence in a biological fluid, comprising amplifying methylated double-stranded DNA from the biological fluid to produce an amplified symmetrically methylated dsDNA product, the method comprising: (a) denaturing double stranded methylated DNA (dsDNA) at a first temperature and lowering the first temperature to a second temperature to copy a target sequence on one strand of the denatured double stranded DNA (dsDNA) from the biological fluid with a DNA polymerase, and at least one target specific DNA oligonucleotide primer (Fig. 1, 2nd p.; paras. 25, 31, 43, 47, 54, 56, 127: denature at 94°C, and lower to second temperature to copy target sequence, e.g., 64°C, 145);
wherein the dsDNA is symmetrically methylated and the copying produces a hemimethylated dsDNA substrate (Fig. 1, 2nd p.: after the primer extension step);
and (b) lowering the second temperature to a third temperature and contacting the hemimethylated dsDNA substrate with a methyltransferase enzyme comprising methyltransferase activity (paras. 59, 101: lower temperature to 37°C and incubate with methyltransferase enzyme, 104; Fig. 1, 2nd p.: DNMT1 incubation step);
wherein the thermal cycling amplification comprising steps (a) and (b) is repeated at least once in the same reaction vessel (paras. 10, 14: 2-4 times, 25: 1 to 3 … 2 to 6, 43);
and wherein the method produces an amplified symmetrically methylated dsDNA product (Fig. 1, 2nd p.: after the DNMT1 incubation step), and wherein the methylation status is associated with a medical condition (paras. 17, 23-24, 145).
Regarding the limitation requiring that the hemimethylated dsDNA substrate is contacted with an enzyme comprising methyltransferase activity and ATP hydrolysis (ATPase) activity, Cao teaches a genus of methyltransferases, which are used to treat “hemi-methylated double stranded DNA … to produce methylated double stranded DNA fragments which results in replication of the methylation status … of the original template” (para. 25), and specifically teaches DNMT1 (para. 25). DNMT1 comprises methyltransferase activity, but does not additionally comprise ATPase activity. However, Dumesic teaches another DNMT enzyme, specifically DNMT5, and teaches that DNMT5 comprises both methyltransferase and SNF2 ATPase domains and corresponding activity, and further that the additional ATPase activity contributes to higher specificity for hemimethylated DNA compared to DNMT1. Dumesic additionally teaches that DNMT5 has > 1000-fold greater activity for hemimethylated DNA compared to unmethylated DNA (Fig. 1; abstract; p. 128, left col., paras. 2-3; p. 131, left col., para. 2; p. 135, right col., para. 2; p. 136, right col., para. 2). Dumesic additionally teaches that DNMT5 has hemimethylation activity at 23°C (p. e2: DNA methyltransferase assay).
Regarding the limitations requiring that the cation concentration is sufficient to support both DNA polymerase activity and ATPase activity of the methyltransferase enzyme, and that the DNA is not purified between steps, Cao does not explicitly teach a specific embodiment where magnesium ions are present in both steps of the reaction or that the same buffer is used in both steps. However, Cao does teach carrying out the amplification and methylation steps in the same vessel, and that, in some embodiments “a methyl-transferase … may require conditions, that do not include … cations … which may be a component of a PCR reaction” (para. 27). Thus, the ordinary artisan would understand from “may require” that some methyltransferases require a lack of cations while others do not. The ordinary artisan would also understand that if both the polymerase and methyltransferase being used require magnesium ions, then there would be no reason to purify the DNA between steps. Further,
Cao teaches 3.67 mM MgSO4 5 (para. 103) for DNA polymerase activity, while Dumesic teaches using 1mM MgCl2 for DNMT5 methyltransferase activity (p. e2: DNA methyltransferase assay). It is generally understood in the art, and taught in Siedentop (e.g., abstract), that when a reaction requires the use of multiple, perhaps two, enzymes, the components in the reaction mix should be optimized so to maximize the activity of both enzymes. Siedentop also teaches strategies for optimizing cation concentrations in such situations (sections 2, 3, 3.1.3). Thus, since Cao and Dumesic teach magnesium concentrations appropriate for the polymerase and DNMT5, respectively, and since Siedentop teaches the need to optimize magnesium concentrations and strategies for doing so, the ordinary artisan would have optimized the magnesium concentration, using the prior art conditions as a guide, to arrive at a cation concentration that is sufficient to support both DNA polymerase activity and ATPase activity of the methyltransferase enzyme, and would not have added an unnecessary purification DNA step between the amplification and methylations steps.
Prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the Cao method to incorporate the DNMT5 enzyme of Dumesic. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to incorporate the DNMT5 enzyme into the Cao method with the expectation that doing so would result in the advantage of an assay with an improved efficiency for generating a fully methylated double stranded product, as DNMT5 has higher specificity for hemimethylated DNA as compared to the Cao DNMT1 enzyme. It would have been additionally obvious to use the methyltransferase enzyme at a temperature which is known in the art to be an active temperature for the enzyme. The ordinary artisan would further have optimized the temperature through routine experimentation to customize the assay as desired. The ordinary artisan would have had an expectation of success as Cao teaches using various enzymes, and because DNMT5 is known in the art to be useful for performing methylation functions in assays with hemimethylated DNA substrates.
It would have been further obvious to modify the Cao method to incorporate magnesium ions in both steps of the reaction and to not purify the DNA between steps, as Cao teaches that polymerases require magnesium, as do at least some methyltransferases, and Dumesic teaches a DNMT reaction mix comprising magnesium ions. Further, Siedentop teaches that a reaction mix should be optimized to maximize the activity of both enzymes used in the assay, and provides guidance for doing so. Thus, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to optimize the buffers and buffer components to through routine experimentation to customize the assay as desired, including to use a single buffer for both steps of the assay, as doing so would result in the advantage of a lower cost assay. The ordinary artisan would have had an expectation of success as the design and modification of nucleic acid assay reaction components is well-known in the art, as taught by Siedentop.
Claims 61-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao6 (US Patent App. Pub. No. 2020/0063213 A1) in view of Dumesic7 (ATP Hydrolysis by the SNF2 Domain of Dnmt5 is Coupled to Both Specific Recognition and Modification of Hemimethylated DNA, Molecular Cell, 79(1): 127-139, 2020) and Siedentop (Getting the Most Out of Enzyme Cascades: Strategies to Optimize In Vitro Multi-Enzymatic Reactions, Catalysts, 11(10): 1183, 1-24, 2021) as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Gormley8 (US Patent No. 9,868,982).
Regarding dependent claims 61-62, Gormley additionally teaches that the target specific primer further comprises an adapter, which is optionally methylated. Further, Gormley teaches that “[t]he presence of methylated adaptors in these … polynucleotides facilitates treatment of such polynucleotides with bisulfite for the purposes of determining methylation status of cytosine bases in the target portion of the … polynucleotides … the adapters ligated onto the ends of the targets are fully methylated and are, therefore, resistant to bisulfite induced alterations. Thus, any unmethylated cystosine bases present … originate exclusively in the target nucleic acid portion of the polynucleotide” (col. 5, ll. 12-40).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to further modify the modified Cao method, discussed above, to incorporate the various Gormley adapters. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to incorporate these various elements with the expectation that doing so would result in the advantage of an amplified product with improved properties for downstream applications. For example, the methylated adapters and barcodes of Gormley are useful for deconvoluting sequence data. The ordinary artisan would have had an expectation of success as the design and modification of nucleic acid libraries which include various adapters is well-known in the art.
Claim 73 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao9 (US Patent App. Pub. No. 2020/0063213 A1) in view of Dumesic10 (ATP Hydrolysis by the SNF2 Domain of Dnmt5 is Coupled to Both Specific Recognition and Modification of Hemimethylated DNA, Molecular Cell, 79(1): 127-139, 2020) and Siedentop (Getting the Most Out of Enzyme Cascades: Strategies to Optimize In Vitro Multi-Enzymatic Reactions, Catalysts, 11(10): 1183, 1-24, 2021) as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Brown11 (WO 2024/256581 A1; effectively filed date June 14, 2023)
Regarding dependent claim 73, Brown teaches SEQ ID NO: 73 (p. 115), which is identical
to instant SEQ ID NO: 1.
Prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to further modify the modified Cao method, discussed above, to incorporate the DNMT5, as recited in the Brown sequence. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so to customize the assay as needed through routine optimization to select an enzyme with the desired properties. The ordinary artisan would also have had an expectation of success in doing so as designing and modifying nucleic acid assay reaction components to select appropriate enzymes is well-known in the art.
Conclusion
Claims 49-73, 75, 77 and 79-80 are being examined, and are rejected. No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLYN L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681
1 Cao was cited in the Information Disclosure Statement submitted October 29, 2025.
2 Dumesic was cited in the Information Disclosure Statement submitted October 29, 2025.
3 Siedentop was cited in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited mailed June 16, 2026.
4 0.55 uL of a 100 mM stock solution diluted in a 15 uL reaction volume = final concentration of 3.67 mM.
5 0.55 uL of a 100 mM stock solution diluted in a 15 uL reaction volume = final concentration of 3.67 mM.
6 Cao was cited in the Information Disclosure Statement submitted October 29, 2025.
7 Dumesic was cited in the Information Disclosure Statement submitted October 29, 2025.
8 Gormley was cited in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited mailed February 25, 2026.
9 Cao was cited in the Information Disclosure Statement submitted October 29, 2025.
10 Dumesic was cited in the Information Disclosure Statement submitted October 29, 2025.
11 Brown was cited in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited mailed February 25, 2025.