DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to applicant’s filing on 9/16/2025. Claims 1-8 are pending and considered below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“sound output device” (claims 1-8) and “voice output device” (claims 2-8) are a speaker, as disclosed in applicant’s specification, paragraph [0049] (PGPub), FIG. 1, in-vehicle apparatus-100, and speaker-150, and FIG. 2, in-vehicle apparatus-100, controller-101, and voice output module-105.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without integrating the judicial exception into a practical application and without an additional element which amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claims 1-8, step 1 analysis, the subject matter of claims 1-8 is included in the four patent-eligible subject matter categories (e.g., process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter). Claims 1-8 are directed to an apparatus (a controller and a speaker).
Claims 1-8 are directed to a judicial exception. The claim limitations recite a revised step 2A, prong one, abstract idea (a mental process involving observation and evaluation which could be performed in the human mind). Claims 1-8 are directed to an apparatus for calculating a current distance from the current location of a vehicle to a destination of the vehicle and generating voice data using content information according to the current distance. This limitation is a simple process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the claims encompass a passenger checking the distance to an event and determining to provide a driver with information about the event based on the distance. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
Claims 1-8 include the revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements of obtaining a current location of a vehicle and outputting voice data. Obtaining a current location of a vehicle is data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Outputting voice data is insignificant post-solution activity. Claims 1-8 do not recite revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claims 1-8 generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (vehicle navigation systems).
Claims 1-8 include the step 2B additional elements of a controller and a sound output device (speaker). Applicant’s specification does not provide any indication that the controller and speaker are anything other than conventional controllers and speakers. Calculating distances is a well-understood, routine and conventional function when claimed using a generic controller. Outputting voice data is a well-understood, routine and conventional function when claimed using a generic speaker. Controllers and speakers are widely prevalent and in common use in vehicle navigation systems. Controllers and speakers are not significantly more than the judicial exception since they are well-understood, routine and conventional features previously known to the vehicle navigation system industry. Therefore, claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
See, the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, which is available on the USPTO Website.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims should use the word “a” or “an” the first time an element is introduced, and should use “the” or “said” during subsequent use.
Terms should be used consistently in all claims, including dependent claims.
Regarding claims 2-5, “the voice output device” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 6-8 depend on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US-2024/0062432-A1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses:
An information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to execute: (paragraphs [0228-0244]; FIG. 7, controller-170; and FIG. 8, vehicle-100, augmented reality (AR) service device-800, and server-900);
obtaining a current location of a vehicle (paragraphs [0151] and [0159]; and FIG. 7, communication apparatus-400, location information unit-420, and processor-470);
calculating a current distance from the current location of a vehicle to a destination of the vehicle (paragraphs [0451-0452]);
outputting, from a sound output device (paragraphs [0087] and [0096]; and FIG. 7, user interface apparatus-200, audio output module-252, and processor-270);
a voice data generated using a content information according to the current distance (paragraphs [0087], [0096] and [0451-0452]); and
the content information is selected according to the current distance from among a plurality of candidates of the content information published on a website related to an event to be held at the destination of the vehicle (paragraphs [0295] and [0444-0452]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee further discloses:
wherein, the outputting the voice data from the voice output device in accordance with the current location is including: (paragraphs [0087], [0096] and [0451-0452]);
when the current distance is not longer than a first distance and is longer than a second distance, outputting a first voice data generated from a first content information corresponding to the first distance from the voice output device (paragraphs [0295] and [0444-0452]);
when the current distance is not longer than a second distance, outputting a second voice data generated from a second content information corresponding to the second distance from the voice output device (paragraphs [0295] and [0444-0452]);
wherein, the second distance is shorter than the first distance (paragraphs [0295] and [0444-0452]);
the first content information includes an information regarding an overview of the event (paragraphs [0295] and [0444-0452]); and
the second content information includes an information regarding details of the event (paragraphs [0295] and [0444-0452]).
Claims 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Mandalia (US-2023/0288218-A1, hereinafter Mandalia).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Lee does not disclose allowing, when a spot where voice guidance is to be performed is not included within a predetermined range, output of voice data according to a distance corresponding to a current distance. However, Mandalia discloses a navigation system which manages an audio interaction based on cognitive load, including delayed delivery of the audio interaction, including the following features:
wherein, the outputting the voice data from the voice output device in accordance with the current location is including: (paragraphs [0039-0042]; and FIG. 1, navigation system-100, voice assistant coordinator (VAC) - 110, user-112, current route-113, voice assistant module-114, navigation instruction-120, and audio interaction-124);
determining whether a spot for providing voice guidance regarding a route to the destination is included within a predetermined range from current location of the vehicle (paragraphs [0085-0096] and [0154]; FIG. 3, activate in-vehicle sensor array-302, send sensor data packet-304, generate route detail (RD) - 306, send route detail-308, calculate cognitive load-310, cognitive load (CL) - 312, cognitive load threshold (THR) - 313, manage voice assistant based on CL-314, and time window (TIME WIN) - 316; and FIG. 6, transmitting a sensor data packet-602, receiving a route detail-604, calculating a cognitive load-606, and managing audio interaction based on the cognitive load-608); and
allowing, when the spot where voice guidance is to be performed is not included within the predetermined range, output of the voice data according to the distance corresponding to the current distance (paragraphs [0085-0096] and [0154]).
Mandalia teaches that a navigation system which includes a voice assistant coordinator (VAC) and provides navigation instructions should time delivery of information based on a cognitive load of the driver (paragraphs [0085-0096] and [0154]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the vehicle navigation system which times delivery of voice data based on driver cognitive load of Mandalia into the vehicle navigation system which varies the level of detail of information provided to a driver depending on a distance between a current location of a vehicle and a destination of Lee. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of preventing driver distraction due to excessive information.
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Lee does not disclose allowing, when a curved road is not included within a predetermined range, output of voice data according to a distance corresponding to a current distance. However, Mandalia further discloses:
wherein, the output of the voice data from the voice output device is including: (paragraphs [0039-0042]; and FIG. 1, navigation system-100, voice assistant coordinator (VAC) - 110, user-112, current route-113, voice assistant module-114, navigation instruction-120, and audio interaction-124);
determining whether a curve is included within a predetermined range from current location of the vehicle (paragraphs [0085-0096] and [0154]; FIG. 3, activate in-vehicle sensor array-302, send sensor data packet-304, generate route detail (RD) - 306, send route detail-308, calculate cognitive load-310, cognitive load (CL) - 312, cognitive load threshold (THR) - 313, manage voice assistant based on CL-314, and time window (TIME WIN) - 316; and FIG. 6, transmitting a sensor data packet-602, receiving a route detail-604, calculating a cognitive load-606, and managing audio interaction based on the cognitive load-608); and
allowing, when the curved road is not included within the predetermined range, output of the voice data according to the distance corresponding to the current distance (paragraphs [0085-0096] and [0154]).
Mandalia teaches that a navigation system which includes a voice assistant coordinator (VAC) and provides navigation instructions should time delivery of information based on a cognitive load of the driver (paragraphs [0085-0096] and [0154]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the vehicle navigation system which times delivery of voice data based on driver cognitive load of Mandalia into the vehicle navigation system which varies the level of detail of information provided to a driver depending on a distance between a current location of a vehicle and a destination of Lee. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of preventing driver distraction due to excessive information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Otani et al. (US-2010/0268453-A1) discloses a vehicle navigation device configured to output a guidance voice in which a message is completed at an appropriate time with respect to a reference point. An utterance start distance increases as the duration of a guidance voice message increases and as the vehicle speed increases (Abstract).
Verwey (Further Evidence for Benefits of Verbal Route Guidance Instructions over Symbolic Spatial Guidance Instructions, IEEE Vehicle Navigation & Information Systems Conference, Ottawa - VNIS ’93, October 12-15, 1993, pp. 227-231) discloses that vehicle navigation instructions should basically be oral although arrows or map-like images may be used to support oral presentations (Abstract).
TAMARA L. WEBER
Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/TAMARA L WEBER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667