DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 09/16/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 09/16/2025.
Claims 1-15 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to GB 2413634, filed on 09/17/2024. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/16/2025, and 03/09/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that support beam of Dole a) does not structurally support the suspension components and b) is not arranged to resist relative lateral movement of the first and second suspension component (because “there is no lateral movement” of the suspension components. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, Fig. 3 of the present application shows a support beam {100} that is rigidly and laterally connected between two suspension components {302, 304} at the top end of the first and second suspension components {302, 304} via a first and second mounting member {102, 104}. Dole discloses this exactly: a support beam {1} that is rigidly and laterally connected {via 5, 6} between two suspension components {3 (37), 4 (38)} at the top end of the first and second suspension components {3 (37), 4 (38)} via a first and second mounting member {5, 6 (Figs. 1-2): “Each suspension system 3, 4 is housed under a suspension housing 37, 38 and is connected to a linking means 5, 6 fixed to the suspension housing 37, 38” [0049]; “Suspension systems 3, 4 include a helical suspension spring surrounding the suspension damper, the spring being compressed between a lower cup and the damper cup 5, 6” [0051]}.
Second, the suspension components of the present application appear to be rigid strut towers (this is never explicitly disclosed in the specification), but these appear {from Fig. 3 of the present application compared with Figs. 1-2 of Dole} to be identical to the suspension components {“suspension housings” 37, 38} that house the suspensions {3, 4}.
Third, due to the rigid connection between the support beam {1 (at 5, 6)} with the first and second suspension components {3 (37), 4 (38)}, in the event of a vehicle crash along the Y-axis {see Fig. 1 of Dole}, the support beam 1 would clearly offer significant structural support to the first and second suspension components, to help then resist deformation {“resist relative lateral movement”}. And during any other event, that does not involve a crash along the Y-axis, would allow the first and second suspension components to resist relative lateral movement just as much as the present application, since they appear to be identical configurations of the limitations of claim 1.
For at least these three reasons, Applicant’s amendments and arguments are not persuasive, and Examiner maintains the 35 USC 102 rejection of claim 1 in view of Dole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dore (FR 3133045), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Dore discloses a support beam {1 (7)} for a vehicle, wherein the support beam {1 (7)} is configured to structurally support a first suspension component {3 (37)} and a second suspension component {4 (38)}, the support beam {1 (7)} comprising: a first mounting member {5 (of 45)} configured for connection to the first suspension component {3 (37)} at a first side {left side (Figs. 1-2)} of the vehicle {20}; a second mounting member {6 (of 46)} configured for connection to the second suspension component {4 (38)} at a second side {right side (Figs. 1-2)} of the vehicle {20}; and a housing portion {15 (18)} configured to mount therein high voltage electrical components {“junction box 15 includes a housing 18 which has a cavity 27… intended to house electrical equipment such as fuses, for example” [0078]}; wherein the housing portion {15 (18)} of the support beam {1 (7)} is located between the first mounting member {5 (of 45)} of the support beam {1 (7)} and the second mounting member {6 (of 46)} of the support beam {1 (7)}, and wherein the support beam {1} is arranged to resist relative lateral movement of the first suspension component {3 (37)} and the second suspension component {4 (38)}.
Regarding claim 2, Dore discloses the first mounting member {5 (of 45)}, the second mounting member {6 (of 46)} and the housing portion {15 (18)} are produced as an integral component {a solid unit (Figs. 1-6): “The first and second parts of the bar 45, 46 and the junction box 15 form a solid unit extending longitudinally along the transverse direction Y” [0088]}.
Regarding claim 3, Dore discloses the integral component {the “solid unit” [0088]} comprising the first mounting member {5 (of 45)}, the second mounting member {6 (of 46)} and the housing portion {15 (18)} is formed {Figs. 1-6: “The first and second parts of the bar 45, 46 and the junction box 15 form a solid unit extending longitudinally along the transverse direction Y” [0088]}.
Regarding claim 5, Dore discloses at least one of the first mounting member {5 (of 45)} of the support beam {1 (7)} and the second mounting member {6 (of 46)} of the support beam {1 (7)} comprises a first rib {21, 22, 23, 24: “The housing 18b is connected by two first ribs 21, 22 to a first part of a bar 45, to a first side face 25b of the junction box 15b, and by two second ribs 23, 24 connecting a second part of a bar 46, to a second side face 26b of the junction box 15b” [0110]}.
Regarding claim 6, Dore discloses a housing portion projection {16 (19): “The connection terminals 16 protrude from a connection face 19 (or front face) of the junction box 15” [0094]} configured to mount therein high voltage electrical components {“The junction box 15 includes connection terminals 16 intended to be connected to electrical cables to link electrical components of the vehicle together” [0094]}.
Regarding claim 7, Dore discloses the housing portion {15 (18)} comprises an aperture {27; 53} configured to receive an electrical connector {“junction box 15 includes a housing 18 which has a cavity 27… intended to house electrical equipment such as fuses, for example” [0078]; “Drawer 51 includes a cavity 53 intended to house electrical equipment such as fuses, for example” [0112]}.
Regarding claim 8, Dore discloses high voltage electrical components {“electrical equipment such as fuses, for example” [0078]}, wherein the high voltage electrical components are mounted within the housing portion {15 (18): “junction box 15 includes a housing 18 which has a cavity 27… intended to house electrical equipment such as fuses, for example” [0078]}}.
Regarding claim 11, Dore discloses a vehicle {20} comprising the support beam {1 (7)} of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Dore discloses the support beam {1 (7)} is located forward of an A-pillar of the vehicle {20 (because the hood and the front block of the vehicle are inherently forward of the vehicle A-pillar): “This solution simplifies the architecture of the vehicle's front end and the manufacturing process. This means there are fewer part numbers to manage and the solution allows space to be recovered under the hood of the vehicle, in the front block” [0041]}.
Regarding claim 13, Dore discloses the first mounting member {5 (of 45)} of the support beam {1 (7)} is connected to the first suspension component {3 (37)} on the first side {left side (Figs. 1-2)} of the vehicle {20}; and the second mounting member {6 (of 46)} of the support beam {1 (7)} is connected to the second suspension component {4 (38)} on the second side {right side (Figs. 1-2)} of the vehicle {20 (Figs. 1-6)}.
Regarding claim 14, Dore discloses a method of manufacturing the support beam {1 (7)} according to claim 1, the method comprising: producing a support beam {1 (7)} comprising: the first mounting member {5} configured for connection to the first suspension component {3 (37)} at the first side {left side (Figs. 1-2)} of the vehicle {20}; the second mounting member {6} configured for connection to the second suspension component {4 (38)} at the second side {right side (Figs. 1-2)} of the vehicle {20}; and the housing portion {15 (18)} between the first mounting member {5 (of 45)} of the support beam {1 (7)} and the second mounting member {6 (of 46)} of the support beam {1 (7)}; wherein the housing portion {15 (18)} is configured for housing the high voltage electrical components {“junction box 15 includes a housing 18 which has a cavity 27… intended to house electrical equipment such as fuses, for example” [0078]}.
Regarding claim 15, Dore discloses the first mounting member {5 (of 45)}, the second mounting member {6 (of 46)} and the housing portion {15 (18)} are produced as an integral component {a solid unit (Figs. 1-6): “The first and second parts of the bar 45, 46 and the junction box 15 form a solid unit extending longitudinally along the transverse direction Y” [0088]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dore in view of (DE 102013/210575), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 4, Dore discloses all the aspects of claim 2. However, Dore does not explicitly disclose the integral component comprising the first mounting member, the second mounting member and the housing portion is cast.
Stenzenberger teaches an integral component {8} comprising a first {left portion of 8 (AA, AB [0035])} and second {right portion of 8 (AC, AD [0035])} mounting member and a housing portion {8a, 8b} is cast {“the rear axle support has a housing upper shell and a housing lower shell, wherein the rear axle support is preferably at least partially a cast housing, in particular an aluminum die-cast housing, that is to say preferably at least one housing shell is a cast component. In a particularly advantageous embodiment, the entire rear axle carrier is designed as a cast housing, i.e. in particular the upper housing shell and the lower housing shell” [0014]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support beam, as disclosed by Dore, such that the integral component comprising the first mounting member, the second mounting member and the housing portion is cast, as taught by Stenzenberger, so that “the internal volume of the rear axle support can be enlarged, with the result that more installation space is available for the components to be arranged in the rear axle support” [0016].
Regarding claim 9, Dore discloses all the aspects of claim 1. However, Dore does not explicitly disclose the support beam comprising aluminum or an alloy of aluminum.
Stenzenberger teaches a support beam {8} comprising aluminum {“the rear axle support 8 is an aluminum die casting housing having a housing upper shell 8a and a housing lower shell 8b” [0031]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support beam, as disclosed by Dore, such that the support beam comprises aluminum or an alloy of aluminum, as taught by Stenzenberger, so that “the internal volume of the rear axle support can be enlarged, with the result that more installation space is available for the components to be arranged in the rear axle support” [0016].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dore in view of Stenzenberger as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Tashiro (US 2021/0114666).
Regarding claim 10, Dore and Stenzenberger disclose all the aspects of claim 9. However, Dore does not explicitly disclose the first suspension component and the second suspension component comprise aluminum or an alloy of aluminum.
Tashiro teaches a first suspension component {24 (left)} and a second suspension component {24 (right)} comprise aluminum {“a front suspension tower portion 24 (hereinafter simply abbreviated to a suspension tower portion 24) made by aluminum casting is mounted” [0047]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support beam, as disclosed by Dore and Stenzenberger, such that the first suspension component and the second suspension component comprise aluminum or an alloy of aluminum, as taught by Tashiro, so that “the displacement of the suspension tower portion 24 is suppressed and the steering stability and the ride quality are improved” [0051].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614