Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Milligan et al.; US 7,304,855).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-27, a lock for a data interface, comprising: a lock case main body, the lock case main body being configured for sleeving a data interface, and the lock case main body covering the data interface (The lock main body 100, including 106 and 108, is configured to sleeve the data 102, which includes disks, controller electronics, etc. Col.2, L 43-48.)
For claim 2, D1 discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 1, wherein the lock case main body is provided with a first opening, and the first opening is configured for sleeving the data interface (The opening in 106 is configured for sleeving the data. Figure 1.)
For claim 3, D1 discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 2, further comprising a locking device (122), wherein the locking device is configured for locking the lock case main body to the data interface (Figure 1.)
For claim 4, D1 discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 3, wherein the locking device comprises a locking mounting block, the first opening of the lock case main body is sleeved on the locking mounting block and the data interface, the locking mounting block is arranged between an inner wall of the lock case main body and the data interface, such that an inner wall of the first opening stops the locking mounting block at a side wall of the data interface; the lock case main body is connected to the locking mounting block, and the connection is configured for connecting the lock case main body and the locking mounting block to the data interface to form a whole; the lock case main body is detachably connected to the locking mounting block (The portion of 120 on which the lock 122 is mounted defines locking mounting block. Figure 6.)
For claim 5, D1 discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 4, wherein the locking mounting block is provided with a first hook fitting portion, the first hook fitting portion is connected to a first hook portion of the side wall of the data interface, and the inner wall of the first opening stops the first hook fitting portion of the locking mounting block from the first hook portion of the data interface (124 is a hook fitted to the side wall of the data interface. Figure 1.)
For claim 11, D1 discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 1, wherein the lock case main body comprises an upper case (108) and a lower case (106), the upper case is detachably connected to the lower case, and the upper case covers the data interface (Upper case 1085 and lower case are detachably attached to each other by screws. Col.2, L 41-42.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Milligan et al.; US 7,304,855) in view of D2 (Freck, US 6,393,883).
For claim 6, D1 discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 4, but does not disclose wherein the lock case main body and the locking mounting block are detachably connected via a screw or a buckle or a rivet or a mortise-and-tenon joint or a bolt.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-6, a lock 100 with lock housing 180 and threaded nut 300 to securely mount the lock 100 to the desired surface. D2 teaches an easy method of attaching the lock to any surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with lock and lock mounting block, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an easy assembly method.
For claim 7, D1 discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 4, but does not disclose wherein the lock case main body is detachably connected to the locking mounting block via a screw; and the screw is arranged in the lock case main body.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-6, a lock 100 with lock housing 180 and threaded nut 300 to securely mount the lock 100 to the desired surface. D2 teaches an easy method of attaching the lock to any surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with lock and lock mounting block, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an easy assembly method.
For claim 8, D1 discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 4, wherein the locking mounting block is provided with a connecting side wall and a top cover portion, the connecting side wall is connected to the top cover portion, the first hook fitting portion (124) is provided on the connecting side wall, and the top cover portion abuts against an end portion of the data interface.
D1 does not disclose locking mounting block is provided with a connecting side wall and a top cover portion, the connecting side wall is connected to the top cover portion. D2 teaches, in Figures 1-6, a lock 100 with lock housing 180 and threaded nut 300 (locking mounting block) to securely mount the lock 100 to the desired surface. D2 teaches an easy method of attaching the lock to any surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with locking mounting block is provided with a connecting side wall and a top cover portion, the connecting side wall is connected to the top cover portion, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an easy assembly method.
For claim 9, the combination teaches the lock for the data interface according to claim 8, wherein the lock case main body and the locking mounting block are detachably connected via screws; the top cover portion is provided with a first threaded hole, the lock case main body extends out of a mounting plate portion, the mounting plate portion is provided with a second threaded hole, and the screw connects the lock case main body to the locking mounting block through the second threaded hole and the first threaded hole (D2 teaches the lock 100 is detachable connected by threads. D1 modified with D2 teaches the claimed invention.)
For claim 10, the combination discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 4, wherein the lock case main body is detachably connected to the locking mounting block via the screw; the screw is provided with a nut, and the nut is a special-shaped nut (D2 teaches a hexagonal shape nut 300. D1 modified with D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 12, D1 discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 11, further comprising the locking device, wherein the upper case (108) and the lower case (106) are detachably connected via the locking device.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-6, a lock 100 with locking cam 280, lock housing 180 and threaded nut 300 (locking mounting block) to securely mount the lock 100 to the desired surface. D2 teaches an easy method of attaching the lock to any surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with locking device such that the upper case (108) and the lower case (106) are detachably connected via the locking device, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an easy assembly method.
For claim 13, the combination teaches the lock for the data interface according to claim 12, wherein the upper case of the lock case main body is further provided with a second opening, the locking device comprises a mounting housing, a lock cylinder and a baffle plate, the mounting housing is mounted on the second opening, the lock cylinder is arranged in the mounting housing, and the lock cylinder is rotatable in the mounting housing, the baffle plate is sleeved on the lock cylinder, and the baffle plate is rotatable with the lock cylinder, so that the baffle plate is rotatable between a first position and a second position, and when the baffle plate moves to the first position, the baffle plate is configured for locking the upper case to the lower case tightly, and when the baffle moves to the second position, the baffle plate is configured for releasing the lock between the upper case and the lower case.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-6, a lock cylinder 100 with baffle plate 280, mounting housing 180 and threaded nut 300 (locking mounting block) to securely mount the lock 100 to the desired surface. D2 teaches an easy method of attaching the lock to any surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with locking device comprises a mounting housing, a lock cylinder and a baffle plate, the mounting housing is mounted on the second opening, the lock cylinder is arranged in the mounting housing, and the lock cylinder is rotatable in the mounting housing, the baffle plate is sleeved on the lock cylinder, and the baffle plate is rotatable with the lock cylinder, so that the baffle plate is rotatable between a first position and a second position, and when the baffle plate moves to the first position, the baffle plate is configured for locking the upper case to the lower case tightly, and when the baffle moves to the second position, the baffle plate is configured for releasing the lock between the upper case and the lower case, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an easy assembly method.
For claim 14, the combination teaches the lock for the data interface according to claim 13, wherein a stop portion extends out from the lower case, and when the baffle plate moves to the first position, the stop portion stops the baffle plate in the lower case, so as to lock the upper case to the lower case (D2 teaches stop plate 210 limiting the motion of 220 through a predetermined range. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 15, D1 discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 1, wherein the lock case main body comprises the upper case (108) and the lower case (106), the upper case is detachably connected to the lower case, and a locking cavity is formed between the upper case and the lower case, the locking cavity is configured for accommodating the data interface and limiting the data interface in the locking cavity (the space between 108 and 106 define the locking cavity); the lock for the data interface further comprises a locking device, and the upper case and the lower case are detachably connected via the locking device.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-6, a lock cylinder 100 with baffle plate 280, mounting housing 180 and threaded nut 300 (locking mounting block) to securely mount the lock 100 to the desired surface. D2 teaches an easy method of attaching the lock to any surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with locking device such that the upper case and the lower case are detachably connected via the locking device, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an easy assembly method.
Claim(s) 16- is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Milligan et al.; US 7,304,855) in view of D3 (Barre et al., US 7,712,618).
For claim 16, D1 discloses the lock for the data interface according to claim 2, but does not disclose further comprising a locking arm, wherein the locking arm is rotatably connected to the lock case main body; the locking arm is rotatable between a locking position and an unlocking position; the lock for the data interface further comprises a locking device, the locking device is connected to the lock case main body, and the locking device is configured for locking the locking arm; when the locking device is in an unlocked state, the locking arm is movable between the locking position and the unlocking position, and when the locking device is in a locked state, the locking arm cannot rotate, and the locking device locks the locking arm in the locking position to make the locking arm and a side wall of the first opening clamp the data interface tightly.
D3 teaches a mechanism with locking arm 9, 8 that can be operated to open and close between relatively movable components, the base 3 and lid 6 with ease of operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a locking arm, wherein the locking arm is rotatably connected to the lock case main body; the locking arm is rotatable between a locking position and an unlocking position; the lock for the data interface further comprises a locking device, the locking device is connected to the lock case main body, and the locking device is configured for locking the locking arm; when the locking device is in an unlocked state, the locking arm is movable between the locking position and the unlocking position, and when the locking device is in a locked state, the locking arm cannot rotate, and the locking device locks the locking arm in the locking position to make the locking arm and a side wall of the first opening clamp the data interface tightly, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing an easy operation method.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Milligan et al.; US 7,304,855) in view of D3 (Barre et al., US 7,712,618) and further in view of D2 (Freck, US 6,393,883).
For claim 17, the combination D1 and D3 teaches the lock for the data interface according to claim 16, wherein the lock case main body further comprises a second opening, the locking device comprises a mounting housing, a lock cylinder and a baffle plate, the mounting housing is mounted on the second opening, the lock cylinder is rotatably provided in the mounting housing, the baffle plate is sleeved on the lock cylinder, and the baffle plate is rotatable with the lock cylinder, so that the baffle is movable between the first position and the second position, and when the baffle plate moves to the first position, the baffle plate is configured for locking the locking arm in the locking position; when the baffle plate moves to the second position, the baffle plate is configured for releasing an obstruction on the locking arm, allowing the locking arm to rotate to the unlocked position so as to release the clamping action of the locking arm on the data interface (D1 discloses openings in Figures 1, 6, and 9. D3 teaches the locking arm 9 as shown in claim 16.)
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-6, a lock cylinder 100 with baffle plate 280 sleeved on the lock cylinder, the baffle plate is rotatable, mounting housing 180, and threaded nut 300 (locking mounting block) to securely mount the lock 100 to the desired surface. D2 teaches an easy method of attaching the lock to any surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify D1 modified with D3 with a locking device comprises a mounting housing, a lock cylinder and a baffle plate, the mounting housing is mounted on the second opening, the lock cylinder is rotatably provided in the mounting housing, the baffle plate is sleeved on the lock cylinder, and the baffle plate is rotatable with the lock cylinder, so that the baffle is movable between the first position and the second position, and when the baffle plate moves to the first position, the baffle plate is configured for locking the locking arm in the locking position; when the baffle plate moves to the second position, the baffle plate is configured for releasing an obstruction on the locking arm, allowing the locking arm to rotate to the unlocked position so as to release the clamping action of the locking arm on the data interface, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an easy assembly method
For claim 18, D1 modified with D3 and D2 teaches the lock for the data interface according to claim 17, wherein the locking arm is provided with a first end, a second end, a rotating shaft, and a connecting end arranged between the first end and the second end, and the connecting end is rotatably connected to the lock case main body through the rotating shaft; when the baffle plate moves to the first position, the baffle plate pushes the first end in a direction away from the side wall of the first opening to stop it, so as to push the second end in a direction towards the side wall of the first opening to stop it, the second end of the locking arm is stopped and locked in the locking position, and the second end of the locking arm and the side wall of the first opening clamp the data interface tightly; when the baffle plate moves to the second position, the baffle plate releases the obstruction on the locking arm, so that the first end is rotatable in the direction towards the side wall of the first opening, and the second end is capable of rotating to the unlocking position in the direction away from the side wall of the first opening to disengage the second end from the data interface, releasing the clamping action of the second end of the locking arm on the data interface; the lock case main body is further provided with an avoidance slot; when the baffle plate moves to the first position, the baffle plate is positioned in the avoidance slot; the baffle plate pushes the first end in the direction away from the side wall of the first opening to stop it, so as to push the second end in the direction towards the side wall of the first opening to stop it, and the first end cannot rotate into the avoidance slot; when the baffle plate moves to the second position, the baffle plate moves out of the avoidance slot, and the baffle plate releases the obstruction on the locking arm, enabling the first end to rotate into the avoidance slot in the direction towards the side wall of the first opening, and the second end is capable of rotating to the unlocking position in the direction away from the side wall of the first opening to disengage the second end from the data interface, releasing the clamping action of the second end of the locking arm on the data interface (Locking arm 8 of D3 has first end, second end, and shaft 10. D2 teaches rotatable baffle plate 300. D1 modified with features of D2 and D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 19, D1 modified with D2 and D3 teaches the lock for the data interface according to claim 18, wherein the second end of the locking arm is provided with a first hook portion, and when the locking arm rotates to the locking position, the first hook portion is connected to a first hook fitting portion of the data interface; the first end of the locking arm is provided with a second positioning groove; when the baffle plate moves to the first position, the baffle plate abuts against an inner wall of the second positioning groove; the baffle plate pushes the first end in the direction away from the side wall of the first opening to stop it, so as to push the second end in the direction towards the side wall of the first opening to stop it; the second end of the locking arm is stopped and locked in the locking position, the second end of the locking arm and the side wall of the first opening clamp the data interface tightly; the data interface is an OBD data interface (D1 discloses 102, which includes disks, controller electronics etc. D3 teaches the locking arm 9 with a first hook portion connected to a hook fitting portion. D2 teaches baffle plate 300 rotatable between two positions. D1 modified with teachings of D2 and D3 teaches the claimed limitations. D1 discloses data interface. Having data interface as an OBD is an intended use. See MPEP 2114.)
20. The lock for the data interface according to claim 17, wherein a plurality of first locking members are provided in the mounting housing, and the first locking members are configured for locking the lock cylinder to the mounting housing; when the first locking member is in the unlocked state, the lock cylinder is rotatable in the mounting housing, and the baffle plate is rotatable with the lock cylinder, so that the baffle plate is rotatable between the first position and the second position; when the first locking member is in a locked state, the lock cylinder cannot rotate in the mounting housing, so as to fix the baffle plate to the second position, making the baffle plate stop and lock the locking arm in the locking position; the lock cylinder is provided with a key hole, the first locking member comprises a first locking pin, a second locking pin and a first spring, a first locking hole is provided in the mounting housing, a second locking hole is provided in the locking cylinder, the first spring is provided in the first locking hole, a first end of the first locking pin is connected to the first spring, the second locking pin is configured for inserting into the second locking hole, a second end of the first locking pin abuts against the second locking pin, a first joint is formed between the first locking pin and the second locking pin, and a second joint is provided at a position of the connection between the lock cylinder and the mounting housing, when the first joint aligns with the second joint, the first locking member is in the unlocked state, two ends of the first locking pin are both positioned in the first locking hole, two ends of the second locking pin are both positioned in the second locking hole, the lock cylinder is rotatable in the mounting housing, and the baffle plate is rotatable with the lock cylinder, so that the baffle plate is rotatable between the first position and the second position; when the first joint and the second joint are misaligned, the first locking member is in the locked state, the first end of the first locking pin is inserted into the second locking hole, and the second end of the first locking pin is inserted into the first locking hole, so that the lock cylinder cannot rotate in the mounting housing; or, when the first joint and the second joint are misaligned, the first locking member is in a locked state, a first end of the second locking pin is inserted into the second locking hole, and a second end of the second locking pin is inserted into the first locking hole, so that the lock cylinder cannot rotate in the mounting housing; the plurality of the first locking pins of the first locking member are identical in lengths, and the plurality of the second locking pins of the first locking member are different in lengths (D1 discloses spring 206, and pin 204. D2 teaches a lock cylinder 100 with baffle plate 280 sleeved on the lock cylinder, the baffle plate is rotatable, mounting housing 180, and threaded nut 300 (locking mounting block) to securely mount the lock 100 to the desired surface. D3 teaches locking arm 9, 8. D1 modified with D3 and D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few prior art cited but not applied includes Roos (US 5,577,408), Byrne (US 8,951,054), and Hung (US Pub. App. 2010-0192642).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675