DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 18/741,279, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application 18/741,279 does not disclose “detector installed either inside the body or the one or more ultrasonic heads…the detector is electrically connected to the main controller, the detector acquires detection information related to the one or more ultrasonic heads, and feeds the detection information back to the main controller such that the main controller adjusts the signal generator based on the detection information”. For at least these reasons the priority date of the present application is considered September 17, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7, “the ultrasonic heads” should read “the one or more ultrasonic heads”,
Claim 18, line 8, “the ultrasonic heads” should read “the one or more ultrasonic heads”,
Claim 18, lines 8-9, “the ultrasonic heads” should read “the one or more ultrasonic heads”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 7, and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the temperature of the ultrasonic head" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claims from which claim 4 depend do not previously recite a temperature of the ultrasonic head.
Claim 2, line 3, recites the limitation “an ultrasonic head” which is considered indefinite. It is not clear to the examiner whether the ultrasonic head recited in claim 2 is one of the one or more ultrasonic heads recited in claim 1 or if it is a new ultrasonic head. For the purpose of examination and this office action it is interpreted that the ultrasonic head is one of the one or more ultrasonic heads.
Claim 7, line 5, recites the limitation “an ultrasonic head” which is considered indefinite. It is not clear to the examiner whether the ultrasonic head recited in claim 7 is one of the one or more ultrasonic heads recited in claim 1 or if it is a new ultrasonic head. For the purpose of examination and this office action it is interpreted that the ultrasonic head is one of the one or more ultrasonic heads.
Claim 10, line 3, recites the limitation “an ultrasonic head” which is considered indefinite. It is not clear to the examiner whether the ultrasonic head recited in claim 10 is one of the one or more ultrasonic heads recited in claim 1 or if it is a new ultrasonic head. For the purpose of examination and this office action it is interpreted that the ultrasonic head is one of the one or more ultrasonic heads.
Claim 11, line 3, recites the limitation “an ultrasonic head” which is considered indefinite. It is not clear to the examiner whether the ultrasonic head recited in claim 11 is one of the one or more ultrasonic heads recited in claim 1 or if it is a new ultrasonic head. For the purpose of examination and this office action it is interpreted that the ultrasonic head is one of the one or more ultrasonic heads.
Claim 12, line 3, recites the limitation “an ultrasonic head” which is considered indefinite. It is not clear to the examiner whether the ultrasonic head recited in claim 12 is one of the one or more ultrasonic heads recited in claim 1 or if it is a new ultrasonic head. For the purpose of examination and this office action it is interpreted that the ultrasonic head is one of the one or more ultrasonic heads.
Claims dependent upon the rejected claims above, but not directly addressed, are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claim(s) they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20210298723, hereinafter Lee) in view of Morgan (US 20140276077).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an ultrasound device ([0050] ultrasound imaging apparatus 1 in fig. 1), comprising:
a body ([0050] main body M of the apparatus);
one or more ultrasonic heads ([0050] ultrasound probe P of the apparatus), capable of connecting to the body through output lines or wirelessly ([0050] and fig. 1 disclose the ultrasound probe is capable of connecting the body through cable 5. The probe may also be wirelessly connected) and configured to generate ultrasound ([0052]-[0056] disclose the ultrasound probe is configured for generating ultrasound);
a main controller installed inside the body (the electronic circuitry of the body M in figs. 2-3A);
a signal generator installed either inside the body or the ultrasonic head ([0052]-[0053] discloses transmission/reception beamformer that is included in either the probe or the main body and generates transmission/reception signals); and
a detector installed either inside the body or the one or more ultrasonic heads ([0052] the electronic circuitry of the body M and the probe P shown in figs. 2-3A);
wherein the one or more ultrasonic heads are electrically connected to the main controller through the signal generator ([0051] and [0082] disclose the probe is connected to the main body through the beamformer);
the signal generator generates an ultrasonic driving signal based on a control signal from the main controller ([0082] discloses generating a transmit signal (drive signal) based on a control signal received from the controller 500), and the one or more ultrasonic heads produce ultrasound according to the ultrasonic driving signal ([0051]-[0052] and [0082] disclose transmitting the ultrasound signal using the transducer based on the transmit signal); and
the detector is electrically connected to the main controller (figs. 2-3A show the electronic circuitry of the body M and probe P are connected), the detector acquires detection information related to the one or more ultrasonic heads, and feeds the detection information back to the main controller such that the main controller adjusts the signal generator based on the detection information ([0010]-[0015] disclose detecting the current flowing from the ultrasound probe and feeding the current flow information to the controller, where the controller using the information to stop signals from being generated).
Lee does not specifically teach ultrasonic coupling gel matched with the one or more ultrasonic heads, configured to allow transmission of ultrasound.
However,
Morgan in a similar field of ultrasound imaging discloses an ultrasonic coupling gel matched with the one or more ultrasonic heads, configured to allow transmission of ultrasound ([0003] and [0042]-[0045] disclose the use of an ultrasound gel matched with an ultrasound head shown in figs. 1A-1B and configured to allow transmission of ultrasound).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound device disclosed by Lee to have ultrasonic coupling gel matched with the one or more ultrasonic heads, configured to allow transmission of ultrasound in order to reduce friction and assist in transmitting ultrasound waves, as recognized by Morgan ([0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Morgan teaches the device of claim 1, as set forth above. Lee further teaches the one or more ultrasonic heads are connected to the body through the output lines, each output line having one end that is fixed or detachably connected to an ultrasonic head, and the other end of each output line is fixed or detachably connected to the body ([0051] discloses cable 5 (output line) is connected to the ultrasound probe (head) at one end and detachably connected to the body at the other end as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Morgan teaches the device of claim 2, as set forth above. Lee further teaches an output line further comprises a load detection line (cable 5 in fig. 1), and the detector includes an ultrasound coupling gel detector (the electronic circuitry of the body M and probe P in figs. 2-3A), wherein the ultrasound coupling gel detector is electrically connected to the load detection line ([0084] discloses the use of electrical signals for transmitting signals, thereby the circuitry is electrically connected);
wherein in response to an operating current of the ultrasonic head exceeding a preset current threshold range, the ultrasound coupling gel detector outputs a third logic level signal to the main controller, and the main controller either triggers an alarm or cuts off the output of the signal generator ([0010]-[0015] disclose detecting the current flowing from the ultrasound probe and the controller triggers a warning to be displayed in response to the current level being outside of predetermined reference range); and
wherein in response to the operating current of the ultrasonic head being within the preset current threshold range, the ultrasound coupling gel detector outputs a fourth logic level signal to the main controller, and the main controller either deactivates the alarm or enables the output of the signal generator ([0010]-[0015], [0146]-[0150], and fig. 10 disclose the controller allows for the output of the signal when the detected current is within the predetermined reference range).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Morgan teaches the device of claim 1, as set forth above. Lee further teaches a human-machine interface electrically connected to the main controller (the electronic circuitry of the device shown in figs. 2-3A);
wherein the human-machine interface includes a displayer and a controller (figs. 2 and 3A disclose display 550 and inputter 540 (controller)),
the displayer being configured to display real-time treatment parameters ([0062]-[0076] discloses displaying information required for ultrasound diagnosis and ultrasound images which include treatment parameters), and the controller being configured to set treatment parameters and to control operation of the ultrasonic device, including starting, pausing, or stopping the device ([0063] discloses the inputter allows the user to input command related to the operation (treatment parameters) of the apparatus and input/set a start command).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Morgan teaches the device of claim 1, as set forth above. Lee further teaches a power supply electrically connected to the main controller, the power supply being configured to supply power to both the body and the one or more ultrasonic heads ([0027] discloses the device includes a power supply that provides power to the device and the probe power supply while the probe is connected. [0051] discloses the probe is connected to the main body M, thereby the main body is considered the device that includes a power supply).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches an ultrasound apparatus operating method ([0018] discloses an ultrasound imaging method performed using the ultrasound imaging apparatus), comprising:
assembling a body ([0050] main body M of the apparatus);
arranging one or more ultrasonic heads ([0050] ultrasound probe P of the apparatus) to be connected to the body through output lines or wirelessly ([0050] and fig. 1 disclose the ultrasound probe is capable of connecting the body through cable 5. The probe may also be wirelessly connected), wherein the one or more ultrasonic heads are configured to generate ultrasound ([0052]-[0056] disclose the ultrasound probe is configured for generating ultrasound);
providing a main controller installed inside the body (the electronic circuitry of the body M in figs. 2-3A), a signal generator installed either inside the body or the ultrasonic head ([0052]-[0053] discloses transmission/reception beamformer that is included in either the probe or the main body and generates transmission/reception signals), and a detector installed either inside the body or the one or more ultrasonic heads ([0052] the electronic circuitry of the body M and the probe P shown in figs. 2-3A);
wherein the one or more ultrasonic heads are electrically connected to the main controller through the signal generator ([0051] and [0082] disclose the probe is connected to the main body through the beamformer), the signal generator generates an ultrasonic driving signal based on a control signal from the main controller ([0082] discloses generating a transmit signal (drive signal) based on a control signal received from the controller 500), and the one or more ultrasonic heads produce ultrasound according to the ultrasonic driving signal ([0051]-[0052] and [0082] disclose transmitting the ultrasound signal using the transducer based on the transmit signal); and
wherein the detector is electrically connected to the main controller (figs. 2-3A show the electronic circuitry of the body M and probe P are connected), the detector acquires detection information related to the one or more ultrasonic heads, and feeds the detection information back to the main controller such that the main controller adjusts the signal generator based on the detection information ([0010]-[0015] disclose detecting the current flowing from the ultrasound probe and feeding the current flow information to the controller, where the controller using the information to stop signals from being generated).
Lee does not specifically teach arranging ultrasonic coupling gel matched with the one or more ultrasonic heads, configured to allow transmission of ultrasound.
However,
Morgan in a similar field of ultrasound imaging discloses an ultrasonic coupling gel matched with the one or more ultrasonic heads, configured to allow transmission of ultrasound ([0003] and [0042]-[0045] disclose the use of an ultrasound gel matched with an ultrasound head shown in figs. 1A-1B and configured to allow transmission of ultrasound).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound device disclosed by Lee to have ultrasonic coupling gel matched with the one or more ultrasonic heads, configured to allow transmission of ultrasound in order to reduce friction and assist in transmitting ultrasound waves, as recognized by Morgan ([0003]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Morgan as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sato (US 20220008034).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Morgan teaches the device of claim 2, as set forth above. Lee in view of Morgan does not specifically teach an output line includes a power positive line and a power negative line; and the detector includes a connection detector, wherein the connection detector is electrically connected to the power positive line or the power negative line, and connection detector configured to detect whether the ultrasonic head is electrically connected to the main controller.
However,
Sato in a similar field of endeavor teaches an output line includes a power positive line and a power negative line ([0041] discloses the wire portion W1 (output line) includes a first wire W1f and a second wire W1s. [0108] discloses the first wire W1f delivers a negative potential and the second wire W1s delivers a positive potential); and the detector includes a connection detector, wherein the connection detector is electrically connected to the power positive line or the power negative line ([0040] and fig. 3 disclose the transceiver (common detector) is connected to the wire portion), and connection detector configured to detect whether the ultrasonic head is electrically connected to the main controller ([0040] discloses the transceiver detects the voltage in accordance with the signal received from the probe portion, thereby detecting whether the probe (head) is electrically connected to the controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound device disclosed by Lee in view of Morgan to have an output line includes a power positive line and a power negative line; and the detector includes a connection detector, wherein the connection detector is electrically connected to the power positive line or the power negative line, and connection detector configured to detect whether the ultrasonic head is electrically connected to the main controller in order to allow for two way communication between the ultrasound head and the controller, as recognized by Sato ([0042-[0043]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Morgan as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of KR200497687Y1, hereinafter ‘687.
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Morgan teaches the device of claim 2, as set forth above. Lee in view of Morgan does not specifically teach an output line further comprises a temperature detection line, and the detector includes a temperature detector, wherein the temperature detector is electrically connected to the temperature detection line; wherein in response to the temperature of the ultrasonic head being greater than or equal to a preset temperature threshold, the temperature detector outputs a first logic level signal to the main controller, and the main controller cuts off the output of the signal generator to stop the ultrasonic head from generating ultrasound; and wherein in response to the temperature of the ultrasonic head being less than the preset temperature threshold, the temperature detector outputs a second logic level signal to the main controller, and the main controller enables the output of the signal generator to allow the ultrasonic head to generate ultrasound.
However,
‘687 in a similar field of endeavor teaches an output line further comprises a temperature detection line, and the detector includes a temperature detector, wherein the temperature detector is electrically connected to the temperature detection line (fig. 2 shows a line for transferring the temperature information. [0029] discloses a first sensor 221 in the probe for detecting temperature that is connected to the line);
wherein in response to the temperature of the ultrasonic head being greater than or equal to a preset temperature threshold, the temperature detector outputs a first logic level signal to the main controller, and the main controller cuts off the output of the signal generator to stop the ultrasonic head from generating ultrasound ([0031] “when the first temperature T1 is greater than the predetermined first reference temperature RT1, the control unit 300 selects the total number of ultrasonic elements ES included in the ultrasonic probe 100. Less than half of the ultrasonic elements (ES) can be driven”. Also see [0032]); and
wherein in response to the temperature of the ultrasonic head being less than the preset temperature threshold, the temperature detector outputs a second logic level signal to the main controller, and the main controller enables the output of the signal generator to allow the ultrasonic head to generate ultrasound ([0031]-[0032] When the temperature is below the first reference temperature, the control unit 200 does not reduce the number of ultrasound elements being used, thereby enabling the output of the signal generator to allow the generation of ultrasound).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound device disclosed by Lee in view of Morgan to have an output line further comprises a temperature detection line, and the detector includes a temperature detector, wherein the temperature detector is electrically connected to the temperature detection line; wherein in response to the temperature of the ultrasonic head being greater than or equal to a preset temperature threshold, the temperature detector outputs a first logic level signal to the main controller, and the main controller cuts off the output of the signal generator to stop the ultrasonic head from generating ultrasound; and wherein in response to the temperature of the ultrasonic head being less than the preset temperature threshold, the temperature detector outputs a second logic level signal to the main controller, and the main controller enables the output of the signal generator to allow the ultrasonic head to generate ultrasound in order to ensure the ultrasonic probe does not overheat, as recognized by ‘687 ([0032]).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Morgan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chassaing et al. (US 6278890, hereinafter Chassaing).
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Morgan teaches the device of claim 1, as set forth above. Lee further teaches a voltage regulator configured to adjust the driving voltage of an ultrasonic head. ([0073] discloses the ultrasound imaging apparatus operates in both the normal B-mode imaging and low voltage B-mode imaging, meaning the apparatus is configured to adjust the driving voltage of the ultrasound head performing the imaging).
Lee in view of Morgan does not specifically teach a maintenance interface electrically connected to the main controller; wherein the maintenance interface comprises a password protector configured to restrict access to the maintenance interface, and a resetter configured to delete historical treatment data.
However,
Chassaing in a similar field of endeavor teaches a maintenance interface electrically connected to the main controller; wherein the maintenance interface comprises a password protector configured to restrict access to the maintenance interface, and a resetter configured to delete historical treatment data (col. 14, lines 36-40 disclose having a password protector that restricts access as well as a system for deleting procedural summary information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the known technique of having a maintenance interface electrically connected to the main controller; wherein the maintenance interface comprises a password protector configured to restrict access to the maintenance interface, and a resetter configured to delete historical treatment data of Chassaing to the device of Lee in view of Morgan to allow for the predictable results of protecting the device and its data from unauthorized users.
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Morgan teaches the device of claim 1, as set forth above. Lee in view of Morgan does not specifically teach a memorizer electrically connected to the main controller, the memorizer being configured to store historical treatment data.
However,
Chassaing in a similar field of endeavor teaches a memorizer electrically connected to the main controller, the memorizer being configured to store historical treatment data (col. 14, lines 36-40 disclose the system includes a master log of summary information for the procedures. The part of the system that stores the master log is considered the memorizer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the known technique of having a memorizer electrically connected to the main controller, the memorizer being configured to store historical treatment data of Chassaing to the device of Lee in view of Morgan to allow for the predictable results of allowing the historical data to be accessed at a later time to be analyzed and reviewed.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Morgan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takabayashi et al. (US 20100168574, hereinafter Takabayashi).
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Morgan teaches the device of claim 1, as set forth above. Lee in view of Morgan does not specifically teach the ultrasonic device is configured for soft tissue treatment applications, including pain relief, muscle spasm alleviation, joint contracture therapy, and local blood circulation promotion, wherein an ultrasonic head is operated at a frequency of 1.5MHz ±20% in continuous wave mode, with an effective radiation area of 3.90cm2±20% and effective output intensity of 150mW/cm2±30%, and wherein treatment is administered in 30-minute cycles.
However,
Takabayashi in a similar field of endeavor teaches the ultrasonic device is configured for soft tissue treatment applications ([0087] discloses the ultrasound device is used for treatment of muscle, fat and organ (soft tissues), including pain relief, muscle spasm alleviation, joint contracture therapy, and local blood circulation promotion, ([0087] since the ultrasound device is configured for treating soft tissue the device is configured to provide pain relief, muscle spasm alleviation, joint contracture therapy, and blood circulation promotion) wherein an ultrasonic head is operated at a frequency of 1.5MHz ±20% in continuous wave mode ([0063] discloses the ultrasound frequency is 1.5MHz), with an effective radiation area ([0057] discloses the effective radiation area is the size of the affected area) and effective output intensity ([0063] discloses the ultrasound pulse has an output intensity), and wherein treatment is administered in cycles ([0070] discloses the irradiation is continued regularly and is therefore administered in cycles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Lee in view of Morgan to have the ultrasonic device is configured for soft tissue treatment applications, including pain relief, muscle spasm alleviation, joint contracture therapy, and local blood circulation promotion, wherein an ultrasonic head is operated at a frequency of 1.5MHz ±20% in continuous wave mode, with an effective radiation area and effective output intensity, and wherein treatment is administered in cycles in order to improve signal accuracy, as recognized by Takabayashi.
Lee in view of Morgan and Takabayashi does not specifically teach the ultrasonic head has an effective radiation area of 3.90cm2±20%, an effective output intensity of 150mW/cm2±30%, and wherein treatment is administered in 30-minute cycles.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims invention to cause the ultrasonic device of Lee in view of Morgan and Takabayashi to have the ultrasonic head have an effective radiation area of 3.90cm2±20%, an effective output intensity of 150mW/cm2±30%, and wherein treatment is administered in 30-minute cycles since it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, the device of Lee in view of Morgan and Takabayashi would not operate differently within the claimed radiation area, intensity, and cycle time and since the ultrasound device is intended to focus ultrasound on an effective radiation area over multiple cycles the device would function appropriately having the claimed range. Further applicant places no criticality on the radiation area, intensity, and cycle time claimed, indicating the radiation area, intensity, and cycle time as one of a plurality of examples of radiation area size and cycle time (specification [0123]-[0127]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Morgan teaches the device of claim 1, as set forth above. Lee in view of Morgan does not specifically teach the ultrasonic device is configured for fracture treatment applications, including non-invasive therapy for non-union fractures and acceleration of fracture healing duration, wherein an ultrasonic head is operated at 1.5MHz ±5% frequency in pulsed wave mode, with a pulse repetition frequency of 1.0kHz ±10% and pulse width of 200 µ s ±10%, wherein the ultrasonic head has an effective radiation area of 3.88cm2±20% and delivers an effective output intensity of 30mW/cm2±30%, and wherein treatment is administered in 20-minute cycles.
However,
Takabayashi in a similar field of endeavor teaches the ultrasonic device is configured for fracture treatment applications ([0001] discloses the ultrasound device is used for fracture treatment), including non-invasive therapy for non-union fractures and acceleration of fracture healing duration ([0003] discloses the device is used for accelerating bone union), wherein an ultrasonic head is operated at 1.5MHz ±5% frequency in pulsed wave mode ([0063] discloses the ultrasound frequency is 1.5MHz. [0012] discloses the ultrasound is pulsed), with a pulse repetition frequency of 1.0kHz ±10% ([0063] discloses the pulse repetition is within the range of 1.0kHz±10%) and pulse width of 200 µ s ±10% ([0063] discloses the pulse width is within the range of 200 µ s ±10%), wherein the ultrasonic head has an effective radiation area ([0057] discloses the effective radiation area is the size of the affected area) and delivers an effective output intensity of 30mW/cm2±30% ([0063] discloses the output intensity is within the range of 30mW/cm2±30%), and wherein treatment is administered in cycles ([0070] discloses the irradiation is continued regularly and is therefore administered in cycles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Lee in view of Morgan to have the ultrasonic device is configured for fracture treatment applications, including non-invasive therapy for non-union fractures and acceleration of fracture healing duration, wherein an ultrasonic head is operated at 1.5MHz ±5% frequency in pulsed wave mode, with a pulse repetition frequency of 1.0kHz ±10% and pulse width of 200 µ s ±10%, wherein the ultrasonic head has an effective radiation area and delivers an effective output intensity of 30mW/cm2±30%, and wherein treatment is administered in cycles in order to improve signal accuracy, as recognized by Takabayashi.
Lee in view of Morgan and Takabayashi does not specifically teach the ultrasonic head has an effective radiation area of 3.88cm2±20% and wherein treatment is administered in 20-minute cycles.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims invention to cause the ultrasonic device of Lee in view of Morgan and Takabayashi to have the ultrasonic head have an effective radiation area of 3.88cm2±20% and wherein treatment is administered in 20-minute cycles since it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, the device of Lee in view of Morgan and Takabayashi would not operate differently within the claimed radiation area and cycle time and since the ultrasound device is intended to focus ultrasound on an effective radiation area over multiple cycles the device would function appropriately having the claimed range. Further applicant places no criticality on the radiation area and cycle time claimed, indicating the radiation area and cycle time as one of a plurality of examples of radiation area size and cycle time (specification [0123]-[0127]).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Morgan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mehi et al. (US 20140336512, hereinafter Mehi) and Vezina (US 20160106390).
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Morgan teaches the device of claim 1, as set forth above. Morgan further teaches a fixing piece (attachable adaptor 135 in fig. 1A-B, 400 in figs. 4A-E) comprising a cover plate (fig. 2B shows the adaptor 135 includes a cover plate that is represented by inside surface 205. [0050] discloses “an inside surface 205 that defines an edge or stop”. Fig. 4E shows the same edge is formed which is considered the cover plate) and a peripheral wall circumferentially and vertically connected with the cover plate (fig. 2B shows the adaptor 135 includes a sidewall 210 that is connected to the edge formed by surface 205 and figs. 2A-C show the sidewall is circumferentially and vertically connected with surface 205. Figs. 4A-E show the same peripheral wall is formed); wherein the peripheral wall is sleeved on the ultrasonic head to form an accommodation space between the ultrasonic head and the cover plate (figs. 1A-B show the sidewall is sleeved over the ultrasound head. [0075], “the gel adaptor is configured to attach to the head of an ultrasound device (as previously described)”. Fig. 4E shows that a gel recess 425 is formed which is considered the accommodation space); a first through hole is provided on the cover plate, and the first through hole communicates with the accommodation space (fig. 2A shows cavity 145 (through hole) and fig. 4E shows cavity 405 communicated with gel recess 425); and
an ultrasonic coupling gel configured for ultrasound to pass through (140 in fig. 1A and 300 in figs. 3A-C. [0067] discloses the gel is located between the ultrasound transducer and the patient meaning ultrasound passes through the gel); wherein the ultrasonic coupling gel comprises a first connecting part (the bottom not exposed side of gel 140 in fig. 2C and 305 in figs. 3A-C) and a protruding part (exposed surface 150 in fig. 2C and the side opposite 305 in figs. 3A-C); the first connecting part is accommodated in the accommodation space and directly attached to the ultrasonic head and the cover plate respectively and simultaneously ([0077], “the locking recess 435 generally corresponds to the locking ring 305”, which fig. 4E shows is connected to the cover plate. [0044] further discloses “preconfigured gel 140 is disposed directly on the applicator surface 125”. Additionally, [0072] discloses the gel 300 which includes ring 305 “is inserted into a gel cavity in the adaptor (e.g., in the adaptor 135 in fig. 2C, in adaptor 400 in fig. 4A)”. Therefore, by inserting the gel 300 into the adaptor 135 the bottom not exposed side of ring 305 would abut up against and be attached to surface 125. The same is said for the bottom not exposed side of gel 140 in fig. 1B); and the protruding part is arranged on the first connecting part and is exposed outside the fixing piece through the first through hole ([0052] discloses the exposed surface extends beyond the housing of adaptor 135, meaning it is both in contact with the connecting part of adaptor 135 and is exposed outside of adaptor 135 when inserted in to cavity 145);
wherein, the ultrasonic head comprises a first clamping part, and the first clamping part comprises a plurality of first protruding structures ([0039]-[0041] discloses the adaptor is slipped-on or snapped-on to the head 120 and the head 120 includes lips or edges. The lips/edges are considered the first protruding structures and where the lips/edges are located is considered the clamping part. Additionally, because the lips/edges are recited as plurals there are a plurality of first protruding structures); a portion of the peripheral wall that is separate from a side of the cover plate comprises a second clamping part (fig. 4D shows the peripheral wall includes lips 420 which are considered the second clamping part on a portion that is separate from a side of the cover plate), and the second clamping part is around the peripheral wall of a circumferential protruding structure or one or more second protruding structures (fig. 4D shows the lips 420 are around a peripheral wall of a circumferential protruding structure); and the peripheral wall is configured to be sleeved on the ultrasonic head (when the clamping parts are connected the adaptor is considered to be sleeved on the head 120. See figs. 1A-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device and method disclosed by Lee in view of Morgan to have the ultrasonic head as outlined above in order to ensure an appropriate connection between the ultrasonic head and the subject being imaged, thereby ensuring a higher quality result.
Lee in view of Morgan does not specifically teach an inner part of the peripheral wall comprises an annular groove that is coupled with the circumferential protruding structure or the one or more second protruding structures, the first clamping part protrudes into the annular groove of the second clamping part, and wherein a circumferential direction of the circumferential protruding structure or the one or more second protruding structures comprises corners bending toward the inner part of the peripheral wall, and the corners guide and cooperate with the first clamping part in the plurality of first protruding structures to accelerate assemblance of the fixing piece and the ultrasonic head.
However,
Mehi in a similar field of endeavor teaches an inner part of the peripheral wall comprises a groove that is coupled with the circumferential protruding structure or the one or more second protruding structures (figs. 18 and fig. 19B recreated below show the peripheral wall of the acoustic window 330 (fixing piece) includes a groove that is coupled with the circumferential protruding structure. The groove and protruding structure are continuously around the entire fixing piece, meaning they are circumferential), the first clamping part protrudes into the groove of the second clamping part ([0101] discloses the lip 328 of the nosepiece (head) fits in to the groove of the acoustic window 330 in order to fit the two pieces together), and
wherein a circumferential direction of the circumferential protruding structure or the one or more second protruding structures comprises corners bending toward the inner part of the peripheral wall (fig. 19B recreated below shows the corner of the circumferential protruding structure that bend towards the inner part of the peripheral wall), and the corners guide and cooperate with the first clamping part in the first protruding structures to accelerate assemblance of the fixing piece and the ultrasonic head ([0096] and [0101] disclose how the acoustic window and nosepiece are connected to create a positive fit using the lip and groove, meaning the corners guides the lip to accelerate assemblance of the acoustic window and nosepiece).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device and method disclosed by Lee in view of Morgan to have an inner part of the peripheral wall comprises an annular groove that is coupled with the circumferential protruding structure or the one or more second protruding structures, the first clamping part protrudes into the annular groove of the second clamping part, and wherein a circumferential direction of the circumferential protruding structure or the one or more second protruding structures comprises corners bending toward the inner part of the peripheral wall, and the corners guide and cooperate with the first clamping part in the one or more first protruding structures to accelerate assemblance of the fixing piece and the ultrasonic head in order to ensure a snap fit between the two parts, as recognized by Mehi ([0096]).
Lee in view of Morgan and Mehi does not specifically teach the plurality of the first protruding structures are evenly distributed.
However,
Vezina in a similar field of attaching covers to ultrasound heads teaches a plurality of first protruding structures evenly distributed on the ultrasonic probe (figs. 6-8 and [0051] disclose the ultrasound probe 200 includes wings 222 (protruding structures) that extend from the edges and used to secure the patient interface (fixing piece) to the probe. The figures show there are a plurality of wings that are evenly distributed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device and method disclosed by Lee in view of Morgan and Mehi to have the plurality of the first protruding structures be evenly distributed in order to ensure there is uniform support for the fixing piece to be in contact with resulting in a secure connection between the fixing piece and the ultrasonic head.
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view of Morgan, Mehi and Vezina teaches the device of claim 12, as set forth above. Morgan further teaches the ultrasonic head comprises a second connecting part and an ultrasonic head output part ([0041] discloses the head includes lips or edges in order to assist with connection. The connection system is considered the second connecting part and the lips/edges are considered the output part; and
wherein the second connecting part is in contact with the circumferential protruding structure or the one or more second protruding structures to limit the ultrasonic head to move toward a side of the fixing piece, and to prevent the ultrasonic coupling gel from being squeezed, deformed, or crushed ([0041] discloses the lips/edges of head 120 are used to connect the head to adaptor 135 as shown in fig. 1B. fig. 1B shows the head and adaptor are connected meaning the second connecting part is in contact with the circumferential protruding structure, which ultimately limits the head to move towards a side of the fixing piece and prevents the gel from being squeezed, deformed, or crushed).
Mehi further teaches an ultrasonic head output part protrudes from a second connecting part, and the first clamping part is arranged on the ultrasonic head output part (fig. 18 and [0101] discloses the nosepiece (head) includes lip 328 (first clamping part) is disposed above a recess 326 which forms the output part. The combination of the lip and recess is considered the second connecting part).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device and method disclosed by Lee in view of Morgan, Mehi and Vezina to have the ultrasonic head output part protrude from the second connecting part, and the first clamping part be arranged on the ultrasonic head output part in order to ensure a snap fit between the two parts, as recognized by Mehi ([0096]).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Morgan, Mehi and Vezina as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN107334489A, hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 14, Lee in view of Morgan, Mehi and Vezina teaches the device of claim 12, as set forth above. Lee in view of Morgan, Mehi and Vezina does not specifically teach an ultrasonic fixing sticker fixed at the bottom of the fixing piece and a second through hole provided on the ultrasonic fixing sticker, wherein the protruding part is exposed outside the ultrasonic fixing sticker through the second through hole.
However,
Chen in a similar field of endeavor teaches an ultrasonic fixing sticker fixed at the bottom of the fixing piece and a second through hole provided on the ultrasonic fixing sticker, wherein the protruding part is exposed outside the ultrasonic fixing sticker through the second through hole (fig. 25 recreated below shows the bandage 3 (fixing sticker) is fixed at the bottom of the fixing piece and includes a through hole where the protruding part would be exposed outside the fixing sticker through the through hole to make contact with the patient. Abstract and pg. 4, para. 18 disclose the bandage 3 includes an adhesive layer, making it a fixing sticker).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device and method disclosed by Lee in view of Morgan, Mehi, and Vezina to have an ultrasonic fixing sticker fixed at the bottom of the fixing piece and a second through hole provided on the ultrasonic fixing sticker, wherein the protruding part is exposed outside the ultrasonic fixing sticker through the second through hole in order to attached the ultrasound probe to the patient during a procedure so that continuous monitoring of a specific region can be performed without the user having to hold the probe for the entire procedure and potentially moving the probe away from the specific region.
Regarding claims 15, Lee in view of Morgan, Mehi, Vezina and Chen teaches the device of claim 14, as set forth above. Chen further teaches an external side of the fixing piece is provided with a fixation part, the fixation part being connected with the ultrasonic fixing sticker (fig. 25 shows bandage connecting piece 6 which connects the fixing piece to the bandage (sticker) and is therefore considered the fixation part).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Morgan, Mehi and Vezina as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lindekugel et al. (US 20140180116, hereinafter Lindekugel).
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Morgan, Mehi, and Vezina teaches the device of claim 12, as set forth above. Lee in view of Morgan, Mehi, and Vezina does not specifically teach an external side of the fixing piece is provided with a hand part to facilitate the user to take the fixing piece; and wherein the hand part comprises a first hand part and a second had part evenly distributed on the peripheral wall.
However,
Lindekugel in a similar field of endeavor teaches an external side of a fixing piece is provided with a hand part to facilitate the user to take the fixing piece (fig. 24A recreated below shows the probe cap (fixing piece) includes an external wall that includes a hand part that a user can use to facilitate the fixing piece); and
wherein the hand part comprises a first hand part and a second hand part evenly distributed on the peripheral wall (fig. 24A recreated below as well as figs. 24B-C show that the hand part comprises a first hand part and a second hand part evenly distributed on each side of the peripheral wall).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device and method disclosed by Lee in view of Morgan, Mehi, and Vezina to include an external side of the fixing piece be provided with a hand part to facilitate the user to the fixing piece; and wherein the hand part comprises a first hand part and a second hand part evenly distributed on the peripheral wall in order to make it easier for the user to apply and remove the fixing piece.
Examiners Note
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW W BEGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798