Detailed Action
Claim(s) 1-20 has/have been examined.Claim(s) 1-20 has/have been rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-14 and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-1 of U.S. Patent 12368588. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as described below.
Regarding claim 1, Patent 12368588 claims a method, comprising:
performing, by a computing system, a first cross-region replication process between a source file system in a source region and a target file system in a target region (claim 1);
receiving, by the computing system, a request to perform a second cross-region replication process (claim 1);
comparing, by the computing system, a first source provenance identifier from a first source snapshot in the source file system to a first target provenance identifier from a first target snapshot in the target file system (claim 1);
determining, by the computing system, whether the first source provenance identifier matches the first target provenance identifier (claim 1, identifying a match);
in accordance with a determination that the first source provenance identifier matches the first target provenance identifier:
restarting, by the computing system, the first cross-region replication by performing the second cross-region replication using the first source snapshot that corresponds to the first source provenance identifier (claim 1, performing the requested replication).
Patent 12368588 does not specifically claim:
in accordance with a determination that the first source provenance identifier does not match the first target provenance identifier:
aborting, by the computing system, the second cross-region replication.
Chopra (Patent 9400613) teaches a data storage system in which host devices are paired to specific storage snapshots based on their preferred snapshot method (Figure 9, column 1 lines 25-30). The system follows an algorithmic process to determine which target device should be paired with a particular source (Figure 8) and if it is unable to find a satisfactory device, it returns an error (Figure 6 step 675, and Figure 8 steps 855, 860) with an error message (column 11 lines 56-58).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the snapshot system claimed by Patent 12368588 such that the system returns an error with an error message if no appropriate snapshot target is found, as taught by Chopra. This modification would have been obvious because, as would be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art, aborting the copy operation and returning an error message prevents the system from attempting to copy data to an unqualified target and allows a user to be informed that a good reference snapshot target could not been found.
Regarding claim 2, Patent 12368588 does not specifically claim pausing, by the computing system, the first cross-region replication process based at least in part on a triggering event.
Aldred (PG-PUB 2021/0286535) teaches a data storage system in which snapshots are recorded and moved to a cloud storage (paragraph 201). Snapshot management includes the ability to pause and later resume shipping of snapshots to cloud storage (paragraph 201).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the snapshot replication system claimed by Patent 12368588 such that snapshots are paused and resumed, as taught by Aldred. This modification would have been obvious because a network connection that is prone to failure is known to cause snapshot shipping operations to be frequently paused and resumed (Aldred paragraph 203).
Regarding claim 3, Patent 12368588 claims the method wherein at least one of the first source snapshot or the first target snapshot comprises at least one of identification of the first cross-region replication, first unique identifications of snapshots in the source file system, or second unique identifications of snapshots in the target file system (claim 1, provenance identification being configured to uniquely identify a family of duplicate snapshots).
Regarding claim 4, Patent 12368588 does not specifically claim wherein the second cross-region replication process comprises a restart of the first cross-regional replication process.
Aldred (PG-PUB 2021/0286535) teaches a data storage system in which snapshots are recorded and moved to a cloud storage (paragraph 201). Snapshot management includes the ability to pause and later resume shipping of snapshots to cloud storage (paragraph 201).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the snapshot replication system claimed by Patent 12368588 such that snapshots are paused and resumed, as taught by Aldred. This modification would have been obvious because a network connection that is prone to failure is known to cause snapshot shipping operations to be frequently paused and resumed (Aldred paragraph 203).
Regarding claim 5, Patent 12368588 claims the method of claim 4, wherein the request to perform the second cross-region replication process comprises requesting:
the restart of the first cross-regional replication process based at least in part on a common snapshot as identified by the comparison of the first source provenance identifier and the first target provenance identifier (claim 1, the requested cross-region replication is performed using deltas); and
for continuing a same data flow direction as the first cross-region replication process (claim 1, the cross-region replication is continued).
Regarding claim 6, Patent 12368588 does not specifically claim wherein the request to perform the second cross-region replication process comprises requesting for a reverse cross-region replication process.
Blea (PG-PUB 2018/0276078) teaches a remote copy system in which data is copied from a local device to a remote device (paragraph 9). The data copy may be reversed (paragraph 56).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the snapshot replication system claimed by Patent 12368588 such that snapshot data is transferred in reverse, as taught by Blea. This modification would have been obvious because customers need to reverse the direction of the copy operation so that they can again be disaster recovery capable in the event that a disaster occurs at the remote site (Blea paragraph 49).
Regarding claim 8, Patent 12368588 does not specifically claim wherein transferring the deltas from the target file system to the source file system further comprises uploading the deltas from the target file system to an object storage located in a source region, and downloading the deltas from the object storage to the source file system.
"Maximizing TCP Throughput in Linux: Understanding and Tuning Send and Receive Buffers" by Benjamin Cane teaches use of send and receive buffers in TCP communications (see section Understanding TCP Buffers). A receiver buffer acts as a local storage from which data is subsequently downloaded (see section The Receiver).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the snapshot replication system claimed by Patent 12368588 such that network communications are implemented using send and receive buffers, as taught by Cane. This modification would have been obvious because the send buffer is useful for storing data transmission that have not been acknowledged (Cane, section When to Adjust Buffer Sizes) and the receive buffer is used when there is a mismatch between application read speed and the pace of incoming data (Cane, section When to Adjust Buffer Sizes). Use of send and receive buffers in the delta transmission of Shrivastava would result in transferring deltas from a sending system to a temporary object storage in the receiver system, and subsequently downloading the deltas from the temporary storage buffer.
Regarding claims 9-14 and 15-20, these claim sets recite limitations found in claims 1-6 and are rejected on the same grounds as claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava (PG-PUB 2022/0027241) in view of Chopra (US Patent 9,400,613).
Regarding claim 1, Shrivastava discloses a method, comprising:
performing, by a computing system, a first cross-region (paragraph 111, target site may be located in a location remote from the source site) replication process between a source file system in a source region and a target file system in a target region (Figure 11);
receiving, by the computing system, a request to perform a second cross-region replication process (paragraph 4, a source snapshot is replicated to a target site; this is after earlier replication provided snapshot data to the target);
comparing, by the computing system, a first source provenance identifier from a first source snapshot in the source file system to a first target provenance identifier from a first target snapshot in the target file system (see abstract, replication is performed based on a closeness of the reference snapshot to the source snapshot; this closeness may be determined based on a comparison of lineage ID (LID) (paragraphs 99-104));
determining, by the computing system, whether the first source provenance identifier matches the first target provenance identifier (paragraph 105, snapshots from the same lineage are found);
in accordance with a determination that the first source provenance identifier matches the first target provenance identifier:
restarting, by the computing system, the first cross-region replication by performing the second cross-region replication using the first source snapshot that corresponds to the first source provenance identifier (see abstract, source snapshot is replicated from source site to target site; this is a restart of the replication because earlier snapshot data had been transmitted).
Shrivastava does not expressly disclose the method comprising:
in accordance with a determination that the first source provenance identifier does not match the first target provenance identifier:
aborting, by the computing system, the second cross-region replication.
Chopra teaches a data storage system in which host devices are paired to specific storage snapshots based on their preferred snapshot method (Figure 9, column 1 lines 25-30). The system follows a process to determine which target device should be paired with a particular source (Figure 8) and if it is unable to find a satisfactory device, it returns an error (Figure 6 step 675, and Figure 8 steps 855, 860) with an error message (column 11 lines 56-58).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the snapshot system disclosed by Shrivastava such that the system returns an error with an error message if no appropriate snapshot target is found, as taught by Chopra. This modification would have been obvious because, as would be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art, the order list of potential reference snapshots is not unlimited (Figure 6 step 710 describes receiving an ordered list) and aborting the copy and returning an error message prevents the system from attempting to copy data to an unqualified target and allows a user to be informed that a good reference snapshot target could not been found.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Shrivastava in view of Chopra discloses:
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising pausing, by the computing system, the first cross-region replication process based at least in part on a triggering event (Shrivastava paragraph 125, when the first snapshot is fully replicated, the replication of other snapshots may be stopped).
3. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first source snapshot or the first target snapshot comprises at least one of identification of the first cross-region replication, first unique identifications of snapshots in the source file system (Shrivastava paragraph 99, snapshots are identified by lineage ID and CID), or second unique identifications of snapshots in the target file system.
Regarding claims 9-11 and 15-17, these claim sets respectively recite limitations found in claims 1-3 and are rejected on the same grounds as claim 1-3.
Claims 4-5, 12-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava in view of Chopra and Aldred (PG-PUB 2021/0286535).
Regarding claim 4, Shrivastava in view of Chopra discloses the method of claim 1. Shrivastava in view of Chopra does not expressly disclose the method wherein the second cross-region replication process comprises a restart of the first cross-regional replication process.
Aldred teaches a data storage system in which snapshots are recorded and moved to a cloud storage (paragraph 201). Snapshot management includes the ability to pause and later resume shipping of snapshots to cloud storage (paragraph 201).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the snapshot replication system disclosed by Shrivastava in view of Chopra such that snapshots are paused and resumed, as taught by Aldred. This modification would have been obvious because a network connection that is prone to failure is known to cause snapshot shipping operations to be frequently paused and resumed (Aldred paragraph 203).
Regarding claim 5, Shrivastava in view of Chopra and Aldred discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the request to perform the second cross-region replication process comprises requesting:
the restart of the first cross-regional replication process (Aldred paragraph 201, pause and resume) based at least in part on a common snapshot as identified by the comparison of the first source provenance identifier and the first target provenance identifier (see abstract of Shrivastava, data is replicated to the target site based on the determined reference snapshot); and
for continuing a same data flow direction as the first cross-region replication process (Aldred paragraph 201, the pause and restart does not describe a change in direction).
Regarding claims 12-13 and 18-19, these claim sets respectively recite limitations found in claims 4-5 and are rejected on the same grounds as claim 4-5.
Claims 6, 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava in view of Chopra and Blea (PG-PUB 2018/0276078).
Regarding claim 6, Shrivastava in view of Chopra discloses the method of claim 1. Shrivastava in view of Chopra does not expressly disclose the method wherein the request to perform the second cross-region replication process comprises requesting for a reverse cross-region replication process.
Blea teaches a remote copy system in which data is copied from a local device to a remote device (paragraph 9). The data copy may be reversed (paragraph 56).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the snapshot replication system disclosed by Shrivastava in view of Chopra such that snapshot data is transferred in reverse, as taught by Blea. This modification would have been obvious because customers need to reverse the direction of the copy operation so that they can again be disaster recovery capable in the event that a disaster occurs at the remote site (Blea paragraph 49).
Regarding claim 7, Shrivastava in view of Chopra and Blea discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the reverse cross-region replication process comprises:
identifying a latest common snapshot between the source file system and the target file system (Shrivastava paragraph 105, designate the most recently replicated snapshots as the reference snapshot);
generating deltas, by the target file system, based at least in part on differences between the latest new snapshot and the latest common snapshot in the target file system (Shrivastava paragraph 122, the controller computes a difference in data between the source snapshot and the reference snapshot);
transferring the deltas from the target file system to the source file system (Shrivastava paragraph 122, the difference in the data constitutes a delta which is replicated to the target site); and
applying the deltas, by the source file system, to the latest common snapshot in the source file system to generate a restartable base snapshot in the source file system (Shrivastava paragraphs 26-28, incremental changes are reflected in each snapshot and may be incorporated into a reference snapshot).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, these claims recite limitations found in claim 6 and are rejected on the same ground as claim 6.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava in view of Chopra, Blea and "Maximizing TCP Throughput in Linux: Understanding and Tuning Send and Receive Buffers" by Benjamin Cane (herein Cane).
Shrivastava in view of Chopra and Blea discloses the method of claim 7. Shrivastava in view of Chopra and Blea does not expressly disclose the method wherein transferring the deltas from the target file system to the source file system further comprises uploading the deltas from the target file system to an object storage located in a source region, and downloading the deltas from the object storage to the source file system.
Cane teaches use of send and receive buffers in TCP communications (see section Understanding TCP Buffers). A receiver buffer acts as a local storage from which data is subsequently downloaded (see section The Receiver).Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the snapshot replication system disclosed by Shrivastava in view of Chopra and Blea such that network communications are implemented using send and receive buffers, as taught by Cane. This modification would have been obvious because the send buffer is useful for storing data transmission that have not been acknowledged (Cane, section When to Adjust Buffer Sizes) and the receive buffer is used when there is a mismatch between application read speed and the pace of incoming data (Cane, section When to Adjust Buffer Sizes). Use of send and receive buffers in the delta transmission of Shrivastava would result in transferring deltas from a sending system to a temporary object storage in the receiver system, and subsequently downloading the deltas from the temporary storage buffer.
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Please note that all agendas or related documents that Applicant would like reviewed should be sent at least one full business day (i.e. 24 hours not including weekends or holidays) before the interview.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ashish Thomas can be reached at (571) 272-0631. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The fax phone number for the examiner is 571-273-8186. The examiner may be e-mailed at joseph.schell@uspto.gov though communications via e-mail are not permitted without a written authorization form (see MPEP 502.03).
JS/JOSEPH O SCHELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114