DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 of U.S. Application No. 19/331466 filed on 09/17/2025 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corona et al. [WO 2024184807 A1], hereinafter referred to as Corona.
As to Claim 1 and 13, Corona discloses a method to control a car (1) ([see at least Fig.1 and Fig. 2]) comprising: a frame (2), which develops along a longitudinal direction (L) having a front-rear orientation ([see at least Fig.1 and Fig. 2]); at least two drive wheels (4) ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35, Fig.1 and Fig. 2] embodiment 1); at least one electric motor (6) connected to the two drive wheels (4) ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35, Fig.1 and Fig. 2] embodiment 1, 7); and a first generation assembly (7) ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35, Fig.1 and Fig. 2] embodiment 2, 3)comprising a first electric generator (9) and a first internal combustion engine (8) provided with a first drive shaft (11), which is mechanically connected only to the electric generator (9) and, therefore, is mechanically independent of the drive wheels (4) ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35, Fig.1 and Fig. 2]);the control method comprises the steps of: establishing at least a group of virtual gears having respective gear ratios ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 13-17, page 12, lines 16-21]); allowing a driver of the car (1) to choose whether to determine a virtual engaged gear based on upshift and downshift commands given by the driver or by simulating the behaviour of an automatic transmission to maximise an energy efficiency of the first internal combustion engine (8) ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 13-17, page 12, lines 16-21]);determining a rotation speed (Ꞷw) of the drive wheels (4);changing a rotation speed (ꞶE) of the first internal combustion engine (8) based on of the rotation speed (Ꞷw) of the drive wheels (4) and also based on the virtual engaged gear ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 13-17, page 12, lines 16-21]); establishing a first group of virtual gears, which is used only when the choice of the virtual engaged gear is made by the driver of the car (1) ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 13-17, page 12, lines 16-21]); and establishing a second group of virtual gears, which is different from the first group of virtual gears and is used only when the choice of the virtual engaged gear is made by simulating the behaviour of an automatic transmission ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 13-17, page 12, lines 16-21]).
As to Claim 2, Corona discloses a method control method, wherein the rotation speed (Ꞷw) of the first internal combustion engine (8) is directly proportional to the rotation speed (ow) of the drive wheels (4) ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 13-17, page 12, lines 16-21]).
As to Claim 3, Corona discloses a method control method, wherein the rotation speed (Ꞷ E) of the first internal combustion engine (8) is directly proportional to the gear ratio of the virtual engaged gear ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 13-17, page 12, lines 16-21]).
As to Claim 4, Corona discloses a method control method, wherein the rotation speed (ꞶE) of the first internal combustion engine (8) is determined by the following equation:
Ꞷ E =(Ꞷ w x K x TR
Ꞷ E is the rotation speed of the first internal combustion engine (8); ow is the rotation speed (ow) of the drive wheels (4) ; K is a dimensionless constant; TR is the gear ratio of the virtual engaged gear ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 13-17, page 12, lines 16-21]).
As to Claim 5, Corona discloses a method control method, wherein the first group of virtual gears comprises a smaller number of virtual gears than the second group of virtual gears ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 13-17, page 12, lines 16-21]).
As to Claim 6, Corona discloses a method control method and comprising the step of changing the torque generated or absorbed by the electric motor (6) based on the virtual engaged gear ([see at least page 12, lines 2-9]).
As to Claim 7, Corona discloses a method control method, wherein the rotation speed (Ꞷw) of the drive wheels (4) is determined based on a travelling speed of the car (1) ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 3-17, page 12, lines 16-21]).
As to Claim 8, Corona discloses a method control method, wherein the rotation speed (Ꞷw) of the drive wheels (4) is determined by calculating an average between the rotation speeds (Ꞷw) of both drive wheels (4) ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 3-17, page 12, lines 16-21]).
As to Claim 9, Corona discloses a method control method, wherein a slowdown of the internal combustion engine (8) is carried out using the electric generator (9), namely by temporarily increasing the electrical power generated by the electric generator (9) ([see at least page 8, lines 22-31]).
As to Claim 10, Corona discloses a method control method, wherein the first drive shaft (11) of the first internal combustion engine (8) is firmly connected to a shaft of the first electric generator (9) with a fixed gear ratio and, therefore, without the interposition of any clutch and of any gearbox ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 3-17, page 12, lines 16-21]).
As to Claim 11, Corona discloses a method control method, wherein the first drive shaft (11) of the first internal combustion engine (8) forms, with the longitudinal direction (L), an acute angle (a) preferably ranging from
20
°
to
45
°
and, in particular, ranging from
20
°
to
30
°
([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 3-17, page 12, lines 16-21]).
As to Claim 12, Corona discloses a method control method and comprising a second generation assembly (7) comprising a second electric generator (9), which is mechanically independent of the first electric generator (9), and a second internal combustion engine (8) provided with a second drive shaft (11), which is mechanically connected only to the electric generator (9) and, therefore, is mechanically independent of the drive wheels (4) ([see at least page 9, lines 13-35 and page 11, lines 3-17, page 12, lines 16-21]).
Conclusion
/YAZAN A SOOFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668