Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, 13, 14, 15 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harting (EP 3 782 930) (see also US publication US 11,952,225) (previously cited).
Interpretative note 1. Applicant is respectfully reminded that the material or article worked upon by the apparatus does not limit apparatus claims. See MPEP 2115. In other words, the recitation of pallet has been given patentable weight where the structure accomplishes performs the function of the positively recited elements.
With respect to claims 1, 2, 4, 11, 13, 15 & 20, Harting discloses a tower comprising:
a base frame 4, 15 defining a pallet receiving area 3, a pallet receiving area configured to receive a pallet;
a containment frame 2, 5, 6, 7 supported above a base frame, a containment frame defining a pallet storage area for storing a pallet, and
a first pallet support latch 16 and a second pallet latch on a side opposite to a first pallet support latch, each of first and second pallet support latches including a first surface 16 (FIG. 4) and operable between an open position (FIG. 4) and a closed position (FIG. 5), wherein a first pallet support latch in a closed position is configured to support a pallet when a pallet is in a pallet storage area.
With respect to claim 5, Harting's latches 16 are manually movable insomuch as they lack an actuator or any mechanism that moves them. In other words, external force must be applied to raise latches 16 from closed to open. Harting teaches that when a pallet is raised by a loading vehicle to contact the bottom of a previously stacked pallet whereupon raising pallet lifts the stack.
With respect to claim 14, Harting discloses an interior alignment surface 25, 26 "to center the container that is being moved through the opening 8 from all sides in the direction of the middle of the opening 8". (FIG. 6; C6/L15-30). "For each loading space 3, the frame arrangement 4 comprises an opening 8 through which the container receiving space 2 is connected to the loading space 3." In other words, alignment surface 25, 26 is located at opening 8 aligning containers as they transition from from receiving space 3, e.g. receiving area, to loading space 2, e.g. storage area.
It is noted that "align" and "center" are interpreted as the same function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harting in view Epperson (US 2,693,898).
Harting does not disclose a latch connector bar for pivoting between open and closed positions simultaneously. Epperson discloses first and the second pallet support latches 4, 4 connected by a latch connector bar 8, 10 for pivoting between an open configuration and a closed configuration at a same time. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Harting to include first and the second pallet support latches extend along a side of a support latch frame and support opposite edges of a bottom surface of a pallet and a latch connector bar, as taught by Epperson, which prevents unintended release of pallets in continuous succession.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 18 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harting in view Barth (EP 2 772 408) (English translation included with copy of reference).
Har
Harting does not disclose a latch arm. Barth discloses a manually movable latch arm4 which actuates first and second pallet support latches 4, 4, 4, 4 from open to closed positions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Harting, as taught by Barth, which allows manual operation by a forklift drive to stack smaller pallets on larger pallets.
Claim(s) 8 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harting in view Matsui (WO 2016/051509) (English translation attached).
Interpretative note 1. As argued by Applicant during the course of prosecution in the parent app (US #12,503,322) "sprinkler and/or fire suppression system" are NOT positively recited and will not be given any patentable weight. In other words, prior art that discloses a solid panel top reads on claim 9.
Harting discloses four(4) sides, and does not disclose a solid rear panel and solid opposite side panels for enclosing a pallet when a pallet is in a pallet storage area. Harting also does not disclose a solid panel top. Matsui discloses a pallet stack containment frame that has a solid rear panel (indicated generally as 51b) and solid opposite side panels (unlabeled but shown in FIG. 6) for enclosing a pallet when a pallet is in a pallet storage area. Matsui further discloses a containment frame that has a solid panel top cover 51a. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Harting to include a containment frame that has a solid rear panel, solid opposite side panels and a solid panel top cover, as taught by Matsui, thereby providing "heat insulating properties and heat retaining properties."
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harting in view Redman (US 6,045,324) which disclosers a tower wherein a frame has chamfered side walls 29, 29 for aligning a pallet side to side for a receiving area. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Harting to include chamfered side walls, as taught by Redman, such that a pallet is guided to a central position in a tower.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harting in view Loomer (US 3,844,423) which disclosers a sensing device 117, 119, e.g. an indicator, for detecting when the pallet tower has a "predetermined number of empty pallets", e.g. is full. (C5/L28-35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Harting to include a device for detecting, e.g. sensor, as taught by Loomer, which signals an unstacker to initiate unstacking.
Claim(s) 14, 16 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harting in view Redman (US 9,718,628). Harting does not disclose an interior alignment surface. Redman discloses that "guide rails assist the operator in centering the pallet load in the apparatus by nudging the pallet and pallet load towards the center of the device." (C4/L37-39) Guides (21), e.g. interior alignment surfaces "have outwardly sloping portions that slope towards the first side frame (1) and the second side frame (22). As a misaligned instance of the pallet (112) is moved into the apparatus (900), it will be gradually positioned so that, while in operation, each side of the pallet load (802) is substantially circumscribed (at least in part) by the clamp assembly (208)." (C15/L65 thru C16/L7). Guides rails, as taught by Redman, help keep pallets from become "snagged and consequently damaged by the free edges of the pressure plates." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of the '322 patent to include a step of aligning a pallet by contacting a sloped surface with a pallet, as taught by Redman, to keep the pallet from being damaged when entering a pallet storage area.
Claim(s) 21 & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harting in view Redman (US 2020/0207556).
Harting discloses a storage tower for storing objects therein comprising:
a base frame 4, 5 including a rear wall and a pair of side walls extending forward from a rear wall, a base frame defining a receiving area 3;
a containment frame 2, 5, 6, 7 supported above a base frame, a containment frame defining a storage area; and
a support latch 16 operable between an open position (FIG. 4) and a closed position (FIG. 5), wherein a support latch in a closed position is configured to support an object in a storage area, wherein in a closed position a support latch is configured to support a bottom most object in a storage area, wherein a storage tower further includes a front opening at least partially defined by side walls of a base frame and extending upward above a support latch.
Harting does not disclose a base frame including a rear wall and a pair of side walls extending forward from a rear wall. Redman discloses a base frame 2 including a rear wall 1800 and a pair of side walls 1900, 1910 extending forward from a rear wall. Redman further discloses a storage tower 4 that includes a front opening (generally indicated as 1090 in FIG. 56) at least partially defined by side walls of a base frame and extending upward above a support latch (position of support latch 700 in FIG. 18). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Harting to include a rear wall, pair of side walls and a front opening, as taught by Redman, to provide security against pallets from falling from a stack while providing visibility of stack capacity.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,322 in view of Swoboda (US 10,059,521). The '322 patent discloses lines 2-5 of the instant application. The '322 patent also disclose a support latch, but does not disclose a latch spring-biased to a default open position. Swoboda discloses a spring-biased support latch 3 which is biased to a retrieving position, e.g. open configuration, as shown in FIG. 3b. Swoboda's support latch is biased in this position during retrieval of a pallet. With respect to the operation of latch 2, 3, 4 Swoboda discloses thusly:
A holding device 1 according to FIG. 2a is illustrated in FIG. 3a, wherein the support arm 3 of the holding hook 2 is located in the holding position. In this case, the spring force F.sub.F of the spring 6 acts in such a manner that the support arm 3 is held in the holding position, or in the case of specific pivoting, is urged to the holding position. The spring force F.sub.F causes a respective momentum. In the example according to FIG. 3a this momentum acts in the clockwise direction about the rotation axis 5 of the holding hook 2.
This applies in a similar manner to the retrieving position (illustrated in FIG. 3a), having a support arm 3 which in relation to FIG. 3a is pivoted to the respective position. In this case, the spring force F.sub.F of the spring 6 acts in such a manner that the support arm 3 is held in the retrieving position or, in the case of specific pivoting, is urged to the retrieving position. In the example according to FIG. 3b, the momentum about the rotation axis 5 of the holding hook 2 that has been initiated by the spring force F.sub.F acts in a counter-clockwise manner.
The position of unstable equilibrium in which the support arm 3 is in principle not urged to any of the two positions mentioned (that is to say is in an equilibrium of momentums) is provided between holding position and retrieving position. However, any position of the support arm 3 that deviates from the position of unstable equilibrium inevitably leads to the support arm 3 being unequivocally urged in a determinable manner to either the holding position or to the retrieving position.
(Column 7, lines 36-64)
In other words, spring 6 biases support latch 3 in both a holding position (FIG. 3a), e.g. closed position, and a retrieving position (FIG. 3b), open position, based on movement direction of pallet 201. (See FIGS. 4a-4e for operation.)
Swoboda teaches that in a spring replaces "complex mechanical switching or actuating means" heretofore required where a "container other than the lowermost container of a container stack is to be retrieved." Prior support latches required "successive retrieving and restacking of the respective lowermost container of the container stack to other container stacks is required." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of the '322 patent to spring-bias a latch into an open configuration, as taught by Swoboda, so that a container other than a lowermost container in a stack can be retrieved without successive retrieving and restacking.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,322 in view of Redman (US 9,718,628). The '322 patent does not claims aligning a pallet by contacting a sloped surface with a pallet. Redman discloses that " guide rails assist the operator in centering the pallet load in the apparatus by nudging the pallet and pallet load towards the center of the device." (C4/L37-39) Guides (21) "have outwardly sloping portions that slope towards the first side frame (1) and the second side frame (22). As a misaligned instance of the pallet (112) is moved into the apparatus (900), it will be gradually positioned so that, while in operation, each side of the pallet load (802) is substantially circumscribed (at least in part) by the clamp assembly (208)." (C15/L65 thru C16/L7). Guides rails, as taught by Redman, help keep pallets from become "snagged and consequently damaged by the free edges of the pressure plates." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of the '322 patent to include a step of aligning a pallet by contacting a sloped surface with a pallet, as taught by Redman, to keep the pallet from being damaged when entering a pallet storage area.
Claims 2-16 & 18-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11-14, 17, 18, 20-24, 35 & 36 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,322. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because linguist differences and/or elimination of an element or its functions is deemed to be obvious in light of prior art teachings of at least the recited element or its functions (see In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184, 186; 311 F2d 581 (CCPA 1963)), thereby rendering the elimination of any elements recited in the claims of the related patent (that are not recited in the instant claims) obvious.
Mapping of claims of instant application to that of the '322 patent.
Instant application
US Patent #12,503,322
Claim 2 (first surface is equivalent to "flat surface)
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4 (latches moves independent of power source is equivalent to manual operation)
Claim 8
Claim 5
Claim 8
Claim 6
Claim 8
Claim 7
Claim 8
Claim 8 (solid rear panel, 2 solid side panels equivalent to 4 solid panel sides
Claim 9, 11
Claim 9
Claims 11, 12
Claim 10
Claim 14
Claim 11
Claim 17
Claim 12
Claim 18
Claim 13
Claim 1
Claim 14
Claim 13, 14
Claim 15
Claim 20
Claim 16
Claims 21, 22, 23
Claim 18
Claim 24
Claim 19
Claim 24
Claim 20
Claim 20
Claim 21
Claims 1 & 35
Claim 22
Claim 36
Conclusion
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652