DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 19/331568 filed on 09/17/2025 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. [US 2023/0236028 A1], hereinafter referred to as Yang.
As to Claim 1, 13 and 19, Yang discloses a computer system for estimating lateral slip losses, , Pslip,, y, in a vehicle performing a manoeuvre, the computer system comprising processing circuitry ([see at least 0024, 0067 and 0116]) configured to: acquire a lateral slip resistance coefficient, LSRC, for the vehicle ([see at least 0028 and 0029]); acquire of the manoeuvre to be performed by the vehicle, including a vehicle speed, vx, a vertical force, Fz, on one or more axles of the vehicle, and a turning radius, R ([see at least 0019, 0024, 0067 and 0071]); and estimate lateral slip losses, Pslip,, y , for the vehicle based on the acquired lateral slip resistance coefficient and the acquired parameters of the manoeuvre ([see at least 0024, 0026, 0062, 0067 and 0116]).
As to Claim 2 and 14, Yang discloses a computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to acquire the lateral slip resistance coefficient, LSRC, by modelling a lateral force of the vehicle as a function of the turning radius of the manoeuvre ([see at least 0024, 0026, 0062, 0067, 0070 and 0116]).
As to Claim 3 , Yang discloses a computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to acquire the lateral slip resistance coefficient, LSRC, by normalising the modelled lateral force by longitudinal vehicle velocity and vertical force on axles of the vehicle ([see at least 0024, 0026, 0062, 0067, 0070 and 0116]).
As to Claim 4, Yang discloses a computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to acquire the lateral slip resistance coefficient, LSRC, as a function of one or more turn parameters ([see at least 0010, 0019, 0069 and 0071]).
As to Claim 5, Yang discloses a computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to acquire the lateral slip resistance coefficient, LSRC, as a function of a friction coefficient, P ([see at least 0028 and 0029]).
As to Claim 6, Yang discloses a computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to approximate the lateral slip resistance coefficient, LSRC, as an equation and acquire the lateral slip resistance coefficient, LSRC, by solving the equation ([see at least 0028 0029, 0076 and 0078]).
As to Claim 7 and 15, Yang discloses a computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to acquire the lateral slip resistance coefficient, LSRC, from a lookup table ([see at least 0028 and 0029]).
As to Claim 8, Yang discloses a computer system, wherein the vehicle is a vehicle combination comprising a tractor unit and at least one trailing unit, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to acquire a respective lateral slip resistance coefficient, LSRC, for each unit of the vehicle combination ([see at least 0028, 0029, 0076 and 0078]).
As to Claim 9 and 16, Yang discloses a computer system, comprising a control system configured to determine the lateral slip resistance coefficient, LSRC, and an automated driving system configured to receive the lateral slip resistance coefficient, LSRC, and to estimate the lateral slip losses, Psiip,y ([see at least 0024, 0067 and 0116]).
As to Claim 10 and 17 Yang discloses a computer system, wherein the automated driving system is configured to determine control inputs for the vehicle based on the estimated lateral slip losses, Psiip,y,and an objective ([see at least 0024, 0067 and 0116]).
As to Claim 11 and 18, Yang discloses a computer system, wherein the objective comprises one of more of reducing the lateral slip losses and reducing swept path width ([see at least 0024, 0067 and 0116]).
As to Claim 12, Yang discloses a vehicle comprising the computer system of claim 1 ([see at least abstract, 0019 and 0028]).
As to Claim 20, Yang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the computer-implemented method of claim 13 ([see at least 0039, 0041 and 0117]).
Conclusion
/YAZAN A SOOFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668