DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 19/331592 filed on 09/17/2025 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cebon et al. [US 2011/0202238 A1], hereinafter referred to as Cebon.
As to Claim 1, 13 and 20, Yang discloses a computer system for determining steering angles for steered axles of a trailing unit of a vehicle combination, the computer system comprising processing circuitry ([see at least Fig.1 and 0021]) configured to: express a cost, Pslip,y , associated with lateral slip losses of the trailing unit as a function of a first steering angle, Ꟙfront, of a frontmost axle of the trailing unit and a second steering angle, of a rearmost axle of the trailing unit; and determine a value for the first steering angle, Ꟙfront, and a value for the second steering angle, Ꟙrear, such that the cost, Pslip,y, is below a threshold ([see at least 0033, 0048, 0053, 0085, 0113 and 0115]), wherein the first steering the second steering enable the trailing unit to travel a curve of a given turning radius ([see at least 0035, 0040, 0082, 0091, 0103 and 0115]).
As to Claim 2 and 14, Yang discloses computer system, wherein the cost, Pslip,y, comprises a cost associated with a swept path of the trailing unit, Pswept, as a function of the steering angles, Ꟙfront, Ꟙrear, for the steered axles of the trailing unit ([see at least 0035-0040, 0082, 0091, 0103 and 0115]).
As to Claim 3 and 15, Yang discloses computer system, wherein the cost, Pslip,y, comprises a cost associated with a power loss,Ppower, of the trailing unit as a function of the steering angles, Ꟙfront, Ꟙrear, for the steered axles of the trailing unit ([see at least 0022, 0035-0040, 0056, 0064, 0103 and 0115]).
As to Claim 4 and 16, Yang discloses computer system, wherein the cost, Pslip,y, comprises a cost associated with tyre wear, Ptyre, of the trailing unit as a function of the steering angles, Ꟙfront, Ꟙrear, for the steered axles of the trailing unit ([see at least 0085 and 0115]).
As to Claim 5 and 17, Yang discloses computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to express the cost, Pslip,y, associated with lateral slip losses as a function of a steering angle, Ꟙinter, of at least one intermediate axle of the trailing unit and determine a value for the steering angle, Ꟙinter of the at least one intermediate axle such that the cost, Pslip,y, is below the threshold, wherein the at least one intermediate axle is located between the frontmost and the rearmost axle ([see at least 0033, 0048, 0053, 0085, 0113 and 0115]).
As to Claim 6 and 18, Yang discloses computer system, wherein the value for the first steering is in an opposite direction to the value for the second steering angle, Ꟙrear, relative to longitudinal axis of the vehicle combination ([see at least 0033, 0048, 0053, 0085, 0113 and 0115]).
As to Claim 7, Yang discloses computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to express the cost, Pslip,y, as a function of vehicle speed ([see at least 0035, 0072, 0085 and 0115]).
As to Claim 8, Yang discloses computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to model the values for the steering angles using a vehicle model ([see at least 0041, 0064 and 0114]).
As to Claim 9, Yang discloses computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the values for the steering angles using a model predictive controller ([see at least 0041, 0064 and 0114]).
As to Claim 10, Yang discloses computer system, wherein the model predictive controller has a control strategy based on capabilities and constraints for the vehicle combination ([see at least 0041, 0064 and 0114]).
As to Claim 11, Yang discloses computer system, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to provide the determined steering angle values to a control system configured to determine one or more control inputs for the vehicle combination ([see at least 0041, 0064 and 0114]).
As to Claim 12 and 19, Yang discloses a vehicle combination comprising the computer system of claim 1([see at least Fig.1 and 0021]).
Conclusion
/YAZAN A SOOFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668