DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 includes a typographical error. The claim should be amended to recite --wherein the reset of the low pass filter includes inputting a location estimate signal into the low pass filter--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 includes a step of “determining whether motion of the one or more position sensors is attributable to manipulation of the medical device by a user”, which is deemed a mental step. However, the claim also includes inputing location signals from one or more position sensors into a low pass filter. This step is significantly more and takes the determining step out of the abstract idea grouping. Therefore, the claims are subject matter eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Welsh, et al, US 20190200886 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Welsh teaches a method of attenuating cardiac motion from medical device position data of a medical device see abstract for the cardiac information dynamic display system and process), the method comprising:
inputting location signals from one or more position sensors disposed on the medical device into a low pass filter (low-pass filter of [0074]) to generate low pass filtered location data [0073]-[0074];
inputting the location signals [0081] from the one or more position sensors into a low pass filter controller (localization processor 46 of [0096]);
determining whether motion of the one or more position sensors is attributable to manipulation of the medical device by a user [0071];
generating a reset output with the low pass filter controller when motion of the one or more position sensors is attributable to manipulation of the medical device by the user; and resetting the low pass filter ([0064] discloses increasing sampling rate for the tracked electrode locations).
Regarding claim 15, Welsh further teaches wherein resetting the low pass filter includes modifying one or more input parameters of the low pass filter, wherein the one or more input parameters include a sample rate of the low pass filter ([0064] discloses increasing sampling rate for the tracked electrode locations).
Regarding claim 16, Welsh further teaches wherein the one or more input parameters include a cutoff frequency, a normalized passband frequency, a filter order, and/or a filter type [0133].
Regarding claim 17, Welsh further teaches wherein resetting the low pass filter includes inputting the location signals from a previous time interval into the low pass filter [0358].
Regarding claim 18, wherein determining whether motion of the one or more position sensors is attributable to manipulation of the medical device by the user includes: computing an estimated cardiac motion parameter [0192], [0201], computing a difference between the location signals from one or more position sensors and the estimated cardiac motion parameter [0295], and comparing the difference to a threshold value[0201].
Regarding claim 19, Welsh further teaches wherein the estimated cardiac motion parameter includes one or more of a maximum distance displacement of the location signals, a slew rate of the location signals, and a slew rate of the low pass filtered location data [0359].
Regarding claim 20, Welsh further teaches wherein resetting the low pass filter includes inputting a location estimate of the one or more position sensors into the low pass filter, wherein the location estimate is computed via a moving statistical filter within a time interval of previous data [0192], [0200]-[0201].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welsh, et al, US 20190200886 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Welsh teaches a visualization system for a medical procedure (see abstract for the cardiac information dynamic display system and process), the system comprising:
a medical device (catheter 10 of fig. 1 and [0057]) including one or more position sensors [0053],[0057];
a localization system to generate location data based on input received from the one or more position sensors [0053];
a signal processing system (signal processor of abstract, [0016]) configured to receive the location data from the localization system [0016], the signal processing system including:
a low pass filter (low-pass filter of [0074]) configured to generate filtered location data in response to the location data provided by the localization system [0073]-[0074], and
a low pass filter controller (localization processor 46 of [0096]) configured to monitor the location data provided as an input to the low pass filter and the filtered location data to generate a reset output communicated to the low pass filter to reset the low pass filter ([0064] discloses increasing the sampling rate at each electrode position in maintaining simultaneous output on all axes).
The embodiment of Welsh relied upon above fails to teach that the display [0016] provides real-time visualization of the medical device.
However, in separate embodiment (fig. 16 and [0305]), Welsh teaches a method of selecting points (e.g. 2D or 3D coordinates of a location) for shape modeling a catheter [0305], wherein according to [0306], In Step 1670, if the minimum number of points is met, the system can perform the shape modeling calculation, and display the best fit model of the catheter. In some embodiments, the displayed output of the shape-modeling shows graphical representations of all electrodes on the physical catheter, whether they are connected to and localized by system 100 or not.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the embodiment of Welsh relied upon above, to include a display providing real-time visualization of the medical device, as taught by the embodiment in fig. 16, to capture all the necessary views necessary for mapping the positions of the electrodes [0304].
Regarding claim 2, Welsh further teaches wherein the reset of the low pass filter includes increasing a sample rate of the input location signals input into the low pass filter ([0064] discloses increasing the sampling rate at each electrode position in maintaining simultaneous output on all axes).
Regarding claim 3, Welsh further teaches wherein the reset of the low pass filter includes inputing a location estimate signal into the low pass filter [0358].
Regarding claim 4, Welsh further teaches wherein the reset output includes a reset metric, wherein one or more input parameters of the low pass filter are reconfigured based on the reset metric ([0201] describes a time window for potential activations, the input parameter being a sampling rate according to [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Welsh further teaches wherein the low pass filter controller computes the location estimate signal of the one or more position sensors on the medical device, wherein the location estimate signal is computed by a moving statistical filter over a time interval [0192], [0201].
Regarding claim 6, Welsh further teaches wherein the reset metric is computed by determining a difference between the location estimate signal of the one or more position sensors on the medical device and the input location signals from the one or more position sensors [0295].
Regarding claim 7, Welsh further teaches wherein the low pass filter controller determines whether a reset event has occurred by comparing the difference to a threshold, wherein if the difference is greater than the threshold the reset event has occurred and the reset output is generated [0201].
Regarding claim 8, Welsh teaches a method of displaying a visualized medical device during a medical procedure (see abstract for the cardiac information dynamic display system and process), the method comprising:
tracking one or more position sensors on a medical device with a positioning system [0053];
inputting location data of the one or more position sensors into a low pass filter (low-pass filter of [0074]) to attenuate oscillation of the location data from cardiac motion [0073]-[0074];
inputting the location data of the one or more position sensors into a low pass filter controller (localization processor 46 of [0096]) to determine whether a reset event occurred [0081];
outputting a reset signal from the low pass filter controller to the low pass filter [0064];
resetting the low pass filter [0064].
The embodiment of Welsh relied upon above fails to teach outputting filtered location data to a display.
However, in separate embodiment (fig. 16 and [0305]), Welsh teaches a method of selecting points (e.g. 2D or 3D coordinates of a location) for shape modeling a catheter [0305], wherein according to [0306], In Step 1670, if the minimum number of points is met, the system can perform the shape modeling calculation, and display the best fit model of the catheter. In some embodiments, the displayed output of the shape-modeling shows graphical representations of all electrodes on the physical catheter, whether they are connected to and localized by system 100 or not.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the embodiment of Welsh relied upon above, for outputting filtered location data to a display, as taught by the embodiment in fig. 16, to capture all the necessary views necessary for mapping the positions of the electrodes [0304].
Regarding claim 9, Welsh further teaches wherein resetting the low pass filter reduces latency of the filtered location data [0309].
Regarding claim 10, Welsh further teaches wherein resetting the low pass filter includes modifying one or more input parameters of the low pass filter, wherein the one or more input parameters include a sample rate of the low pass filter ([0064] discloses increasing the sampling rate at each electrode position in maintaining simultaneous output on all axes).
Regarding claim 11, Welsh further teaches wherein resetting the low pass filter includes inputting the location data from a previous time interval into the low pass filter [0358].
Welsh further teaches 12, Welsh further teaches computing a location estimate of the one or more position sensors on the medical device with a moving statistical filter over a time interval [0192], [0201]; computing a reset metric by determining a variance between the location estimate of the one or more position sensors on the medical device and the location data from the one or more position sensors [0295], and comparing the variance to a threshold to determine whether the reset event has occurred [0201].
Regarding claim 13, wherein resetting the low pass filter includes inputting the location estimate of the one or more position sensors into the low pass filter [0358].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Houmanfar, et al., US 20150272482 A1 teaches low-pass filtering of cardiac position signals.
/FAROUK A BRUCE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797